Favourite Roos Game 2000-2004

All of them!

I reckon either:
2004 Freo at Subi
2003 McCartney V Rcih

So as my favourite out of those I'd say the McCartney game. Not something you see every day.

JMac's fair well is up there, but i dont think i've ever felt more emotion and pride for our footy club than the night we beat Port Adelaide in round 1 2002.

I shouldn't be suprised by our players' character and courage after following them for all these years, but that night they truly amazed me with the way they played after what our club had been through leading up to it.

Special.

Marstermind said:
What is your most memorable/favourite Roos game (home & away) in the last 5 years?

Mastermind, a similar question was asked a few weeks ago, before you joined the group and I wrote the following reply. Most of you have probably read it but here it is again :eek:

This reply is long but worth reading

Excluding the Grand Finals because you play to win the flag. Here are my favourites from the beginning of the Pagan era until the present day.

Round 5 1993 vs Richmond. A high scoring game which we won by 37 points (25.9.159 to 17.20 122). McAdom kicked 7 goals and Carey kicked 4.4. A Friday night to remember.

Round 15 1993 vs Essendon. The Bombers lead by 10 points at 3/4 time and Carey played the last quarter of all last quarters. The roos win by 38 points (129 to 91). They kicked 8.8 to Essendon's 1.2.

Round 3 1994 vs Hawthorn. We finally beat Hawthorn after trying for about 10 years. Not only did we beat them, we flogged them (173 to 46). Despite winning by so much I can still watch that game from beginning to end!!!

Round 9 1994 vs Collingwood. The 125th anniversary match against Collingwood. A crowd of over 70,000 on a Friday night. A great night for the club and a victory to boot (121 to 88).

Qual Final 1994 vs Hawthorn. After beating the Hawks by 127 and 40 points during the season, it was thought we would win by heaps again. It was a close game and at full time scores were level. Extra time for the first time in history, the Hawks fail to score again and North Melbourne win by 23 points (114 - 91). The next game was the 6 point loss to Geelong in the Prelim final

Round 19 1995 vs Richmond. A Friday night classic. The Tigers were on a roll, our form was OK. Richmond lead by the best part of 5 goals at half time and they had touched us up earlier in the year. The Roos get up by 10 points after outscoring Richmond by 6 goals to 2 in the last quarter (110 - 100). We would play the Tigers again in the first week of the finals and another great game was played. Nearly 70,000 watch the roos pull away in the last quarter and will by 5 goals.

Round 6 1996 vs Geelong. Friday night football again. Scores are level at half time and remain close all night. The roos finally shake of Geelong and win by 11 points (104 - 93)

Round 17 1996 vs Melbourne. The Olympics were on but I went to the footy on a Friday night and watched the greatest athlete go around as Carey took 15 marks and kicked 11 and Corey took 11 marks and kicked 5 goals. North win by 113 points (183 - 70).

Qual Final 1997 vs Geelong. North Melb finished 7th and the Cats were 2nd. It was a Sunday night final, the weather was bad and Carey kicked 7 goals and Allison kicked 3 of the 11 goals (the other was Crocker). North win by 18 points (79 - 61) and play the WCE in another classic final the following week, where the win by 13 points came about after trailling by 20 points at half time.

Round 22 1998 vs Bulldogs. The battle for top spot was the game of the year. Neck and neck all night and the roos get up by 5 points. North kick 7.3 in the last quarter to the dogs 5.2. The best game I have been to I think. The following week was the marsh,ellow match against the Bombers.

Round 5 1999 vs St Kilda. The Kangas had won one of four games and were trailling by 19 points at half time. A six goal to one quarter saw the roos lead by 9 points at 3/4 time. The Saints fight back and the Kangas sneak home by 2 points (92 - 90). Only 2 more losses for the year and the roos go on to win the flag.

