'Footy, not soccer' - kids urged

The only reason soccer has gained a foothold in this country is because of the yuppie movement! Soccer is a reflection of society in Australia, its just become soft! Call me a bogan or whatever, but tell me that Australia wasnt a better place 20 years ago.

Yuppies have nothing to do with it. Soccer is becoming popular because of globalisation; Australia is being exposed to the rest of the world, and in the rest of the world, soccer is the most popular sport. People can turn on TV and see the Premier League or the UEFA Champions League. Garry Lyon even admits that soccer is the biggest force in the sporting world.

And how long before Australians take notice and a real interest? How long have SBS been broadcating soccer from all over the world? Are the majority of Austraians interested. Me thinks not judging by the TV ratings.

Yuppies have nothing to do with it. Soccer is becoming popular because of globalisation; Australia is being exposed to the rest of the world, and in the rest of the world, soccer is the most popular sport. People can turn on TV and see the Premier League or the UEFA Champions League. Garry Lyon even admits that soccer is the biggest force in the sporting world.[/quote]

so?

soccer has always been played in australia..always had big junior numbers
and where does aleague stand in australian sport lanscape

behind afl, league, union, cricket

Australia is not the rest of the word and we used to have a strong culture for such a young country but that sadly seems to be deminishing these days. If soccer is such a great world sport why didnt make massive inroads in the Australian sporting landscape until recently?

And if you think the A League is going to be the vechile that takes soccer to the top of the tree you are kidding yourself. Its a pale imitation of the european game and you need a pom to be the face of its promotion (Simon that bollocks with the massive chip on his shoulder from fox) on the box.

And how long before Australians take notice and a real interest? How long have SBS been broadcating soccer from all over the world? Are the majority of Austraians interested. Me thinks not judging by the TV ratings.

It's on at 4AM in the morning, of course the ratings aren't that great.

so?

soccer has always been played in australia..always had big junior numbers
and where does aleague stand in australian sport lanscape

behind afl, league, union, cricket

Really? Behind union? I don't think so.

If soccer is such a great world sport why didnt make massive inroads in the Australian sporting landscape until recently?

It did. Anglo Australia just didn't notice.

And if you think the A League is going to be the vechile that takes soccer to the top of the tree you are kidding yourself. Its a pale imitation of the european game and you need a pom to be the face of its promotion (Simon that bollocks with the massive chip on his shoulder from fox) on the box.

The A-League has huge amount of potential. I expect it to soon be up there with the J.League, at the top of Asia.

It did. Anglo Australia just didn't notice.
Thats 90% population champ!

The A-League has huge amount of potential. I expect it to soon be up there with the J.League, at the top of Asia.
J League? When do we get coverage of that? It doesnt even get a run in the soccer results!

When ya cant go with a supporter of the oppostion for a few pots, a counter meal, a shit stir and sit together at the game without being a abused or bashed its a joke of a senario!

AUSTRALIAN rules unites all, SOCCER cant say the same:thumbsu:

Bullshit. People in the north couldn't give two ****s about this pissant little league. The Socceroos unite Australian, the AFL just confuses them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMYP39gNySA

Let's see the AFL top that. It doesn't even unite this one country. What other countries does it unify? Yeah, I remember how AFL resolved the Israeli-Palestinian crisis and knocked down the Berlin Wall.

Bullshit. People in the north couldn't give two ****s about this pissant little league. The Socceroos unite Australian, the AFL just confuses them.
Are you talking about fairweather Sydney w***ers or everyday Australians? Grand Final day is a national pastime! I reckon you were one of those heroes ripping up their memberships when it got a bit tough at brown paper bag oval or those hard men threatening dasher milburn when h put sos into lala land, Fun times!

I know your coming:eek:

Are you talking about fairweather Sydney w***ers or everyday Australians? Grand Final day is a national pastime! I reckon you were one of those heroes ripping up their memberships when it got a bit tough at brown paper bag oval or those hard men threatening dasher milburn when h put sos into lala land, Fun times!

I know your coming:eek:

Ahh, the old "If they don't follow AFL, they're not Australian" shtick. Way to go.

Where did I state that? You claim to be a Carlton supporter by you call the AFL a piss ant league? I think your the one with unaustralian attitude:(

I doubt he knows the first thing about Carlton Davo. He's just another soccer troll.

I love AFL, watch a bit of soccer. Soccer is the no.1 sport for kids, that is fact. Eventually when the A-League grows and alot more kids reach good-very good status, they wont change to footy, they will take up soccer for life.

