Footballers you've met that are Morons

Justin Longmuir. He was an absolute faaarkwit.

I had an encouter with him at the Commercial Club in Melbourne on a Saturday night a few years ago, when all the Fremantle players went there for a drink after they had won thier first game for the year against Hawthorn.

I was speaking to a bunch of friends at a table when he started to pour beer down the back of my shirt to get a couple of laughs from Paul Haselby. One of my friends told him to sod off so he started to verbally abuse her. It didn't stop there. I got cornered by him and someone else at the bar where he proceeded to stir me up more and more as I was speaking to the bar staff. He was looking for a fight which is really tough considering I'm five foot four and he's six foot plus.

By this stage though I'd had enough and spoke to a couple of Bouncers. They didn't know who he was so they made the bar staff stop giving him beer. I figured that had to hurt him the most.

It stopped after that but as I left he gave me some parting words and the bird.

I still to this day don't know what set him off, yet I only know that out of the many footballers I've met he was the worst.

Originally posted by Runknisse
Justin Longmuir. He was an absolute faaarkwit.

I had an encouter with him at the Commercial Club in Melbourne on a Saturday night a few years ago, when all the Fremantle players went there for a drink after they had won thier first game for the year against Hawthorn.

I was speaking to a bunch of friends at a table when he started to pour beer down the back of my shirt to get a couple of laughs from Paul Haselby. One of my friends told him to sod off so he started to verbally abuse her. It didn't stop there. I got cornered by him and someone else at the bar where he proceeded to stir me up more and more as I was speaking to the bar staff. He was looking for a fight which is really tough considering I'm five foot four and he's six foot plus.

By this stage though I'd had enough and spoke to a couple of Bouncers. They didn't know who he was so they made the bar staff stop giving him beer. I figured that had to hurt him the most.

It stopped after that but as I left he gave me some parting words and the bird.

I still to this day don't know what set him off, yet I only know that out of the many footballers I've met he was the worst.
You probably caught him when he was drunk.

Bottom line....

If you're a young blonde chick with nice norks then all football are REALLY nice guys.

If you're a genuine fan who just wants to say hello and wish them well for their next game, then most of them are arrogant a-holes.

Originally posted by Thunderstruck
Ive met a few from the crows:
Mcleod - Not as nice as u might think, he seems pretty rude at times, can be ok tho.

Lives a few houses down. Always waves to my fiance but never me.

Maybe I should start waving to his wife.

Originally posted by MaccasNeighbour
Bottom line....

If you're a young blonde chick with nice norks then all football are REALLY nice guys.

If you're a genuine fan who just wants to say hello and wish them well for their next game, then most of them are arrogant a-holes.
Disagree.

That's not always the case. I find that if supporters are nice and polite to the players they are great towards you. If the supporters are rude to you then the players will be rude back to you.

Lives a few houses down. Always waves to my fiance but never me.

Maybe I should start waving to his wife.
I think you had better ask your fiance that. Or better still go over and have a chat to Andrew McLeod. Wish him luck for the rest of the season for me:D

I have met all of the saints players and they are FANTASTIC

I was standing close by mark Bickley at a trial game betweenSouth Adelaide and Port Adelaide a couple of years ago and overheard his conversation on his mobile to Andrew Mcleod

Bickley was so up himself

I met Nathan Buckly years ago, and wouldn't give the time of day to a little nephew of mine, who wanted his autograph, it was outside the G after a win.No nice at all.
Russell Roberston thinks he's wonderful, shame he ain't pleasant with it.
Nathan Burke is a legen.
Brett Voss is a really nice bloke, just like his brother.
Met Ron Barrassi at Newcastle a few years ago, what a top bloke he is.
Matthew Clarke is a true gentleman, and shy to boot.
Aka can be up himself, and can be funny.Very moody.
Gary Hocking is a top bloke.

Tony Modra is an absolute disgrace as far as human beings go.

Haha - Mods is the only AFL player I'm related too.

The only current player I've actually spoken to is Jamie Charman. Walked past him at a shopping centre in Brisbane and had a quick chat with him. Seemed like a really good bloke.

He seemed a little surprised that someone recognised him.

At North the nicest gut ive ever met was Wayne Carey, every training session i was there, hed always be up for a chat, after training, Matthew Capuano was also a top bloke.

Glenn Archer is another favourite, as is young Daniel Harris

Worst bloke: Leigh HardKnob, Harding, absolute wa*ker, i always give him ****e at North games though.

Corey McKernan doesnt say much, he just grunts.

Wayne Was the best player and best bloke ive ever met, by a mile

Managed to get up to Sydney last year to see the saints get done. Went to the post match & he whole saints squad came back and dhot the shyt for a few hours.

Had a great chat with pretty much everyone. Hamill is a great bloke, gave us heaps of his time and we were full of pyss & wind.

Kosi was a classic, real country boy who tells it like it is. I said to him, "Bad luck Kos" And you should have heard the tirade he unloaded on himself.

