Fevola Arrested?

good luck in round 1 fev :thumbsu:

With the Lions playing Freo at home in Round 1 I am not sure at this rate that Fev will be in the team (being in exile) or fit enough to play. The sad thing for the Lions is that as any opposing team would admit. It would be harder playing a team with Fevola in the team than out of the team.

A very unfortunate position for the Lions having such a talented player with such defects as the Fev has. Especially when other players had to financially make way to fit in his pay to the salary cap.

I am hoping that if the AFL/Lions decide to De Register/De List Fev that the AFL give the Lions a break on their salary cap commitments over the next few years. At least that way they will be able to give some young players the chance to play and give the pay rises to the players that deserve it.

..you couldn't possibly sack him over this..?.. ..even in you raked together his short lions list of misdemeanors.. ..none of them are particularly bad for other ppl [exposure claims being just allegations in the end].. ..he doesn't look happy/settled up there.. ..i don't think he's the sort of person that can handle being apart from his kids, and he certainly can't handle gettin' on the sauce..

..i don't think he has the discipline to play well into his thirties, so he really needs to focus and from what i've seen over the years when he was with us, he never could all season long.. ..even his brilliant years had their times where he went off the boil.. ..older now, never been one to really look after himself [body/mind].. ..even with us when he got into trouble for drinking and swore off the booze for the season, he'd still have a drink here and there so he's one that needs to be directly handled..

....if he can get his off-field demons sorted, he could get back to playing close to good form.. ..though i think he's going to decline soon, at how fast a rate we won't know until it starts happening.. ....main concern for me now regarding his footballing ability, is how disciplined and dedicated he's taking his rehab, that groin injury was severe....if he loses a bit of pace, and worse still loses that long range accuracy it'll definitely curtail his FF power..

Exactly.

Its not really a earth shattering crime.

I agree with you danni, its not earth shattering..........but unfortunately for us, its one of many that continually drags our club through the media, puts our club in a terrible position....none of it is good publicity...

..now whether its a media beat-up or not, the media are talking about us, his association with us, because he is one of ours..

Verbal abuse is considered a no no, always has been, and if he became abusive, as stated, then any wonder he was picked up.....like I said before, all he had to do was move off the damned road...

Apparently (according to the Australian) there were other Lions players there as well, (didn't name them) but they didn't get lippy...only Fev..

....and just for the record, I genuinely fear for his mental health and what may happen to him, and hope he finally gets serious help from somewhere..

...but I care more for my club and its reputation and standing in the football world..

I think sacking a player, and costing the club close to the reported $2m, after we knew that he had issues, would be just as bad a look for the club as anything else. It would make us look amateurish for having taken him on in the first place as if we believed that there were no problems at all. On top of that, what has been reported does not sound like a sackable offense - and I don't think it could be fairly construed that it brought the club or the game into disrepute (whatever that is supposed to mean anyway).

Working on the premise that the club knew that Fevola was a handful (surely they did!), I think that the club owe it to the supporters to try to make the situation work, rather than giving up on it and costing the club a lot of money.

Fevola played a number of very good matches in 2010 and was serviceable at other times (and some lackluster ones once injured). I think Fevola is still capable of playing excellent football and being a match-winner.

I ask again, now that preseason training is well and truly underway, do players have a curfew that they have to adhere to? Still out on the town at 4.30am just doesn't seem right.

Agree with the recent aboves…

Fev sadly seems to be currently lacking big picture visionary fortitude. Should the club sack him [and I hope not] then what would the media magnification-ists do - slam the club/AFL for not supporting the player?

Sssshhhhh, just quietly… I reckon it was just the marketing department errantly getting their wang out trying to pump up the ‘adversity breeds success’ over the New Year. [freddie symbolically? suggesting he and the almost 600 arrested on NYE in QLD may also lack big picture visionary fortitude - ;);) ]

But seriously… the courts to fine him, the club to fine him and then request an additional [don’t be a noob] clause to be written into his contract.

For his own good, I'd say Fev needs to go off alcohol, period. It will work for us as well, but if he doesn't get off it and stay off it, his life is going to be a mess post-football. It may not be our fault, but it's now our duty to help someone who cannot help himself.

Was about to make a similar post.

In basically every off-field Fevola incident, alcohol has been ever-present.

In his press conference right after the trade, Fev said something like "Clearly I need to stop drinking so much". I remember thinking at the time that that statement was two words too long.

I don't know what treatment or help he is seeking, but if his roadmap afterwards doesn't involve a blanket ban on alcohol, we'll know immediately that he isn't dinky-di.

It's become a bit of a cliche to say he needs help, but jesus, he needs help. I'm about the Lions first and foremost but I honestly worry personally for Fev on what sort of life he is going to build after football.

I ask again, now that preseason training is well and truly underway, do players have a curfew that they have to adhere to? Still out on the town at 4.30am just doesn't seem right.

Haven't the players been on their Christmas holiday break?

At any rate, the breaking of a curfew would warrant only a minor penalty, I would have thought.

Was about to make a similar post.

In basically every off-field Fevola incident, alcohol has been ever-present.

In his press conference right after the trade, Fev said something like "Clearly I need to stop drinking so much". I remember thinking at the time that that statement was two words too long.

I don't know what treatment or help he is seeking, but if his roadmap afterwards doesn't involve a blanket ban on alcohol, we'll know immediately that he isn't dinky-di.

