Fevola Arrested?

The last people that should be laughing are Carlton fans and the club. They created the culture that Fev grew up in. Covering up and denying, incident after incident from this fool made him believe that he could get away with anything.

The way that he has behaved over the years is a disgrace that I have seen on many occasions first hand. The AFL should de register him and give the Lions a first round draft pick as compensation and void his contract. Taking money away from Fevola is the only thing that will make him regret his actions.

Idiots like Fevola will NOT learn, now or ever! The sooner that he is removed from the system the better it will be for everyone. Unlucky, Lions. You really picked a dud with this guy and it certainly does not look like you will get adequate compensation.

Best of luck for 2011 Lions. Hope that you knock the Blues out of the finals again!

Lions board and all so I apologise for the intrusion, but this post is a load of rubbish. We all see how Fev can and is damaging the Lions and we can sympathise with that. As POBT says though, the Lions willingly brought in a damaged Fevola. Yet we can still make allowances and express sympathy for their situation.

Carlton recruited an 18 year old so were not armed with the same foreknowledge, yet somehow we are to blame for creating the situation. Fev had been fined before, had been suspended before, have been put on a last warning, and was effectively sacked. We did not have a plethora of other players going off the rails for the duration of their careers in this culture we supposedly created.

You go to lengths to criticise Fevola, while at the same time offering him a defense by saying it was Carlton's fault.

I really do not think you are close enough to the CFC to be able to make such judgments about the culture or what they did or did not do to control him.

Some players just can't help themselves, despite the best efforts of their football clubs.

Successful teams do not tolerate bad behavior , they manage it. Even in our 'well disciplined days" issues arose. Black and Voss at that pub in St.Kilda. The Pies have had their fair share of incidents, but managed them well. We have taken Brendan on board, eyes wide open.

No matter how one looks at this there is no positives for the club. IMO this is a nothing incident, however it has fueled the "chicken little" supporters of our club into indignation and letter writing and throwing mud and leading a lynch mob for a public stoning.

No doubt both the AFL and Brisbane Lions have been placed in a very tenuous position. Fev is a serial transgressor. He clearly is not malicious or vindictive or even deliberate in his actions. He is a child in a man's body. He has never matured beyond the year four. His inability to make the correct judgment call in these sorts of situation indicate a very unintelligent individual. He desperately needs love and help. However Brisbane Lions is not a welfare organization. He has already received all the help and guidance from both Carlton and now Brisbane Lions. Of late it appears that even his teammates no longer include him in their social activities thus he is left to seek his own company and the company of others who may not have his best interest. Unfortunately he the club and the AFL have reached a point of no return.

I just hope for the sake of Fev he is supported. He is in very deep and dark personal hell and no matter what we think about how he affects our club we the supporters and the club should not abandon him. He is in danger of doing something very self harming.

No doubt our worst fears have now been realised. Trading-in Fev into our club has damaged our culture and has left a lasting negative legacy for all those involved in this trade. However the one that needs to have the spotlight put on him jumped ship leaving our club to clean up a disaster as big as the Exxon Valdez and BP Gulf of Mexico oil disasters.

If there is any public executions to be done it should not be Fev, or Voss, or any other naive innocent Brisbane Lions individual.

However the legacy of the Kelly/Bowers administration will haunt our club in perpetuity. How these individuals are able to walk away unscathed for the damage they have done and how Gumby is still employed within the AFL system and how he is not called to account for the last four years at Brisbane is beyond belief.

I know I and many others did and continue to have a very big soft spot for the lad and are but many are just bitter and won't admit that the club made the wrong decision in the trade.

The ones who call him a spud on here are the same ones who considered him a gun whilst at the club, yet talk up how good your Raineses and Buchanan's of the club are.:rolleyes:

Gee you make some stupid generalizations when you are upset Dylan. You just spray it everywhere. Such a binary view. Anyone who doesn't match you in terms of visible outrage is the enemy and a deluded sheep to boot.

I'm sure you'll load up on me now with a suggestion I approved of Fev's contract etc now. No time for facts when there is outrage to be expressed.

Lions board and all so I apologise for the intrusion, but this post is a load of rubbish. We all see how Fev can and is damaging the Lions and we can sympathise with that. As POBT says though, the Lions willingly brought in a damaged Fevola. Yet we can still make allowances and express sympathy for their situation.