AFL fans are paranoid as ****. No one gives a shit about footy in QLD and NSW let alone the world. Calling soccer boring? go watch the Australia V Japan game, or any game. Not even Grand Final day comes close to what happenned in the World Cup. I had mates who really dont like soccer embrace it with so much passion. A couple even got arrested because they hated the result.

Australia V Serbia, 5am or so in the morning. Pitch black. Hundreds and hundreds of people at Fed Square, all UNITED.

Like I said, I love AFL, brought up on it (Along with Basketball, Soccer and Cricket).

But AFL fans here are making themselves look like dicks. Rutherford? keep battling, you have posted intelligently and calmly and all you get is "HAHA soccer? thats sooo soft!11isupportthewhiteaustraliapolicylolol"

To end this, if you think AFL fans have passion, take a holiday to South America or visit Celtic V Rangers game. AFL has no passion compared to soccer.

With Soccer not featuring commercial breaks during the 45 min halves, how much will that affect the FTA networks decision in taking on the A-league?

Beside the point I don't think a network would risk airing a semi-professional Domestic league on prime time. The criticism of the A-league would be only only magnified on FTA IMO.

All the Soccer nuts say we shouldn't compare it to the big European leagues and accept it for what it is. I'm sorry but anyone who has seen an A-league game would know it's like pulling teeth, it's agonising. Past
A-league superstars like Carle, Burns and Carney are merely 2nd teir Eueropean players. If the there is no talent or overall quality to put bums on seats and converting the average Joe then where is this so called potential for the so called "Sleeping Giant" going to come from?

The one major that plays in the AFL's hands over other codes is having a competition that consist of the best of the absoloute best talent. NRL is facing the same up hill battle of talent drain that Soccer deals with only soccer here gets r*ped 10 X over more than Rugby does for obvious reasons. Over time it will only wear on fans of sport in this country who demand more.

Talk about soccer being no. 1 is rediculous IMO and it stems from the media down to the fans. How can the 15th best Soccer league in the world possibly be the best professional Sporting code/league in one of the best sporting nations in the world? That would be a tragedy for our country the day that happened. But thankfully it won't.........

We deserve better in Australia. Even some Soccer hardcore fans would agree with me.

In closing, i think we are going through the same phase that the U.S.A went through in the 90's. America hasn't embraced soccer and never will. Why should they! They have a pathetic league built around mickey mouse 'franchises' with recycled hacks from god knows where. If anything we have it way worse. Nothing can possibly change that from where I sit. As boring as it is now i don't know how they can con people into believing it will get bigger and better. Good luck to the A-league and FFA, you'll need it, in 10 to 20 years time I doubt we will be having the same conversation because it will have all blown over. Participation will always do well, Socceroos will go from strength to strength but a domestic comp is as PIM say's- a joke.

AFL has no passion compared to soccer.

Yet the AFL with Australia's 20 odd million population has the 4th largest average crowds for all sports in the world. Go figure ay. Where are all those soccer loving nations of the world in the passion stakes when it comes to actually attending games? Actually, closer to home, how do the A-League's average crowds stack up against the AFL?

Yet the AFL with Australia's 20 odd million population has the 4th largest average crowds for all sports in the world. Go figure ay. Where are all those soccer loving nations of the world in the passion stakes when it comes to actually attending games?

It's very easy to have high average attendances when your entire league has sixteen teams.

Actually, closer to home, how do the A-League's average crowds stack up against the AFL?

For a competition in it's fourth year? Not bad. A couple of clubs get higher attendances than NRL clubs.

Talk about soccer being no. 1 is rediculous IMO and it stems from the media down to the fans. How can the 15th best Soccer league in the world possibly be the best professional Sporting code/league in one of the best sporting nations in the world?

How? The same way it happened in almost every other country on Earth.

We deserve better in Australia. Even some Soccer hardcore fans would agree with me.

Ahh, my other favourite argument; "If we ain't the best, it's not worth playing!".

For a competition in it's fourth year? Not bad. A couple of clubs get higher attendances than NRL clubs.

Yet every A-league club bar one went backwards in attendances in season 4 with excuses ranging from weather to the Credit crunch as Simon Hill so puts it. They failed to mention the standard of the competition every week as a possible reason.:rolleyes:

Simon Hill spends more time baiting other codes then he does commentating the game. Pommy w***er.........

'Footy, not soccer' - kids urged