Player Watch Edward Allan

I’m quietly jumping out of my seat about Parker. Haven’t said much about him on here, because it’s probably too early etc etc.

But I saw him in his first VFL game for us, and thought this guy has ‘it’. Poised, doesn’t panic, you can see him thinking through what he has to do. He’s got a fair way to go yet, but definitely has the building blocks of a very good AFL footballer.

This may seem a little obscure but when watching him his posture and running remind me so much of Scotty Crow.

Agree that he has all the tools to become a very solid footballer.

I’m quietly jumping out of my seat about Parker. Haven’t said much about him on here, because it’s probably too early etc etc.

But I saw him in his first VFL game for us, and thought this guy has ‘it’. Poised, doesn’t panic, you can see him thinking through what he has to do. He’s got a fair way to go yet, but definitely has the building blocks of a very good AFL footballer.
Spot on with this, absolutely spot on.

He was involved from the get go, with a really productive first quarter, and no significant drop off after that.

In the first ten or so minutes I was all (to my mate) ‘that’s Allan’, ‘it’s Allan again’ and ‘was that Allan?’.

Loved to see it. Was a very welcome fillip for the team and fans, at the end of a crazy but ultimately disappointing year.
I was saying exactly the same in the first qtr..🤣

This may seem a little obscure but when watching him his posture and running remind me so much of Scotty Crow.

Agree that he has all the tools to become a very solid footballer.
Scott Russell ?

Russell Crowe?

Russell Crowe Gladiator GIF by MOODMAN

The dead rubber thing is only a small thing. It was the way he went about it that was impressive.

Put it this way - Macrae played a half of footy and got 10 possessions (similar stats for TOG), but who showed the traits that stood out as impactful?

Allan by as far as you can kick your hat.
So not very far?

Bit of WOW about him last night. Do we still have the worst list under whatever ****ing age they were banging on about? Look out 2025
Kappa has now dropped the age to worst list under 20.

So it's only Jiath and Demattia. And he delisted Demattia early June.

Kappa has now dropped the age to worst list under 20.

So it's only Jiath and Demattia. And he delisted Demattia early June.

Do you think it’s teeming with top line talents down there just waiting?

It’s hard to really rate total young talent on a list non AFL exposed or very small samples 1 side vs another.
But I wouldn’t imagine with our pick ranges it would be beating out some other sides.
We also finished bottom 2 in the vfl and loss to a team who hadn’t won a game in 2 seasons. Now either our VFL top up players aren’t any good or the AFL talents aren’t.

That’s not to say we have nothing but it couldn’t be as many as we’d need to refresh the elder brigade.

good to see allan go in for the ball early on. I dont see much point in having "size" unless you use it. He was noticeably more "urgent" than his days in the VFL, but the other 35 on the field, particularly the demons, were thinking about bali.

having said that, he seems to be doing better in the last month or two, as the coach has indicated on a couple of occasions in recent weeks.

Do you think it’s teeming with top line talents down there just waiting?

It’s hard to really rate total young talent on a list non AFL exposed or very small samples 1 side vs another.
But I wouldn’t imagine with our pick ranges it would be beating out some other sides.
We also finished bottom 2 in the vfl and loss to a team who hadn’t won a game in 2 seasons. Now either our VFL top up players aren’t any good or the AFL talents aren’t.

That’s not to say we have nothing but it couldn’t be as many as we’d need to refresh the elder brigade.
The world needs more fact checking Loki, but not sure I'd begin by fact checking dumb jokes.

Pickett may get booed in ‘25, but the Demon fans booing of Maynard is next level. It’s become one of those fan things that get legs in footy. It’s off and running now, and will probably continue for the whole of Bruzzy’s career.
as the dees slide their fans will drop off, it’ll be a dull murmur in no time

I’m looking forward to that time.👍

We were surrounded by Dees fans and they didn’t let up on Maynard, although the scoreboard tended to quiten them down, and then they slithered away…

I’d be tempering expectations myself. That was pre-season match simulation type intensity and in a head to head 6 months from now I’m going with Titch in that role. What he needs though is to take his game to the next level in the twos and become a Tsatas level ball winner. We’ve seen that of late, but it’s only 6 weeks ago he was having 15 possession games at that level.

Anyone on the Macrae or McInnes bandwagons take note. Allan may have been brushing tackles for fun, but it’s what he did after that which the other two can’t. Taking ground with your legs is huge in our team and unless you’re pushing Pendles or Titch out you need that trait to play mid with us.
Was only his 2nd Game so very promising

A “no” would have sufficed. Given the pile on kappa I read your comment as contrary to his.
If you want a serious response it's more of an I don't know for me.

In the Wright era drafts, I think we definitely prioritised attributes over footy smarts. Outside of Nick, the kids we've taken are: Harrison, Draper, Murley, Allan, Ryan, HDM and Jiath

The type we've taken are going to take a while and can frustrate as they can look like headless chooks, but if they click - look out. Or in other words too early to say what we've got with Harrison, Allan, Ryan, HDM and Jiath.

I thought he looked terrific, and the main thing I enjoyed was his willingness to step in and put his head over the ball. He has all the attributes but typically looks reactive at VFL level. The dead rubber nature of the game does not concern me from this point of view.
Might play Better at AFL level then at VFL Level

If you want a serious response it's more of an I don't know for me.

In the Wright era drafts, I think we definitely prioritised attributes over footy smarts. Outside of Nick, the kids we've taken are: Harrison, Draper, Murley, Allan, Ryan, HDM and Jiath

The type we've taken are going to take a while and can frustrate as they can look like headless chooks, but if they click - look out. Or in other words too early to say what we've got with Harrison, Allan, Ryan, HDM and Jiath.

I dont see any earth-shattering change, although I agree that derek was likely to draft a player even if other clubs have overlooked them because they are undersized and/or slow.

I think the trick is to get footballers who have skills and have attributes that give them an edge.

I was looking at nick watson this morning. He is so small and he has a well-learnt ability to duck. A north defender chose not to tackle him and goal resulted. It's a template for a successful career, especially with the focus on concussion.

Player Watch Edward Allan