Doss
Ass
- Aug 1, 2011
- AFL Club
- Essendon
I was a big fan of Woosha, but I'm not sure he'd make it.Andrew Welsh anyone??
I feel bad for the 1 Stanton that cops the tag.B: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
HB: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
C: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
HF: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
F: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
R: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
INT: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
Needs more AmbroseB: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
HB: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
C: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
HF: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
F: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
R: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
INT: Stanton - Stanton - Stanton - Stanton
I agree with this team Buck except I would have long for goddard,zaka for o`donnel and swap joey misiti for hepp.The reason being is he was a 2 double prem player.By the way I am a long time reader of ess big footy forum first time typer.So hey dudes and dudettes:>B Fletcher - Hurley - M Johnson
HB Hardwick - Hooker - Wellman
C Stanton - Watson - Goddard
HF Mercuri - Lucas - Hird
F Caracella - Lloyd - Ryder
R Hille - J Johnson - Heppell
I Misiti - Zaharakis - McPhee - McVeigh
Hi all, as part of a promotion of our game to the community, i am involved in a 21st century afl publicisation. for every team, we are preparing what we believe is the best 22 since 2000 inclusive. all players must have played minimum 50 games in this time period to be considered. I have chosen players purely on position so thats why someone like monfries gets a spot. would appreciate your thoughts on your team:
FB M.JOHNSON D.FLETCHER D.HARDWICK
HB M.MCVEIGH M.HURLEY* A.MCPHEE
C D.HEPPELL* J.WATSON* (vc) B.STANTON*
HF M.MERCURI S. LUCAS D.ZAHARAKIS*
FF B.CARACELLA M.LLOYD A.MONFRIES
RR P.RYDER J.HIRD (c) J.JOHNSON
INT D.HILLE J.MISITI B.GODDARD* D.PEVERILL
COACH: KEVIN SHEEDY
You should be finding a spot for Wellman in there without a doubt. Replace Heppell with Wellman. Heppell to a wing and Misiti to the bench which is rough but the 5 onballers ahead of him were all better. McVeigh has to go imo.Is this the thread to talk about Essendon's team of the century? What does it look like now that we're starting to compare our current list to how good it was at the turn of the century
These days...
FB M.Johnson Fletcher Hooker
HB Goddard Hurley Heppell
C Misiti Watson (C) Merrett
HF Caracella Daniher Lucas
FF Mercuri LLoyd Fantasia
RR Ryder Hird (VC) J.Johnson
INT McVeigh Stanton Zaharakis AMT
COACH: Sheedy
Looking way better I reckon. Only a few more star playerssss and it'll be ripper!
Unlucky: Rioli? Wellman? I would have liked to squeeze Kelly in there, but I like the 50 game cut off and he only played 40 games. Hardwick played 45 arrgghhh
Lucky: Stanton made the team lol
You should be finding a spot for Wellman in there without a doubt. Replace Heppell with Wellman. Heppell to a wing and Misiti to the bench which is rough but the 5 onballers ahead of him were all better. McVeigh has to go imo.
Gibson was 189cm 3rd tall and Stratton can play on smallsIf Hawthorn can win a premiership with Lake, Frawley, Gibson and Stratton in the one side then you could play Fletcher, Wellman, Hooker and Hurley in the same defence. Yes, they are collectively taller but Fletcher and Hurley can play on smalls, mediums and talls quite easily.
Misiti was great and probably shades JJ over his career but JJ post 2000 was immense. 2000-2006 he was our midfield spark and won 2 BnFs. Who can forget him bursting out of centre clearances and bombing goals on the run from outside 50? He was the inside/outside mid we’d love today.You’d have Johnson ahead of Misiti? I’d honestly say that Misiti is second to only Watson as the best pure mid (not someone that reliably plays forward or back) that I’ve seen in my time watching Essendon
You should be finding a spot for Wellman in there without a doubt. Replace Heppell with Wellman. Heppell to a wing and Misiti to the bench which is rough but the 5 onballers ahead of him were all better. McVeigh has to go imo.
Fletch Hurls and Wellman all make my best 22 seen. Wanganeen Thompson and Harvey are the other defenders. So that would leave Hooker out if you’re looking for better balance.Yeah I would much rather have Wellman in the side than McVeigh. I’m sure Wellman was the better footballer, although McVeigh had one brilliant year there. I still think the backline could be too tall though.... BJ at half back is already pushing it with Fletch, Hurley and Hooker down there.
We could go with Fletch and Wellman, then one of Hurley/Hooker is the third KPD while the other is on the bench as a swingman utility. McVeigh loses his spot. Still a bit too tall though? Missing dash of half back ala McKenna and Saad!
My two bob's worth -
13 players just about pick themselves
*** Fletcher Mark Johnson
*** Hooker Wellman
*** Watson Merrett
*** Lucas Hird
*** Lloyd ***
Hille JJ Heppell
Interchange (or anywhere) Zaka *** *** ***
After that, remaining 9 spots in any positions you like, but less certainly deserving of a spot -
Hurley
Hibbo (why is no-one including him?)
Stanton
Goddard
McVeigh
Misiti
Daniher
Fanta
Tippa
I would leave out
Mercuri - after 2000 he was just a shadow of what he had been
Rama - just starting to get established when he got sick. Just a player thereafter
McPhee - just no
Hardwick - not enough games
Caracella - not enough games and even then only modestly good post 2000
Ryder - not sure he ever played enough good games as a ruckman, and I just find it goes against my grain to include him in any Essendon "best of" side on principle (I know).
Edit: on reflection, should have included Winderlich, so leave out Tippa.
M.Johnson C.Hooker D.Fletcher
D.Rioli S.Wellman D.Hardwick
B.Caracella J.Hird (C) J.Misiti
M.Mercuri S.Lucas O.Fantasia
J.Daniher M.Lloyd D.Bewick
P.Ryder J.Watson (VC) J.Johnson
A.Lovett B.Goddard B.Stanton D.Heppell