Great bunch of blokes considering my crew were all hammered and making arses of ourselves.

I met a lot of footy players when I worked as a waiter in the convention centre at AAMI stadium (then footy park).

Shaun Rhen was a very rude man, his gf at the time (now wife) was even ruder.

Tony Hall was a complete tool, surprisingly his wife was the nicest lady I ever met at FP - she'd talk your ear off. If he saw you talking to her he'd get real stroppy.

Bickley was a nice guy, never had a problem with him, neither did any of the other staff. I dont get why peope dont like him.

Kane Johnson was a real prick, refusing once to do charity work for the AKF! I hope he rots at Richmond.

Ben Hart was so so, bit of a smart arse, but you can get used to him.

Adam Hueskus was unusual, I always thought of him as a prick. Just before he went to Brissy I was in West Tce Maccas, he recognised me and walked over for a chat with my then gf and myself. We'd never talked before at FP. Even she was surprised!

However, Dean Brogan is by far and away the biggest knob in the league. Don't ask me how he got Joanna to go out with him. Never have I met such a childish, rude, learing, sleazy di c k head.

Chris Grant is by far and away the nicest footballer I have met. He remembered my son, even his name, and made a point of coming over and saying hello one day at the Whitten Oval. We had spoken briefly once about six months before.

Glenn Archer comes close in the nice guy stakes. Stopped talking to his North teammates and came and spoke to us one day at a North training session. Swapped yarns for a good 5-10 minutes and only went because the others wanted him back to do some drills.

Shane Crawford is a good bloke. Was waitoring at a restaraunt in December 2002 and he was up here on the Gold Coast for a holiday with his GF/wife. Nice bloke. Wished him luck for 2003. Noticed he signed an autograpgh for a young kid when he was at the table.

Rupert Betheras was also a top bloke to fans when he was at Collingwood. Still miss the bloke. He should still be here. $%@% you coaching staff. :mad:

Haven't met any footballers for quite a while as I have become a hermit (wife and kids'll do that to a man)

Of the ones I have met, Dermott Brereton is an egotistical idiot, especially when allowed near any alcohol.

Garry Lyon was great. Always made time to have a chat.

Saw Wayne Carey go out of his way many times to talk to local young children down at Arden St when he was down there. One time I remember there was a kid who was part of a group that dropped in to watch training. Dunno where this kid got to, but Carey came out of the gym to talk to the kids, sign autographs and so on and this one kid missed out on seeing him and was crying his eyes out. Carey found out about it, basically ran after the mini bus that had the kids on it, took off his training jumper, signed it and gave it to the kid. Say what you want about him, but that was classy.

Glenn Archer is a top bloke. Genuine person.

Nathan Buckley was very nice to my kids when we ran into him. Waited whilst they found a pen for autographs and then posed for a picture. Thought that was a nice touch as he was there with his missus. One of my daughters was wearing a Collingwood scarf (cant help bad taste), so I suppose he felt obliged.

Dipper talks a million miles a minute yet makes no sense. Would talk your ear off.

David Schwarz will talk all day as long as it's about the races.

And finally, I used to live down the road from Malcolm Blight when I was a kid. He used to get all the kids from the street out on the road and run his own footy clinics. Well, not clinics, but we all used to have a kick and then he'd give tips, which was great.

John Platten - absolute champion of a bloke. I was around 12 when I went to a Hawthorn-Footscray match at the Western Oval with our neighbours, all Bulldogs supporters. After the match we went into the social club - I was obviously one of very few Hawthorn supporters in the room. However Plats came in and upon seeing me, came over for a chat, asked about the game etc. Huge thrill for a young kid. I've seen Joel Smith stop his own personal training to chat with some young fans - Steven Greene is really good with the kids too.

As for worst - can't think of any off the top of my head.

Not all morons are half bad. When I was about 10 years old I was playing kick to kick with my mates, when Mark Jacko Jackson walks over and asked if he can have a kick...he wound up staying for at least an hour or two.

I've met the Crows boys a lot, I’m at training every week, but worst one's I've seen are Johncock and McLeod. Ronnie Burns is pretty shy though. Brent Reilly also seems pretty shy and rarely smiles.

Best Crow boys by far are Michael Doughty, James Gallagher, Aidan Parker, Matty Smith, Fergus Watts, James Begley, Matty Bode and Kris Massie. :D Always up for a chat and seem to really appreciate the support.

Most of the guys will say hello though and are willing to have a photo and give an autograph. And Wayne Carey is a champ with the little kids.

I've also met some port boys. Have to say Steven Salopek was the nicest one out of them all. :D Russell Ebert was also great, asked my name and said it was a pleasure to meet a nice and polite young lady.

I also got to meet Jason McCartney, he was at West Lakes for some school footy carnival, this was about a month ago, and he stopped to chat with my friend and i, was happy to have a photo and sign an autograph.

Footballers you've met that are Morons