sheller891

Aug 13, 2004
Melb
Cavs, Pens
boys/other gender...were heading to adelaide this year for footy trip, group of about 25..

staying in north terrace.

was wondering what some good pubs/footy pubs were for the friday night prelim?

also - what should we do on a saturday. we were thinking lawn bowls but alot of the places are booked for pennant.

sunday is sunset bar & grand at this stage.

anyone with any info/ideas for adelaide footy trips (including places to go, night & day, etc)... would be much appreciated...best info will get free nudes of any member of my family.

also this could be a thread for all footy trip related questions...

cheers

Go to the races on the Saturday. I'd imagine there will be races at Morphetville. Some nice pubs around Morphetville as well which is only around the corner from Glenelg and only 10 minutes to the CBD.

I'd say the casino on Friday night for the prelim would be a good idea. Not only is it a great place to watch the footy, but it's also on North Terrace and seeing as that's where you're staying, your hotel is probably only a stones throw away. Another close bar to North Terrace is the Rosemont hotel, which is actually a sports bar - that always goes off around September. Only a 5 minute walk from North Terrace as well, probably less.

Go to the races on the Saturday. I'd imagine there will be races at Morphetville. Some nice pubs around Morphetville as well which is only around the corner from Glenelg and only 10 minutes to the CBD.

I'd say the casino on Friday night for the prelim would be a good idea. Not only is it a great place to watch the footy, but it's also on North Terrace and seeing as that's where you're staying, your hotel is probably only a stones throw away. Another close bar to North Terrace is the Rosemont hotel, which is actually a sports bar - that always goes off around September. Only a 5 minute walk from North Terrace as well, probably less.

mate. great post.

really helped. the guy im organising it with thought there was no races on so weve been trying to find something to do on a saturday - now its back on. fantastic. morphetville here we come. and rosemont probably locked in for friday night.

hq and the highway saturday i think. the grand on sunday (2 at a time)

went to sydney last year, only 10 of us. was amazing fun but very hard to get in places. great vibe though.

debuting this year. up to cairns. staying at gilligans.

should be a ripper.
cairns is off the wall. and cheap too.

make sure you check this place out: http://www.blueskybrewery.com.au/home/index.html

when i was up there they were doing $6 jugs every day from 5 to 7. and they were doing $6 jugs all day sunday.

and the beer is superb - the best i've had at a micro brewery

Went on a trip there about 5 years ago. We headed down to Glenelg on the Saturday and went to a place called 'The Grand'? Was like a pub during the day and a bar/club at night. Had an awesome time. Don't know if it is still around though.
uni games 2006??

was there myself at the grand. was a ****ing huge place. that was one of the coldest days of my life. me and a mate paid a taxi driver $50 to stay parked so we could drink in the beack seat rather than get out and drink on the beach.

Went on a trip there about 5 years ago. We headed down to Glenelg on the Saturday and went to a place called 'The Grand'? Was like a pub during the day and a bar/club at night. Had an awesome time. Don't know if it is still around though.

That'd be the Stamford Grand hotel. It's still around, in a big way. When I have a big sunday night, it's invariably at the Grand.

We're heading to Mildura for our footy trip this year.

The Rosemont is such a hole though, but good for sports I guess... Most of the better pubs are in North Adelaide tbh... Which isn't all that far from North Terrace, about a 10-15 minute walk. If you are going down Glenelg way, The Holdfast is another good location, or even The Broady. HQ is dirty as, recommend staying away if you can. I'd be hitting Apple (Rundle Street) as a much better alternative.

Oh and the GGGGrand always goes off Sunday nights, as others have said. If you are looking for easy pickups, that is your spot (even I can pick up there...). There is also the Jetty Bar and Dublin around Mosley Square, which are good spots too. Jetty Bar is usually good to hit before the Grand.

Im currently managing a hotel, just up the road from the casino and expecting no less than 18 football clubs (and as many as 25) from across the country over 6 weekends from the 9th September. I think Ill shoot myself now.

As we tell all the clubs on arrival:

Rule 1: Good stripjoints can be judged by the cover charge. Stay out of strats
Rule 2: nothing good can come of a night on hindley street. Stay clear of the Rosemont, Berkley and Red Square.
Rule 3: the Strathmont is a great pub to eat and drink at, and its right on north tce opposite the casino. Otherwise its Rundle St or North Adelaide for the quality pubs.
Rule 4: whatever you do, ignore the local aborigines. they can and do hunt in packs when pissed off.

Im currently managing a hotel, just up the road from the casino and expecting no less than 18 football clubs (and as many as 25) from across the country over 6 weekends from the 9th September. I think Ill shoot myself now.

As we tell all the clubs on arrival:

Rule 1: Good stripjoints can be judged by the cover charge. Stay out of strats And checkmates on Pirie street. Both dirty. Palace or Crazy Horse are the go if you wanna see some ****.

Rule 2: nothing good can come of a night on hindley street. Stay clear of the Rosemont, Berkley and Red Square. This x100, especially Red Square.

Rule 3: the Strathmont is a great pub to eat and drink at, and its right on north tce opposite the casino. Otherwise its Rundle St or North Adelaide for the quality pubs. I recommend the elephant, just off Rundle street.

Rule 4: whatever you do, ignore the local aborigines. they can and do hunt in packs when pissed off. Also avoid any lebanese blokes hanging around rundle mall or north terrace late at night. They love a fight

I've added my comments in bold.

thanks Gus + The Wookie. great help.

so where would you reccommend for the Friday Night prelim final?

Casino is probably the go.

I'm not sure if somewhere like the Alma (on Magill road. About a $10 taxi ride from Nth Terrace) has something on for it or not. The Alma is run by Mark Riccutio so I guess there would be something on, and it has a great outdoor area to watch footy at. It's where I usually go for big footy matches.

gus, jo, wookie. thanks a lot boys.

we also have highway locked in from 7-12 on sat night. strathmont, casino, elephant, alma all on the list.

now final question - for friday night venue after the footy, where to go?

The Heaven/Apple/HQ/Stag/Sugar have all been floated as possible ideas?

heard theres a bit of young crowd at HQ not that theres anything wrong with that.
and according to the blokes on here - stay away from apple.

Apple used to be Church right? Was only known for 90c champagnes, you can guess my estimation of the quality from that.

Stag's alright. Only been to Sugar once (more of a pub man myself) but was decent.

The only club I've ever frequented on a Friday is Swish (which is at the Stamford Plaza on North Terrace)...depending on your age might be a good nostalgia trip because it plays 90s music all night on Fridays. I saw Nathan van Berlo there a few weeks ago. :p 25 of you might struggle to enter though, it's not very big.

Society & Culture Footy Trip Thread