footy atmosphere

"Get rid of cheersquads" dont quite get what this means. You cant ban a group of people sitting together chanting mindless drivel.

Curtain raisers I like.

Kick to Kick brings up way too many OHS issues. I wouldnt be bringing that back if I were the AFL. Its only minutes before some little kid gets decked and his parents (Mr and Mrs Tippett) sue.

We dont want TP all over the field. That is bogan.

Some suggestions of mine that may improve footy atmosphere somewhat:
  • Get rid of cheer squads unless they can create some witty and humorous chants. <insert team> clap clap clap chanted repeatedly by a group of (mostly) nuffies is not what I like to see.
  • More curtain-raisers. Here at Kardinia Park is the only place curtain raisers still occur, and IMO they do make some difference to the atmosphere. Not saying there should be one before every match, but for games that attract less spectators they are a good idea.
  • Kick-to-kick on the ground after each game again (except in adverse weather conditions, where there is a crowd of 80,000 or more, and during finals).
  • Allow people to bring dunny rolls and torn-up paper into the ground again. Before anyone claims this will make a mess, stadiums have cleaners who are employed to clean up this stuff.
Thoughts?

I always take my own dunny roll to certain grounds.

"Get rid of cheersquads" dont quite get what this means. You cant ban a group of people sitting together chanting mindless drivel.

Curtain raisers I like.

Kick to Kick brings up way too many OHS issues. I wouldnt be bringing that back if I were the AFL. Its only minutes before some little kid gets decked and his parents (Mr and Mrs Tippett) sue.

We dont want TP all over the field. That is bogan.

LOLed at the bolded part.

I realise you can't exactly 'get rid' of cheersquads, however they contribute very little to the atmosphere of a game aside from making banners, waving stupid pom-poms, and chanting generic rubbish. They have become embarrassing to watch at the footy (just look at some of the fatties and nuff-nuffs in them).

Don't see any OHS problems with kick-to-kick (it still occurs at Kardinia Park, the Gabba, and certain other grounds), and the cleaners can pick up the TP and confetti. It's their job.

Bit different to having 60,000 people on the ground at once.
Seriously your posts get more and more stupid every time. Why dont you stick to the Bay?

I did mention in my post that kick-to-kick should be confined to crowds of 80,000 and less.

Another thing which could generate more atmosphere is additional standing room, however I couldn't see it occurring.

I always take my own dunny roll to certain grounds.

There used to be a 15/16 yo kid at every ground that walked the boundary line in the last qtr picking up all the dunny rolls and cut-up paper.

I sometimes sneak cans of beer, even entire slabs, into Skilled Stadium. All you need is a mate that is 6ft or more over the other side of the fence (preferably taller), no security tossers watching, pass it over to him, and enjoy. :thumbsu:

They should have kick to kick at the NSW and QLD games especially.

Aren't we trying to get these folks into the sport?

Make the experience as good as possible.

Just my opinion, don't expect a lot of you to agree (each to their own):

I am a huge fan of both Aussie Rules and the round ball game, as most of you BF regulars would know. My personal preference is Aussie Rules, but I enjoy watching a lot of sports. I'm a member of both Brisbane Lions and Brisbane Roar and go to every home game, so I am most definitely qualified to give a genuine opinion. But this thread is about atmosphere, not which sport is better.

When I was younger, I went to the occasional Lions, Roar and Broncos game. I always convinced myself that I would become a Lions member when I possibly could and considered becoming a Broncos member as well, but the thought of ever becoming a Roar member never really crossed my mind. That was until I got tickets near The Den, the atmosphere blew me away, the constant singing and support, the way it should be. I felt like a genuine part of it. It got me hooked. I knew from that moment that I would also become a Roar member when I could. At an AFL game the atmosphere is usually pretty bland. The "Lions, Lions" chants are pretty lame and most of the cheering is after a goal or mark. Apart from that the match is usually fairly quiet, unless if the game is close (the only time the atmosphere at an AFL game is good IMO). I'm being honest when I say that one section of an A-League game (that being the Den for Roar games) usually makes more noise than about 20,000 people at an AFL game (unless if the game is close in the third or last quarter). If the Brisbane Lions formed their own version of The Den, with actual good chants and active support (not like the Cheer Squad with their lame "Lions, Lions" chants), not only would I be stoked, I'd join in a heartbeat. The main reason why I signed up for a Lions membership is to support my team and watch the game live. The main reason why I joined up for a Roar membership is mostly for the atmosphere and being an active supporter, but also to watch the game.

Just my opinion, don't expect a lot of you to agree (each to their own):

I am a huge fan of both Aussie Rules and the round ball game, as most of you BF regulars would know. My personal preference is Aussie Rules, but I enjoy watching a lot of sports. I'm a member of both Brisbane Lions and Brisbane Roar and go to every home game, so I am most definitely qualified to give a genuine opinion. But this thread is about atmosphere, not which sport is better.