Round 4 2000 vs Geelong. Our first game at the Telstra dome. Leigh Colbert makes his Roo debut against his old side. Colbert only has 4 kicks but kicks 2.1 and the roos win by 5 points (104 - 99)

Round 13 2001 vs Port Adelaide. THIS GAME IS ACTUALLY ROUND 18 1998 (131 - 76).
This game was in Canberra and was an ordinary game but Winnie Abraham took the mark of the year after taking off at the 50 meter mark to get to a contest and jump over the pack. If you ever see a replay of this mark, look at the smile on Peter Bell's face at the front of the pack. Kangas win (95 - 73)

Round 16 2001 vs Essendon. The Kangas kick 12.3 in the first quarter. The most attacking football I have ever seen. Essendon respond by attacking that little bit harder and only trail by 21 points at half time. In the end the Bombers win by 12 (171 - 159) in an all time great game. In a loss that surely deflated the roos, we only win one more game for the year.

Round 1 2002 vs Port Adelaide. Carey has left the club and North missed the finals for the first time under Pagan. Doom and gloom is predicted and the first game is against PA in Adelaide. North show great commitment and in a defensive game lead all day. Port make a late charge but the roos hang on by 10 points (83 - 73)

Round 2 2002 vs Bulldogs. The Kangas return to Melbourne are play the Dogs at the dome. Bulldogs get out to a flyer and on Byron Pickett keeps us in the game. Nathan Brown runs into an open goal and shows the ball to all the Kangas players. This fires the boys up and the Kangas go on to win by 13 points (110 - 97) after trailling by about 5 goals in the second quarter.

Round 21 2002 vs Hawthorn. A spot in the eight is up for grabs. A win will secure a place and a loss means a tough final game against West Coast, who were also after a spot in the eight. The Hawks jump us early and lead by around 20 points in he second quarter. North seem to be going OK as Shane Crawford heads towards goal and is stopped by a desparate lunge from Mark Porter. The roos go on to win by 15 points (119 - 104) and secure September action. A loss to West Coast the following week would matter little.

Round 3 2003 vs Brisbane. The Kangas had won their first two games of the year but came up against the two time champs in Brisbane. A close contest all night with the lead being no more then 6 points at the end of any quarter. North led by a point late in the fianl quarter and the Lions go forward. The ball goes to Voss and he snaps at goal as the siren sounds, it goes through for a point and it is a draw (109 - 109). The first draw for the Kangas since the 1994 final

Round 10 2003 vs Bulldogs. A good old fashioned shootout. 46 goals in the game and the roos win by 11 points (156 - 145). A great game of attacking footy.

Round 11 2003 vs Richmond. The McCartney match. Jason makes a return to football after the bombing in Bali. He kicks a goal and has a hand in the winner. After the match, Jason announce his retirement and I think even Richmond supporters went home happy depite losing (92 - 89)

Round 21 2003 vs Adelaide. North had lost three in a row and the Crows were thinking about September and the double chance. A crowd of 42,259 watch the game in wet conditions and 42,200 expect the Crows to win. The few Roos' supporters there are treated to a great game and the Kangas slog out a 10 point win (74 - 64). The Crows lose the following week and we thrash Carlton to finish the year on a high despite missing the eight.

Round 14 2004 vs Essendon. The Bombers start off well and lead by a goal at 3/4 time. Another goal to Essendon and the lead is stretched to 2 goals. Hille for the Bombers has a fairly easy shot at goal to just about wrap up the game as North look gone. He misses and the Bombers don't score again and the roos win it by 21 points (100 - 79). The following week we play Freo in Perth, Wellsy kicks goal of the year and the kangas win again.

Round 19 2004 vs Sydney. North had lost to Adelaide in the worst game of the year (only 1 goal to half time) and went to Sydney with little chance of winning. The Swans lead by as much as 40 points due to good kicking (9.3 to 3.10 at half time) as much as anything else. The final quarter starts an the Swans lead by 40 points. Laidley starts five guys in the goal square and no one at CHF. The goals keep comin g and victory goes to the Roos by 6 points. Unfortunatley all the good work would be undone over the next three weeks and we miss the finals again.

So many great wins by the boys,its hard to remember the best win.
Now if you had of said the worst loss,it would have been against the
Bombers a couple of years ago.How could you lose a game 10 goals up
at quater time.

The North Melbourne vs Footscray game (rd 2, 2002) was my choice, 32,000 North fans cheering on (louder than ever!!).... When the siren went, the noise was intense!

