Funniest Moment On A Football Ground

Many years ago Albury Tigers were playing the Wang Magpies in the O&M. As we lined up for the first bounce, I thought it strange that their normal full back was playing full-forward, and their old reliable back-pocket player had lined up in the forward pocket. I also noticed that the Wang ruckman was standing beside ours at the centre bounce and though what a dill - he must know he's gotta be on the other side of the centre line. Yep - our captain had come back from the toss and pointed the wrong way, so we had all lined up in reverse positions.

Whilst playing for the West Coast Eagles Little League team at Victoria Park, the Seniors banner arrived at the ground before half time. The Eagles cheer squad raised it at half time. The Seniors ran around it to the cheer squads disbelief. So, us Little Leaguers ran through it with one kid getting coat-hangered by some tape and ended up with concussion and spent the 2nd half in the bus.
Memorable moment.

I remember playing in a praccy match, it was real hot & we were buggered - both sides. In one bit of play my team mate's (our CHB's) boot came off in the play. The ball went away momentarily, allowing him to retrieve the boot but before he could get it back on the ball came sailing back and the pack flew for it - including our CHB going the big spoil, with the missing boot still in his hand!

Classic Thread Courage...

During a game in central NSW's Northern Riverina League many years ago, 2 old rival teams were playing. The tigers were smashing the near extinct redlegs on a footy ground that has to be seen to be believed, it's literally in a paddock with trimmed and painted pine trees as goal posts.
As the game was drawing to a close, one of the tigers boys was lining up for a shot at goal, and the bloke on the mark, "Kero" templeton -an ex tiger and local larrikin - chucked a brown-eye at the bloke having a shot... whole crowd was in hysterics, local umpires couldn't have cared less and no-one had a clue or gave a sh1t if it was a goal.

Nearly 20 years on and still a vivid and disturbing memory :D

haha 16 goals 8 thats awesome. Kero's crack would be something that i'd still remember in 20 years.. Especially out at old four corners. Any rabbit burrows that year?

one saturday arvo up in southern NSW my old man and i had just cme back from a morning shooting out at our farm and we had our fox terrier with us us which somehow got away from me and he spoted the red leather out on the ground which the dog went and chased flat out for at least 5 mins and was actually watching the flight of the ball from the throw ins and roving it once it hit the ground the whole crowd were p******g themselves laughing when finally the opposition kicked a point at the end we were sitting so my old man told our fullback to leave the ball so we could get the dog as the dog was playing with the ball the fullback picked the dog up which bit him on the hand and then he had to go off for the blood rule.

very funny.

Playing U/12's one day out at St Bernards, getting smashed as we usually did, kid picks up the ball and runs in the wrong direction. Coaches and parents screaming at him to turn around, the oppostion almost shepherding him to their goal, he got about 20m out about to take his kick and 3 blokes crunched him. Holding the ball and goal. :D

Two true stories .... and in consecutive weeks !!!

Playing half-back lower division in Brisbane one day for Alexandra Hills, we belted Moorooka by 20-odd goals. But during the third quarter, they finally got the pill down our end at one stage. As an opposition player and I scrambled for the ball, the umpire gave him the free because I supposedly contacted him too high in diving for the ball. Of course, I had something to say and the mark was advanced 50. As this pillick took forever to pull up his socks, tuck in his jersey, have a drink blah-blah-blah, I flopped the old slug out the bottom of my shorts as he moved in to kick. Naturally, his kick blasted off the side of his boot and we ran it back for yet another goal. Anyway, the ensuing five minutes involved this bloke chasing the umpire around the ground, and pleading / arguing / whinging / yelling .... almost crying to the umpire that "HE FLASHED HIS PENIS !!! - BUT HE FLASHED HIS PENIS !!! HE CAN'T DO THAT !!!" which by a grown man at the top of his voice for so long, brought the whole ground into hysterics. Still brought up at team reunions .... :D

The very next week we hosted Banyo and ended up flogging them by 168 points. However, running fourth, we needed a good win to snatch third spot so we could have the double chance in the semis the following week. With the clock practically showing fulltime, and leading 25-19-169 to nil, the ball came to me - where I duly ran the 50 metres back through my own goals to give Banyo a solitary point. Between howls and abuse from my own teammates and supporters, my coach absolutely berated me all the way from the field to the sheds - and saying he would not pick me in the finals !!!! Upon nearly coming to blows, the club president intervened, and explained to the whole side that what I did was correct ...... because in those days, if you won a match and conceded zero points, the for and against was not added to your competition total. (I guess the league was sick of massive score blowouts). Anyway, the 168 point win got us third spot by about 15 points - but guess who led the side out in the finals, to a big chant of his new nickname ........ BAN-YO BAN-YO BAN-YO. (I still get called that by a number of oldtimers at the old club.)