Carlton recruited an 18 year old so were not armed with the same foreknowledge, yet somehow we are to blame for creating the situation. Fev had been fined before, had been suspended before, have been put on a last warning, and was effectively sacked. We did not have a plethora of other players going off the rails for the duration of their careers in this culture we supposedly created.

You go to lengths to criticise Fevola, while at the same time offering him a defense by saying it was Carlton's fault.

I really do not think you are close enough to the CFC to be able to make such judgments about the culture or what they did or did not do to control him.

Some players just can't help themselves, despite the best efforts of their football clubs.

So you are saying that Carlton never covered up any of Fevola's actions that would have brought shame on the club and AFL? I may not know the club anywhere near as much as you do but I am VERY aware of some of the crap that Fevola has pulled first hand.
You also state that you have not had a plethora of players run off the rails? Really??? REALLY??? Want me to run some names past you? Lawrence Anguin. Ring a bell? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laurence_Angwin He and Fev liked to hang out. So do you remember Fev breaking into and running amok in a university (A place that he would NEVER be able to attend on merit) harassing and assaulting the students after stealing newspapers? How about when he beat up an Irish barman whilst representing the AFL and Australia in Ireland?

What about Houlihan, Betts and Walker getting into a punch on with each other in the middle of a hotel lobby in the City after the "infamous" booze cruise.

The mentality has come from the top where Elliott used to dish out brown paper bags full of money in efforts to cheat the salary cap. Carlton was rightly punished for that behaviour but it did not change the way that they tried to keep Fev on their list in a vain effort to try and win another flag. If he had no talent he would have been shown the door like Anguin years ago.

No club is squeaky clean but I bet you that the Lions will handle this idiot far better than Carlton ever did. The only disappointment will be that the Lions will most likely have to pay him out and suffer the loss on their salary cap and go without a player.

Voss may have made a big mistake bringing Fev to the club but he will certainly not permit this behaviour to go on like the Blues did for a decade.

I do agree with you on one point

Some players just can't help themselves, despite the best efforts of their football clubs.[/QUOTE]

The question is, why did the Blues allow his behaviour to continue for SO long before trading him. Also, why did Voss think that he would be able to change the pathological behaviour of such a serial offender as Fevola?

No matter how one looks at this there is no positives for the club. IMO this is a nothing incident, however it has fueled the "chicken little" supporters of our club into indignation and letter writing and throwing mud and leading a lynch mob for a public stoning.

No doubt both the AFL and Brisbane Lions have been placed in a very tenuous position. Fev is a serial transgressor. He clearly is not malicious or vindictive or even deliberate in his actions. He is a child in a man's body. He has never matured beyond the year four. His inability to make the correct judgment call in these sorts of situation indicate a very unintelligent individual. He desperately needs love and help. However Brisbane Lions is not a welfare organization. He has already received all the help and guidance from both Carlton and now Brisbane Lions. Of late it appears that even his teammates no longer include him in their social activities thus he is left to seek his own company and the company of others who may not have his best interest. Unfortunately he the club and the AFL have reached a point of no return.

I just hope for the sake of Fev he is supported. He is in very deep and dark personal hell and no matter what we think about how he affects our club we the supporters and the club should not abandon him. He is in danger of doing something very self harming.

No doubt our worst fears have now been realised. Trading-in Fev into our club has damaged our culture and has left a lasting negative legacy for all those involved in this trade. However the one that needs to have the spotlight put on him jumped ship leaving our club to clean up a disaster as big as the Exxon Valdez and BP Gulf of Mexico oil disasters.

If there is any public executions to be done it should not be Fev, or Voss, or any other naive innocent Brisbane Lions individual.

However the legacy of the Kelly/Bowers administration will haunt our club in perpetuity. How these individuals are able to walk away unscathed for the damage they have done and how Gumby is still employed within the AFL system and how he is not called to account for the last four years at Brisbane is beyond belief.

Pretty spot on there.Irel

Successful teams do not tolerate bad behavior , they manage it. Even in our 'well disciplined days" issues arose. Black and Voss at that pub in St.Kilda. The Pies have had their fair share of incidents, but managed them well. We have taken Brendan on board, eyes wide open.