Hotel 6, you missed my favourite H&A game ever going back to 1993

Round 10, 1993 at Victoria Park vs Collingwood.

We were top, they were second, but we "hadn't played anyone decent". That was true but we put it to rest. At a jam-packed Vic Park we jumped them with McAdam getting the first of 9 goals from a couple of holds against Gayfer. From then on it's one way traffic. Carey great, Schwass BOG, McAdam 9 goals. I'd never seen us win at Vic Park before and haven't played there since but to have Pie fans streaming out half way through the last quarter with the "North Melbourne, North Melbourne" chant everywhere was magic. Final score 19.10-124 to 5.11-41. We then had 2 weeks off (a Bye, then a State weekend) and had to go to the WACA for another 1st v 2nd match. We won again. After the 147pt pre-season loss to Adelaide, to be in that position at that stage was an awesome feeling for a supporter. The wheels fell off in the second half of the year but something special had began that afternoon at Vic Park.

Macca's farewell game game against Richmond tugged at the heart strings.

Such a great effort to get back into the senior team.Pure inspiration.

However, the Rd 1 match against Port Adelaide gets my vote.

The Club was meant to implode if you took notice of the media and anyone who was not a North person........Silence at AAMI Stadium is something to you just have to be there to experience........They made a movie about it "The silence of the fans."

Bloody hard to choose between a few of those games but, in the end, it was an easy choice. I couldn't go past the McCartney comeback win against Richmond, for the sheer emotion and sense of occasion which accompanied it. The fact we won a tight one with Jase kicking his goal in the last quarter and then his playing a part in setting up the eventual winning goal.............the fact the crowd was so huge, the emotion and fair play shown to Jase by even the Tigers fans, then the on ground interview with him when he suddenly announced he was "spent" and that it was his last game...........................that's the one which I think charged me up more than any other. Brilliant occasion, gutsy win, awesome moment.

T'toes

Hotel 6 said:
Round 3 1994 vs Hawthorn. We finally beat Hawthorn after trying for about 10 years. Not only did we beat them, we flogged them (173 to 46). Despite winning by so much I can still watch that game from beginning to end!!!

Yep, not only defeating the Hawks after their dominance in the 80s and early 90s, but to my mind, this marked the beginning of our new era! It will live long in the memory.

Round 9 1994 vs Collingwood. The 125th anniversary match against Collingwood. A crowd of over 70,000 on a Friday night. A great night for the club and a victory to boot (121 to 88).

And Leigh Matthews bemoans the fact that Longmire always seems to bring out his best against the Pies! :)

Round 22 1998 vs Bulldogs. The battle for top spot was the game of the year. Neck and neck all night and the roos get up by 5 points. North kick 7.3 in the last quarter to the dogs 5.2. The best game I have been to I think.

Just brilliant attacking footy.. mesmerising, and with top spot on the line in the last round of the year, and us winning, very, very memorable.

Round 2 2002 vs Bulldogs. The Kangas return to Melbourne are play the Dogs at the dome. Bulldogs get out to a flyer and on Byron Pickett keeps us in the game. Nathan Brown runs into an open goal and shows the ball to all the Kangas players. This fires the boys up and the Kangas go on to win by 13 points (110 - 97) after trailling by about 5 goals in the second quarter.

Yeah, Brown's arrogance, Kingy's anger and retort, and Byron being Byron!

Round 21 2002 vs Hawthorn. A spot in the eight is up for grabs. A win will secure a place and a loss means a tough final game against West Coast, who were also after a spot in the eight. The Hawks jump us early and lead by around 20 points in he second quarter. North seem to be going OK as Shane Crawford heads towards goal and is stopped by a desparate lunge from Mark Porter. The roos go on to win by 15 points (119 - 104) and secure September action.

A good scrapping win, with Porter's lunge, and Pickett, Harvey and I think Grant, keeping us in it.

Round 15 2004 vs Fremantle. Wellsy kicks goal of the year and the kangas win again.

