franklin case

Remember when Michael Johnson got 6 weeks for this?

4 weeks with a good record.

[YOUTUBE]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Wl7c4mPF3Lk&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Wl7c4mPF3Lk&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/YOUTUBE]

Where was the uproar back then?

Re: The end of football as we know it.

It's a tough one. Yes Buddy intended to bump Cousins. But I don't think he intended to get him in the head. It's just difficult for him since he's tall and Cousins is short.

Perhaps the rule is - yes you can bump someone, but you will get rubbed out if you get the other player high, regardless of whether you meant it. Which makes it hard for tall players.

Is it also more difficult to lay a tackle when a player is coming at you front on - especially for a tall player? To me it looks like a collision of some kind between the two was going to be inevitable, and the option Buddy chose also gave him more protection.

That's my 2 cents as a neutral.

Re: Remember when Michael Johnson got 6 weeks for this?

Lol **** off mate that was plain as day. The Roos player had his head over it and Johnson was premeditated and new exactly what he was doing. The Buddy incident is Cousins fault because he should have had the awareness of players around him. If he hadn't fumbled the ball I'd say he would have had this awareness but that wasn't the case.

This thread is not necessary and you've just made yourself look like a tool.

Lol **** off mate that was plain as day. The Roos player had his head over it and Johnson was premeditated and new exactly what he was doing. The Buddy incident is Cousins fault because he should have had the awareness of players around him. If he hadn't fumbled the ball I'd say he would have had this awareness but that wasn't the case.

At what point did I disagree with the actual suspension?

Thanks Mike

Guys get off the typical BF mentality that we have to trash talk all other opposition supporters. This isn't about Hawthorn, it's about the farce that is becoming the AFL. They feel a need to change/create a new rule every 3 months. I'm still mystified why PUSH in the back was changed to HANDS in the back. Considering this is a contact sport, what's so bad about having hands on someones back?

Forget that the OP is a Hawks supporter, ask yourself this. What do you like about AFL? I for one love the physicality of it, the old one-on-one FF v FB contests, and the different aspects that other sports don't have such as the hip and shoulder. I'm only 20, so i'm not an old school fan, i love the new, fast game, but the simple fact is the AFL are ruining our beloved sport and making it a game for girls.

Franklin's hip and shoulder was absolutely perfect. It was a perfect example of the greatness and excitement that AFL brings. Did anybody here actually not enjoy watching it (other than Tigers supporters)?

Ask yourself this, do you like seeing a good hip and shoulder? Do you prefer the bump to be in the game instead of not being in it? The majority of us want it in the game, and the AFL are abolishing it for some stupidass reason which I just can't get my head around

Agree agree agree :thumbsu:

With the AFL tribunal holding up the Match Review Panels ridiculous 2 game suspension of Lance Franklin for a perfectly legal bump on Ben Cousins the face of the modern game is changed forever. How many players will now "go the bump" when confronted with the same situation as Lance faced on Saturday night? Not many now I bet. Why do the AFL seem hell bent on taking the toughness from the game and turning into a pale imitation of the contact sport that Australian Rules Football is all about. I'm not interested in watching the castrated sport that the AFL want to push and I propose if they continue in this direction the fans will desert in droves.

1. That was not a perfectly legal bump, there was head high contact, which is why Franklin got suspended.
2. This has happened before and players still "go the bump", they just use better technique than Franklin did.
3. The AFL is not trying to take toughness out of the game, just head high contact because it is dangerous and it was limiting the number of kids playing the sport as juniors. They are doing this in every sport, in the NFL they wear helmets and they still limit the contact as nobody likes to see their $10m QB out with an injury, it is the same in the AFL.
4. I think you will find more people will be interested in AFL in the long-run because more people will play and hence start following it.
5. I reckon you would have thought this was a pretty bloody good game 11 months ago, even though players were still being rubbed out for the same thing.
6. If you think the toughness is gone and you don't want to watch, then stop posting here, hand in your membership and go watch rugby. ;)

