Ellinbank Football League

Buln might make finals, i thinks its between Buln, Poowong and Bunyip for the last 2 finals spots. Lang Lang, NNG and Nilma outside chances depending on the draw, havent studied it close enough. They have picked up a few but losing eastwell is a big loss, is it true he wouldnt stay if Hendriske came back? I think KWR will get the spoon this year, big spending over the last 2 years seems to have hurt them so they need to rebuild.

yes i dont follow it much but i think nilma are a chance for the spoon if they dont start performing soon as for eastwell he also said he was going to leave buln if morgan got the coaching job couple of years ago

Why would Eastwell wan't to play under Hendrix? Easty is a top bloke and has every right to play whereever he wants. I could not blame him for being unhappy if he did not get the top job at Buln.

yes i dont follow it much but i think nilma are a chance for the spoon if they dont start performing soon as for eastwell he also said he was going to leave buln if morgan got the coaching job couple of years ago

Sounds like Eatwell likes to dicate the terms under which he will play. If thats the case Buln might be better off without him.

Updated Prices - Round 3

Longwarry 1.70 v Bunyip 2.10
Nyora 1.25 v Buln Buln 4.00
Kooweerup 3.50 v Poowong 1.30
Nar Nar Goon 1.50 v Lang Lang 2.50
Warragul Industrials 4.00 v Cora Lynn 1.25
Neerim Sth 1.70 v Nilma Darnum 2.10
Catani 1.30 v Ellinbank 3.50

Sounds like Eatwell likes to dicate the terms under which he will play. If thats the case Buln might be better off without him.

you are a tool mate. Do you even know Brent or even seen him play footy for that matter? No club in the edfl, wglfl, mpnfl or club in any league below the vfl would be better off without Eastwell.
1. He is an absolute gun player which he has shown for many years at Buln Buln where he was in the top 3 midfielders in the league for about 5-6 years and now at Garfield where he is dominating.
2. From what i have heard he is great with the players and has good knowledge of the game.
3. He is a top bloke, great value when he is on the piss and gets along with everybody.

yeah, ridiculus call, had to do everything at buln last year, will be a star for garfield this year, will poll well in league b and f cause hes always everywhere. star player should go down to VFL soon i reckon to excelle him self.

you are a tool mate. Do you even know Brent or even seen him play footy for that matter? No club in the edfl, wglfl, mpnfl or club in any league below the vfl would be better off without Eastwell.
1. He is an absolute gun player which he has shown for many years at Buln Buln where he was in the top 3 midfielders in the league for about 5-6 years and now at Garfield where he is dominating.
2. From what i have heard he is great with the players and has good knowledge of the game.
3. He is a top bloke, great value when he is on the piss and gets along with everybody.

I do know Easty quite well and yes he is a very good player. But IF he said he wouldnt play under certain coaches (Hendrikse and Morgan) then he is putting his club in an awkward position. In my opinion the club is bigger than any individual and you cant have players dictating to the club who they will and wont play under.

Likewise at Bunyip this year. I have heard that Ablett wouldnt play there unless he was appointed coach. IF he did say that then I think Bunyip have made a mistake in appointing him coach. I will say it again - you cant have anyone dictating to the club. The club is bigger than the individual.

Jeez Hoggwash. I hope all the teams we play this year think the same way you do about Darnum. By the time they realise the talent that runs through this side is actually on the park, they will be 10 goals down and it wont even be half time.

Im gonna put this page in my favorites for future reference, I think.

I like it that people will write us off. It makes it sweeter when we succeeed. And we will.

You actually have no idea of capabilities of our new recruits, coupled together with the newfound skill and fitness of last years crop of players that you think were not senior players. A solid game plan, an excellent coach, VFL quality players, player fitness (the likes of which haven't been seen at the club for years), self belief and the knowledge that you are only 1 bad game away from the Magoos will ensure that we are far more competitive than in previous years.

Make no mistake. We will catch some teams by suprise this year. Because the Darnum of yesterday, that started terribly and got worse, is gone. Without giving too much away, I will say this:

If we are within 5 goals at 3/4 time, all those opposition blokes are gonna wonder what happened when they find that their margin is being erased simply by the sheer running power and fitness of this club, this year. I hope they are fit. They will need to be fit enough to play 5 quarters of footy. Because we are.

Having said all that, clubs will have a bad day. Both us and the opposition. Thats the nature of the game.

Write us off at your peril.

Let the games begin..............

Still got this page on your favourites pluggeroo?!

I feel sorry for some long-time ND players and supporters. Most of their supporters are just ferals though and i hear their paid players go missing when the going gets tough.
Arch

Fairly obvious that 6 paid players can't turn an absolute rabble into a finals outfit like some were predicting in this thread. No real shocks in the other matches yesterday. It was dissapointing though that only one match was under a 10 goal margin.

