Eastern Conference - 2011

Jeez this place is quiet when Belconnen can't win a game isn't it. Where are all the soldiers that were out in force last year?

How about you put your heads together and give us all an update on how you reckon your recruiting has been at the halfway mark of the year. Or some insight into what good Horney is doing with the young blokes coming through. Or why there are at least half a dozen local blokes who have been hanging round in the two's for years who will be playing out at Gungahlin next year. Or generally explain why everything has gone to shit out there.

Or can you only sing when you win?

Jeez this place is quiet when Belconnen can't win a game isn't it. Where are all the soldiers that were out in force last year?

How about you put your heads together and give us all an update on how you reckon your recruiting has been at the halfway mark of the year. Or some insight into what good Horney is doing with the young blokes coming through. Or why there are at least half a dozen local blokes who have been hanging round in the two's for years who will be playing out at Gungahlin next year. Or generally explain why everything has gone to shit out there.

Or can you only sing when you win?

This :thumbsu:

Wow Spoiler you add so much to this forum with your 3 posts for the season, happy to cop a bit from ABH because he is on the forum all the time.
You are correct however our recruiting has been sub standard this year and we didn't replace the quality guys we had for a few years with players of the same ability. Horney has however been able to get some games into our younger guys which is a benefit going forward. Happy to have a lean year or two while our list is rebuilt. As for the other Belconnen posters on the forum I do not know where they have gone.

Just weighing up this and next weekends games, it might still not give us a sorting of a pecking order from #4 down on the ladder.

If Tugg fall to the Tricolours and Eastlake get over the TIges this week, then Eastlake go down to Swans next week with Tricolours up over the Tiges and Tugg rolls Belconnen, then in a fortnight it is still the log jam it is now.

The following R17 week doesn't help, we may have a situation where GWS could be down three in a row, that puts the Demons up wiuth them.

I reckon there are two or three factors in sorting it out and seeing how any clubs futures look - how the Tiges go against Eastlake and Ainslie before their next bye, how Tugg holds up against Redlands and the R17 clash between Ainslie and Eastlake.

All in all, there is still plenty of interesting plots left in the Eastern Conference yet, and it's putting some mystery and a fair bit of interest back into local footy.

Wow Spoiler you add so much to this forum with your 3 posts for the season, happy to cop a bit from ABH because he is on the forum all the time.
You are correct however our recruiting has been sub standard this year and we didn't replace the quality guys we had for a few years with players of the same ability. Horney has however been able to get some games into our younger guys which is a benefit going forward. Happy to have a lean year or two while our list is rebuilt. As for the other Belconnen posters on the forum I do not know where they have gone.

bolton24, who did your recruiting this season as I believe you did not have a football operations manager (not sure over what period)?? Do you have one currently?

With the recruits surely someone saw them play before signing them so an opinion was formed on their abilities.

#15 Dess does look the goods in the games I have seen aginst Qbn

Just weighing up this and next weekends games, it might still not give us a sorting of a pecking order from #4 down on the ladder.

If Tugg fall to the Tricolours and Eastlake get over the TIges this week, then Eastlake go down to Swans next week with Tricolours up over the Tiges and Tugg rolls Belconnen, then in a fortnight it is still the log jam it is now.

The following R17 week doesn't help, we may have a situation where GWS could be down three in a row, that puts the Demons up wiuth them.

I reckon there are two or three factors in sorting it out and seeing how any clubs futures look - how the Tiges go against Eastlake and Ainslie before their next bye, how Tugg holds up against Redlands and the R17 clash between Ainslie and Eastlake.

All in all, there is still plenty of interesting plots left in the Eastern Conference yet, and it's putting some mystery and a fair bit of interest back into local footy.

And if my sister had a penis she would be my brother ;)

Nice to finally have a crack at Eastlake this week. Not bad for round 15!

Another disappointing end to the game today for Queanbeyan against Eastlake which may have ended any serious challenge for a top 4 spot.

