Favourite Beer

I'm having a Coopers Best Extra Stout! It has taken over from Guinness as my winter staple (cold day in Melbourne today). It is not as creamy but tastier and stronger. And pretty creamy I guess once it warms up. Anyone else like this delicious brew?

Speaking of beer temps, should stout be kept in the fridge or straight from the pantry because I seem to leave it out for 30-60 mins before I drink it to let it warm up first.

Yep, one of my favourites. Much better than Guinness. It's not a stout but try Coopers Vintage as well.

I don't mind them cold or room temperature to be honest. Leaving them out for 30 minutes or so like you are is probably the best option.

Little Creature is a good one Fig. Have you tried Mildura Wheat Beer? Had a few at that Nepalese restaurant on bridge road a while back. Bloody nice.None of my locals seem to stock it though.
I don't like much wheat beers, although maybe it has just been some bad experiences. Might grab one from Purvis.

We have two Nepalese restaurants on Bridge; Ghurkas or Himalayan Sherpa (which is the one I prefer).

Had the Hop Hog on the back of sblacks recommendation and will give a few others a try (if!!!) I can ever stomach beer again. Do rate the Hop Hog highly.

I tried White Rabbit White Ale the other day. It's not bad, but it's more of a summer beer. It's bottle conditioned with honey so it's got a slightly sweet flavour, with hints of spices. It's much in the style of Beez Neez, but a lot better. I prefer their Dark Ale though.

Mad Brewers Scribbly Gum Lager, made by Malt Shovel Brewery

Very nice beer. Cloudy like a Coopers Sparkling, and very thick and full flavoured for a lager. It has an almost smoky quality to it. I've been drinking it out of a goblet and it really seems to enhance the smoky aroma compared to a normal beer glass. It's 6.5% and comes in a 640ml bottle. Definitely a sipping beer, not a session beer.

This.:thumbsu:

The smokiness is astounding... had some while cooking up some 'roo fillets on the weekend. Will try to track down a few more bottles. I don't normally like lagers, but the Scribbly Gum is definitely an exception.

Lately been drinking mainly Samuel Adams, with Stefano's Pilsner from Mildura Brewery being one of my favourite new Aussie beers. Got a Scribbly Gum waiting for this weekend.

Thread has been going for over three years now, take a look back at the first few pages compared to some of the discussion & suggested beers being discussed now & it seem we've become much more educated mostly in regarding Aussie brewers.

Had a Stone & Wood Pacific Ale at Beer DeLuxe at Fed Sq on Friday Night. Really nice beer with passionfruit/pineapple notes. Very much a summer beer so looking forward to having more next summer.
Also had a Moo Brew Stout. Also Delicious even if it cost $15 :eek:

Thread has been going for over three years now, take a look back at the first few pages compared to some of the discussion & suggested beers being discussed now & it seem we've become much more educated mostly in regarding Aussie brewers.

Everyone's a beer snob now it seems.

Still lol seeing bogans buy slabs of Corona though.

Everyone's a beer snob now it seems.

Still lol seeing bogans buy slabs of Corona though.

I get more of a laugh when I see young guys stocking up on Hahn Super Dry. Every time I see it, I think "People actually choose to drink that crap?"

Corona is flavourless, but it's inoffensive... Super Dry is just a terrible beer.

Going to a beer tasting tonight at a mate's place. We all bring along a couple of bottles each of something different, preferably something no one has tried before. I'm bringing a bottle of Scribbly Gum Lager and a couple of stubbies of Archipilago Samui. Will report back here if I try anything outstanding tonight.

Got a free carton of Great Northern Brewery Super Crisp Ale on Sunday, it's not too bad, rather drinkable. Still prefer my Coopers though.

I get more of a laugh when I see young guys stocking up on Hahn Super Dry. Every time I see it, I think "People actually choose to drink that crap?"

Corona is flavourless, but it's inoffensive... Super Dry is just a terrible beer.

Really? Hahn Super Dry is fairly rubbish, but as far as Australian macro lagers go, I reckon it's definitely one of the least offensive. It's low carb too, which makes it very useful for getting trashed on. Would take it over Corona any day of the week.

I've had this debate with a mate before. He had the same thoughts as you, found it less offensive than Tooheys, Pure Blonde, etc. I guess it comes down to personal preference. I dunno, I just can't stomach it. Would rather pretty much any Aussie macro lager over Hahn Super Dry.

PS. Low-carb beer is a scam. The majority of the calories in beer are from the alcohol, so you may as well drink a full carb beer and actually enjoy it.

I've had this debate with a mate before. He had the same thoughts as you, found it less offensive than Tooheys, Pure Blonde, etc. I guess it comes down to personal preference. I dunno, I just can't stomach it. Would rather pretty much any Aussie macro lager over Hahn Super Dry.

PS. Low-carb beer is a scam. The majority of the calories in beer are from the alcohol, so you may as well drink a full carb beer and actually enjoy it.

Oh, I'm not worried about the carb content, I'm fully aware most of the carbs come from the alcohol. It's just that low-carb beer tends to be lighter on the stomach, and so easier to have 20 of. ;)