May 3, 2007
Parts Unknown
Man City, Valencia, Lazio, Panthers
So gather around the camp fire as your in for a hell of a preview....

Fremantle takes on Essendon this weekend at docklands.

How has freo fared vs essendon at docklands in "recent" history? Not too well. Freos record vs Geelong in Geelong is a much Better record.

Freos last win vs Essendon at Docklands was in round 2 of 2010. I will talk about that one soon.

How have we fared since? Again not too well.

Some people complain about unfair and unbalanced draws such as Richmond winning a flag in 2010 off the back of 7 games at the MCG in a row before finals. Freo from 2011-16 had essendon once. they were all in WA. I wouldn't of mind a docklands win vs essendon when freo were good around 2012-15.

But looking how we faired vs Essendon in Docklands since 2016...….

2017: Lost to them by 15 points in round 23 of 2017. Wasn't really close to be honest freo were down my 32 points at 3 quarter time.

2018: No Marvel game. Freo won 16.10.106 to essendons 14.6.90.

2019: Round 9, Essendon won 8.12.60 to freos 7.11.53. Still remember that last 10 minutes of that game, freo had a few inside 50s but essendon held off the late fight back. Round 22, Essendon won 13.9.87 to freos 7.13.55 in Perth. This was Ross Lyons last game as freo coach.

2020: round 1, Essendon won 9.9.63 to freos 8.9.57. I was actually thought of going to this game, then the virus happened.

2021: Round 9. Essendon won 10.8.68 to freos 8.13.61.

So practically in the last 3 or so years, freo has had a few narrow losses vs essendon you can make a case freo should of won 1 or 2 of them, possibly all 3 from 2019-2021.

But lets talk about that win in round 2 of 2010.

the game was close for 3 quarters. Then Freo kicked 6.1.37 to essendons 0.2.2 to win by 44 points

Quarter time
Essendon 3.4.22
fremantle 3.2.20

Half time
essendon 6.10.46
fremantle 6.6.42

3 quarter time
essendon 9.13.67
fremantle 11.10.76

full time
Essendon 9.15.69
Fremantle 17.11.113

But Wait there's more... Theres 2 remarkable things about this game.

I looked at the 3 Umpires on that game.

Jason Armstrong was one of them. The 2nd umpire was Michael Avon. Then there was the 3rd one and I was shocked on who that umpire was. Yep its that Eagle loving umpire him self. the one we all know and love....

Dean Margetts!

Yeah so Margetts was an umpire for that win in 2010. Did he give out many free kicks in the final quarter? If he didn't, the only job he had to do was bounce the ball in the centre square every time freo kicked a goal. Essendon kicked 2 behinds in the final quarter to freos 6 goals and 1 behind. Or throw it in when the ball was out of bounds or bounce the ball again when it was tied up.

the other remarkable thing was Kepler Bradley didn't play. He didn't play until round 9. So I assumed he was injured. Essendon got off Lightly in retrospect. what was a 7 goal loss essendon was given, might of ended up a 10-12 goal beating if Kepler Bradley played. lol After 12 long years, only one bloke is left from that team that beat essendon in 2010: David Mundy. He got 15 disposals and 1 goal in that game.

so comes this game. How will freo go? Can freo win?

I think freo can go ok going by the last 2-3 weeks. Yes they can win.

What's my Prediction? I say Freo will in this by a point 11.13.79 to Essendons 12.6.78. It will be in dramatic circumstances too.

With 20 seconds to go With the game tied at 78 each, someone like Frederick or Walters is running on a wing and tries to kick the ball from the 50 metre arc. It falls 15 metres short. A random Essendon defender accidently takes Travis Coylers head off. Freo gets a free kick with a high tackle. Coyler gets a set shot from goal 15 metres out on a slight angle.

Travis walks slowly to take the shot, the siren sounds. Travis doesnt need a goal, just needs a point to win. Essendon fans on the goal end hurl abuse at him, verbally attacks his man bun. Then say we glad we dumped you to freo, just Like Kepler Bradley lol.