/thread

Old-fashioned footy club discipline is needed.
No need to make it overly public, just tell Fev to shape up or ship out.

Gee you make some stupid generalizations when you are upset Dylan. You just spray it everywhere. Such a binary view. Anyone who doesn't match you in terms of visible outrage is the enemy and a deluded sheep to boot.

I'm sure you'll load up on me now with a suggestion I approved of Fev's contract etc now. No time for facts when there is outrage to be expressed.

Why would I need to load up on anyone...just don't understand the love for this bloke who has done nothing more than drag our club through the mud. Have I labelled anyone a deluded sheep today, because I see a lot of people who have expressed similar concerns to myself and still can't quite work out why the club brought Fevola in the first place and worst yet, pay him wages he doesn't deserve or warrant considering he wasn't demanded by any other club or what we gave up.

I didn't realise that you weren't responsible for approving his contract.;)

I admit Fev and Cousin's are both Idiot's and both on are similar downward spirals in life one drug's and one gambling and alcohol issues.They are both named shamed and will probably both face the same plenty.

Then you have a club with a culture of rape and nude photo allegations that get's swept under the table why aren't they treated the same.Maybe the girl is to half blame but she is still a minor in one way if was me and a 16 year old girl I'd be locked and get me head caved right now.

About time Demitrou or how ever you say it quit's and someone else take over cause the last 5 year's this is all we here about and only 2 Bloke's out of the lot get done.

So before you all go putting Fevola in the ground look at what other player's are doing there worse then a few drunken moment's out on NYE his a drunk so be it and is targeted way to much.

There that is how I should have put it in my first post.

A month or so ago you were enthusing about how wonderful everything at the club was.

Nothing has really changed since then, Fev was still a manbaby on an overinflated contract back then.

More than anything it is your "everything is wonderful" or "everything is utterly rooted" see sawing that does my head in.

We know the trade was badly misexecuted, as was the contract. We've bemoaned it a thousand times. Gubby is gone. Bowers and Kelly were rightfully shot at dawn.

At some point we have to deal with things as they come. At least in the short term. Woe is me defeatism doesn't help anything.

So you are saying that Carlton never covered up any of Fevola's actions that would have brought shame on the club and AFL? I may not know the club anywhere near as much as you do but I am VERY aware of some of the crap that Fevola has pulled first hand.
You also state that you have not had a plethora of players run off the rails? Really??? REALLY??? Want me to run some names past you? Lawrence Anguin. Ring a bell? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laurence_Angwin He and Fev liked to hang out. So do you remember Fev breaking into and running amok in a university (A place that he would NEVER be able to attend on merit) harassing and assaulting the students after stealing newspapers? How about when he beat up an Irish barman whilst representing the AFL and Australia in Ireland?

What about Houlihan, Betts and Walker getting into a punch on with each other in the middle of a hotel lobby in the City after the "infamous" booze cruise.

The mentality has come from the top where Elliott used to dish out brown paper bags full of money in efforts to cheat the salary cap. Carlton was rightly punished for that behaviour but it did not change the way that they tried to keep Fev on their list in a vain effort to try and win another flag. If he had no talent he would have been shown the door like Anguin years ago.

No club is squeaky clean but I bet you that the Lions will handle this idiot far better than Carlton ever did. The only disappointment will be that the Lions will most likely have to pay him out and suffer the loss on their salary cap and go without a player.

Voss may have made a big mistake bringing Fev to the club but he will certainly not permit this behaviour to go on like the Blues did for a decade.

I do agree with you on one point

The question is, why did the Blues allow his behaviour to continue for SO long before trading him. Also, why did Voss think that he would be able to change the pathological behaviour of such a serial offender as Fevola?
Why use the Brisbane board to troll Carlton with such vitriol? Why resort to outright lies (Fev beat up a barman, lol, what lying rubbish)? Why even bring up the brown paper bags line? If you've got such pent up hate, take it over to the Carlton board or Bay 13 and fight your battles there.

Carlton's had players go off the rails, sure, as have all clubs over the years. You're not exactly squeaky clean yourself in that area, is that the club's fault? It's a fine line. In Angwin's case (as you brought it up), he was sacked after three years (bear in mind the Blues gave him a second chance after he left Adelaide).

