Eddie McGuire Claims Richmond Supporters Were Filthy After The MelbTank Game...

Oct 2, 2008
Brothers of Destruction
They will cop a year at the bottom if there is at least hope for the future.So much so that one-eyed barrackers were openly cheering for their team to lose because it was a "win". When Richmond beat Melbourne in that 2009 game, Tigers fans were filthy and the Demons fans delighted!

Eddie McGuire,

Herald Sun Article: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/opinion...raft-concessions/story-e6frfhqf-1226507828132

(It's a bunch of nothing, so don't even bother clicking it, but there's the link).

Last time I checked (you know when I was there at the game) Richmond fans loved the win. No Richmond fan was upset we won, we had nothing to gain if we had lost.

I find it ridiculous that a president of an AFL club can place his journalist hat on for a moment and have an opinion on other clubs, especially when no one shall critique his glorious Collingwood.

**** up Eddie, and don't make an assumption about the Tigers. We haven't won many games in the last 30 years and we take what we can get.

Just like when Tony Shaw got told to coach out the rest of the year after being sacked and told to do the 'right thing' by the club?

Didn't they have a dramatic 'down' year in 2005 too? Maybe the AFL should check into that..

The main article is hilarious, called the Crows 'cheats', has a cry about the Chris Judd third party deal AGAIN, has an almighty whinge on Sydney's cost of living allowance, sinks the boots into Melbourne, displays jealousy at the GWS' concessions and makes an incorrect assumption about Richmond.

Unbelievable...

Eddie McGuire,

Herald Sun Article: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/opinion...raft-concessions/story-e6frfhqf-1226507828132

(It's a bunch of nothing, so don't even bother clicking it, but there's the link).

Last time I checked (you know when I was there at the game) Richmond fans loved the win. No Richmond fan was upset we won, we had nothing to gain if we had lost.

I find it ridiculous that a president of an AFL club can place his journalist hat on for a moment and have an opinion on other clubs, especially when no one shall critique his glorious Collingwood.

**** up Eddie, and don't make an assumption about the Tigers. We haven't won many games in the last 30 years and we take what we can get.

I was at that game too and remember it being a very low standard game with errors on both sides. I certainly do not recall any Tiger fans being disappointed with the win though. Myself I generally don't give a great deal of attention to what eddie says at all. I find it nearly impossible to take him seriously.:confused:

Classic McGuire deflecto tactic - ignore the fat silly

Dear God. What is that Avatar? Scares the poo out of me.

But yes, Eddie McGuire has nothing better to do other then stir the pot. It's his job.

I was there too and I just remember high-fiving everyone around me. I cant recall anyone being disappointed in the result (Demons fans included). It was a rubbish game but it's not often you win one after the siren, so we enjoyed it.

Yeah Equus, you're certainly right. The article attracted no response or attention until I brought it up, I should have just allowed it to die it's own death.

Don't know why I posted it on the main board either, watching all the Collingwood supporters defend him is like watching the seagulls at the McDonald's carpark fight for a cup of chips.

He's right. Every year for as long as l've been on Big Footy, there has been a thread discussing all our opinions on whether it would be better to drop a meaningless game versus winning a dead-rubber and handicapping our options at the draft. Some agreed, some disagreed... but McChins isnt saying anything that wasnt discussed within our members/club. I can drag up about 25 threads on this topic over the last 7 years... l'll admit, when we were as shit as we were, l hated winning meaningless games - and l ****ing hated winning that game against Melbourne.

How dare he say that, i was dancing on the ceiling celebrating a rare TW victory :confused:
By then it was Jade Rawlings, Bo. TW didn't even get that one to claim.
I was there too and the people around me erupted when Jordy kicked it. A team mate (not playing) commentated at the time "it's every boys dream"...
Players don't buy into tanking. Never will.
Eddie is just under pressure to say "something" a bit like Jeff Kennett. They both suffer from limelight deprivation syndrome.

if u actually watch the replay the whole tiger coaches box was shattered when jordy kicked the winning goal the players were certainly elated but not the coaches
Shattered? Fair call on a 2 second clip. Try "couldn't give a shit" instead. We just beat a side who's coaches box wasn't trying to win...what would your emotion be? In any event we were discussing Richmond supporters reactions in response to Eddie, not coaches.

Mcguire is a massive flog anyway. Who cares.
I'll tell you who WILL be filthy next season....Collingwood.
Especially after we hand it to them by 70 points at the MCG followed by Push up smashing Didak in a UFC fight to the death.

Somebody please correct me if I'm wrong but didnt Tigers pick up D.Martin end of that year?
If so very happy with the win nah was happy with the win anyway.

Somebody please correct me if I'm wrong but didnt Tigers pick up D.Martin end of that year?
If so very happy with the win nah was happy with the win anyway.

Win or lose it made little difference to us in terms of getting Martin. We were going to finish 2nd bottom anyway and the Dees would have just laid down against Freo a few weeks later if Jordie missed that kick. They weren't going to win more than 4 games.

I'd imagine he was in the commentary box at the time, from where he would get a great feel for the crowd's emotions at the time :rolleyes:

Mcguire is a massive flog anyway. Who cares.
I'll tell you who WILL be filthy next season....Collingwood.
Especially after we hand it to them by 70 points at the MCG followed by Push up smashing Didak in a UFC fight to the death.
Next time we beat them. We should all just walk off and go 'meh' :D

Eddie McGuire Claims Richmond Supporters Were Filthy After The MelbTank Game...