Coyler kicks it..... then hits the goal post as it goes in. Doesn't matter Freo wins by the barest of Margins.

I hope Freo does beat Essendon in Marvel, we are long overdue to beat them. Most people on here thought it was tough to Beat a decent hawks side in Victoria from 2010-18. To me a Freo win vs Essendon in Victoria is just as elusive.

The last few weeks being all Optus games doesn't really give any guage of how we go away from home (Adelaide by one point wasn't really convincing).
Keen to see how we travel today, but not confident.

On SM-T970 using BigFooty.com mobile app
After seeing how Adelaide have played since that game i reckon that was a pretty good win.

I’m concerned about the extra tall they are playing. If they get decent ball into their fed line it could expose us. I wouldn’t be surprised if Logue is a late call up.
We should still win but geez I’ve got no confidence!

I’m concerned about the extra tall they are playing. If they get decent ball into their fed line it could expose us. I wouldn’t be surprised if Logue is a late call up.
We should still win but geez I’ve got no confidence!
If we get on top in the midfield and stop them getting clean ball to their forwards we should be able to use the intercept marking of Ryan, Chapman and Young and the speed of Walker, Clark and Chapman to our advantage on the turnover.

Fremantle Fan + GameDay =

Big Brother Housemate GIF by Big Brother Australia

Crazy thing about today - if Schultz and Fyfe come in and Banfield and Acres go out then that is our best 22. I don't think we have fielded a best 22 at any one time in the last 10 years.
I actually think Acres is best 22 on current form although to me he always feels 1 or 2 bad games away from being back in the whipping chambers.

Fyfe and Schultz definitely walk ups when available but apart from Banfield you’d not want to be coming off a bad game if you were NOD, Walker or Frederick if one or both became available.

Suffice to say with 21 blokes who can all make a claim to being B22 out there and several others in good form at Peel waiting to snatch their spots we should be standing up and delivering a win today.

Surely we progress ?
If the umpires put the whistle away Freo by 13

Cmon Freo ⚓⚓⚓⚓⚓⚓

Essendon are playing two genuine rucks and two metre Peter that can do some ruck work in their F50. Today we desperately need 2021 Sean Darcy back to replace the pale imitation of 2022 Sean Darcy. If that happens we'll have a solid win.

So gather around the camp fire as your in for a hell of a preview....

Fremantle takes on Essendon this weekend at docklands.

How has freo fared vs essendon at docklands in "recent" history? Not too well. Freos record vs Geelong in Geelong is a much Better record.

Freos last win vs Essendon at Docklands was in round 2 of 2010. I will talk about that one soon.

How have we fared since? Again not too well.

Some people complain about unfair and unbalanced draws such as Richmond winning a flag in 2010 off the back of 7 games at the MCG in a row before finals. Freo from 2011-16 had essendon once. they were all in WA. I wouldn't of mind a docklands win vs essendon when freo were good around 2012-15.

But looking how we faired vs Essendon in Docklands since 2016...….

2017: Lost to them by 15 points in round 23 of 2017. Wasn't really close to be honest freo were down my 32 points at 3 quarter time.

2018: No Marvel game. Freo won 16.10.106 to essendons 14.6.90.

2019: Round 9, Essendon won 8.12.60 to freos 7.11.53. Still remember that last 10 minutes of that game, freo had a few inside 50s but essendon held off the late fight back. Round 22, Essendon won 13.9.87 to freos 7.13.55 in Perth. This was Ross Lyons last game as freo coach.

2020: round 1, Essendon won 9.9.63 to freos 8.9.57. I was actually thought of going to this game, then the virus happened.

2021: Round 9. Essendon won 10.8.68 to freos 8.13.61.

So practically in the last 3 or so years, freo has had a few narrow losses vs essendon you can make a case freo should of won 1 or 2 of them, possibly all 3 from 2019-2021.

