News Gabba Upgrade & Olympics News

Had a listen. Svenson impressive, Swan ok but could have done better, Christafulli impressive (good news he's a massive cricket fan)

Hull was very annoying in that he kept trying to suggest the afl should chip in for a new stadium. I never understood this narrative and why the afl is always asked and always does chip in, when no other sport in the country ever does?

This is a clear double standard, particularly considering the nrl literally never put in for new and redeveloped stadiums and just recieved 750 mill from government, without having to provide even a cent yet again.
I think Q was simply doing his job as a journo and challenging (to an extent) the interviewee. He's a pretty passionate Carlton man, originally from the Riverina (I think) and calls both codes (plus union) so hardly a vested interest either way I wouldn't have thought.

Been published in NewsCorp papers now too.

Brisbane Lions join cricket’s push to ditch Gabba for ‘bigger house’ for Queensland sport
With the future of the Gabba under a cloud of uncertainty as dark as the clouds dumping a deluge of rain on the morning session, Queensland Cricket CEO Terry Svenson and Brisbane Lions boss Greg Swann will on Tuesday make submissions to the new Olympic Games Independent Infrastructure and Coordination Authority which has been tasked with a 100-day review of the stadium debacle.

I think Q was simply doing his job as a journo and challenging (to an extent) the interviewee. He's a pretty passionate Carlton man, originally from the Riverina (I think) and calls both codes (plus union) so hardly a vested interest either way I wouldn't have thought.

Yeah I just didn't think it was helpful even planting the idea in the premiers mind though. I don't think he knows the financials of cricket and footy if he thinks they could make a meaningful contribution to a build of this magnitude anyway. It's actually where Swan should have been on his game pointing out that no other league in Australia ever chips in but the AFL.

Not wanting to start a fight but what is this?

Look, your point of view is your point of view... And it's perfectly legitimate.

But until you have the lived experience of being in regional Queensland you'll forgive me if I disagree.
Well, you're welcome to disagree. Though it would have been nice to have made a different post rather than editing one I'd already responded to.

We watch services be either removed or die out here because people won't live here who can provide them or Governments put them in places where they service more people.

I live in a town of 20k with a very high average income. Farm workers are on 100k plus, miners double that.

And yet we struggle find those people. We can't get people to work at Subway or Big W...
Well of course, if the average income is so high, the cost of living would be huge for someone not on a high income. This is where businesses need to pay higher wages and governments need to ensure affordable housing.

Now think about how difficult it would be to increase the supply of housing that you suggest.
The good things in life are often difficult. I'm not saying it's easy, but it's also not impossible to achieve with a government that wants to make it happen.

With all due respect your argument is selfish. Just because you see your issues and inconveniences and want them dealt with doesn't necessarily solve anyone else's.
How's it selfish? If I want bushland to not be bulldozed and productive farmland to not be ripped up for housing, that's selfish? I don't gain personal satisfaction from bushland or farmland existing, I just recognise that it needs to exist for the good of society, or we're all going to suffer the consequences of environmental degradation and higher food prices.

Ask yourself this... Would you move 1000km away from Brisbane for the lifestyle you suggest?
No, because I value convenience and access to services over space, so I bought an apartment relatively close to Brisbane CBD. It's not large and I had to throw out a bunch of things due to the lack of space, but that was a sacrifice I was willing to make to get the lifestyle I wanted.

If I valued space over convenience and access to services, then yes I'd definitely consider moving to Central or North Queensland.

It's just that we have heard all of this before, but reality both here and around the world suggests it's never going to change.
If we all take the attitude that nothing is going to change, it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy. People also used to think we'd never see women voting and having careers, but enough people wanted those things to happen that it changed.

Well, you're welcome to disagree. Though it would have been nice to have made a different post rather than editing one I'd already responded to.

Sorry that was not by choice... I was in a moving car with terrible reception and posted as it came and went. Another joy of regional Qld.

But I'm done mate, if you want to continue DM me

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I didn't say anything about forcing people. I just don't want more and more sprawl in capital cities. People should have the choice to live more densely if they want the privilege of living in Brisbane, or the choice to go somewhere else if they want the big sprawling house. And I'd like the government to back up this idea by investing in infrastructure and services in popular regional cities and towns that have capacity for people to move into because they haven't sprawled to the level Brisbane has.

This feels a little accusatory, which is strange seeing as I didn't say anything about numbers up until now, and certainly didn't say just 50 people. Who's to say more people wouldn't choose to move to regional cities and towns if the investment was put in?

Again, I'm not suggesting forcing anybody to do anything.

Whatever skillset they have. With good internet, plenty of white collar workers can work from anywhere now that working from home is more common. With investment in services, more health professionals and teachers would be attracted. With investment in infrastructure, more tradies would come and more apprentices could be produced.

The issue with places that are highly dependent on a small number of industries is that they often experience economic boom or bust based on how those industries are tracking. Examples in bigger regional cities include Mackay with coal mining, Kingaroy with agriculture and Airlie Beach with tourism.

