• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Edfl top 6 2010

it is a big call but if you try and say that catani weren't hopeless Vs Dusties you have issues. had no structure and struggled to break lines when running the ball.
Poowong managed that, as did nyora and nar nar goon (obviously) so, easily in the bottom three teams the dusties played on match day.

We got a game in hand and play KWR twice in 4 weeks so that might decide our finals chances. Catani too good yesterday but a few injuries early in the game didnt help our chances.

Good win by the 2's for nyora. Will make finals now.

You have played the same amount of games as Lang Lang and KWR and are two games and 20% behind both. Three games behind NNS. That is a lot to make up. Going to have to beat all three to play finals.

I think we are a chance, after next week will have played probably the top 5 sides. We always get smashed at catani and NNG, other games have been fairly good.

NNG will not win the flag cos they are chokers.

I think we are a chance, after next week will have played probably the top 5 sides. We always get smashed at catani and NNG, other games have been fairly good.

NNG havent had a side in the last few years that has been good enough to win the flag, as simple as that, no choke required. This year they have a real shot at the title and injuries aside, if they dont make the GF this year, then you can label them as chokers. If Nyora concentrated on playing good footy, they would do well as a few players can play a bit, but they just have a dirty mentality and I dont know if that is coached or whatever but it will probably stop them from playing finals this year.

Why don't we just hand them the cup now?

Seriously bigpapagman you are way off the mark with your comment. All it takes is for them to have one off day or a few key injuries at the wrong time of the year and they don't go home with the cup.

Nar Nar Goon is still my tip to take home the flag.

Don't get all defensive and petty about it pal. The facts are, you have improved a hell of a lot from last year, but you aren't up to it.

As BOTH said, a close to full strength NNG side is capable of winning it this year, if they are to go out in straight sets again then you may label them as chokers.

Don't get all defensive and petty about it pal. The facts are, you have improved a hell of a lot from last year, but you aren't up to it.

As BOTH said, a close to full strength NNG side is capable of winning it this year, if they are to go out in straight sets again then you may label them as chokers.

As i look it at NNG, CL, Dusties, Garfield and Catani will make finals leaving 1 spot left, I think nyora will be close with other teams like NNS, Lang Lang, KWR maybe. Will all depend on which of these teams can beat each other the most and looking at results it seems very even around the middle of the ladder. We were ordinary against NNG and Catani but i think the footy we played against dusties is good enough to beat those sides if we can keep at that level.

I reckon it is fair to call them chokers at the moment. Gone into the last 2 finals series expecting to win it and have yet to win a final

Disagree. Even though NNG finished on top in 2008 Cora Lynn were clearly the best side in the comp. NNG were probably disappointed to lose to us in the prelim but we didn't have one injury at the time and were playing very good football. From memory the margin was 8 points so could have gone either way. Scanlon getting sent off probably cost them the match.

Then last year CL and ND clearly best two sides.

Like I said I expect NNG to win the flag this year. If they don't make the grand final then it is fair to call them chokers.

I don't think anyone expected them to win it last year. I know that whilst people inside the club were confident that they could do well, I don't think they exactly thought it was in the bag. As Surkin said, Cora Lynn and Nilma were easily the two best for the year and the Dusties had already beaten NNG twice leading into the knockout final.

The year before NNG did finish on top, but it was a very young side and Cora Lynn were a much stronger and ready premiership side. And again as Surkin mentioned, Langy copped us on a good day in the prelim and got over the top of us by 8 points. Hardly a blow out.

As i look it at NNG, CL, Dusties, Garfield and Catani will make finals leaving 1 spot left, I think nyora will be close with other teams like NNS, Lang Lang, KWR maybe. Will all depend on which of these teams can beat each other the most and looking at results it seems very even around the middle of the ladder. We were ordinary against NNG and Catani but i think the footy we played against dusties is good enough to beat those sides if we can keep at that level.

Ok fair enough. I just think you are giving the others too big of a start and aren't good enough to win any games you perhaps "shouldn't win", which you will need to do to make it. But good luck to ya's anyway, you just never know.

I think there are 5 teams above us, we play 2 of them twice so thats 7 games. Just gotta hope to beat the other teams around us, which is a possibility, will be tough but our goal is still to play finals.

With the top teams so far in front and then probably very even middle of the ladder 9 wins might get 6th spot. Longwarry made it with 10 last year and that was with Nyora, Buln and Ellinbank who were all very average and won 5 games between them. I think the bottom 3 will win more than that this season.

Why don't we just hand them the cup now?

Seriously bigpapagman you are way off the mark with your comment. All it takes is for them to have one off day or a few key injuries at the wrong time of the year and they don't go home with the cup.

Nar Nar Goon is still my tip to take home the flag.
Why don't we? Save a lot of time.

I wouldn't even be worrying about it in two weeks time. Providing both teams can field a side 90-95% of its capabilities come finals time thats when they'll be at there best. NNG might flog Cora Lynn in two weeks and vice versa, but it won't have much bearing on what happens at the end of the year.

Edfl top 6 2010