Just another quick one - as a bloke came in for a set shot at goal one day, I jumped to try and get a hand on the ball. Well, his kick was **********, and it hit me square on the nose. I woke up in the sheds with the ambo's ...... but the other blokes told me later that night in the club, that the first thing to hit the ground was my head and shoulders !!!! ...... splitting headache and a blood nose ......... but a great smother !!!! :cool:

Classic Thread Courage...

During a game in central NSW's Northern Riverina League many years ago, 2 old rival teams were playing. The tigers were smashing the near extinct redlegs on a footy ground that has to be seen to be believed, it's literally in a paddock with trimmed and painted pine trees as goal posts.
As the game was drawing to a close, one of the tigers boys was lining up for a shot at goal, and the bloke on the mark, "Kero" templeton -an ex tiger and local larrikin - chucked a brown-eye at the bloke having a shot... whole crowd was in hysterics, local umpires couldn't have cared less and no-one had a clue or gave a sh1t if it was a goal.

Nearly 20 years on and still a vivid and disturbing memory :D

Thanx for the kind words mate, and a top post too, that now takes equal first!

Two true stories .... and in consecutive weeks !!!

Playing half-back lower division in Brisbane one day for Alexandra Hills, we belted Moorooka by 20-odd goals. But during the third quarter, they finally got the pill down our end at one stage. As an opposition player and I scrambled for the ball, the umpire gave him the free because I supposedly contacted him too high in diving for the ball. Of course, I had something to say and the mark was advanced 50. As this pillick took forever to pull up his socks, tuck in his jersey, have a drink blah-blah-blah, I flopped the old slug out the bottom of my shorts as he moved in to kick. Naturally, his kick blasted off the side of his boot and we ran it back for yet another goal. Anyway, the ensuing five minutes involved this bloke chasing the umpire around the ground, and pleading / arguing / whinging / yelling .... almost crying to the umpire that "HE FLASHED HIS PENIS !!! - BUT HE FLASHED HIS PENIS !!! HE CAN'T DO THAT !!!" which by a grown man at the top of his voice for so long, brought the whole ground into hysterics. Still brought up at team reunions .... :D

The very next week we hosted Banyo and ended up flogging them by 168 points. However, running fourth, we needed a good win to snatch third spot so we could have the double chance in the semis the following week. With the clock practically showing fulltime, and leading 25-19-169 to nil, the ball came to me - where I duly ran the 50 metres back through my own goals to give Banyo a solitary point. Between howls and abuse from my own teammates and supporters, my coach absolutely berated me all the way from the field to the sheds - and saying he would not pick me in the finals !!!! Upon nearly coming to blows, the club president intervened, and explained to the whole side that what I did was correct ...... because in those days, if you won a match and conceded zero points, the for and against was not added to your competition total. (I guess the league was sick of massive score blowouts). Anyway, the 168 point win got us third spot by about 15 points - but guess who led the side out in the finals, to a big chant of his new nickname ........ BAN-YO BAN-YO BAN-YO. (I still get called that by a number of oldtimers at the old club.)

Just another quick one - as a bloke came in for a set shot at goal one day, I jumped to try and get a hand on the ball. Well, his kick was **********, and it hit me square on the nose. I woke up in the sheds with the ambo's ...... but the other blokes told me later that night in the club, that the first thing to hit the ground was my head and shoulders !!!! ...... splitting headache and a blood nose ......... but a great smother !!!! :cool:

Sensational mate thats another on the 3 way leaders board

A bloke was playing his 400th club game in the seconds and ran out with his son. The supporters,juniors and seniors had made a guard of honour for this momentous occasion. As he ran out with a smile bigger than luna park he waved to the crowd and acknowledged the players. He burst through the banner only to discover there was a little too much tape at the bottom and over he went and did the biggest face plant i have ever seen. His son ran past and said 'Dad i think it's time u gave it up' only to hear back - 'i will get it right for my 500th'......