It's become a bit of a cliche to say he needs help, but jesus, he needs help. I'm about the Lions first and foremost but I honestly worry personally for Fev on what sort of life he is going to build after football.

Yep - hammer, nail-head TBD - happy for the specific "will not drink alcohol" to replace the all incumbent 'noob' in my suggested new clause. :thumbsu:

where do these guys get off. (referring to TBD's article link)
"The reason for Fevola's latest outburst may lie in the gift that he thought would bring his wife, Alex, and their family back to Brisbane."
Who suggested the car was a bribe to get Alex to move??
Has the AFL come out and said they are losing patience??
Does this "journo" believe Fev may be delisted??Really??
Gets the public going, along with a shipload of BF flogs.
I understand MacMums angst (not one of the flogs referred to) but the media are bringing the game into disrepute. Responding hysterically that this is a shameful disaster at the club is
unsettling to the team, not the event. Kick his arse, give him a fine and get him into training. Surely he can receive counselling after training.
My understanding was that he didn't have a drink from start to finish of his season.
Good enough for me.

where do these guys get off. (referring to TBD's article link)
"The reason for Fevola's latest outburst may lie in the gift that he thought would bring his wife, Alex, and their family back to Brisbane."
Who suggested the car was a bribe to get Alex to move??
Has the AFL come out and said they are losing patience??
Does this "journo" believe Fev may be delisted??Really??
Gets the public going, along with a shipload of BF flogs.
I understand MacMums angst (not one of the flogs referred to) but the media are bringing the game into disrepute. Responding hysterically that this is a shameful disaster at the club is
unsettling to the team, not the event. Kick his arse, give him a fine and get him into training. Surely he can receive counselling after training.
My understanding was that he didn't have a drink from start to finish of his season.
Good enough for me.

Agree with the bit about the media Skoob. For all Fev's failings, the media have made a mountain out of a mole-hill - the bloke can't hit a baseball or get pissed in public without it making the front pages. It's like a feeding frenzy whenever Fev does anything. Bunch of parasites feeding off another bloke's misery. Was just on the GD board discussing life in the 70s / 80s - this might not have even made the news in the 70's / 80's. The bloke has some serious personal issues going on - if you've ever been through a separation / break-up you should be more understanding - leave him alone.

The chance of Fev being able to kick 100 goals this year or 50 for that matter is zilch! If this bloke can't keep it together over the pre season then there is little to no hope for him to successfully recover from a major operation and return to his role as an elite AFL player.

If the we are serious about Fev being a part of the club for the next 3-5 years then I suggest they ban him from the club (still have access to medicos etc), make him train with a Morningside or Mt Gravatt, get him a job at Mrs Crockets on the factory line and see how he is going around April! By then he will know whether or not he wants to find the disciplined required to earn 900k a year playing AFL footy or whether he is happy rocking up and working a 40 hour plus working week for 40 grand a year.

Without knowing the bloke i can only assume that Fev's sense of reality is nothing like 98 percent of the rest of the world. Maybe some hard time in the real world will serve him well.

The worst thing brissy did was sign on Fevola. Yeah, he's a good player, but there was never a doubt in my mind that he wouldnt stay out of trouble. Of course he was going to do something stupid, no Brisbane have to cop it.

Fevola has perhaps played his last game.

Agree with the bit about the media Skoob. For all Fev's failings, the media have made a mountain out of a mole-hill - the bloke can't hit a baseball or get pissed in public without it making the front pages. It's like a feeding frenzy whenever Fev does anything. Bunch of parasites feeding off another bloke's misery. Was just on the GD board discussing life in the 70s / 80s - this might not have even made the news in the 70's / 80's. The bloke has some serious personal issues going on - if you've ever been through a separation / break-up you should be more understanding - leave him alone.

Studies show that divorce/seperation is the second most stressfull thing one can go through (First being death of spouse/child). People are forgetting that he is going through some tough personal issues right now.

I completely agree with you, in the 70's and 80's this would be a nothing story. The media these days are vultures. All out to make a quick buck on people's misery. Take Ben Cousins for example, the media feed on that bloke, turned him into a monster, then after that built him up as some matyr for the 'cured'.

Fact is, this has been made a mountain out of a molehole by the media, and the "Helen Lovejoys, Won't someone think of the children" types.

I wish all the best for Fev in rehab, I think he needs it and I would be extremely dissapointed if we turned our back on him now... we knew what we were getting when we picked him up.

The worst thing brissy did was sign on Fevola. Yeah, he's a good player, but there was never a doubt in my mind that he wouldnt stay out of trouble. Of course he was going to do something stupid, no Brisbane have to cop it.

Fevola has perhaps played his last game.

Are Crows players still punching on at the Ramsgate? Pot. Kettle. Black.

I've been anxiously waiting for a newly registered Adelaide poster to provide us with their insight on the matter.

I feel complete now.

Disappointing the posters name wasn't Wayne Carey..

Albert Proud did 20 times worse then Fevola so he should be fine just these media w***ers making a big fuss think they should pull there heads in and go chase real criminals.

The excuses for this clown continue, in all our work places we have had colleagues who have gone through divorces etc etc. It is still expected that the employee maintains the professional standards and expectations the employer has outlined in their employment contract.

Fevloa is a massive distraction for the coaching group, playing group and fans. Cut him at any cost and let's move forward.

Fevola Arrested?