Toast Fremantle's 1st 2018 National Draft Pick: Sam Sturt [Pick #17]

So many are like the media who make up sheeit to get things like this started.
Tep a forum to talk footy , but please keep it real.

I mean he's out of contract and we haven't been told that he's signed up, thats real enough to speculate that he might be on the move. We would be doing the same if it was a WA player on a Vic team.

He's played 8 WAFL games in the past 2 years combined. 2022 he played all season WAFL in all fairness, but he re-signed after that. Not quite sure them 8 games are worth getting knickers tied in a knot.

In general it seems like the instructions are relatively simple. Don't be a complete negative on pressure, in contest, and around the ground and you'll probably have a spot in the team. Surprise surprise, as soon as those things happened he had a spot. Coach has spoken well of him this year, judging by the recent Better Down Back pod he's part of the furniture here, and seems to have settled in WA.

Unless we acted against that and actually shortchanged him at the negotiation table (it's possible I suppose), if he's leaving he's probably getting too good to refuse money elsewhere that we can't be matching. And at that point, I'd say get your bag.
The fact he never got a crack at it in 2022 was a mistake in my opinion. Had multiple games of 3 and 4 goals and while we were struggling to kick a score in the AFL.
Really? When?
This season:
2 goals in the first Derby then dropped for a month.

Last season:
2 goals in that GWS game last season then dropped to sub. Subbed in halfway through the last against Essendon the following week then dropped.

Subbed off in the 3rd quarter then dropped for a month in the loss to the Lions. Previous week kicked 2 goals in the loss to the Dogs in Lobb's first game against us since leaving the club.

This season is almost a repeat of last. Dropped unfairly at the start of the year when breaking into the team, when he finally gets a crack at it kicks enough goals that he's a top 6 goalkicker on the list from half a season.

Why would you sign up for that when it's blokes like Emmett and Banfield consistently picked ahead of you to start the season?

The fact he never got a crack at it in 2022 was a mistake in my opinion. Had multiple games of 3 and 4 goals and while we were struggling to kick a score in the AFL.

This season:

Last season:
2 goals in that GWS game last season then dropped to sub. Subbed in halfway through the last against Essendon the following week then dropped.

Subbed off in the 3rd quarter then dropped for a month in the loss to the Lions. Previous week kicked 2 goals in the loss to the Dogs in Lobb's first game against us since leaving the club.

This season is almost a repeat of last. Dropped unfairly at the start of the year when breaking into the team, when he finally gets a crack at it kicks enough goals that he's a top 6 goalkicker on the list from half a season.

Why would you sign up for that when it's blokes like Emmett and Banfield consistently picked ahead of you to start the season?

You can definitely see why he would leave.

Hopefully he is close to the other players and wants to stick around to have a crack at a flag.

This season:

Last season:

He's pretty much been a fixture for extended stints from R13 last year and probably even R13 this year (certainly from R15).

He's had an interrupted pre-season/early season this year and was probably still short of conditioning when brought in to the WC game. I reckon it's pretty understandable they gave him a few weeks to get more cherry ripe before bringing him in for an extended run.

Hopefully they've been in good communication with him, but Longmuir's certainly talked him up when asked about his absences in the pressers.

I have never seen people overreact over someone as much as Sturt, he will re-sign, settle down, a lot of you are being dramatic.
No offence, but if we traded Caleb Serong to the pies for Billy Frampton and a future 4th you would be on here with this generic comment about fans overreacting, and we need to trust the club.

Mate the problem is that people are overreacting about hypothetical situations that haven't happened yet, and likely won't happen.

I'll be mad if he does leave, but he hasn't yet, and the chances of him leaving are very low, why worry about shit that hasn't happened yet?

He's a bloody good foward that kicks goals.
How many of them do we have?
Point is, nothing's happened yet, people are getting up in arms over nothing so far, if he chooses not to re-sign or requests a trade, then sure, get up in arms, but as for now, there's no legitimate reason for people to overreact.

I coped with Neal leaving. I coped with Brad Hill leaving. I coped with the Tucker, Logue leaving. I coped with Acres leaving.

Why then does the thought of Sturt leaving trigger me so much then - likely because I loved the guy from the day he outpositioned Hurley in his first game - I was all in from that moment

Toast Fremantle's 1st 2018 National Draft Pick: Sam Sturt [Pick #17]