Player Watch Edward Allan

Mackenzie is actually displaying that potential in real time. Allan has shown none of the explosive breakaway speed Judd did. A player that just tests well in the 20m sprint and plays midfield doesn't correlate to comps with Judd. No one has ever watched Allan in juniors and thought he's stylistically anything remotely like Chris Judd. He's more Mundy like than Judd. His 20m sprint is irrelevant for football, because it's not directly translatable, and we know that from draftees breaking 20m sprint records and never displaying anything like it at AFL level, where some of the most explosive AFL players around tested avg in that sprint.
watch the weekend's game again. You can see Allan put on the jets in the first 10m, get clear from congestion, before kicking long. That is v Judd like. Along with being a tall extractor, and having a good tank. Has the potential to show this explosive power more, which is directly related to his 20m sprint times, though I agree he has Mundy like traits also

Speak to some Western Australians. They'll explain it to you.
None of them will tell you he plays anything like Chris Judd. So I have no idea what you are trying to get at. I’d love to see one scout report that brings up a comp anything like that. I already said in another thread Allan is NOT an explosive player. 20m sprint is not a measure of explosiveness, that’s all in the first 5 metres. It’s a measure of middle distance pace which is not the same thing. Players rarely get to sprint 20m with the ball in games.

watch the weekend's game again. You can see Allan put on the jets in the first 10m, get clear from congestion, before kicking long. That is v Judd like. Along with being a tall extractor, and having a good tank. Has the potential to show this explosive power more, which is directly related to his 20m sprint times, though I agree he has Mundy like traits also
Saw it, running away from congestion is not remotely a clear indication of explosiveness because everyone else is starting from a standstill due to a recently contested ball. I’ve seen Scott Pendlebury sprint away from a congestion on a few occasions. Explosive speed is represented when you see something like Chris Judd and Brett Deledio stride for stride at full tilt one chasing the other, not quite able to catch up who were both arguably the most explosive mids we’ve seen for the last 20 years. Judd could consistently sprint away from guys from a standing start when the chaser already had a head of steam built up heading towards him. Not sure how many times it has to be repeated that 20m sprints is not representative of explosiveness. It’s all in the first 5m and a 20m sprint gives zero indication of whether the speed is in the first 5m or the last 10. And that literally makes all the difference.

I’m excited about Allan, but I’m not pretending he has attributes or plays like a guy who was arguably the most dominant and unstoppable midfielder we might have ever seen during his prime before his injuries

None of them will tell you he plays anything like Chris Judd. So I have no idea what you are trying to get at. I’d love to see one scout report that brings up a comp anything like that. I already said in another thread Allan is NOT an explosive player. 20m sprint is not a measure of explosiveness, that’s all in the first 5 metres. It’s a measure of middle distance pace which is not the same thing. Players rarely get to sprint 20m with the ball in games.

Most of the blokes over there I know played for West Coast. They say he is something special.
Yes you have no idea.
This kid is going to be good.
EXPLOSIVE
He will turn it on once in the seniors.

Just yesterday in the presser Fly was saying how excited he was by him.

Feck the scout reports. Ex players wiser.

Most of the blokes over there I know played for West Coast. They say he is something special.
Yes you have no idea.
This kid is going to be good.
EXPLOSIVE
He will turn it on once in the seniors.

Just yesterday in the presser Fly was saying how excited he was by him.
I never argued he wasn’t going to be something special. I like Allan’s attributes quite a lot. He looks very much like a player who could develop into something we really need when our older mids retire. I’ve not said one thing to the contrary of that. I’ve not seen the explosiveness in game. He shows that I’ll admit the kid has explosive game speed. Literally all the scouting reports you can find mention his one paced game speed and surprise at his sprint testing because it did NOT show up in game situations

I never argued he wasn’t going to be something special. I like Allan’s attributes quite a lot. He looks very much like a player who could develop into something we really need when our older mids retire. I’ve not said one thing to the contrary of that. I’ve not seen the explosiveness in game. He shows that I’ll admit the kid has explosive game speed
He's only shown this explosive quality a few times in every VFL game he has played.
He missed all last year and played the last 5 games in the season with Claremont Colts.
So he has played in 8 games in well over a year.

I never argued he wasn’t going to be something special. I like Allan’s attributes quite a lot. He looks very much like a player who could develop into something we really need when our older mids retire. I’ve not said one thing to the contrary of that. I’ve not seen the explosiveness in game. He shows that I’ll admit the kid has explosive game speed. Literally all the scouting reports you can find mention his one paced game speed and surprise at his sprint testing because it did NOT show up in game situations
Was he an inside or outside mid in the juniors? He looks a bit lost when they've put him in the centre square in VFL.