As a Perth resident, most satisfying game to have attended, particularly as you could sense the steely resolve from the Roos in the whole second half. Yes, Wells did some special stuff, but it was the sense you got by watching the whole team, that like the week before against Essendon, that we'd just reel them in. You could just tell that Bell's premature celebration of Freo's last goal was hollow and that he was trying to pump his team up, rather than genuinely believing they had it in the bag. Always nice being in the noisy minority at the end of the game! :D

Thanks for the memories Hotel6!

Quoted from Hotel 6's post: "Mastermind, a similar question was asked a few weeks ago, before you joined the group and I wrote the following reply. Most of you have probably read it but here it is again

This reply is long but worth reading"

Is it ever, worth reading that is. Hotel 6, your post is a thing of great beauty. I intend to print it and post it where I can see it as constant reminder. Thank you.

The difference between your games and the poll choices is that in most of your games we played well for most of the game, whereas in many of Mastermind's poll choice games we played like crap for a large part of the game. They may have contained a memorable quarter or half but the rest was very forgettable.

The most forgettable games we ever played (unfortunately I can't forget them as they still bring nightmares, but I wish I could) were in no particular order the 1994 prelim final loss to Geelong- we would have won the big one that year if Tudor hadn't centred that ball to Ablett and if those mongrels in white hadn't crucified us all day- the 1998 grand final loss to Adelaide and that debacle against Essendon when we lead by 60-odd points and still f!@#$% well lost- WHY????? HOW?????

Anyway, back to far happier thoughts M/mind and H 6. Love your work! Keep it up.

Missed the Round 1 2002 game while being on the honey moon. Having not missed more than a couple of games in 15 years.

They are all good wins but I voted for our most recent win (the last of 2004) in Sydney. I know it wasn't the best we've played and it's hard to compare different years, but based on pure emotion it brought out of me, that last quarter was really something special...

Marstermind said:
Hotel 6, you missed my favourite H&A game ever going back to 1993

Round 10, 1993 at Victoria Park vs Collingwood.

We were top, they were second, but we "hadn't played anyone decent". That was true but we put it to rest. At a jam-packed Vic Park we jumped them with McAdam getting the first of 9 goals from a couple of holds against Gayfer. From then on it's one way traffic. Carey great, Schwass BOG, McAdam 9 goals. I'd never seen us win at Vic Park before and haven't played there since but to have Pie fans streaming out half way through the last quarter with the "North Melbourne, North Melbourne" chant everywhere was magic. Final score 19.10-124 to 5.11-41. We then had 2 weeks off (a Bye, then a State weekend) and had to go to the WACA for another 1st v 2nd match. We won again. After the 147pt pre-season loss to Adelaide, to be in that position at that stage was an awesome feeling for a supporter. The wheels fell off in the second half of the year but something special had began that afternoon at Vic Park.

Thunbs up here... you also forget the win vs. Carlton in 1996, the day after merger negotiations blew up, and a nine goal win against the reigning premiers. Last round in '96 was also very enjoyable. :)

The Port Rd 1 2002 game in a canter. I was over there for the Oakbank races that year and went to the game. Amazing emotion overflow directly after the siren and in the rooms afterwards.

I was the underbidder to Board Member Peter De Rauch at $2300 for Arch's jumper that he wore that evening at Stevo's testimonial! I was right behind that last quarter goal.

All fantastic games that make you proud to follow the mighty Rooboys!

Had to choose Arch's 200th as we were tipped to finish on the bottom that year, so to come out and play like we did was unreal.

Go Rooboys.

Round 1 2002.

But a close second for me (Because I was there and I hate Essendon so much), was the 8 point win against the Bombers at the dome the week after McCartney's last match. I put up with little black and red mongrels behind me throwing half chewed Burger Rings around and hitting me in the back of the head with their scarves. To stand and cheer the final siren and sing the song at the top of my lungs hopefully stuck it right up them...childish, I know, but it was Essendon ;)

And the last gasp comeback against Sydney this year was a top effort too.

Round 5 1993 vs Richmond. A high scoring game which we won by 37 points (25.9.159 to 17.20 122). McAdom kicked 7 goals and Carey kicked 4.4. A Friday night to remember.

McAdam's first game as well.

Round 15 1993 vs Essendon. The Bombers lead by 10 points at 3/4 time and Carey played the last quarter of all last quarters. The roos win by 38 points (129 to 91). They kicked 8.8 to Essendon's 1.2.

