Footy Buskers

Oh! Yeh

one of these day's the footy public will all band together and show the people that stand over the footy follower what we can do

people power can do anything , one day maybe , just maybe , no one will turn up at the footy , a show of strength , that's what we need a show of strength .

If i had share's in the stadium , i would be a worried shareholder , you cannnot treat the hand that feeds you that way , one day starvation will come back and bite you on the Butt .

Cheers

we all go but not go inside just stand outside singing club songs

Long live the footy buskers!

Enforcement's a joke, does anyone even get their bag checked any more? Easy enough just to slip around the check

when they do check your bag most just have a sneek peak and let you in. your not supposed to have an open bottle. they dont even check that, which makes it so easy to smuggle in alcohol.

You could have a couple of hand grenades and a bottle of bourbon and most would be none the wiser.

Just as long as it's not Subway....

Btw.. on another rant.. Has anyone had one of the Dominos pizzas from the Dome? Had one last week... absolutely tiny! When something's a rip-off compared with a $10 burger, you know it must really be a rip-off!!

Oh! Yeh

one of these day's the footy public will all band together and show the people that stand over the footy follower what we can do

people power can do anything , one day maybe , just maybe , no one will turn up at the footy , a show of strength , that's what we need a show of strength .

If i had share's in the stadium , i would be a worried shareholder , you cannnot treat the hand that feeds you that way , one day starvation will come back and bite you on the Butt .

Cheers

Will never happen.

Unfortunately we Aussies are to lazy and disinterested to get together and protest something like this:(

Will never happen.

Unfortunately we Aussies are to lazy and disinterested to get together and protest something like this:(

That's the trouble , and the powers that be know that . ,

Some people forget , Jeff Kennent was ousted from parliment by people power .

There are way too many people on that footbridge before the game - people collecting for charity, footy record sellers, membership tents, newspaper boys, buskers. Get rid of them all and make it easier to actually get to the gate!

Is that you Collo?

That's the trouble, and the powers that be know that.

Yep, and this heavy-handed attitude to music even OUTSIDE the stadium is just part of it.

This 'fun police' crap at stadiums seems like it started to get really bad about 5 years ago and has steadily become worse. Ridiculous, repressive and unjustified Orwellian garbage, from people who seemingly want to make sporting events as dull, lifeless and insipid as they can. (Remember THAT Ashes Test at the Gabba?)

But there are plenty of other places where people don't have to put up with this jackbooted nonsense from jumped-up stadium employees on ego trips, and some clubs, even in Australia, whose supporters don't have to put up with it.

And the reason is that in each case, those supporters REFUSED to accept it, and were united in making sure that the administration saw it the right way.

It can be done in the AFL too.

That's right it can be done ,

I,m not sure it is the AFL that are the problem , It's the people that run these stadiums .

Wouldn't it be GREAT if the footy fan could turn up at Docklands and just not enter ,

Tht's what the Kangas should do , next time they reckon they are going to get around 10,000 fans there .

just stand outside and protest .

You pay your membership to go to the footy so you don't have to pay at the gate , even if it means sitting in the third tier , ( best view anyway )

Then Docklands , wants to change the seating arrangments to try and get you to pay for an upgrade , that's crap .

if the kangas have 30,000 paid up members then you would think that the 30,000 would not have to pay at the gate , so docklands gets no money at the gate , obviously the money collected by the club in membership fees has to be paid to docklands any way .

there is something funny about all this talk that the kangas have to pay 100,000 , they have to pay it even if 20,000 paid up members enter anyway .

get the members in to watch the game , and make sure you take your own food . Give docklands nothin , zip , jack , zero .

Hi all, I am one of the Footy Buskers, Dave, the tall Sax playing busker.
We have a permit and have been playing at the footy as you probably all know for several years now without incident! As we have a permit we are subject to Melbourne City Council orders.
Collins and Etihad have jumped on that and are pressuring the Melbourne City Council and the Police to remove us as they cant cos its not their property!
Please check out the article in Sundays herald-sun pg 10 for more info.

Basically Etihad is saying that we cause a public safety risk and are telling the council that we have to be moved in the interests of public safety, yet in the seventh year of our playing on the bridge we have never harmed anyone (save the odd Essendon fans ego cos they are all so tight!!!) and it is interesting to note that Melbourne City Council has received complaints (which they must act on, there's a bit of inside info, complain to the council about Etihad and they MUST act!) from Etihad Management but not ONE from a member of the public concerning us!!
No-one has ever been injured, we have never been sued for personal injury, and from what we read and hear from the general public no-one (except essendon fans) has a problem with us being there, in fact most people say that we add to the football experience!

