Ellinbank Football League P3

Plugger! Leigh Noonan from NNG was last seen 3 years ago being wheeled off the longwarry footy ground (green whistle in hand obviously) and dumped onto the scrap heap. Now hes back fit and in the premiership midfield. Maybe theres hope for you? Put down the green whistle, stop stalkin darnum players on FB and get back out there big guy!!

Torp, I still get the giggles everytime this topic comes up. I'll never forget the day the big fella was whisked past us at Kooweerup on the stretcher, green whistle in hand...

Think i may go to the tab and put 10 on the big mummy to finish in the top 10 in the browlow.Shurkin you like a bet has he got any hope?

Top 10 probably need 14-15 votes. He's having a great year but I reckon he will poll mostly 1's and 2's. The umps love Goodes, and Bolton and O'Keefe may steal a few 3's away.

They just worked harder than us Falcor. Always seemed to get a couple of extra numbers to the ball because of it. You never want to lose but it will be a good wake up call for us.

Noticed last year the dusties were a very good dry weather side, and they went right off the boil when it got wet later in the season. Blokes like Daniel Johnson are very quick and hard to catch on a good surface.

Obviously there are exceptions to the rule though, Tumble.

How are the grounds looking around the league?

Lang Lang's is an absolute mudpit unfortunately. Will be quite some time before it comes good.

Played at Warragul last week and other than the centre wicket was in great condition.

Looking at the scores some of the others must be quite bad. Only 6 goals scored for the day at Catani and not many more at Cora Lynn and Nilma Darnum.

Wouldn't know it by the scores but the Goon was probably a Heavy 9. Holding a lot of water and with the traffic of the kids and reserves chopped up a fair bit. I have seen it worse but it wasn't great. Even though they always play well in the wet, the boys will be looking forward to getting on the beautiful Garfield surface this week I'd say. Should be a ripping game.

Two form sides of the comp.

You guys have been impressive the last month Tumbles. Need to win this one though to keep your top 2 chances alive.

They're just starting to get there act together I reckon Surks. Probably only 2 or 3 players away from being at full strength again too, so it does seem to be coming together nicely at the moment. I reckon if they can get over Garfield this week, they will finish top 2. If they don't, then it makes it pretty hard as you said.

Na mayhem the recruit I was talking about didn't end up happening.

Tumbles, I heard that Wade has been struggling a bit with the Zebras and may be considering a return to the Goon before the season is out. Any truth to this? Would be a huge addition if true.

Wouldn't know it by the scores but the Goon was probably a Heavy 9. Holding a lot of water and with the traffic of the kids and reserves chopped up a fair bit. I have seen it worse but it wasn't great. Even though they always play well in the wet, the boys will be looking forward to getting on the beautiful Garfield surface this week I'd say. Should be a ripping game.

NNG is a terrible football ground for most of the time, when are they going to do something to get it fixed? Seems a fair bit of cash has been spent there on facilities but ground is still rubbish.

Are grounds getting worse in this comp? Seems clubs rather spend all there cash on players, now we get a wet summer and looks like a wet winter and most the grounds are stuffed. Do councils give much help to clubs in baw baw or cardinia? I know its bloody hard to get a cent out of the south gippy shire for any sporting club thats not in leongatha.

Western Park (Warragul) is in almost perfect condition, no games played there on the weekend so the centre pitch should be even better next time there's a game played there, has to be a chance of a major final this year (hopefully granny).

Cora lynn's ground was rooted from all reports some people said it will not recover this year it's that bad.Water can't get to the pipe's because of 200m of compact soil is on top of the pipes. They think it's compacted so hard due to the car show held ever year at the ground ,think the gf maybe moved.

I know that the Darnum Rec Reserve is not owned by Baw Baw Shire. The DSE owns it and in my time at the club, I never even saw the DSE donate a machine to help with the facility. All the money that has been poured into the surface (and there has been quite a substantial amount) has amounted to nothing.

The bog-hole I met in 1995 is still the same today.

Western Park (Warragul) is in almost perfect condition, no games played there on the weekend so the centre pitch should be even better next time there's a game played there, has to be a chance of a major final this year (hopefully granny).

+1 for the GF being held at Warragul. Great surface and pretty good ground for viewing. Although at the moment the Western clubs occupy 6 of the top 7 positions so they may want to keep it out that way to maximise the crowd and gate/bar takings.

I know that the Darnum Rec Reserve is not owned by Baw Baw Shire. The DSE owns it and in my time at the club, I never even saw the DSE donate a machine to help with the facility. All the money that has been poured into the surface (and there has been quite a substantial amount) has amounted to nothing.

The bog-hole I met in 1995 is still the same today.

Our ground is owned by DSE as well, think we get about 2-3k from the shire for maintenance and thats it. Makes it hard to get grants as the DSE doesnt care and the shire doesnt either.