1. That was not a perfectly legal bump, there was head high contact, which is why Franklin got suspended.
2. This has happened before and players still "go the bump", they just use better technique than Franklin did.
3. The AFL is not trying to take toughness out of the game, just head high contact because it is dangerous and it was limiting the number of kids playing the sport as juniors. They are doing this in every sport, in the NFL they wear helmets and they still limit the contact as nobody likes to see their $10m QB out with an injury, it is the same in the AFL.
4. I think you will find more people will be interested in AFL in the long-run because more people will play and hence start following it.
5. I reckon you would have thought this was a pretty bloody good game 11 months ago, even though players were still being rubbed out for the same thing.
6. If you think the toughness is gone and you don't want to watch, then stop posting here, hand in your membership and go watch rugby. ;)

Excellent post. :thumbsu:

There has been 10 or so worse decisions at the tribunal this season than Franklins. And there will be another 10 that are worse next year.

I dont see what the fuss is all about.

Franklin's hip and shoulder was absolutely perfect. It was a perfect example of the greatness and excitement that AFL brings. Did anybody here actually not enjoy watching it (other than Tigers supporters)?

Ask yourself this, do you like seeing a good hip and shoulder? Do you prefer the bump to be in the game instead of not being in it? The majority of us want it in the game, and the AFL are abolishing it for some stupidass reason which I just can't get my head around

It was not perfect, it hit Cousins in the head. Franklin is taller than Cousins and needed to get lower to avoid this, then it would have been a perfect bump. There are still are plenty of good legal bumps in the AFL. There are heaps in every game, however we seem to only want to concentrate on the ones that are illegal and declare the end of AFL because of them.

I love seeing a good hip and shoulder, one front on and low to the guts, where the player goes flying back the ball comes out, when it takes the player a few seconds to work out what the **** just happened. I prefer it when the player then gets up and can continue on playing for the rest of the game. Nobody likes to see players out with a head injury.

The bump is not dead, just head high contact.

There is one thing I don't like about AFL. I like to watch a variety of sports, but the most annoying thing about watching AFL is having to constantly hear commentators and viewers complain about
1. How poor umpiring, and shocking decisions
2. How the game has changed too much, and lack of physicality

It seems all people have to talk about are the above, rather than what a great spectacle, or free flowing game it is

Can't people just accept the game has evolved.

For example, basketball has changed tremendously, but we don't hear the fans or commentators constantly nag on about it.

Yes, the bump was probably unavoidable, but surely you do not need to overexaggerate by saying AFL is at the end. If you don't like it, turn off the TV, and go for a walk.

Problem solved.

nobody cares that the game is changing. people care that the people in charge are changing the game.... slight difference.

This would never have gone up to the tribunal if the dimwits didnt change the laws of the game int he first place.

Re: Is the Head really sacrosanct?

Head isn't sacrosanct, you can punch someone in the face as long as you grab the jumper while doing it, you can elbow someone in the face and cave their head in as long as you keep your eyes on the ball, you can bitch slap someone in the face and not get suspended. You just can't bump someone in the head.

nobody cares that the game is changing. people care that the people in charge are changing the game.... slight difference.

This would never have gone up to the tribunal if the dimwits didnt change the laws of the game int he first place.

So they should never have changed the rules & let it be "Lethal Leigh tactics", hit a guy in the head to stop him, right. :rolleyes:

There are 50 (probably being generous) posts every year proclaiming the end of football as we know it. Somehow we have survived to have a great competition anyway. Ease away from the dramatics. They will change some rules and the AFL will go on.

With the AFL tribunal holding up the Match Review Panels ridiculous 2 game suspension of Lance Franklin for a perfectly legal bump on Ben Cousins the face of the modern game is changed forever. How many players will now "go the bump" when confronted with the same situation as Lance faced on Saturday night? Not many now I bet. Why do the AFL seem hell bent on taking the toughness from the game and turning into a pale imitation of the contact sport that Australian Rules Football is all about. I'm not interested in watching the castrated sport that the AFL want to push and I propose if they continue in this direction the fans will desert in droves.

End of football as we know it ??? ...You Tassie supporters are embarrassing yourselves with all these drama queen threads. :rolleyes:

You aren't allowed to hit players in the head anymore whilst opting to bump instead of tackle ..live with it .

franklin case