While Eastlake seemed in control and had the more damaging players on the field, the Tigers hung in all day and were within striking distance at 3/4 time only being down by 19 points. They did get within 5 points during the 3rd but 2 goals in time on hurt them. In fact they allowed Eastlake to kick 2 in red time just before half time also.

The last term was all Eastlake as they booted 5 goals without reply to win comfortably in the end. Giving them the last 7 goals of the match.

The Tigers seemed to accept things to easily in the final term and where bitterly disappointing to not fly the flag in a game which should have meant so much.

Right from the word go a few things looked ominous for Queanbeyan. They continually bombed the ball into the forwards who were regularly out numbered and on several times when the Tiger players kicked it into a dangerous spot there was only Eastlake players there at all.

They failed to man up! Their accountability on Leigh McMahon was poor! He had the ball on a string all day and not one player seemed to put his hand up (Johnny Elias did briefly) and take ownership even if the coach had stressed that they must play man on man. Not just prior to the game, but at 1/4 time also.

Tigers became rattled after some extremely confusing umpire decisions particularly one when the ball was bounced in the middle and the ball clearly went beyond the two circles and instead of taking the ball back, the umpire allowed play to continue, a free kick was awarded followed by 2 x 50 metre penalties for the Tigers believing the ball should have rightly been recalled for a throw up in the middle. Sorry umpire, but you made a complete hash of that one...bad call!

From then on the Tigers were an undisciplined rabble losing 15-16-106 to 8-6-54.

Eastlake arguably had the best half dozen on the park all day. Leigh McMahon was BOG by the length of Manuka Oval but I wonder how he would have gone if he had an opponent (not his fault just average by Qbn players), Duce also never seemed to have a man all day down back, Wiles and Smith were excellent, Maiden got better the longer the day got, Roulstone was his usual reliable self and Frail looked the goods down back.

For the Tigers, Jollife tried hard, the usual suspects in Conroy, Heaslip and Dickinson put in solid efforts but again far to much was left to far to few.

So the last 3 occassions I have seen the Tigers they have let games slip when in winnable positions. Belco at DFP they were 23 points up during the 3rd and folded meekly, Tuggers at DFP they were in a similar position and folded meekly and today they were 5 points down with momentum just before time on and went out without a yelp.

Supporters of the Tigers expected the group to play some inconsistent football, but what we did not expect was our side to appear to concede defeat so meekly, to accept the situation when things got tough and to not fly the flag.

This is not Tiger football...

Many share your view.[/QUOTE]

Maybe the culture of players has changed.

I was talking to a few Tiger veterans yesterday and we were discussing how some of todays footballer seems to not care as much when the team suffers a loss and they are not prepared to bleed for the cause.

Agreed that they are not professionals but if you are going to dedicate 3 training sessions per week and a full day/night on game day then you may as well give it everything you can to make it enjoyable and successful.

Just not sure all players are on that same page.

Many share your view.

Maybe the culture of players has changed.

I was talking to a few Tiger veterans yesterday and we were discussing how some of todays footballer seems to not care as much when the team suffers a loss and they are not prepared to bleed for the cause.

Agreed that they are not professionals but if you are going to dedicate 3 training sessions per week and a full day/night on game day then you may as well give it everything you can to make it enjoyable and successful.

Just not sure all players are on that same page.[/quote]

ABH, I've been thinking for a couple of years that perhaps the individual effort, or skill output, has become more important to players than the overall team success, I'm not just thinking the Tiges, all the way from elite down.
Maybe winning the individual one on one competition is the personal reward to a player rather than usimg your skills to the advantage of a team mate or some play or even game plan that contributes to a win. Easy to contradict my theory I know, if you win the majority of one on ones you'd reasobaly expect to win the game.
That could lead to just dropping the bundle when they recognise that a game has "gone." Having said that, we've all played in games that we knew we weren't in the contest at some stage, but that didn't stop us from having a crack and demanding respect for our persistent efforts.
I'd doubt that it can be a comfort thing as There wouldn't be many that earn an income from football only in the two towns here.