The more diversified the local economies, the more likely they are to not experience droves of people moving elsewhere for better opportunities. I'm sure smaller towns are even more likely to be dependent on just a few industries.

What is going to improve for regional Australia if we simply encourage more people to live in outer suburbs of capital cities? Does regional Australia benefit in any way if Brisbane sprawls 100km in every direction rather than 50km like it does at present?

Perhaps some towns are too far gone and won't ever recover. Sad as it is, that's the way the world works sometimes. In some cases, climate change will make that inevitable anyway through higher temperatures and more bushfires. So I'm not suggesting saving every country town.

But, what if some could be saved? What if some could be developed into growing places? What if some towns of 5 000 could grow to 25 000 with enough investment? What if some cities of 25 000 could grow to 75 000? What if the bigger regional cities could grow to the size of Hobart or the Sunshine Coast? The possibilities exist if we're willing to put a limit to Brisbane's sprawl and invest elsewhere.

People provide services if the demand is there for them.

I agree, that's what I blame for the lack of focus on decentralising since Whitlam.

I work with public transport in outer parts of greater Brisbane. Let me assure you, there are a huge number of people travelling to Brisbane CBD or across the river from the extremities each day. Long distance bus and train services are well patronised. The highways are all parking lots in peak hour each weekday morning. The suburban centres are greatly overrated, generally they're just giant shopping centres and not much else in terms of employment, though they're increasingly getting apartment buildings in now.

Yes, because that's the norm in the country. There's a benefit in return for that - space and fresh air. Brisbane does not give that to the same extent.

Which is all well and good, up until food prices get higher because we have a bigger population but less space to grow the food in. I again ask, is society benefiting as a whole if productive farmland is turned into housing?

Really? I admit this isn't my area of expertise, but all I have to do is go to satellite view Google Maps and I see plenty of farmland between Ipswich and Toowoomba, an area that continues to be eaten up by sprawl. Even on the Darling Downs, I see Toowoomba sprawling further and further west and south. I had thought the Darling Downs was incredibly productive agricultural land.

That's true to a great extent, especially in a country where young people struggle to afford to buy property anywhere anymore. Creating more housing supply in regional cities and towns automatically make them more attractive to someone who just wants to get into the property market, even if it requires them to move.

I agree, and making Brisbane more dense makes that more attainable because it creates more properties. As does opening up land for development in regional cities and towns.

Is it? What evidence is there for this? From what I've seen, every major western country has to spend a fortune on new roads and rail and airports and power plants, because building material costs have increased, as has the cost of labour. The only place I've seen relatively low costs is China because their government suppresses the cost of labour and intervenes in the market to ensure building materials are available for low prices. Maybe the latter one would be useful here but the former one wouldn't be.

I agree. I think corporations amd the very rich are screwing us all by paying very little tax.

Growth is necessary, sprawl isn't, and both are stoppable to a high degree. The Netherlands and Denmark both massively reduced sprawl by having hard urban growth boundaries, making people build up rather than out, and concentrating any new communities around railway stations. Our population only grows thanks to immigration, and if we really wanted to stop it, we could, like Japan has. But they're enduring the cost of that, economic stagnation. We've chosen not to follow that, and I think that's the right choice. But we also need to build the infrastructure necessary for that population growth, and I agree that we're failing to do so. But it's probably more complex than just government incompetence.
Unfortunately nothing is easy these days. The Victorian Government has just announced a plan to increase densification around railway stations by building apartment buildings and the NIMBYs are already out in force. Ok for others but not in their wealthy suburbs because it might affect their property values 🤷‍♂️

I would love to see a stadium with retractable roof and playing surface. Bigger outlay but makes the stadium functional for concerts, basketball tennis or even monster trucks without damaging the grass. Every major act coming to Australia would make Vic Park their first stop.

The Save Victoria Park group held a 'protest' in the city today

About 25 middle-elderly white folk straight out of 'Friends of the ABC' stereotype casting
Similar to the School protest at the Gabba a year or so ago.
No one there but it attracted media attention.

About 25 middle-elderly white folk straight out of 'Friends of the ABC' stereotype casting
Lol selfish nimbys. I live in Spring Hill and i can se Vic Park just over the hill, and I think Vic Park stadium/precinct would be great not just for the Lions, but also the city. All that green space is nice but hardly used, just a patch of grass really.

It's one thing to not want a multi-storey apartment to suddenly appear next to your house (I think we'd all be upset). It's another thing altogether though to think that for the visual pleasure of a few people, we are not allowed to do anything with this 50+ hectare green space in the CBD.

Yes I walked past them. I nearly stopped to chat with them but quickly realised I would only have got angry. You catch more flies with honey, or whatever that saying is.

So I've been heckling their Facebook page instead 😂 Sad to say there's a lot of misinformation there, predominantly political whinging with a healthy dose of the well-worn but false "loss of green space" argument.