Seems i was fairly right about darnum so far. I hear the melb guys are only training once a week and are not fit, you darmun guys were saying fitness is your strenght this year. You got about 6 $600 a game players, i reckon you would have been better off with a couple of guns then about 10 $200 players, seems thats the way cora lynn have gone. Havent recruited huge names, just good senior players from higher leagues.

Longwarry and Bunyip about to start. Im tipping Longwarry but should be a good game. The computer predicts Longwarry by 96points after adding yesterdays results. Dont think it will be that high.

Fairly obvious that 6 paid players can't turn an absolute rabble into a finals outfit like some were predicting in this thread. No real shocks in the other matches yesterday. It was dissapointing though that only one match was under a 10 goal margin.
i couldnt agree more about darnum you wont get success if your paid players dont train start looking after your players who have been there for years

Still got this page on your favourites pluggeroo?!

I feel sorry for some long-time ND players and supporters. Most of their supporters are just ferals though and i hear their paid players go missing when the going gets tough.
Arch
couldnt agree more arch money is not everything

Big shock. Bunyip beat longwarry by 46 points. Are Longwarry not as good as last year??? They were touched up by Catani as well last week. OR maybe Bunyip is better than we expected. I think Mumford makes a lot of difference to them.

darnum, disapointing yesterday, Cann, stand out again with 4 second term goals, just needed support from others. problem as i see it - when Anthony is at FF, we look very potent, huge scoring abillity, he knows where to go etc, when hes at FB, we look stronger in defence but lack a FF, probably need to recruit a qullity FB (with some tallness about them and body size) or a quallity FF, which can release lippa to the back line. more often.

So whelan was the difference then? Did Urie play for Neerim?

whealn was not the difference, Ian Ballyntne was the difference. soft down field free kicks, soft around the ground free kicks, the man was a disgrace.
but yes whealn was sensation, kicked 11 i think, 4 or 5 were down fields but the other 6 were just his footy brain and sheer strength. will go close to the ton this year.

Urie played, dominated the first half, prob 15-20 possies. Then after halftime last years Thirds league B&F chris weller moved onto him and urie was quite for the rest of the game, weller with the upper hand in that contest.

BOG for neerim IMHO was Ben Davis, dominated on the wing, our attacking wingmen had nothing on him, let him play to lose and he killed us

BOG for Darnum - Cann abseloutly starred, NNS had no one to put on him, one player cannot to it all though.

Pull ya head in goodie, an umprie is not going to make 14 goals difference. You attacking wingman couldnt stop this davis bloke, how about they man up if he is killing ya, not every wingman can be attacking.
Whelan is a gun, everyone in the league knows that, maybe he deseved some more respect from the darmun coaches who obviously thought the league would be sh!t. Whelan and Sheehan have kicked 11 against darmun, ya still got osler, ablett, donaldson and the catani forwards to come up against. Long year ahead and a lot of cash wasted for the darnos i think.

Ballentyne is a good umpire, always fair from what i have seen, has done a good job in the last few GF's.

Bunyip were good today but each week it still looks like nyora and catani are the standouts.

Pull ya head in goodie, an umprie is not going to make 14 goals difference. You attacking wingman couldnt stop this davis bloke, how about they man up if he is killing ya, not every wingman can be attacking.
Whelan is a gun, everyone in the league knows that, maybe he deseved some more respect from the darmun coaches who obviously thought the league would be sh!t. Whelan and Sheehan have kicked 11 against darmun, ya still got osler, ablett, donaldson and the catani forwards to come up against. Long year ahead and a lot of cash wasted for the darnos i think.

Ballentyne is a good umpire, always fair from what i have seen, has done a good job in the last few GF's.

Bunyip were good today but each week it still looks like nyora and catani are the standouts.

I agree Ian Ballantyne has been the best umpire in this league over the past 15 years.

Power Ratings after round 3 -

1) Catani 145
2) Nyora 138
3) Poowong 135
4) Longwarry 109
5) Neerim Sth 105
6) Cora Lynn 99
7) Nar Nar Goon 99
8) Lang Lang 93
9) Bunyip 77
10) Buln Buln 68
11) Warragul Industrials 67
12) Ellinbank 56
13) Kooweerup 40
14) Nilma Darnum 34

Note : These are generated using a computer program that takes into account the final winning margin of each match and the strength of the opposition as well as home ground advantage.

To calculate the predicted margin between 2 teams you simply take the difference in ratings and then add home ground advantage (worth 12 points currently). So Poowong playing Nyora this week would predict a 9 point win for Poowong (if the game was at Nyora it would tip Nyora by 15 points). Hope this makes sense.

Thanks Mal. Some interesting ratings there. Hard to pick against Nyora against any team (at any ground). I know this must be due to home grounds, etc but is suprising that Catani has been beaten by nyora and is still the top ranked side. Also surprising to see NNS rated higher than CL even though they were beaten by them the other week and NNS has beaten a mid ranked side and the lowest ranked side.