Hughes rumored to have verbally agreed to relocate to QLD next season with Labrador after his 8 goal performance..

Did some QBN players get the colours mixed up on the weekend? Kept kicking it to Eastlake...

ABH, our previous football manager was from Cairns which is how I am led to believe he got them down here. Two of them apparently played with the QLD country side last year here in Canberra and were keen to try their luck down here. In regards to Dessy, his old man played over 100 first grade games with Belconnen and the most of the family has relocated back to Canberra for work, hence both he and his brother are playing. He works really hard but has lacked support up forward this year.

A far more committed Queanbeyan Tigers were defeated by a more polished, efficient Ainslie at DFP this afternoon.

Ainslie 13-17-95 to Qbn 9-8-62

With most at the ground under no illusion that this Tiger side is far from the finished article, they were treated to glimpses of what the future holds for the club with the boys showing that they can mix it with the best for periods.

They worked extremely hard for most of the game only to run out of gas against a very good Ainslie outfit.

The Tigers listened to instructions and tried to execute the game plan but unfortunately just a few costly turn overs through poor skill errors against a side who made them pay really hurt the boys in Black and Yellow.

Unfortunately some serious injuries to Irwin and Stevens hampered the Tigers rotations but the side still showed tremendous endevour. I was really impressed with the youngsters in Jollife, Jensen and Daniels. Both Jollife and Jensen run straight at the ball and give 100% at every contest while Daniel plays way beyond his years with excellent skills and composure under pressure.

Overs can be happy with his performance on Nick Paine and it was only weight of numbers that helped the Ainslie forward kick 4 majors. Jaques was great down back and he has stood tall the last 2 weeks. Ryan Quade battled hard and nearly turned the game when he went into the ruck.

Youngsters Mackie and Jabornik looked very good down back on more experienced opponents. In fact every Tigers players showed something today that has been missing.....mental toughness. On several occasion Ainslie looked like they could blow the game apart but the Tigers refused to buckle.

A sign that things might yet be turning around.

For Ainslie they just got the goals when they needed them and looked a touch classier than their Tigers opponents.

Shirley was busy all day and he was well supported by Hirst and Tutt. Mathis was pretty good also. Tuohy was my pick for BOG. He showed composure and leadership when the Tigers mounted their challenges. Hughes and Paine kicked 7 between them. Not a bad effort from Hughesy considering he was out and about at Suburban on Friday night till around midnight.

All and all a pretty solid team effort from Ainslie who have slid under the radar a bit this season as they sit comfortably in 2nd spot.

For the Tigers a much better effort and one that show that if they listen to instructions, believe in the process and fight for every ball, the improvement will show in the years to come. This year is gone for them, but this season was never going to be about the wins and losses column.

It was always going to be about how they went about it, and today they went about it the Tiger way!

Anyone out North want to shed some light on why Belconnen would be looking for a coach already for 2012 without them informing Horney their intentions?

Given that they have provided limited tools to him you think they would have the common courtesy to explain what they are doing.

Maybe a recent past coach could shed some light on the possible target that they are looking at as apparently his wife looks at this sight and not him.

He seems to be in the thick of it. Looks like his money into the club and employment opportunities to new recruits go along way to guiding the direction of the club.

Not a bad effort from Hughesy considering he was out and about at Suburban on Friday night till around midnight.[/quote]

Im not sure the Tiges can throw this sort of rock this year!!

Not a bad effort from Hughesy considering he was out and about at Suburban on Friday night till around midnight.

Im not sure the Tiges can throw this sort of rock this year!![/QUOTE]

Tigers didn't...I did!

Tigers players involved were disciplined for the incident.

Not sure you want to compare a couple of teenage kids making a mistake to a premiership player who has been in the system for several years...unless you know different Tiger players out and about.