One of his WA teammates was actually quoted during draft period as saying his biggest strength is work in close, to get clearances / extraction. Good smarts, vision, hands in tight spots.
He also seems to relish these contested type situations. Along with getting into open spaces and kicking long to F50 targets etc

That lost part is the reflection of his rawness and shyness imo. Hence lots of upside once he gets comfortable with positioning and imposing himself on contests. Has all the tools, and was literally getting better each training session from what I saw, with such a steep development curve / getting time on the park under his belt

One of his WA teammates was actually quoted during draft period as saying his biggest strength is work in close, to get clearances / extraction. Good smarts, vision, hands in tight spots.
He also seems to relish these contested type situations. Along with getting into open spaces and kicking long to F50 targets etc

That lost part is the reflection of his rawness and shyness imo. Hence lots of upside once he gets comfortable with positioning and imposing himself on contests. Has all the tools, and was literally getting better each training session from what I saw, with such a steep development curve / getting time on the park under his belt
Good post mate. He's playing wing which is new to him. Doing some nice work so far. Give him a couple of years there and than unleash him inside where he plays at his best.
The most exciting young prospect on our list after Nick.

Inside mid and wing in his junior days. I thought he looked a bit raw when put in the middle. More than happy for him to be developed as an outside mid which he can then learn his inside craft as the years go by. To me, he looked better on the outside and with some great weapons to go with it

And also have not picked up players offered to us for peanuts.
Bernie Quinlan, Plugger and others I forget. Do not want to remember.

Admin is everything in a well run club.
The Board overruled these decisions... but then approved big $$$$ for underwhelming players like Gary Shaw, Mark Bayliss, Mike Richardson, Teasdale, Raines

On SM-N975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

The Board overruled these decisions... but then approved big $$$$ for underwhelming players like Gary Shaw, Mark Bayliss, Mike Richardson, Teasdale, Raines

On SM-N975F using BigFooty.com mobile app
The New Magpies approved big $$$$ for underwhelming players like Gary Shaw, Mark Bayliss, Mike Richardson, Raines - and nearly sent the Club to the wall. They also approved big $$$$ for David Cloke.

Previous administrations made the Quinlan & Teasdale calls. I don't think Quinlan was asking for the world, and would have won us multiple flags under Hafey. Teasdale was a bust.

His old man must have been a real gun player. He was the inaugural Fremantle Captain.
I know I overstate all things with Edward 🤣
Preferring him to stay on the wing for now.

His old man must have been a real gun player. He was the inaugural Fremantle Captain.
I know I overstate all things with Edward 🤣
Preferring him to stay on the wing for now.
He was a star. It was a coup that Freo got him as he was at the top of his game. Best and fairest in a premiership team, plus another two years as All Australian immediately before he left. Heaps of injuries at Freo, as well as their anonimity probably result in him not being rated as highly as he should have been.

Saw it, running away from congestion is not remotely a clear indication of explosiveness because everyone else is starting from a standstill due to a recently contested ball. I’ve seen Scott Pendlebury sprint away from a congestion on a few occasions. Explosive speed is represented when you see something like Chris Judd and Brett Deledio stride for stride at full tilt one chasing the other, not quite able to catch up who were both arguably the most explosive mids we’ve seen for the last 20 years. Judd could consistently sprint away from guys from a standing start when the chaser already had a head of steam built up heading towards him. Not sure how many times it has to be repeated that 20m sprints is not representative of explosiveness. It’s all in the first 5m and a 20m sprint gives zero indication of whether the speed is in the first 5m or the last 10. And that literally makes all the difference.

I’m excited about Allan, but I’m not pretending he has attributes or plays like a guy who was arguably the most dominant and unstoppable midfielder we might have ever seen during his prime before his injuries
one of strangest comments ive seen for a while. You could crash ChatGPT with words like that...

when / if youve seen Pendles do it, its because of his evasiveness and smarts. & he's never been able to "sprint away from a congestion", whilst Ed def can. I agree his first 2m - 5m are more assessing the situation, but then he puts the foot down and creates space to deliver by foot, under reduced pressure. Still explosiveness, whichever way you look at it, which is not wholly defined by when and where you exert it

without trying to create a frankenstein of charlie winners, have said before that his demeanor reminds me a bit of Fyfe early days. Shy, looking at the ground, not fully imposing himself on contests, but with plenty of x factor skills. He still has a killer instinct though, and has proven that he can find the footy, which - backed up by his testing - is why so many observers, Twomey included, have said that he could have the biggest scope for upside in last year's draft

He was a star. It was a coup that Freo got him as he was at the top of his game. Best and fairest in a premiership team, plus another two years as All Australian immediately before he left. Heaps of injuries at Freo, as well as their anonimity probably result in him not being rated as highly as he should have been.
Yes, similar to the Matthew Pavlich effect.
Pavlich was an absolute gun who stayed loyal to the Dockers despite the lure of returning to SA.
He tends to be underestimated by some because of where he played.

Player Watch Edward Allan