When I was younger, I went to the occasional Lions, Roar and Broncos game. I always convinced myself that I would become a Lions member when I possibly could and considered becoming a Broncos member as well, but the thought of ever becoming a Roar member never really crossed my mind. That was until I got tickets near The Den, the atmosphere blew me away, the constant singing and support, the way it should be. I felt like a genuine part of it. It got me hooked. I knew from that moment that I would also become a Roar member when I could. At an AFL game the atmosphere is usually pretty bland. The "Lions, Lions" chants are pretty lame and most of the cheering is after a goal or mark. Apart from that the match is usually fairly quiet, unless if the game is close (the only time the atmosphere at an AFL game is good IMO). I'm being honest when I say that one section of an A-League game (that being the Den for Roar games) usually makes more noise than about 20,000 people at an AFL game (unless if the game is close in the third or last quarter). If the Brisbane Lions formed their own version of The Den, with actual good chants and active support (not like the Cheer Squad with their lame "Lions, Lions" chants), not only would I be stoked, I'd join in a heartbeat. The main reason why I signed up for a Lions membership is to support my team and watch the game live. The main reason why I joined up for a Roar membership is mostly for the atmosphere and being an active supporter, but also to watch the game.

So at ALeague, do you like the game or the singing?
Would you be better of joining a barber shop quartet or coral choir?

So at ALeague, do you like the game or the singing?
Both
Would you be better of joining a barber shop quartet or coral choir?
Why? I like being an active supporter, instead of the same old "Lions, Lions" chants which are very lame.

Both

Why? I like being an active supporter, instead of the same old "Lions, Lions" chants which are very lame.

Yes, fair enough. But the problem in soccer comes from the two supporter sets doing the chant/sing song thing at each other. Then it gets more serious with taunts & then the violence starts. I know It is not as bad now as it use to be but it took a lot of cameras, police & police dogs to stop the worst of it.
Begs the question, why are the authorities so reluctant to make the game more enjoyable with more goals. The game is antiscoring. Linesmen will do anything to call offside. Not giving any benefit of the doubt as they are supposed to. Even goal line camera technology is resisted.
The game is caught in a time warp.
So enjoy your sing song. I prefer to be entertained by the players & the game itself.

Yes, fair enough. But the problem in soccer comes from the two supporter sets doing the chant/sing song thing at each other. Then it gets more serious with taunts & then the violence starts. I know It is not as bad now as it use to be but it took a lot of cameras, police & police dogs to stop the worst of it.
I go to a lot of football (soccer) games and have never have trouble with crowd violence. I repeat never had trouble with crowd violence. Honestly, from my experience I've seen more violence at/after an AFL game than an A-League fixture. You really shouldn't believe all the media beat-ups. Yes there are the occasional abusive chants, but they are taken by opposition fans as what they should be, pure banter.

Begs the question, why are the authorities so reluctant to make the game more enjoyable with more goals. The game is antiscoring. Linesmen will do anything to call offside. Not giving any benefit of the doubt as they are supposed to. Even goal line camera technology is resisted.
The game is caught in a time warp.
To me scoring isn't everything. Sydney v West Coast in 2005 was an entertaining Grand Final and that was low scoring. I enjoy both Aussie Rules and the round ball game because they are both highly skillful games where players are always fighting for the ball and there's always something happening. Also they are going to bring goal-line technology in the round ball game soon.

So enjoy your sing song. I prefer to be entertained by the players & the game itself.
I prefer a mix of all three, but each to their own.

Although having said all this, I remember going to a Lions v Port match and a QLD Reds v Blues Super 15 final on the same weekend and the 44,000 at the Reds final made less noise than the 17,000 at the Lions v Port match the following day.

Atmosphere in Australian sport:
A-League > daylight > AFL > NRL & International Cricket > Super 15

International cricket atmosphere in Australia is only good when the Barmy and Swami Army's are here.

Even with 90k at the 'G on Boxing Day the atmosphere would be pretty subdued. Tells you a bit about our sports supporting culture.

International cricket atmosphere in Australia is only good when the Barmy and Swami Army's are here.

Even with 90k at the 'G on Boxing Day the atmosphere would be pretty subdued. Tells you a bit about our sports supporting culture.
IMO it says it all when a third-rate competition (A-League) has much better atmosphere than the top rate AFL, NRL and international cricket.

In your opinion.
I enjoy watching the WAFL.
Part of the attraction is no hype and no fuss - just watch the football and that is what I enjoy.
IMO Australian Football is very entertaining in itself. I'd prefer it they didn't have that "defense" chant at basketball and I cringe with that organ music at ice hockey.

Chanting/Singing and noise does not simply equate to atmosphere. There is different atmospheres and they are experienced differently by different people. Personally the most amazing 'atmosphere' I have experienced is 90 000 people all standing in complete silence on ANZAC day.And I will take the natural rise and fall of the waves of crowd noise at a Collingwood - Carlton match any day over the manufactured sound of a bunch of blokes singing crappy songs and chanting crappy chants.
And I am happy I live in a country where the sports supporting culture is 'subdued' enough that rival fans can intermingle freely and enjoy (or despair) the game equally as opposed to Europe's culture of segregated 'atmosphere'.

A
That's you opinion of atmosphere, for me the atmosphere means jack sh** if it's not created from the excitement of the sport it self.

Atmoshpere's atmosphere. You could almost consider chants a part of soccer now, as well as music playing at basketball games and the yelling of "ball" at a footy match. These things make up the atmosphere of a sport along with what happens on the field, whether you like it or not. It's the people in the crowd that make up the atmosphere of a sporting event.

Going a bit abstract here but you could almost draw parallels between sporting events and nightclubs in terms of atmosphere. Billboards nightclub in Melbourne is one of the better music venues going around musically speaking (AFAIK anyway), yet, it's commonly perceived to be a shit nightclub due to the people that go there. Persa Fridays on the other hand is a guilty pleasure for most people despite being horribly cramped. Most people in there don't take themselves seriously and just have fun. Just an example of how people can change the atmosphere of an event, regardless of the actual event it self. Note: I'm not making any comparisons between said nights out in Melbourne and any sports, it's just an example.

Not even to mention the silliness of using the Gabba crowd as the only basis to make sweeping generalisations about "AFL"
Yes, because I can fly to the MCG to watch Carlton v Collingwood :rolleyes:

In all seriousness I've also been to a few Suns games at Carrara not involving us and I find the atmosphere to be very dull unless if the game is close.

Chanting/Singing and noise does not simply equate to atmosphere. There is different atmospheres and they are experienced differently by different people. Personally the most amazing 'atmosphere' I have experienced is 90 000 people all standing in complete silence on ANZAC day.And I will take the natural rise and fall of the waves of crowd noise at a Collingwood - Carlton match any day over the manufactured sound of a bunch of blokes singing crappy songs and chanting crappy chants.
And I am happy I live in a country where the sports supporting culture is 'subdued' enough that rival fans can intermingle freely and enjoy (or despair) the game equally as opposed to Europe's culture of segregated 'atmosphere'.
How the hell is the atmosphere "manufactured"? It's songs that the fans come up with, hardly manufactured at all!

Songs that comes from the stadium speakers is manafactured. Songs sung and written by the fans is not manafactured at all. If songs written and sung by fans is "manufactured", then teams like Melbourne, Geelong, Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon and Richmond are more manafactured than Gold Coast, Adelaide, GWS etc.

Yes, because I can fly to the MCG to watch Carlton v Collingwood :rolleyes:

In all seriousness I've also been to a few Suns games at Carrara not involving us and I find the atmosphere to be very dull unless if the game is close.

Ignoring the even sillier example of the games of a second year team in a league state, I never said you had to fly to the MCG, I said that using your incredibly narrow experience of watching AFL in one of it's most marginal markets as a basis to make sweeping generalisations about the viewing experience of AFL as a whole was dumb. And it is.

How the hell is the atmosphere "manufactured"?

man·u·fac·ture (m
abreve.gif
n
lprime.gif
y
schwa.gif
-f
abreve.gif
k
prime.gif
ch
schwa.gif
r)
v. man·u·fac·tured, man·u·fac·tur·ing, man·u·fac·tures
v.tr.
2. To create, produce, or turn out in a mechanical manner.

Ignoring the even sillier example of the games of a second year team in a league state, I never said you had to fly to the MCG, I said that using your incredibly narrow experience of watching AFL in one of it's most marginal markets as a basis to make sweeping generalisations about the viewing experience of AFL as a whole was dumb. And it is.
I'm in Queensland. I can only go to Lions and Suns games, as I can't really afford or have time (as a uni student) to go to interstate Lions games. I enjoy watching the game itself, but I don't enjoy the atmosphere unless if the game is close.
(m
abreve.gif
n
lprime.gif
y
schwa.gif
-f
abreve.gif
k
prime.gif
ch
schwa.gif
r)
v. man·u·fac·tured, man·u·fac·tur·ing, man·u·fac·tures
v.tr.
2. To create, produce, or turn out in a mechanical manner.
Guess Collingwood are a manufactured club then. Your logic, not mine.

I'm in Queensland. I can only go to Lions and Suns games, as I can't really afford or have time (as a uni student) to go to interstate Lions games. I enjoy watching the game itself, but I don't enjoy the atmosphere unless if the game is close.

And you can say quite rightly say that you find the atmosphere at Gabba games dull and enjoy the atmosphere at Brisbane Roar. What you can't do is extrapolate from this that A League atmosphere as a whole is better than AFL as a whole. It's like saying I go to Reading games and the crowd is boring so therefore the EPL has no atmosphere.

As for your little attempt at a Collingwood dig. Pretty lame. Now if you'd had a go at the stupid Coooollingwoood soccer style chant you might have made a better pot shot.

footy atmosphere