Please, check out savethebuskers.com and send a message to the council and tell them to leave us alone! We just want to play and put a smile on peoples faces (except essendon fans) and we are being bullied, harrased, victimised and in all other ways hassled and singled out by Etihad management!
The classical gas guitarist, Robert, the bagpipe girl, Lauren, the other two kids on the other side occasionaly, the record sellers, the merchandise tents, the raffle ticket sellers, the salvo's, the other tin-rattlers, the Nando's chicken, the sportsbet girls, the numerous other goings on that cause as much if not more of a disturbance than us DO NOT and HAVE NOT been hassled or approached AT ALL!!

We have had problems before but, like Andrew Symonds, this may be the last straw unless we can get the fans, you, on our side in a show of strength and support for the little guy, us!

We don't want your money, instead smile and sing your song as you go past and send a message to the council or Etihad telling them to leave us alone as we do not pose a problem! We just wanna play, entertain and help people have a great enjoyable experience at the Footy! This can only continue with your help!!

Etihad is trying its hardest to get rid of us!! We are fully expecting to be fined $1500 each and/or arrested on Friday night after the game and we say BRING IT ON!!!

Please, visit savethebuskers.com and keep your team song playing (except essendon, you can all go jump!)!

See you at the Footy for a long time yet hopefully!
Dave.

We have a permit and have been playing at the footy as you probably all know for several years now without incident! As we have a permit we are subject to Melbourne City Council orders.
Collins and Etihad have jumped on that and are pressuring the Melbourne City Council and the Police to remove us as they cant cos its not their property!

Basically Etihad is saying that we cause a public safety risk and are telling the council that we have to be moved in the interests of public safety, yet in the seventh year of our playing on the bridge we have never harmed anyone (save the odd Essendon fans ego cos they are all so tight!!!) and it is interesting to note that Melbourne City Council has received complaints (which they must act on, there's a bit of inside info, complain to the council about Etihad and they MUST act!) from Etihad Management but not ONE from a member of the public concerning us!!
No-one has ever been injured, we have never been sued for personal injury, and from what we read and hear from the general public no-one (except essendon fans) has a problem with us being there, in fact most people say that we add to the football experience!

Please, check out savethebuskers.com and send a message to the council and tell them to leave us alone! We just want to play and put a smile on peoples faces (except essendon fans) and we are being bullied, harrased, victimised and in all other ways hassled and singled out by Etihad management!
The classical gas guitarist, Robert, the bagpipe girl, Lauren, the other two kids on the other side occasionaly, the record sellers, the merchandise tents, the raffle ticket sellers, the salvo's, the other tin-rattlers, the Nando's chicken, the sportsbet girls, the numerous other goings on that cause as much if not more of a disturbance than us DO NOT and HAVE NOT been hassled or approached AT ALL!!

We have had problems before but, like Andrew Symonds, this may be the last straw unless we can get the fans, you, on our side in a show of strength and support for the little guy, us!

We don't want your money, instead smile and sing your song as you go past and send a message to the council or Etihad telling them to leave us alone as we do not pose a problem! We just wanna play, entertain and help people have a great enjoyable experience at the Footy! This can only continue with your help!!

Etihad is trying its hardest to get rid of us!! We are fully expecting to be fined $1500 each and/or arrested on Friday night after the game and we say BRING IT ON!!!

Please, visit savethebuskers.com and keep your team song playing (except essendon, you can all go jump!)!

Dave.

You've got my support :thumbsu:

I don't get how they can have you arrested if you have the permits. I love all that stuff above - just makes the whole atmosphere!

I don't understand Etihad's stand - it can't be a public safety concern, that's just ridiculous.

I will visit your website.

Dave.

Will do - love your work guys. :thumbsu:

rage against the machine!

another case of the corporate empire treading on the the aussie battler. geez that pisses me off!:mad:

The hand grenades are fine, but no glass bottles allowed

Funnily enopugh I had a mate who took a brick into the GABBA. The security checked his bag, asked him what it was so he told him it was a brick.

Security just let him through:eek:

Yeah it's a bit of a joke.
But I am ok with them banning that busking woman that does the Hawthorn club song on the bagpipes.
I love my club song, but that is completely unenjoyable.

Yeah I got suckered into giving that woman some money over the last couple of weeks as she was sporting North colours (a flag hanging out of the pipes) when we played non Vic teams. But this week when we were against StKilda she revealed her true colours... literally. Not only was the North flag replaced by a Saints version, she was also wearing a StKilda jumper. I feel like a middle aged bloke supporting a young mistress financially, who suddenly realises she's actually a prostitute. :eek:

Oh well, good luck to her I suppose.

Footy Buskers