The good news is there is no rational or coherent argument anywhere to be seen. Hopefully the review committee and government recognise this and see through their bluster.

I loved how they were at the opening of the new Kangaroo Point bridge, NOT, as one might have expected, at Victoria Park. I wonder why they weren't? Something something tree falls in a forest something something make a sound, perhaps?

"we are a group of people from all over Brisbane wanting to preserve our heritage listed green Park bequeathed to the people of Brisbane nearly 150 years ago It is not up to us to provide other options "

:rolleyes:
And yet for many years maybe 90 they allowed golf players to pay money that allowed a small number of Queenslanders to use and access the grounds.
So, no public allowed in this "heritage listed green Park bequeathed to the people of Brisbane" unless you paid.
It has been a golf course for 90 years being 1931-2021. Not sure when players started paying for access to grounds.
Not to mention the golfers continued to rip up the fairways with each hit of the ball ;)

Today you can wander around the place, and workers far outnumber the people walking the grounds.
That was the case for me the last 4 times (midweek) i went for a walk in the park over the past 6 weeks.

The function arears and restaurants located at the highest point of the park were well patronized on each of those visits.
A reasonable number on the driving range but i would not say it was busy.
The driving range could be busy before and after work times and weekends.
That just shows you people will attend the area if there is something to do.
They can take in and enjoy the view over the green space with the CBD in the background when attending a function/wedding/restaurant. It is a great setting that can be improved. Very few would go for a walk around the park.
The view will be even better with the BCC masterplan and Stadium properly integrated.
The BCC master plan will give the park a boost and looks like a wonderful walk in a large green space with a lot of integrated activities. Not to mention the area will get more shade via manmade structures and trees when they mature

I am all for keeping wetlands and greenspace.
But this was a golf course for a very long time and presently is getting very little use by the people of Brisbane.
There is plenty of space to place a stadium as per the location on Brisbane Bold.
I still have reservations on the other 2 venues across the rail line and ICB on Gregory Terrace

Five previous lord mayors J Sorley, C Newman, S Atkinson, B Walch and T Quinn are against any changes.
But i ask each of them when is the last time they walked the park especially in spring/summer since golf stopped.
Or more pointed have they ever walked/used the park even in the golf days especially in spring/summer.

I lived in Brisbane for four years and visited once or twice yearly for the last two decades. I hadn't even heard of Victoria Park until the golf course closed, and as far as I'm aware there wasn't a whole lot of protesting about the existence of the golf course.

When they say ‘people from around Brisbane’ what they mean is ‘people who live within a 2 minute walk of Victoria park’

I lived in Brisbane for four years and visited once or twice yearly for the last two decades. I hadn't even heard of Victoria Park until the golf course closed, and as far as I'm aware there wasn't a whole lot of protesting about the existence of the golf course.
Played golf there once about 20 years ago (too hilly for me).
Never been there other than that.
Have lived in Brisbane for over 40 years.

When they say ‘people from around Brisbane’ what they mean is ‘people who live within a 2 minute walk of Victoria park’

Legit. There is a much better option in Roma st parklands as is.

The one where my pet hate Brisbane Arena is planned to be built.
I will actually consider protesting against that if it finally gets the go ahead.
That park is at least recognized with multiple Green Flag awards the latest for 2022/23

Roma Street Parkland is one of five locations in Australia to hold the 2022/2023 Green Flag Award, an international accreditation given to the world’s best green spaces.

The one where my pet hate Brisbane Arena is planned to be built.
I will actually consider protesting against that if it finally gets the go ahead.
That park is at least recognized with multiple Green Flag awards the latest for 2022/23

Roma Street Parkland is one of five locations in Australia to hold the 2022/2023 Green Flag Award, an international accreditation given to the world’s best green spaces.
Last place I heard they were proposing that is the maintenance yards in the NW corner. Not sure that's winning any awards.

Quirk should never have suggested the Roma Street Parklands as an alternate site for Brisbane Arena
One reason is it goes against the existing PDA.

Below article from Cross River Rail, Qld Gov in 2021.
The PDA for the area did include the Brisbane Arena at the original location. But as we know that came in at $4 billion.

The proposed park extension of greenspace and affordable housing can't swap with the Brisbane Arenas old location as the cost for building social and affordable housing on the original BA site will also be extremely expensive compared to the original PDA site for housing and parkland.

There has been something very fishy in regard to the Brisbane Arena for many years now.
Originally it was to be private owned and run.
Even in the new 100 day review the Brisbane Arena is the only venue exempt out of 35 from suggestions or changes.

The existing 11 hectares of publicly accessible open space within the Roma St Parklands will not only be protected forever, but will be expanded even further by more than two hectares.

The development scheme also provides for new social and affordable housing as part of new residential buildings parallel to the rail corridor, adding to the existing apartment complexes along Parkland Boulevard.

1734259529155.png
1734259343358.png

News Gabba Upgrade & Olympics News