But lets talk about that win in round 2 of 2010.

the game was close for 3 quarters. Then Freo kicked 6.1.37 to essendons 0.2.2 to win by 44 points

Quarter time
Essendon 3.4.22
fremantle 3.2.20

Half time
essendon 6.10.46
fremantle 6.6.42

3 quarter time
essendon 9.13.67
fremantle 11.10.76

full time
Essendon 9.15.69
Fremantle 17.11.113

But Wait there's more... Theres 2 remarkable things about this game.

I looked at the 3 Umpires on that game.

Jason Armstrong was one of them. The 2nd umpire was Michael Avon. Then there was the 3rd one and I was shocked on who that umpire was. Yep its that Eagle loving umpire him self. the one we all know and love....

Dean Margetts!

Yeah so Margetts was an umpire for that win in 2010. Did he give out many free kicks in the final quarter? If he didn't, the only job he had to do was bounce the ball in the centre square every time freo kicked a goal. Essendon kicked 2 behinds in the final quarter to freos 6 goals and 1 behind. Or throw it in when the ball was out of bounds or bounce the ball again when it was tied up.

the other remarkable thing was Kepler Bradley didn't play. He didn't play until round 9. So I assumed he was injured. Essendon got off Lightly in retrospect. what was a 7 goal loss essendon was given, might of ended up a 10-12 goal beating if Kepler Bradley played. lol After 12 long years, only one bloke is left from that team that beat essendon in 2010: David Mundy. He got 15 disposals and 1 goal in that game.

so comes this game. How will freo go? Can freo win?

I think freo can go ok going by the last 2-3 weeks. Yes they can win.

What's my Prediction? I say Freo will in this by a point 11.13.79 to Essendons 12.6.78. It will be in dramatic circumstances too.

With 20 seconds to go With the game tied at 78 each, someone like Frederick or Walters is running on a wing and tries to kick the ball from the 50 metre arc. It falls 15 metres short. A random Essendon defender accidently takes Travis Coylers head off. Freo gets a free kick with a high tackle. Coyler gets a set shot from goal 15 metres out on a slight angle.

Travis walks slowly to take the shot, the siren sounds. Travis doesnt need a goal, just needs a point to win. Essendon fans on the goal end hurl abuse at him, verbally attacks his man bun. Then say we glad we dumped you to freo, just Like Kepler Bradley lol.

Coyler kicks it..... then hits the goal post as it goes in. Doesn't matter Freo wins by the barest of Margins.

I hope Freo does beat Essendon in Marvel, we are long overdue to beat them. Most people on here thought it was tough to Beat a decent hawks side in Victoria from 2010-18. To me a Freo win vs Essendon in Victoria is just as elusive.
Top write up mate. Interesting scenario you've envisaged at the end, I hope it's not that close!!! Yikes if so, are cardiac arrests on Easter Sunday rare?!?!

Essendon are playing two genuine rucks and two metre Peter that can do some ruck work in their F50. Today we desperately need 2021 Sean Darcy back to replace the pale imitation of 2022 Sean Darcy. If that happens we'll have a solid win.
Plus another 200cm+ in Cox. Logue plays med-sub as insurance at the very least.

Woooooooooo! It's game day mofos! It's Easter Sunday....there's chocolate in the houssseeeeee! I think there's chocolate in the house most days (???).

Okay, Footy Gods, if you wanna come down and tickle my testicles, I'll let ya...but only for a Freo win! Nothing else will suffice! See what I'm prepared to sacrifice for you lot haha! :tongueoutv1::roflv1:

Without any confidence whatsoever, Freo to finally step out the shadows of a broken Big Brother's shell of its former self and rise like the proverbial ashes from the flame.....it's today that a phoenix will arise and be born, a football team hungry, on the warpath and without 2 key players will galvanise itself for a stern test and romp its way to a stunning victory. It's been a tremendous morning so far - so if you're gonna dream, dream big!

Confidence?! Confidence, well it's just a feeling. Action gets it done.

And action it will be. Freo by 48 :freo::hearteyes: