Gaff - does he stay or go? Let me set the scene..

He certainly was an integral part to the team this year, i won't begrudge him going either when you here what they are prepared to pay him, i'm not sure he is worth that much.

He is a very good player, but IMO that sort of money should be for a player that is a game breaker, i'm not sure he is that.
He isn't.

I tell you what, if they pay him $1.2m it's definitely overs. He's a good player, but he's not a match winner, the type who does it off his own boot. And North Melbourne are clearly very desperate and willing to pay overs.

I can see them blowing all this cash and still missing the finals.
Thanks for the service Andrew, and good luck at North. That's a heap of money to be offered.

But one of the key traits of being a match winner is being a regular goalkicker. And Gaffy has never been that. He kicks the odd one on the run, but has always been a dodgy set shot at best.

We should do all we can to try and get Coniglio right now. If GWS are clearing cap space by allowing Shiel and Lobb to move then they must be confident of Kelly and Coniglio extending for longer, now North fans all seem to think that Kelly to them next year is a done deal, which would leave a lot of cash for GWS to secure Coniglio.

Throw a million at him, make some noise about it, offer up as much as we can.
That is definitely left field . Would love Coniglio , but If GWS are prepared to trade Shiel they must rate Cogs higher ?

The team obviously showed they can win without him with the rise of Sheed + Rioli, Ryan and Cripps showed they can impact running through the midfield. Shuey, Yeo and Redden are well and truly established.

Fair chance we'll also land Kelly which would be nice providing we don't pay overs for him, imo.

We'll also be well positioned to land a big name at the end of next year with the free cap space. Perhaps there's a chance that may happen in the upcoming draft this year.

I'm ok with it. He's given great service, good luck to him. All the best Gaffy.

You think we are getting Tim Kelly from Geelong this trade period?

That is definitely left field . Would love Coniglio , but If GWS are prepared to trade Shiel they must rate Cogs higher ?

I would think they do, he is easily better, Coniglio becomes a RFA end of next season, which I reckon quite a lot of us figured we'd be chasing very hard.

We should do all we can to try and get Coniglio right now. If GWS are clearing cap space by allowing Shiel and Lobb to move then they must be confident of Kelly and Coniglio extending for longer, now North fans all seem to think that Kelly to them next year is a done deal, which would leave a lot of cash for GWS to secure Coniglio.

Money won’t be everything on Cogs. Maybe they can force a trade. I also doubt North have the cap space after Polec & Gaff.

Everyone rates Cogs higher. If GWS slip next year does he want to commit to them further? Wheels could come off quickly.

Cogs has been WC target for some time now.

I would think they do, he is easily better, Coniglio becomes a RFA end of next season, which I reckon quite a lot of us figured we'd be chasing very hard.
The obvious is to have as much coin as possible to try and pick him up. Who would most prefer on the list, Coniglio or Gaff ?
Cogs and Kelly would be brilliant additions to the midfield. Also need to draft a young skillful mid. Future Shuey replacement. Kick off both feet, no more one sided players.

agreed this would be the biggest win should we pull it off.

You think we are getting Tim Kelly from Geelong this trade period?

Lots of water to go under the bridge yet. As we know the trade period can throw up some curve balls and I think there's going to be a huge amount of activity this year.

To your question; I think there's a better than even chance Kelly will be in the blue and gold next year, but who knows - I'm just another 'expert online flog' pretending he knows what he's talking about.

Shiel is from Melbourne, that’s a bigger draw home than Perth, and more competition for him, driving the price up.

As a Sydney sider, id back in Sydney to appeal a fair bit over moving back to Perth.

I won't be.
He's a great player but it's shown we didn't need him. I wasn't happy with the way gaff went about his sulking after we won
It's not about gaff, he should have been smiling and rejoicing instead of sulking and crying in the public's eyes.
Go cry privately but don't put a dampener on the premiership win and make it about himself.

Plus we saw what losing Priddis and Mitchel did to our team with others stepping up and this year with the injuries others stepped up.

I agree, I thought it was pretty poor of him to act like a sook instead of celebrating his teammates success. Especially given he missed the grand final due to his own actions.

Shiel is from Melbourne, that’s a bigger draw home than Perth, and more competition for him, driving the price up.

As a Sydney sider, id back in Sydney to appeal a fair bit over moving back to Perth.
Really ? Perth is far more laid back and has a fair bit more going on in the city than it used to. Plus the fact of the new stadium and playing in front of 50,000 plus fans every second week. New state of the art training facilities . I'm a touch biased, I don't particularly like Sydney. Melbourne on the other hand, I can definitely see the attractiveness of joining his mate at the Hawks.

Cogs would be extremely hard to prise loose. I think the fact that GWS are letting the likes of Shiel seek out suitors and could potentially hppen with Kelly next year they would be making a calculated move backing themselves a better chance to retain a wa boy over a Victorian.

Sydney is nice. East of Balmain.

Cogs would be extremely hard to prise loose. I think the fact that GWS are letting the likes of Shiel seek out suitors and could potentially hppen with Kelly next year they would be making a calculated move backing themselves a better chance to retain a wa boy over a Victorian.

Won’t get him with that attitude. :p

Money won’t be everything on Cogs. Maybe they can force a trade. I also doubt North have the cap space after Polec & Gaff.

On Trade Radio Barrett said he had spoken to my club's recruiters/list management people and he said the club still has capacity for Kelly. I'd imagine that he would pretty much be it until some significant retirements.

I know Barrett likes to make things up but if the Kelly thing has been an "understanding" between the parties from last year then I don't think the club would have jeopardised that.

I'm reliably told that he loves Sydney. Doesn't mean we can't get him when his contract is up, but it won't be because he doesn't like the city he lives in.

Because GC first round compo comes after their pick. Obviously they had a terrible year so there pick is much higher than ours.

yep WCE play to win premierships at it would seem GC play to win draft picks.

Beating the Pies meant an awful lot to me- so thanks

On Trade Radio Barrett said he had spoken to my club's recruiters/list management people and he said the club still has capacity for Kelly. I'd imagine that he would pretty much be it until some significant retirements.

I know Barrett likes to make things up but if the Kelly thing has been an "understanding" between the parties from last year then I don't think the club would have jeopardised that.
Find that hard to believe just doing some basic yearly approx sums

Gaff 1.2, Kelly 1.4, Polec .8 and Hall .6 is all up around 4 million of 13 million salary cap

That leaves 9 million for the other 36 which is around 250k per player

Find that hard to believe just doing some basic yearly approx sums

Gaff 1.2, Kelly 1.4, Polec .8 and Hall .6 is all up around 4 million of 13 million salary cap

That leaves 9 million for the other 36 which is around 250k per player
Higgins, cunnington, goldstein too. Let me guess heavily front ended contracts. Playing for free next this season?

Gaff - does he stay or go? Let me set the scene..