Favourite Beer

Want to send us over some Alpha King Pale Ale :D Top rated APA in the world .... gimme gimme gimme.

Have a solid supply of craft beers I am trying. Holgates, BrewDogs, Rogues, and a few more.

Luckily found a BrewDog Hardcore IPA in small bottleshop close by. Dans has some BrewDogs, but only the 77 and the Punk (which is an amazing IPA, have quite a few here at home. So tasty, and so drinkable. Could easily session those). Supposedly not as good as the Punk, but a rare find without having to get it sent up from Slowbeer. Same place had a Rogues Dead Guy Ale. Supposed to be a very big and tasty drop. Quite excited about trying that one.

Wish Sydney had a Slowbeer/Purvis

Cascade First Harvest.
Only had it on Tap at the Cascade Brewery and immediately considered emigrating to the Apple Isle.
You can get it in stubbies but there is a limited run and it costs $77 a carton.:eek:

Want to send us over some Alpha King Pale Ale :D Top rated APA in the world .... gimme gimme gimme.

Have a solid supply of craft beers I am trying. Holgates, BrewDogs, Rogues, and a few more.

Luckily found a BrewDog Hardcore IPA in small bottleshop close by. Dans has some BrewDogs, but only the 77 and the Punk (which is an amazing IPA, have quite a few here at home. So tasty, and so drinkable. Could easily session those). Supposedly not as good as the Punk, but a rare find without having to get it sent up from Slowbeer. Same place had a Rogues Dead Guy Ale. Supposed to be a very big and tasty drop. Quite excited about trying that one.

Wish Sydney had a Slowbeer/Purvis

Sorry mate - 3 Floyds doesn't have a distributor in Georgia. Good luck getting your hands on that!

In Sydney? Wherewherewherewherewherewherewherewherewhere?
Balgowlah Porters. Corner of Sydney Road just as you reach the new Stocklands shopping centre. Turn left off Sydney, and they have a parking lot. Walk in through the back door, and you're in craft beer heaven.

If you're going in, I suggest to grab a Rogue's Dead Guy Ale, its supposed to be sublime.

Balgowlah Porters. Corner of Sydney Road just as you reach the new Stocklands shopping centre. Turn left off Sydney, and they have a parking lot. Walk in through the back door, and you're in craft beer heaven.

If you're going in, I suggest to grab a Rogue's Dead Guy Ale, its supposed to be sublime.

Thanks for the tip, although Balgowlah is a fair bit out from me, probably won't have the time to get out there. Might give the Piermont or Alexandria ones a try.

:( Have you had some yourself?

Nah. I have heard good things about it, but have never been to the part of the US where it is sold. At least it's better now than it was five years ago or so - it was illegal to sell beer over 6% ABV up until then. The bible belt...

News is that Sierra Nevada are directly importing here now/soon, so places like Dans will probably get to stock them.

I have heard about it but never tried, by all reports it is a good beer.

The Pale Ale is the US equivalent of LCPA. As in macro-craft beer style. Also in the aspect they are both incredibly highly rated for the style.

I have one sitting in my fridge, just waiting for my annoying cold to go away so I can taste it :p

It might also introduce a more accessible IPA, as most Australian IPAs seem to be overly malty, thinking that big hopped brews won't sell.

Mad Brewers Scribbly Gum Lager, made by Malt Shovel Brewery

Very nice beer. Cloudy like a Coopers Sparkling, and very thick and full flavoured for a lager. It has an almost smoky quality to it. I've been drinking it out of a goblet and it really seems to enhance the smoky aroma compared to a normal beer glass. It's 6.5% and comes in a 640ml bottle. Definitely a sipping beer, not a session beer.

Got one in the fridge. Suggested for a BBQ, which is where I'll have it :thumbsu:

:thumbsu: I got Dan Murphy's last bottle of it, I hope they get more in.

Sounds great. Will try to track down in this part of Sydney. Unfortunately, I'm on call any day now for the arrival of HP jr, so the consumption will have to wait.

I saw this in a local liquor store yesterday. I'll have to give it a try.

I've had a few different ones in the past few weeks. I tried some from Phillips Brewery out of Victoria, British Columbia. Their coffee stout was good. I also tried the Pumkpin Ale from Dogfishhead out of Delaware. It is an amber style with cinnamon, spice and pumkin aroma. Sounds weird but was pretty nice. Speaking of amber style, the Yukon Amber Ale out of Whitehorse is very good. It's consistently won awards.

Another local beer that I've been enjoying lately is Granville Island Honey Cypress Lager. It has a hint of sweetness and goes down well. Can't go wrong with most of the Granville range.

Sounds great. Will try to track down in this part of Sydney. Unfortunately, I'm on call any day now for the arrival of HP jr, so the consumption will have to wait.
If you're close enough to the North Shore, Balgowlah Porters had about 10 cases on a floor display about a week ago. So would assume they still have plenty

I saw this in a local liquor store yesterday. I'll have to give it a try.

I've had a few different ones in the past few weeks. I tried some from Phillips Brewery out of Victoria, British Columbia. Their coffee stout was good. I also tried the Pumkpin Ale from Dogfishhead out of Delaware. It is an amber style with cinnamon, spice and pumkin aroma. Sounds weird but was pretty nice. Speaking of amber style, the Yukon Amber Ale out of Whitehorse is very good. It's consistently won awards.

Another local beer that I've been enjoying lately is Granville Island Honey Cypress Lager. It has a hint of sweetness and goes down well. Can't go wrong with most of the Granville range.

I have a St-Ambroise Citrouille Pumpkin Ale in my fridge. Canadian. Bit skeptical of spiced/vegetable/fruit beers.

As good as it gets.
PacBuck.jpg

Got one in the fridge. Suggested for a BBQ, which is where I'll have it :thumbsu:

I reckon it'd go really well with a BBQ. The smoky flavour will match well with overcooked meat!

I'm on my 4th bottle for the week. Trying to drink as much of it as I can before the stuff runs out. My local bottlo has it for $7 a bottle, I don't know what Dan's are selling it for but $7 seems cheap.

I reckon it'd go really well with a BBQ. The smoky flavour will match well with overcooked meat!

I'm on my 4th bottle for the week. Trying to drink as much of it as I can before the stuff runs out. My local bottlo has it for $7 a bottle, I don't know what Dan's are selling it for but $7 seems cheap.
Indeed. I think the tasting notes says the same thing.

Having a bomber of Rogues Dead Guy Ale. Great beer. Weird style, a Maibock. But very tasty. This is my 3rd bottle of it, so good.

Decided to crack my bomber of Rogue Dry Hopped Red Ale too. Haven't had many Red/Ambers, so was expecting a JS Amber kind of taste, but its much less 'intense'. Much smoother, with a nice dry finish. Good palate cleaner, almost leaves no aftertaste. These Rogues can be sessioned so, so easily. They go down so smooth.