Dan26

Jan 23, 2000
Werribee
Was just watching this game again (the second win, not the one-point win on Easter Monday) and I have come to the conclusion that it is my all-time favourite home and away victory. Nothing gives me more satisfaction than seeing Lucas bomb home that goal, after Mercuri's kick fell short seconds before after being behind by 26 points only a few minutes before that... against the scum...

...what were you doing as Lucas kicked that goal? I was crowd surfing someone.

I was just talking about his God-awful kicking style in another thread, hopefully for The Bulldogs sake, he`s not passing on any kicking tips.
It was the ultimate turnaround, Mercs, should have nailed it, has it stopped on the line by silvagni, carlton supporters near me go beserk " ohh sossy ohh sossy" bang he sends a hospital out to poor old Rice, Scotty swoops, delirium, clean ripped my shirt off.

And to make it even funnier it capped off a double over the Blues after a that VERY lucky one point win in round 3. You won't get a sweeter double than that one in 1998. One point and six points.

Come to think of it I recall now a lucky one point win in 1994, when they kicked 7.20 or something out at Waverley, when they were looking for revenge for the 1993 GF. That was sweet too. :)

Agreed, beating them on the eve of the `94 finals when we had diddly squat to play for was sweet as well. Nice little chant started in the last quarter...
" Straight sets, you`ll be out in straight sets"....Gold. I always say to carlton acquantainces you can have your 99 prelim we`ll have the `93 g.f thanks.

Yeah, the funny thing was, they'd won 8 in a row up until round 22 of 1994 and were the hottest team, form-wise. I've always said our win over them f***ed them up totally and they carried that form into the finals.

So, even though we didn't officially end their season in 1994 (Geelong did of course) I know deep down that we were the ones to end it for them, just like the year before.

That was a ripper of a last quater.

Was sitting in the ponsford that day, I remember the blues supporters were getting all f*****g cocky and arrogant when they were up by 4 goals after delulio I think had ripped a goal or 2 from his a**.

Everyone in the Ponsford thought Mercs had drilled it so we're all going nuts until we see the ball going back towards the 50m line then lucas drilling it through on the run, was an unbelievable atmosphere with the whole ground erupting.

Doesnt get much better than that.

was playing footy that day - a mate in the crowd was yelling out the scores to me on the ground... thought he was pulling my leg when he told me we hit the front! My opponent that day was a bomber fan as well - we high fived each other when the dons won!

93 drawn game in round 2 or 3 i think.....Sticks puts it out the full :D we played
pretty poorly but to eeek out a draw was very important in the scheme of the final placings at the end of the year.

Darealrath said:
Awesome win. If my memory serves me that was the first time i really noticed JJ and he was pretty instrumental towards the end.

You're not the only one! That was the game where JJ first made a statement. He contributed to a crucial goal midway through that last term. No one knew who he was before that game, and he has been well known ever since.

windyhill said:
I was just talking about his God-awful kicking style in another thread, hopefully for The Bulldogs sake, he`s not passing on any kicking tips.
this may be the case, but he is still one of the greatest full backs of all-time. Cant bemember that game, i was only 9

That game was so brilliant
action-smiley-033.gif

i was at that game to. can't remember too much about it except that on the way home listening to 3aw was almost as good as watching the comeback. Rexy had let the fat lady loose and then goal goal goal goal. awesome. Was it on fox footy?

jimmyn13 said:
i was at that game to. can't remember too much about it except that on the way home listening to 3aw was almost as good as watching the comeback. Rexy had let the fat lady loose and then goal goal goal goal. awesome. Was it on fox footy?

Nah, I was watching my own collection. But it's been on Fox Footy plenty of times.

I understand this is off the subject, but does anyone recall a game we played in 92 against the Demons where we came back from 49pts down in the final quarter to win by a point.
Mightve been an Easter Monday game. Can anyone help recall that game and perhaps have any footage of that game...even the final quarter only. It never gets mentioned and I dare say one of our greatest comebacks, even rivalling 01 against the Kangas and in 93 against the Crows.

Crave said:
I understand this is off the subject, but does anyone recall a game we played in 92 against the Demons where we came back from 49pts down in the final quarter to win by a point.
Mightve been an Easter Monday game. Can anyone help recall that game and perhaps have any footage of that game...even the final quarter only. It never gets mentioned and I dare say one of our greatest comebacks, even rivalling 01 against the Kangas and in 93 against the Crows.

I've got the last quarter on tape. The club was selling it at the time.
It was Anzac Day from memory. Wanganeen made a classic diving tackle and nailed the goal to put us in front (I think).

Essendon v Carlton 1998