Fevola was a marquee player in a poor side. If you can't see why the club allowed him more leeway than less talented players I'm amazed. You have no idea what support was offered to him behind closed doors. I strongly suspect it was far more than you would care to entertain. At the end of the day he was incapable of taking it.

I feel for the player, I feel for Brissy. They gave Fevola a chance thinking (as I did, I'll admit) that the boot that Carlton gave him would be a major wake-up call. As a Carlton supporter I felt the club did the right thing, but on the other hand I desperately hoped Fev sorted things out off the field and kicked butt on it. Unfortunately to date things haven't worked out the best.

At the end of the day, whether you like it or not, you can let your hate and vitriol point the finger at a club you don't like over this issue. But the fact that the biggest wake up call that this player has ever received seems to have changed very little in his life really seems to tell the tale for me, and that is that it isn't the respective clubs he has played for which are the issue.

I can't believe the tripe! Fev is a manchild, never grew up past the age of 4 etc etc etc. What a load of CRAP! This is a person who is employed to play football and to uphold the professional and personal expectations required to be employed in the AFL. He clearly has failed to meet these expectations over the last decade. I couldn't give a shit about his personal issues, there are people with REALproblems that haven't been self inflicted who you should save your excuses for Iriel!

Massive mistake made by the Lions, I would be happy for us to pay him his contract over the next 2 years and not have him at the club. IMO it would be a 1.8million dollar investment in our future success!

take it over to the Carlton board or Bay 13 and fight your battles there.

Good suggestion. This tangent is not really relevant. Lets stay on topic.

By the way, why does he have to come down here to Melb. to get counselling?......and who will be keeping an eye on his antics while he's here, and whether he does in fact go to the counselling..

I have no doubt that Brisbane have just as good a quality of counsellors as Melb. does..

Yes, I know his family are here, but they are separated, he has to learn to accept that....thats life..its tough sometimes..

Cant really say anything on the bay about this there all a bunch of **** that dont understand the life this bloke is stuck in it don't just change overnight.

Good luck to Fevola and what happen's next happen's.

I want to read more about everyone that got banged up last night for being out on the piss on NYE. Why oh why won't the HUN & Co. write more stories about other people that have committed such heinous violations of our public code of ethics? Never enough journo's. I'm sure John, at least, would support my call for more to be on the streets, making sure all us heathens get our moral compass' reset by some truly righteous people.

p.s. SACK VOSS!!! Wait wut?..

Calling Henderson a spud has got to be the saddest thing ever to come from the mouth of a Lions supporter, you loved him as a Lion.

Sorry mate, but I never rated him. I know I'm judging him by the standards set by a couple of the hero's we have/had in our forward line, but I lost count of the amount of times I saw him back down from a contest or even close his eyes in fear when attempting to take a contested mark.

Like I said, I'm comparing him to guys like Browny, but take a good hard look at him when he's next playing for Carlton. He's a boy trying to mix-it with men.

Sorry mate, but I never rated him. I know I'm judging him by the standards set by a couple of the hero's we have/had in our forward line, but I lost count of the amount of times I saw him back down from a contest or even close his eyes in fear when attempting to take a contested mark.

Like I said, I'm comparing him to guys like Browny, but take a good hard look at him when he's next playing for Carlton. He's a boy trying to mix-it with men.

You do realise Henderson has only played 3 full seasons?:rolleyes:

I do. I'm also aware that in his first season Browny broke his jaw twice and had a habit of tearing other teams to bits on a regular basis.

Henderson seems like a nice enough kid, but I'm fed-up of all the Fev-haters and their rose-coloured glasses where he is concerned.

By the way, why does he have to come down here to Melb. to get counselling?......and who will be keeping an eye on his antics while he's here, and whether he does in fact go to the counselling..

I have no doubt that Brisbane have just as good a quality of counsellors as Melb. does..

Yes, I know his family are here, but they are separated, he has to learn to accept that....thats life..its tough sometimes..

Yep you make your bed you lie in it! Normally i would be more forgiving but ffs this bloke he is harming our club big time!

Fevola Arrested?