I was too young to go but the highlights I have seen on 'The Great Leap Forward' (93) suggest it was unforgettable.

Carey 7, McAdam and Longmire 5 each!

The fireworks before the game was only the warm-up to Longmire's brilliance

Qual Final 1994 vs Hawthorn. After beating the Hawks by 127 and 40 points during the season, it was thought we would win by heaps again. It was a close game and at full time scores were level. Extra time for the first time in history, the Hawks fail to score again and North Melbourne win by 23 points (114 - 91). The next game was the 6 point loss to Geelong in the Prelim final

When King thought he could score from 80m out. He only fell 2m short.

Round 19 1995 vs Richmond. A Friday night classic. The Tigers were on a roll, our form was OK. Richmond lead by the best part of 5 goals at half time and they had touched us up earlier in the year. The Roos get up by 10 points after outscoring Richmond by 6 goals to 2 in the last quarter (110 - 100). We would play the Tigers again in the first week of the finals and another great game was played. Nearly 70,000 watch the roos pull away in the last quarter and will by 5 goals.

One of my favourites. 38 points down late in the 3rd and then it all happened. Schwass' running goal from outside 50m was incredible.

Round 6 1996 vs Geelong. Friday night football again. Scores are level at half time and remain close all night. The roos finally shake of Geelong and win by 11 points (104 - 93)

Carey takes the best mark i have ever seen him take in the forward pocket at punt road end. The north supporters behind him are defeaning. The only downside was that McKernan got suspended for 'kneeing' barnes and consequently lost the Brownlow.

Round 17 1996 vs Melbourne. The Olympics were on but I went to the footy on a Friday night and watched the greatest athlete go around as Carey took 15 marks and kicked 11 and Corey took 11 marks and kicked 5 goals. North win by 113 points (183 - 70).

Carey at his best. He kicks 11.2 and his 2 points both hit the post.

Qual Final 1997 vs Geelong. North Melb finished 7th and the Cats were 2nd. It was a Sunday night final, the weather was bad and Carey kicked 7 goals and Allison kicked 3 of the 11 goals (the other was Crocker). North win by 18 points (79 - 61) and play the WCE in another classic final the following week, where the win by 13 points came about after trailling by 20 points at half time.

Carey back to his best after shoulder reconstruction.

Round 22 1998 vs Bulldogs. The battle for top spot was the game of the year. Neck and neck all night and the roos get up by 5 points. North kick 7.3 in the last quarter to the dogs 5.2. The best game I have been to I think. The following week was the marsh,ellow match against the Bombers.

My favourite game of all time. Carey plays 15 minutes of brilliant footy throughout the night and manages to kick four and dominate. Chris Grant kicked four as well in a brilliant game from both sides.

Round 5 1999 vs St Kilda. The Kangas had won one of four games and were trailling by 19 points at half time. A six goal to one quarter saw the roos lead by 9 points at 3/4 time. The Saints fight back and the Kangas sneak home by 2 points (92 - 90). Only 2 more losses for the year and the roos go on to win the flag.

Archer cleans-up Lenny Hayes in his first game.

Round 4 2000 vs Geelong. Our first game at the Telstra dome. Leigh Colbert makes his Roo debut against his old side. Colbert only has 4 kicks but kicks 2.1 and the roos win by 5 points (104 - 99)

Colby did his hamstring in the warm-up and managed to kick 2 in the first quarter. I will never forget the boos of the Geelong fans for Colbert. Pickett kicked his first goal in this game as well.

Round 13 2001 vs Port Adelaide. THIS GAME IS ACTUALLY ROUND 18 1998 (131 - 76).
This game was in Canberra and was an ordinary game but Winnie Abraham took the mark of the year after taking off at the 50 meter mark to get to a contest and jump over the pack. If you ever see a replay of this mark, look at the smile on Peter Bell's face at the front of the pack. Kangas win (95 - 73)

I went to this game. It was well worth making the trip just for Winny's mark!

