Forget top 4, we wont' make the top 8!

I said this in another thread I'm still skeptical about whether the Lions will make the finals this year. Today they really did just shit me I don't believe Port were that good I think we were just pathetic. So in other words it wasnt the fact that Port were great today it was more the fact that we were horrible.

I think we can make the make the finals but it wont an easy task though here are their remaining games for 2009.

Round 15 Geelong Gabba - A slim to none chance
Round 16 Fremantle Subiaco - should win this game although Freo are a different side at home
Round 17 Nth Melbourne Gabba - Should win this one
Round 18 Collingwood MCG - Will be a tough game I would love to see them win it but currently the Maggies are in good form
Round 19 Essendon MCG - Should win this one although they haven't beat them in melb for a while
Round 20 Western Bulldogs Gabba - Another tough one for brisbane could get up but will be a big ask
Round 21 Port Adelaide Gabba - Should win this one
Round 22 Sydney SCG- Should win this one

So out of their last 8 games there 5 there that they should win IMO the lions will need probably 3 more games to wrap up a spot in the Top8 which is still possible but its entirely up to them.

The Lions are there own worst enemy in alot of ways today's loss is the 3rd loss they have had that they should have won the other 2 losses are against Carlton where they lost in both occasions, and in those games they were pathetic and no where near as good as they were in other games.

Their Finals campaign is in their hands

I think they are capable of making the finals whether they do or not is another thing sorry but this season is starting to remind me of last year I wont get my hopes up. If Brisbane win those 3 or 4 games they need then Ill be happy until then...

Anyone here agree that Risca misses too many gettable goals ?

We shouldn't have dropped Roe and should have played Merrett in the ruck again like last week at least Clark would have had support.

By the way i wanted to murder RODANT and CARR haunts us just like in the 2004 gf.:mad:

The game today clearly showed we can be very ordinary. Much like the last time we lost by a big margin i think we can bounce back.

I am very interested in seeing how Voss reacts to this loss.

Having the umpires buckling to the crowd didn't help. I don't speak of ALL of them, but the majority were absolute ferals - would hate to see them when they're losing.

Had to stop Rodan, and Merrett clearly needs some more games- his decision making/disposal was very poor, costing us a number of goals.

On the back of some terrible kicking on goal, and very questionable umpire, we stayed in for three quarters. While we didn't look good, we weren't THAT bad. I wouldn't go so far as to start a thread creating negatives out of nothing.

Give it two weeks.

Yeah...spoon in 98 flag three years later - one game is just a passing glance at the big picture.

How right you are.

I remember going to the old Optus Oval in 2001 (Round 8), suffering the humility of seeing us get absolutely towelled by Carton and thinking I'd be lucky to see the club play in a GF in my lifetime.

17 weeks later we were Premiers.

Things can change quickly in Footy

How right you are.

I remember going to the old Optus Oval in 2001 (Round 8), suffering the humility of seeing us get absolutely towelled by Carton and thinking I'd be lucky to see the club play in a GF in my lifetime.

17 weeks later we were Premiers.

Things can change quickly in Footy

Fair enough but the difference was we werent going into that game with any thought of making the eight, let alone win the flag.

This arvo we went into the game looking to prove we are final eight side.

Comparing those two I'd rather now go into a game with no expectations whatsoever!

Another year, another Tim the Toolman doom and gloom thread. I think the quota for the year is about three. What number is this?

Yeah, what's the opposite of "bandwagoner"?

Criticism is fine, and well deserved in this case, but it's worthless unless you can also offer some insight or at least put things in proper context.

Myself, I'm too disappointed and disillusioned at the moment to comment on anything from yesterday.

A kick in the a%*! can do wonders & man did the Lions need one. We had some pathetic & undisciplined performances yesterday and a good belting is just what was required to smarten up some of the young lazy "boof heads" around the club!
All is not lost.What we need today is a Geelong DOMINATION of the Saints, the let down would be HUGE for the Cats, leaving them seriously vulnerable against the Lions next week.

Fair enough but the difference was we werent going into that game with any thought of making the eight, let alone win the flag.

I think we were - In 1999 North Melbourne (eventual premiers) beat us in a preliminary final where,if the injury situation had been reversed,a good chance we win.

In 2000 we finished sixth.

I've said it before, the most important thing in footy is clearances. When we win them, we look great, when we lose them, we look poor. Yesterday, we were slaughtered in the clearances.

All they need to do is sort out the clearances. I am no football mechanic, but whatever the hell is going wrong in there needs to start going right, and I guarantee you'll see an immediate change when that happens.

I've said to my brother on numerous occasions that the Lions have two sides, an A side and a B side. When we're playing well, it's the A side, when we're poor, it's the B side... and there is a big gap b/w the two. IMO a very large part of this big gap is due to clearances. The rest all follows from there.

Nice to see you back Duritz. How was your holiday?:p

On topic, we were woeful for 3 quarters of the game yesterday. End of story. Hopefully Voss can fire up the troops to make an improvement for next week, the character of the players must be put on show.

IMHO, get rid of Johnstone, get a kid in the team that will put his head over the ball and play for his mates wearing the same jumper. Reddan, Rockliff and Banfield have all earned a chance from my looks at the twos, and at least when Roe came in, he did his job and looked like he wanted to be there.

