Toast Fremantle's 1st 2016 National Draft Pick: Griffin Logue [Pick #8]

0 -> Trump.
0 -> Elon Musk

I'd get him to buy the club or employ all our best players as Community Outreach Tesla Ambassadors for $500,000 a year as soon as they are drafted or traded in if I snared me a billionaire. Tay Pay, outside the cap. Our strict character assessment prior to signing an ambassador would exclude all but the FFC players. Nobody could compete - and as long as Telsa wasn't a sponsor or any representative was employed as a member of staff at FFC then the arms length requirement for 3rd Party Payments is fine.

Hi Griffin Logue, here is your COTA allowance but it will only be paid to current FFC players, make of that what you will.

Logue is such an athlete I don't know what to expect from him. A Pav, a Rance, a Goodes, a Fyfe, a dud?

Can't see him being a dud. Not sure how high his ceiling is but he'll at the very least be a solid best 22 player. At best, could be a superstar.

Logue is such an athlete I don't know what to expect from him. A Pav, a Rance, a Goodes, a Fyfe, a dud?
Somewhere in there. I was won over when I saw the news story about his rowing background. Anyone that can get up at 5 in the morning and go rowing in winter on the river has some pretty serious determination. He's big, super athletic, well coordinated and a solid citizen. I would be staggered if he didn't turn out at least handy. Something Hodge-like would be the top end of the range for me. Really gutsy, hard hitting, creative, leads from the front, steps up in big moments. He and Fyfe would be a pretty handy 1 & 2 if he turns out like that.

From a coaching point of view, if he can play as a leading and marking forward, a lock down defender, a tagging midfielder or an extraction mid it means naming him on the sheet doesn't give any clue how the opposition will need to match up on him.

He could turn into Griffin "Mr Fixer" Logue and Lyon puts him wherever we aren't winning the contest well enough.

Brennan Cox is a former junior rowing champ as well I think (plus ex-basketballer).

Cox was a rower as well. Not a bad way to build the body.

I don't think he will be as good as fyfe , pav and macca currently . Will only be able to know /predict when his age hit 23 years old.

From a coaching point of view, if he can play as a leading and marking forward, a lock down defender, a tagging midfielder or an extraction mid it means naming him on the sheet doesn't give any clue how the opposition will need to match up on him.

He could turn into Griffin "Mr Fixer" Logue and Lyon puts him wherever we aren't winning the contest well enough.

Sounds like goddard

Go in to Tapatalk hoping to read some training reports and this crap is still at the top of the board...

Is it really surprising that people want to talk about our draftees with the draft only a week ago?

And in a player toast draft thread too; What next ?

Yep i want to throw a brick after reading the comment about rowers not always making good players, stop judging this guy
I wasn't judging him, I haven't seen him play yet. But all the love about him getting up at sparrow's to train for rowing, well all high level rowers do that. Some of them play footy. Some of them are not good at footy.

Stephen Hill getting up at 5 to go work at a brick factory was taken as testament to a disciplined application and work ethic;no one was saying all brick factory workers will be gun footballers.
stop judging this guy
There were some guestimates about what percentage of posters may have watched him play;5% was one guess I think. Regardless of that the criticism of Griffin and most of our other picks by posters who claim to support the club is generally impossible to take seriously for me.

Since when does getting up at 5 am make you a paragon of drive and dedication?

That's an average day at the office for a tradie, and they're doing it with a bad back, banshee for a missus, and a stonking hangover.

Dragging yourself out of bed because you need to eat is one thing, doing it because you want to be better than someone is another (and I'd imagine a far better indicator of a successful AFL career).

Since when does getting up at 5 am make you a paragon of drive and dedication?

That's an average day at the office for a tradie, and they're doing it with a bad back, banshee for a missus, and a stonking hangover.

Dragging yourself out of bed because you need to eat is one thing, doing it because you want to be better than someone is another (and I'd imagine a far better indicator of a successful AFL career).

Mate 2 of those three things are within their control. No excuses ;)

Some people are grafters/followers, some are winners/leaders. Which of the Hill boys is which?

No point having the drive to work hard if you're not capable of leaving all that hard earned work on the field.

My son got Logue's autograph at the Christmas party yesterday. Said he was a really nice guy that was very happy to have a chat.

Toast Fremantle's 1st 2016 National Draft Pick: Griffin Logue [Pick #8]