Sorry LEIGH its down to 2 leaders now you have dropped back to a close second quality post though:thumbsu:

was watching a game in nsw a few years ago. an experienced player had hold of the ball about 40 m out in his back pocket was holding on to it for an eternity had no one to kick to so decided to turn around and rush a behind. the side was up be at least six goals at this stage of the second quarter. needless to say the home side came home with a flourish and banged one through with a minute left to win by 1 point. The player resposible is continually reminded to this day how he cost his side the double chance. for the record they exited in straight sets.

Its not really anything that happened on the footy field but it was a laugh, me an my old man decided to go to the footy up echuca way when we got there there were only spots behind the goals, as we were going to stand by the car anyway we decided to park there, we pulled in and before we even got out of the car the ball came over and shattered the windscreen, so we didnt stay for long.

Was at a game between grennsborough and north heidelberg in the diamond valley when i dont recall what quarter but a female either drunk, on drugs or both was leaving the ground in her car and decided to do a few burnouts on the gravel lost control and veerd straight through the fence and on to the ground while the players were chasing the pill not too far away. The game had to be stopped as there was great difficulty getting the car back on the other side of the fence due to the way she had damaged it.

Actually this happened on the training track, and maybe it's one of those 'you had to be there' incidents, but imagine if you can, the most uncoordinated footballer you have ever seen, and imagine he is both the build and colour of a long cigarette. We were doing circle work, but we were doing it while running backwards. Naturally once you got the ball you turned around and moved forward to dispose of it. We had been doing this for about five minutes when I passed the ball to the unco snoozer. I could see the panic on his face when the ball fell into his hands and I knew he was going to f*** it up. He then attempted to kick the ball over his head while running backwards (a difficult task for the most skilled and acrobatic person) and managed to kick the soggy ball into his own face and landed flat on his back. I still laugh when I think about it. But yeah, maybe you had to be there.

Very Very Funny

i recall a momemnt in a GAME A NUMBER OF YEARS BACK THAT STILL MAKES US LAUGH. I was playing in a TAC cup game at Griffith NSW it was deep in the third quarter. Our full forward at the time who we nicknamed stiffy (because of his inability to conceal arousal) was getting a hard time off his opponent for majority of the game. When he came out and took an almighty speccy on the head of his opponent. Being chuffed with him self he had a grin from ear to ear and showed the ball to his opponent and the crowd. Being 30m out directly in front you would have put it down as a certan goal however "stiffy" managed to kick the ball straight in to the man on the mark. (his opponent) subsequently he was dragged immediatelly and copped one of the biggest 3 quarter time sprays i've and he still goes by his nickname "Stiffy"

Was at a game between grennsborough and north heidelberg in the diamond valley when i dont recall what quarter but a female either drunk, on drugs or both was leaving the ground in her car and decided to do a few burnouts on the gravel lost control and veerd straight through the fence and on to the ground while the players were chasing the pill not too far away. The game had to be stopped as there was great difficulty getting the car back on the other side of the fence due to the way she had damaged it.

no doubt it was a nth heidelberg supporter - no offence to anyone

Haha TomKat that is a classic. I can relate to the "having to be there", as my story may be one of them too, but ah well.
Training one night, and our runner, (Rod Ward), came across a rock about the size of his palm as he was walking by.. As ya do, he picks it up and wound up with the big underarm, gives it his all, holds on to it for too long, rock comes up, Rod goes down with a huge gash above his eye, the whole team goes down in fits of laughter.

Haha TomKat that is a classic. I can relate to the "having to be there", as my story may be one of them too, but ah well.
Training one night, and our runner, (Rod Ward), came across a rock about the size of his palm as he was walking by.. As ya do, he picks it up and wound up with the big underarm, gives it his all, holds on to it for too long, rock comes up, Rod goes down with a huge gash above his eye, the whole team goes down in fits of laughter.

hahahahaha hilarious - did he need stitches ?

Well young HDT 5,
do you remember the wet day playing at west wyalong, when again mr Rod Ward was running into an open goal from about 20 metres out, but just to make sure Rod decides to have a bounce and run all the way to the goal line.
Being wet Rod decides not to actually bounce it but reach down and touch the ground to be safe.
Whats funny about this you ask??

He missed the ground by a good foot and a half.The old hammys wouldnt let him bend any further

The Umpires didnt worry about it though and let the goal stand, and didnt the wyalong boys jump up and down

Funniest Moment On A Football Ground