The Johnstone trade has failed. Move on now, nothing else to see here, the only winner in that trade thus far is Melbourne (they got Grimes with their pick I think), and they probably deserve a little bit of luck:cool:

Trying to be philosophical and pragmatic about the result against Port - before the game a reasonable expectation of the outcome would have been a 50% chance of a win whereas I expected to lose to Hawthorn at Aurora.

The next two games are Geelong and if we bust their run it would be a semi miracle (if there is such a thing) and Freo where we will be outrucked .

If the players can put the last quarter debacle behind them very little has changed except missing Brennan for a while - I have seen the crunch games to be Rounds 18 and 19 at the G v Collingwood and Essendon - and let's take care of Port at the Gabba in round 21.

Disagree on Proud. His real weakness is no right foot but he has good hands in close and reads/creates well. Just needs time. Definitely has better skills & a few more tricks in the bag than the others you question.

If you want to see ordinary kids, check out Sydney.

His left foot isnt that good either, kicked quite a few mongrels and helicopters

OK...his skill level was a little deficient but he wasn't alone there.

I thought he showed a bit and did some hard yards when one or two others were shirking it.

There are others I'd drop before him.

Never said that Proud should be dropped. Proud has actually shown signs of improvement unlike Harding, who should be dropped for this week. IMO TJ has probably played his last game for brisbane. Still don't know why he was recalled considering that Redden, Rockliff, Notting and Dalziell played better games then TJ in the reserves game.

I reckon Harding should be made to watch the replay of his effort when he outpaced the Port player and hit Brown on the chest (even if Browny did have to dive just a bit).

Vossey should then make him sit in front of the blackboard and write 100 times "I shall think less and act instinctively more":thumbsu:

I reckon Harding should be made to watch the replay of his effort when he outpaced the Port player and hit Brown on the chest (even if Browny did have to dive just a bit).

Vossey should then make him sit in front of the blackboard and write 100 times "I shall think less and act instinctively more":thumbsu:

Good Idea, Even in that play though Harding took the wrong option. i think it was Hooper who was all by himself closer to goal. Instead Harding did a mongrel to Browny. Too many of the players kick to Browny even if he is doubled/ tripled teamed

Timmy… Still calling a spade a fork while proudly wearing your heart on your sleeve, how the hell did you ever survive the lean royboys times?

In my opinion you seem to be overlooking the possibility that the clubs these days are a lot closer in strengths than ever before in the history of the game and I use the Hawks as a prime example, even Port with their now current record of 7 and 7 and who have only lost one game at home so far this year in a trouncing to the saints, fits my suggestion.

I’m sure we can all understand where your sentiments are coming from but I’m confussed by some of your off the cuff, heat of the moment comments including 'won’t make the eight' and our ‘midfield elsewhere is crap’. Is your yard stick Geelong or just not considering the age and experience of some of the lads we are rotating as on-ballers? On the evidence of a couple of your posts in this thread, ever thought of a career in sensationalised journalism?

In noway am I trying to discredit you, it’s just IMO, some of the points you’ve made in this thread just don’t have solid foundations. Happy to revisit this conversation over a beer or two come rounds 18 and 19. :)

Laclustre performances - 4 quarters thanks Shermo - from all with apologies to Simon Black, Daniel Rich, Luke Power and Jono Brown whom again gets delivered nuts aimed at 3 opposition players whilst there must be 2 other free lions somewhere else on the ground.

Yesterday's capitulation was no doubt very disappointing, but I'd have to say that a number of your comments in this thread are very baffling, TtT. For instance, I find it strange that you have exempted Black, Brown, Power and Rich from your criticisms that you have leveled at other players, despite the fact that none of them had particularly great games.

Why should these players be exempted from the critiquing that the rest of the team will get? Is this just because they are your favourite players? Is it because they are considering our "best players" and therefore above criticism?

S.Black was smashed yesterday. He was in at the centre stoppages just about all day but I cannot recall him getting even one take-away. A tally of 18 touches indicates just how badly he was beaten, so to include him in your list of "exceptions" is baffling. K.Cornes really has Black's number and gave him a hiding yesterday.

Likewise, Brown had his chances with a number of set shots, yet, still managed to end up with more behinds than goals. Power was ok, but I'd hardly say that he was much of a factor. Rich did some nice things, but yet again, you couldn't really say that he had a "great" day. Rich youth excuses him from from the same degree of responsibility that senior players might have, but I think it is odd that you have exempted these four players from your criticisms despite the fact that none of them played particularly well yesterday.

I suppose the likes of Brown, Black, Power and Rich are all well-known players and fan favourites, but I don't think their performances should be any more exempt from criticism than anyone else's in the team on the basis of favouritism or status.

We'll make it. Yesterday we were ambushed, it happens, but it's the ability to learn from mistakes that count, and this team will. Under Voss we learn differently, we learn defeats like this leave a bitter taste in the mouth. We play them later this year and Voss will ensure that the cheap shots of yesterday will be overcome. Revenge is a desert best seved cold.

S.Black was smashed yesterday. He was in at the centre stoppages just about all day but I cannot recall him getting even one take-away. A tally of 18 touches indicates just how badly he was beaten, so to include him in your list of "exceptions" is baffling. K.Cornes really has Black's number and gave him a hiding yesterday.

No doubt Cornes has given Black the toughest time of all the taggers, including the 2004 GF.

But, does he get any help from his midfield mates with blocks etc? Surely an old-fashioned charge off the line at a centre bounce from someone like Browny wouldn't go astray?

Forget top 4, we wont' make the top 8!