Wonder if the whispers are true that a club with a lot of very recent success who have fallen on harder times this year have done an internal review and decided that the best way forward is to cull at least one and possibly two of their lower grade sides.

The thinking is that those sides are holding back the club as a whole from reaching the 'level of professional excellence' it is aiming for.

Im not sure the Tiges can throw this sort of rock this year!!

Tigers didn't...I did!

Tigers players involved were disciplined for the incident.

Not sure you want to compare a couple of teenage kids making a mistake to a premiership player who has been in the system for several years...unless you know different Tiger players out and about.[/quote]

The difference here is Ainslie played on sunday, i couldnt imagine there being too much of an issue with a few beers a 'COUPLE' of nights before the game.. those "teenages" should probebly take a leaf out of his book.

[/quote]

The difference here is Ainslie played on sunday, i couldnt imagine there being too much of an issue with a few beers a 'COUPLE' of nights before the game.. those "teenages" should probebly take a leaf out of his book.[/QUOTE]

Its all about perception and as for taking a leaf out of his book...what a dumb comment.

Wonder if the whispers are true that a club with a lot of very recent success who have fallen on harder times this year have done an internal review and decided that the best way forward is to cull at least one and possibly two of their lower grade sides.

The thinking is that those sides are holding back the club as a whole from reaching the 'level of professional excellence' it is aiming for.

How would culling a lower side, say Div 4 & 3 (if you are referring to those lower sides), be of any benefit?

Who would the side be?

More drama at belco.. Senior coach Michael Horne has resigned as of tonight, just read it on his twitter account.. Reserves coach has also resigned.

Here is my mail on the course of events out Magpieland.

Horney found out that Belco were trying to replace him on Saturday with a former SANFL coach (they obviously forgot Horney is an Adelaide boy and has friends from Adelaide)

Horney spoke with the Vice President about the matter and it was news to him.

Vice President investigates and finds out it is true and informs Horney.

President and his colleagues do a mad scramble to try and get dirt on Horney from within the club to justify why they are looking to gaff him next season. Targeting disgruntled 2nd's players who believe they should be playing ones (name a club in Australia that does not have those).

Presidents email that has gone out to players is forwarded to Horney.

Horney informs them he knows what they have been up to and quits last night.

Dugger Read has been found out on this one. Maybe the club needs an open door policy.

Too many Reads spoil the broth!

Also heard that Lexie, Raadtsy and Lovie will not be at the club next year.

Looks like the "Decade of Dominance" from the "Premier Club" is crumbling before our very eyes.

Anyone out North care to comment?

The difference here is Ainslie played on sunday, i couldnt imagine there being too much of an issue with a few beers a 'COUPLE' of nights before the game.. those "teenages" should probebly take a leaf out of his book.[/quote]

Its all about perception and as for taking a leaf out of his book...what a dumb comment.[/quote]

-Rookie listed
-ACTAFL premiership
-All Australian
could go on.... its a fair book

if the man wants to have a few beers a couple nights before the game than so be it, i personly cant see the problem

The difference here is Ainslie played on sunday, i couldnt imagine there being too much of an issue with a few beers a 'COUPLE' of nights before the game.. those "teenages" should probebly take a leaf out of his book.

Its all about perception and as for taking a leaf out of his book...what a dumb comment.[/quote]

-Rookie listed
-ACTAFL premiership
-All Australian
could go on.... its a fair book

if the man wants to have a few beers a couple nights before the game than so be it, i personly cant see the problem[/QUOTE]

How do you know how many beers he had?

How do you know he did not leave Suburban and head to Mooseheads til 5am?

You dont, your making an assumption just like anyone could make a different one if they saw him at Suburban.

My point is if you put yourself in certain situations then people will come up with possible conclusions. If he needs a few beers 38 hours before the bounce of the ball then stay home and have a few while watching the footy.

It shows a lack of respect IMO to his club and the opposition he was to play.

Eastern Conference - 2011