East Gippsland Football League

Rod Harrison, depending on what shape he's in, undersized ruckman with a huge leap. Really nice young fella, pretty quiet though. Excellent skills. Is he going up that way because another old mate Nicky Torvilla is still there?

Lakes just snuck home over a very undermanned Lindenow by 2 goals after being 2 goals down with 5 minutes to go.

Apparently (and I've only heard this 4th hand) Bairnsdale got done for having too many on the ground so had their score knocked back to zero during the 3rd quarter.

Round one scores

Bairnsdale 7.5 11.6 12.10* 7.2 (44)
Orbost 2.4 7.6 11.7 14.7 (91)

* indicates loss of points due to 19 players on field

Lakes Entrance 2.6 6.7 9.8 13.9 (87)
Lindenow 1.2 4.8 7.12 10.15 (75)

Lucknow 2.8 6.10 10.14 13.14 (92)
Paynesville 0.2 4.8 3.7 7.8 (50)

Dave Mckean booted 5 for lakes in their win over Lindenow with the best on ground honors clearly going to ruckmen Xavier Ryan. Lindenow's best was Morgan Davies for his role as a loose man in defence.

I was playing for Lakes so i'm not entirely sure who played well in the other matches however the report in the Advertiser nominates Michael Heyne as Orbosts best, James Gibbs as Bairnsdale's best, L Kelly as Lucknow's best and S Biszko as Paynesville's best.

Been a bit quiet on the old east gippy thread, any scores from todays games (26th). How are lakes recruits travelling, heard McKean had gone from full foward to fullback in a matter of weeks!!!:D

Lakes Entrance 20.20 (140) vOrbost Snowy Rovers 9.6 (60)
Lindenow 6.18 (54) vLucknow 12.15 (87)
Paynesville 4.12 (36) vWy Yung 13.21 (99)
Bairnsdale 0.0 (0) vBye 0.0 (0)

Yeah, business as usual. Bairnsdale doing so much for football in East Gippy, only lost a game because of the head count, will win the GF again in a canter with the best players probably Bromage & Preston. Paynesville still crap, Lucknow improving with a young team but still crap, Lindenow not being able to match other clubs payments lost too many and crap, Orbost still crap. Lakes & Wy Yung doing ok, but then again if you spend some money you always will do ok.
Swan reach in the Omeo league the same, had to shell out big dollars.
I see Bairnsdale being similar to Wonthaggi, for years and years they took the best players from surrounding clubs and gave stuffall back, now they enjoy being the big fish in a small pond.

Have they (Bairnsdale) brought in any more guns this year. All the talk pre season was Wy Yung and Lakes. lakes with a new coach and players coming back and Wy Yung got a couple from the ODFL and a few from other clubs. How are their new ones going?

Early recruiting word for 2009 is that on the back of Lakes Entrance return to form this year, former young gun Michael Battista could return home from Melbourne next year. He's brother is enjoying probably his best year to date and with the possibility of a few big names from Melbourne joining him they would have to be early 2009 favourites..
Big names include Mick Barlow (Werribee Tigers, VFL), Dan Moloney (Terang-Mortlake, Hampden League), Jamie Fisher (North Old Boys, VAFA)...
Just to name a few. Could we be about to see a repeat of 2004 - Complete domininance?

WCL.
Haven't been around the traps that much but in Melbourne the 'C' section Amateurs is of a similar standard. I assume you play in the AFL Canberra comp, there have been a couple of blokes from the EGFL play in that recently I think. The league has recently produced some VFL and AFL players also. The crowds are your typical country type as a fair percentage of the home town turns up- probably 500-1,000 during home and away and up to around 5,000 come finals. In general, the quality of football is reasonable but not the highest and the comp is pretty well followed in the area- I think the local media has won statewide awards for coverage. Website is www.egfl.vcfl.com.au

Yeah, business as usual. Bairnsdale doing so much for football in East Gippy, only lost a game because of the head count, will win the GF again in a canter with the best players probably Bromage & Preston. Paynesville still crap, Lucknow improving with a young team but still crap, Lindenow not being able to match other clubs payments lost too many and crap, Orbost still crap. Lakes & Wy Yung doing ok, but then again if you spend some money you always will do ok.
Swan reach in the Omeo league the same, had to shell out big dollars.
I see Bairnsdale being similar to Wonthaggi, for years and years they took the best players from surrounding clubs and gave stuffall back, now they enjoy being the big fish in a small pond.
Lakes boys too good for the red legs on there home patch on the weekend and the tigers gave them a touch up a few weeeks ago, could they be moving back to the pack a bit? I know for a fact not all is content amongst the bairnsdale side - coach has a few favorites and opportunities to play seniors/different positions arn't forthcoming when they should be. Are cracks apearing? i hope so go seagulls!!!!!!:D

WCL.
Haven't been around the traps that much but in Melbourne the 'C' section Amateurs is of a similar standard. I assume you play in the AFL Canberra comp, there have been a couple of blokes from the EGFL play in that recently I think. The league has recently produced some VFL and AFL players also. The crowds are your typical country type as a fair percentage of the home town turns up- probably 500-1,000 during home and away and up to around 5,000 come finals. In general, the quality of football is reasonable but not the highest and the comp is pretty well followed in the area- I think the local media has won statewide awards for coverage. Website is www.egfl.vcfl.com.au

What a wonderfully insightful post. Your a credit to football Artist!!;)
Z.Milne for PM

I used to be with Wy Yung and B/dale,havent seen much of the footy down there for 10-12yrs. Of the coaches which ones are playing coaches and Pud Preston and Gags are in what playing positions? Bully going alright at Lakes?

Pretty sure Pud has hung the boots up for good, gags plays as a leading forward/onballer when the game is on the line. Kade Strickland is the playing coach in Orbost and I'm not entirely sure if their are others. Bully is doing a very nice job down in Lakes, lots of recruiting in the off season and the team is playing some quality footy.

thanks for that. If i remember right Kade had a run with Merimbula up here- went all right too. Give my best to Bully, Tell him Stewie said gDay from Bermagui.

Lucknow really struggling now losing 3 of its better players back to Churchill. Add their coach, Steve Glassborrow, leaving the club after some off-field turmoil. Although the word coming out of the Pies camp is that Glassborrow and the board agreed to split ways, we all know that that means he recieved the sack.

Lakes have the bye this week to have a well-earned rest whilst Bairnsdale will have to win this weekend to keep it's spot in the top 2 and keep the Gulls out. Wy Yung are really looking strong but they can be defeated. Lakes look like the team capable of causing such a result with Bully really making an impression in his first year on the job.

Pretty sure Pud has hung the boots up for good, gags plays as a leading forward/onballer when the game is on the line. Kade Strickland is the playing coach in Orbost and I'm not entirely sure if their are others. Bully is doing a very nice job down in Lakes, lots of recruiting in the off season and the team is playing some quality footy.
Kade was assisstant coach in 2007, Russell Christy is the coach this year.

Thanks for that yeah I do play in AFL Canberra. Oh well sounds pretty good might have to check it out next time i'm down that way.

Who do you play for in the AFL Canberra league?

I'm heading to Canberra for Uni and working out where to play, my uncles and cousins play for Queanbeyan, what are they like?

Lakes caused a bit of an upset today beating Wy Yung. This takes Lakes to level points as Bairnsdale and only one game behind Wy Yung. The minor premiership is still up in the air.....

i heard on the grapevine young sean kelly for lakes had around 35 touches and was instrumental in lakes's win over wy yung... best youngster in the league??

East Gippsland Football League