Toast Farewell Joel Selwood, champion of the game and legend of the Geelong Football Club

Not being defensive at all.

If he was drafted to Essendon, I am convinced that they would not be the basket case they are today. He wouldn't have accepted it, he would have demanded better.

He was going to be successful no matter where he was drafted and he would have dragged the club with him. He is that good. The greatest footy leader of my lifetime.
I'm sure Carlton supporters thought Judd would have turned their fortunes around and that didn't quite pan out.

To suggest he'd finish his career with 4 premierships irrespective of the team he ended up on is a huge leap.

Future hall of famer and legend of the game. One of the all time great leaders. Congratulations on an incredible career at the highest level. Seems like a great bloke off-field as well. Deserves to retire as a premiership captain!

As a hawks supporter this will forever sting!!! What hurts more is Xavier Ellis, begged the club to draft Selwood..the rest is history

2005 AFL draft:

Pick 6- Mitch Thorp
Pick 7- Joel Selwood
Brisbane, Essendon and North thank their lucky stars Mitch Thorp exists.

Finished out on top. A great player for a long period of time. Hard as nails. A slight blight on his career was definitely the way he played for free kicks for the entirety of his career which hurts his legacy in my eyes. It's the elephant in the room.

I reckon if you change the lightbulb in your night light it might help

I'm sure Carlton supporters thought Judd would have turned their fortunes around and that didn't quite pan out.

To suggest he'd finish his career with 4 premierships irrespective of the team he ended up on is a huge leap.
Judd was nowhere near the leader Selwood is.

This hypothetical argument is kind of pointless. He has 4 premierships, and he is the biggest overall contributor to them. he would have had that level of impact at any club.

If he was drafted to Essendon, I am convinced that they would not be the basket case they are today. He wouldn't have accepted it, he would have demanded better.

He was going to be successful no matter where he was drafted and he would have dragged the club with him. He is that good. The greatest footy leader of my lifetime.
Nah I don’t think we made a mistake picking Gumble…

Nah, can’t finish that sentence with a straight face.

Congratulations to Selwood - an amazing career, a champion and one of the greatest leaders we’ve seen.

Future hall of famer and legend of the game. One of the all time great leaders. Congratulations on an incredible career at the highest level. Seems like a great bloke off-field as well. Deserves to retire as a premiership captain!

As a hawks supporter this will forever sting!!! What hurts more is Xavier Ellis, begged the club to draft Selwood..the rest is history

2005 AFL draft:

Pick 6- Mitch Thorp
Pick 7- Joel Selwood
Quality post mate :thumbsu:

I do agree that Selwood would've made Essendon better. but they wouldn't have ever finished top 4 and never would've won a flag imo. So a lot of luck goes into where a player is drafted.

Has he ducked off officially?
Sure has.

1000001354-jpg.1518046

Yep. Would be Essendon’s second greatest captain of all time behind Dick Reynolds.

With the leagues captaincy record and games won as captain record, I reckon he’s already the second best captain in league history behind Reynolds anyway.

Why? Is this not the time and place to discuss his legacy as a player now that he's retired?

you're strangely defensive of Selwood who had a clear reputation for ducking and raising the arm. He still had an amazing career.

No it's not the place for your BS, when the thread is a toast and a farewell to a champion of the game. There are numerous other threads to discuss him negatively, this is not the place for it. I know you think your opinion is always warranted and correct, but there is no need for it in this thread. If you're going to slander him on his day of retirement, then get lost.

What a champion, thankyou Joel Selwood!
A true digger spirit and a man that would lead you through any battle with outstanding spirit! He has made Geelong a better club and place for his presence.

Is the 2006 the worst top 10 draft in the history of AFL? 2 massive wins in Selwood and Boak, 1 average pick in Gibbs and 7 epic fails.

1.Gibbs
2.Gumbleton
3. L.Hansen
4. Leuenberger
5. T.Boak
6. M.Thorp
7. Selwood
8. Ben Reid
9. Armitage
10. Nathan Brown

Toast Farewell Joel Selwood, champion of the game and legend of the Geelong Football Club