Eddie McGuire's response to Swan interview

It's just another of the league's taxes on the elite. Swanny gets more interviews than Yagmoor, so we have to take $5k off him. ;)

It's not about what you sign up to, Dave. It's whether it's fair and reasonable. Why get punished for effectively doing nothing wrong?

Pickering would have known what was going on. He's an experienced player manager.

If there was no problem with the interview, then tell the club Pickers, you know the score. I suspect Swanny wanted to clear the air, and that's fair enough, but I suspect the club would appreciate having a heads up so they don't have people ambushed, like Luke Ball.

I reckon Pickers thought the club probably would have preferred a no comment and to let sleeping dogs lie. That's something you can debate and I get Swanny wanting to clarify things, but it was a bit cheeky.

Haven't watched the footy show for a long long time and watched last night , so I guess the stunt worked . The good thing to come out of it was it reminded me I'm not missing anything .

That's a bit harsh on Milne.

They're much worse human beings than him.

I laughed at this. Milne was a bee's d*ck from being convicted of rape but Barrett and Wilson are still worse human beings. Haha. :D

If what everyone has said so far is true (and I assume it is) then the full blame of this falls on Liam Pickering for not talking to the club about the interview.

Not sure if I like or hate McGuire going on morning radio every day and forming a rebuttal to whatever has gone on with Collingwood. It's sort of like we've all got to sit on our hands and listen to him preach to the choir. But hey, who complains about free publicity every morning.

And two PAs, very impressive. :)

Pickering would have known what was going on. He's an experienced player manager.

If there was no problem with the interview, then tell the club Pickers, you know the score. I suspect Swanny wanted to clear the air, and that's fair enough, but I suspect the club would appreciate having a heads up so they don't have people ambushed, like Luke Ball.

I reckon Pickers thought the club probably would have preferred a no comment and to let sleeping dogs lie. That's something you can debate and I get Swanny wanting to clarify things, but it was a bit cheeky.

I read it this way too. I think Pickering and Swan didn't go through proper channels because they didn't want to give the club the chance to deny him the interview. I think they played it well as he should be allowed to defend himself against accusations made in national newspaper articles. The club who seemingly did nothing to defend him should not also be able to stop him from defending himself.

CFC admin are becoming a bit too cold bloodedly corporate for my liking.

I read it this way too. I think Pickering and Swan didn't go through proper channels because they didn't want to give the club the chance to deny him the interview. I think they played it well as he should be allowed to defend himself against accusations made in national newspaper articles. The club who seemingly did nothing to defend him should not also be able to stop him from defending himself.

Who's to say the club wouldn't have let Swan do the interview and defend himself? The club just want to be sure nothing bad comes of it and if Swan and Pickers just simply trusted the club he surely would've been given a green light.
Ultimately I think both club and player/manager could've handled it much better.

It's not about what you sign up to, Dave. It's whether it's fair and reasonable. Why get punished for effectively doing nothing wrong?

The Rules say if you do a Interview tell the Club 1st, So Swan did do something wrong

I can see Pickers acting on behalf of his player, and that's good player management. Paul Connors I think is a brilliant player manager and similarly goes the extra mile for his players in their specific interests.

However, it's a matter here of competing interests. The Club has to be able to manage the message and I question the value of re-raising an old topic which had died away already was unnecessary and I don't think cleared anything up, it simply put it back under the spotlight.

As they say, if you argue with fools (like Barrett) soon no-one can tell the difference. Would have been better to let it slide through to the keeper.

Very Well Said. Pickers just had to tell the Club who I think would have no Problem Swan doing the Interview but they just want to know 1st,

But you could be Right the Club wanted an no Comment Stance and Swan did not want do that

I laughed at this. Milne was a bee's d*ck from being convicted of rape but Barrett and Wilson are still worse human beings. Haha. :D

If what everyone has said so far is true (and I assume it is) then the full blame of this falls on Liam Pickering for not talking to the club about the interview.

Not sure if I like or hate McGuire going on morning radio every day and forming a rebuttal to whatever has gone on with Collingwood. It's sort of like we've all got to sit on our hands and listen to him preach to the choir. But hey, who complains about free publicity every morning.

And two PAs, very impressive. :)

Pickering comes accross like most Managers, as money hungrey people that do anything for more money.

The lie as Pickering did before the Ablett move to the Suns

I seriously dislike Barrett and I'm starting to feel that way about Pickering.

I was never a Fan of Pickering. Seems a Knob and thinks he know best.

That what I got when he is on Fox Footy

I don't mind Pickering - he was advocating well for his man.

But now he knows the grey areas are no more at Collingwood for this type of stunt.

The lesson's learnt - let's move on.

My favorite part of the interview is when Drew Petrie made barrett squirm

Drew Petrie = top bloke :thumbsu:

Bang on he was. I agree with Ed on this. The Footy Show would be more respected if they lost Barrett.

What I don't understand is - why did Swan do the interview? It served NO purpose. If he wanted to do a respected interview, half time tomorrow night would've been the time. 'Yeah mate, I'm doing good. This talk of drugs is rubbish...'

Bemusing.

He got paid $20 G to do a interview. Not saying it falls under the cap but when it comes to money being paid for things other then footy the club needs to know. This is why you run it by the club first. A player could do something that upsets a sponsor or break a league rule. It affects the club so get the ok first that's why they have these rules.

As Eddie said have a look at Essendon at the moment. If we are to believe them they didn't know what was happening. Maybe they should have.

Guys like Barrett don't care about the club and what's best for it. He only wants what's best for himself. Same with hutchy. He back stabbed a mate to get a job on Triple M back in the 90's to get his start. They have no interest in the truth or what's best for a player they just want the next big story. Just like Caro and her story about Swanny saying we should sack him if we haven't already. And bucks replied to her saying " you have my number Caro and you didn't call me to confirm your story. Don't speak for the Collingwood FC". He was standing up for Swan so don't tell me the club didn't defend him.

I haven't heard this before. What happened there?

Bang on he was. I agree with Ed on this. The Footy Show would be more respected if they lost Barrett.

What I don't understand is - why did Swan do the interview? It served NO purpose. If he wanted to do a respected interview, half time tomorrow night would've been the time. 'Yeah mate, I'm doing good. This talk of drugs is rubbish...'

Bemusing.

I agree if The Footy Show pissed of Hutchy and Barret and there Mates More people would watch it

Eddie McGuire's response to Swan interview