Round 16 2001 vs Essendon. The Kangas kick 12.3 in the first quarter. The most attacking football I have ever seen. Essendon respond by attacking that little bit harder and only trail by 21 points at half time. In the end the Bombers win by 12 (171 - 159) in an all time great game. In a loss that surely deflated the roos, we only win one more game for the year.

Don't want to remember.

Round 1 2002 vs Port Adelaide. Carey has left the club and North missed the finals for the first time under Pagan. Doom and gloom is predicted and the first game is against PA in Adelaide. North show great commitment and in a defensive game lead all day. Port make a late charge but the roos hang on by 10 points (83 - 73)

Unbelievable. Archer kicks the winning goal from the boundary.

Was on a house-boat listening to it. Turned the radio off when the dogs were 26 points up in the last quarter. It was a nice surprise to find out we won. Pickett's 100th game and he kicks 6.

Round 21 2002 vs Hawthorn. A spot in the eight is up for grabs. A win will secure a place and a loss means a tough final game against West Coast, who were also after a spot in the eight. The Hawks jump us early and lead by around 20 points in he second quarter. North seem to be going OK as Shane Crawford heads towards goal and is stopped by a desparate lunge from Mark Porter. The roos go on to win by 15 points (119 - 104) and secure September action. A loss to West Coast the following week would matter little.

Porters tackle was unforgettable.

Round 3 2003 vs Brisbane. The Kangas had won their first two games of the year but came up against the two time champs in Brisbane. A close contest all night with the lead being no more then 6 points at the end of any quarter. North led by a point late in the fianl quarter and the Lions go forward. The ball goes to Voss and he snaps at goal as the siren sounds, it goes through for a point and it is a draw (109 - 109). The first draw for the Kangas since the 1994 final

Should have won. Petrie kicked on the full 3 times in the last minutes.

Round 10 2003 vs Bulldogs. A good old fashioned shootout. 46 goals in the game and the roos win by 11 points (156 - 145). A great game of attacking footy.

37 points down in the third quarter. What a great comeback.

Round 11 2003 vs Richmond. The McCartney match. Jason makes a return to football after the bombing in Bali. He kicks a goal and has a hand in the winner. After the match, Jason announce his retirement and I think even Richmond supporters went home happy depite losing (92 - 89)

Will be forever remembered by all who were there. Sheer emotion.

Round 21 2003 vs Adelaide. North had lost three in a row and the Crows were thinking about September and the double chance. A crowd of 42,259 watch the game in wet conditions and 42,200 expect the Crows to win. The few Roos' supporters there are treated to a great game and the Kangas slog out a 10 point win (74 - 64). The Crows lose the following week and we thrash Carlton to finish the year on a high despite missing the eight.

A good win but the season was over.

Round 14 2004 vs Essendon. The Bombers start off well and lead by a goal at 3/4 time. Another goal to Essendon and the lead is stretched to 2 goals. Hille for the Bombers has a fairly easy shot at goal to just about wrap up the game as North look gone. He misses and the Bombers don't score again and the roos win it by 21 points (100 - 79). The following week we play Freo in Perth, Wellsy kicks goal of the year and the kangas win again.

Both were great wins. Wellsy kicked an amazing goal just before his goal of the year as well.

Round 19 2004 vs Sydney. North had lost to Adelaide in the worst game of the year (only 1 goal to half time) and went to Sydney with little chance of winning. The Swans lead by as much as 40 points due to good kicking (9.3 to 3.10 at half time) as much as anything else. The final quarter starts an the Swans lead by 40 points. Laidley starts five guys in the goal square and no one at CHF. The goals keep comin g and victory goes to the Roos by 6 points. Unfortunatley all the good work would be undone over the next three weeks and we miss the finals again.[/QUOTE]

Watched that game last night. Kingy is a genius. Wells plays a brilliant last quarter.

Thanks for the memories hotel 6, these were all great games and memories.

BTW Our win at the WACA in 1993 was another unbelievable victory.

wellsythegr8 said:

37 points down in the third quarter. What a great comeback.

I was in a Bulldogs corporate box for this game. Drunk as hell and just as depressed half way through the third quarter.

You want to be drunk for comebacks like that. Makes the screaming and shouting all the more rambunctious. Awesome...

Favourite Roos Game 2000-2004