Player Watch Edward Allan

Sounds a bit like Reef McInnes?

There are similarities.

McInnes played his best junior footy as a leading forward. McInnes seems a more contested style player.

Allan has played his best junior footy on the wing and seems to accumulate a bit more. I think Allan adds to our outside run.

Knightmare Analysis:

Pick 19, Collingwood: Edward Allan

Doerre Power Rankings: outside-20

Recruited from: Claremont (WA)

Likely role: To be determined - a tall utility with a unique athletic profile, Allan is still arguably finding his best position. Collingwood can mould Allan into anything of their choosing from a tall midfielder to a key position player or a tall flanker. No long-term best position is obvious at this point and is likely to become clearer once Allan stops growing and realises with a few years in the AFL system the full scope of his physical and athletic capabilities.

Readiness and likelihood to play: Allan is a project player and development in the VFL should be the focus. If he receives opportunities in 2023 that should be seen as a bonus rather than the expectation.

What you should know: The son of former Hawk and Docker Ben, Edward Allan is a tall utility of key position height who looks most likely to develop into either a tall midfielder or wingman. Allan is a skilful and mobile tall who won the 20m sprint at this year's AFL Draft combine, covers a lot of ground and finds the ball in bunches. Growing 20cm and gaining 20kg in the past two years, Allan is seen as one of the upside picks in this draft.

His ideal role is the same as the Nick Blakey role for the Swans and he's very unlikely to be a KP player.

That is definitely one of better reactions I have seen to your mate getting picked, if he had not had the fractured back we probably would not have had access to him. tall defender,forward ruck and another medium and I am happy.

We just need him to feel at home asap,Crispy we have another boarder for you mate.

my only concern with him is that has his rating been over inflated due to his combine results. before the combine, where was he rated, 30-40?
if he turns out to be that inside bull with speed, all good. His kicking is my biggest query, but he did miss a lot of footy during the year so fingers crossed

I'm just surprised with all this upside and being a WA boy WC didn't take him
I'm more surprised they didn't take Busslinger. WC sucked everyone in again with the nonsense about Hewitt being a risk ect., they were never going to pass on him and they chose Gineby because they think he'll play some games next year. Allan played a few games off little preparation, you can't take them all.

my only concern with him is that has his rating been over inflated due to his combine results. before the combine, where was he rated, 30-40?
if he turns out to be that inside bull with speed, all good. His kicking is my biggest query, but he did miss a lot of footy during the year so fingers crossed

It really is a classic Hine pick.

I can't wait for tonight.

His rating was actually downgraded due to the spine injury in the early season.

Hey mate, he was pointed out to me a couple of months ago when he came back from injury, as one that could be anything. It's not easy to produce run and carry, precise kicking, double sprint efforts etc., when you come off a back fracture. A pre season and some weights and I think everyone will be licking their lips in anticipation. 2 years of pre season and I can see him becoming a bull of a player. This was an astute pick by hine

my only query on him is his kicking as a midfielder, prefer them to be elite. havent seen a lot of him apart from what highlights are provided, so i am happy to be wrong

I'm more surprised they didn't take Busslinger.
Doggies took Buss at 13, one pick prior to their 2nd mate so he was off the board. No surprise West Toast took Ginbey with their first.
I'm more surprised Carlton passed on Buss.
Both Hollands & Buss would have been quality @ 11, but Buss also fit a need for the Bloos

It's hard to please some. Poor Ed had a back fracture most of the year and obviously wasn't able to do a big body of work. I just see this kid in 2 years time with a couple of pre seasons and some muscle on that body and think he could easily become a faster version of Cripps

Literally what I was thinking when we drafted him or a taller LDU. Imagine him and Reef exploding out of the contest and leaving their opponents in the dust.

Cal Twomey after watching him play said he'd jumped into top 15 calculations so his combine results whilst excellent didn't move the needle much. He got his rating by playing a great game v SA and top form for Claremont.

I also really like the kids like Cripps and Callaghan who do puberty late so spend a few years as the runts of the team. Teaches them styles of play and options that a bigger kid might not have to worry about. Get the spurt and suddenly you are the big bloke, with Allen also with elite athletic attributes.

Potentially already has a well rounded game because of this but still are learning how to use their new height and size to advantage. Cripps after a few seasons became a pack marking option at times on the forward line as an example. Allen will learn more about his size and serious speed over the next few seasons. Reckon this can translate into special. I am hyped if you cant tell.

Nothing like a tall mobile mid fielder inside and outside and has a nice long raking kick on him.

Apparently he can also play a bit up forward as well as he has a bit of nice height to him.

Handy tall mobile option mostly across the mid field.

Could turn out to be a real top quick winger type.

He was better than good. Recruited to the AFL late and his last few years were injury prone. Retired with a degererative knee by 28 yo.

However had 4 full seasons at Hawks and won a B&F in a flag year 91 and AA 93 and 94. He was right at the top of the comp in those years.
Look fair enough you and several others disagree about Ben Allen but I think he was a good not great player who was an accumulator like Harvey, and I feel he was over rated. He came into a brilliant side and won a flag early, and by being consistent jagged a lucky B&F.

My chief impression of BA was a tireless chipper of the ball, who was decent in heavy traffic.

If the son is as good as his dad we have paid the right price. I suspect physically he promises a lot more, and might be a star.

my only query on him is his kicking as a midfielder, prefer them to be elite. havent seen a lot of him apart from what highlights are provided, so i am happy to be wrong
I think there might be a clue in that interview with his dad from 9 years ago. His dad comments that as long as his boys are good kicks, he'll be happy. Obviously spent time on the skills as he was growing up. I think we can be hopeful that he is already a decent kick.

A few weeks ago I commented somewhere that I remembered that Collingwood recruiters would always check out the bedrooms of prospective recruits. A tidy, ordered environment pointing to an ordered individual etc. Last night I heard somebody comment during the broadcast, that the No.1 draft priority was character. That surprised me a little, but when you come across good character these days, it hits you in the face a bit. I think this kid oozes character. We'll have to wait on the rest.

I'm all for due diligence but having our recruitment team check out teenagers bedrooms sounds like something the media would blow up into something. :tearsofjoy:

Player Watch Edward Allan