Food, Drink & Dining Out Favourite Beer II

Have always though that and the Fifty Lashes is as nothing a beer as I've had.........ordinary on ever level.......on par with VB

Haven't had anything recently that's blown my mind but I am have only 4 bottles left from 2 cases of Founders Breakfast Ale.
Have loved it but won't be picking up a third case any time soon.

Been staying off boozey beers. Had a big run on Old Rasputin a couple of years back, sensational beer but the alcohol is a killer. Think I have one bottle of Founders Stout left. Have you tried Murray's Wild Thing or Heart of Darkness?

Going with Hawthorn Golden Ale for grand final day. I've had one of theirs before (think it was the Pale Ale) and really enjoyed it.

EDIT: Pretty sure it was Australian IPA I had previously.

The new Little Creatures "Furphy" pale ale (only available on tap around the Geelong area) is brilliant. Much like the normal LC pale, but a bit crisper....very very easy to drink.....
I still think LC is an incredible beer but the way they've become a franchise with all these little outlets is so lame

At the moment I am broadening the horizons mate.
Been trying a heap of new beers of late...
Over the weekend I drank Stone & Wood Pacific Ale which I enjoyed.

What can you suggest as a summer type beer?

Beer for bulk sessions at your mate's BBQ? I'd look for a good German pils, however, most of them (save for Bitburger) aren't fresh unfortunately and is reflected in the taste. Sierra Nevada Pale Ale is a winner IMO and if you can hold your grog, step it up to the Torpedo. I also like a hefeweizen and there are various examples of the style at Dans (buy German).

Mate thanks will definitely get on those. Will try the Sierra this weekend I think...
Love German beer though as well like to think I have tried a fair few including the ones you mentioned and really enjoyed them...
Appreciate your recommendations.
I'm guessing you enjoy a couple of frothies... Haha.

Mate thanks will definitely get on those. Will try the Sierra this weekend I think...
Love German beer though as well like to think I have tried a fair few including the ones you mentioned and really enjoyed them...
Appreciate your recommendations.
I'm guessing you enjoy a couple of frothies... Haha.

Forget to mention - Hop Hog from WA.

Hop Hog's a top drop but I find it a bit full-on for a summer session beer. Their Sly Fox goes alright though.
Great call on german pils for summer drinking too.

Got some fresh Flensburger at Aldi - nice and fresh drinking. Unfortunately, Konig or Radeberger are always generally stale (local 1st Choice has expired Radeberger on the shelf!). I like Bitburger and that has a high turnover at Dans. Best is on tap though, Paulaner Pils and Furstenberg. Sensational.

You can drink these beers all day and not have any palate fatigue. Won't get too pissed either (well, maybe) and they aren't that rough the day after.

Sorry to be perverse comrades but can someone put me onto a Cider that is bitter and not some sugary lolly water abomination -apparently the Wessex domestic cider is like a Bitter beer - can never find anything like that -every time a bottlo recommends a cider to me that is "not sweet" it ends up being the cider equivalent of red creaming soda - help please

Ciders I like that are dry and tart (not bitter though) are 8 Wired and 2 metre Tall. Like you, I find most ciders too sweet, even stuff that says it's dry.

Thanks TBT will given them a go!

Little Creatures "Firthy" +1 and the Brewery in Geelong is an absolute gem.
Bridge Road Brewers 'Golden Ale' is a cracking beer that has a bit more flavour than your typical golden ales.

For a summer beer try Temple Brewings 'Bicycle', really nice crisp beer and quite session-able.

Food, Drink & Dining Out Favourite Beer II