Gameday: Round 8 - Essendon vs Sydney

We are no chance next week. Richo will add another 3 votes to his Brownlow campaign. Problem is after next week we have, Adelaide away (which I'm stupid enough to be flying over for!) and then the Hawks, where Buddy might actually bring up his ton![/quote]

I actually feel bad for laughing at this... but we have to laugh at times like these

Hawthorn may get close to the 40 goal mark and Buddy could kick a lazy 15.

I'll have to remember to make him the captain of my super coach team that week.

Who got the most possies for Essendon? Monfries? Going by the posts he must've turned it over a fair bit... well he must've taken over in Watson's absence! Zing!

I'm not having a dig at Stanton but if a guy gets 19 possessions, no goals, 1 tackle, 1 mark and is named in our best... there's a problem. Considering Welsh had the same number of possessions, took 9 marks, laid 3 tackles and kicked 2 goals but didn't get a mention... wtf? Stanton must've made every possession a winner by the sounds of it, otherwise whoever was giving out Essendon's votes has Stanton's name engraved amongst Essendon's best. Can someone explain this to me, I didn't see the game. Did Welsh cough up every possession he got except his 2 goals?

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/matches/report.asp?round_no=8

Really?

I didn't notice him throw himself on the ground looking for a free kick once.

Nor did i realize he is in his fourth year of football.

His disposal was very poor today though.

Monfries doesn't throw himself to the ground looking for frees. He's just so small and light that he gets them naturally.

I liked Reimers today, I thought he looked switched on. His disposal was pretty bad, but to be honest he's normally better than that. What disappointed me the most was that he still seemed to run off his man at the wrong time, like he has in other matches, and got caught out.

My comparison between Reimers and Monfries is that I don't think both of them will/have improved much since their first year of football. Reimers can still prove me wrong, but I think we might be saying "he's no better than he was 4 years ago" in four years time.

I was not able to see the game today and after seeing the score im not sure i really want to watch the replay. Can anyone enlighten me on what happened in the first, 2nd half of the 3rd and the last qtr? It seems like every week we play 1 qtr of good footy and for the rest are as good as dog shit.

Re: Ins and Outs V Richmond

Had a good look at yesterdays game and a few things stand out for me- some may not be popular.
1. Adam Ramanauskas is gone. His acceleration is just not there and he isnt strong enough in the packs. Yes I know he chased down a guy-who was slowing down and should have nailed his kick and he is coming back from an injury but the game has truly passed him by. He has won- hopefully- his most important fight and while you could play him for the rest of the season he should not suit up in 2009.
2. Jason Laycock is in BIG trouble. Again watch the tape and the thing that really worries me is his retinance to take physical contact especially in ruck contests. Hard to teach work ethic even harder to teach bravery.
3. Reimers, Myers,Hislop, Houli, Jetta and Neagle all show heaps of promise. Pretty exciting I reckon.
4. Paddy Ryder has lost all confidence. Time to let him be more offensive and just play.
5. Monfries and Slattery are not up to it. There limitations are too severe.
6. Andrew Lovett good be a great footballer. Instead it looks like he is content to settle for being a mediocre one.
7. Keep playing the kids. It wouldnt hurt us to keep losing truth be told.

Had a good look at yesterdays game and a few things stand out for me- some may not be popular.
1. Adam Ramanauskas is gone. His acceleration is just not there and he isnt strong enough in the packs. Yes I know he chased down a guy-who was slowing down and should have nailed his kick and he is coming back from an injury but the game has truly passed him by. He has won- hopefully- his most important fight and while you could play him for the rest of the season he should not suit up in 2009.
2. Jason Laycock is in BIG trouble. Again watch the tape and the thing that really worries me is his retinance to take physical contact especially in ruck contests. Hard to teach work ethic even harder to teach bravery.
3. Reimers, Myers,Hislop, Houli, Jetta and Neagle all show heaps of promise. Pretty exciting I reckon.
4. Paddy Ryder has lost all confidence. Time to let him be more offensive and just play.
6. Andrew Lovett good be a great footballer. Instead it looks like he is content to settle for being a mediocre one.

Really well written well done.
Absolutely agree with everything you have written but would like to see Knights persevere with Monfries, turned it over big time yesterday but lets just see how he goes adapting to midfield pressure on his disposals over the next few weeks. Hislop looks an absolute gem i reckon and would love to see Paddy play CHF until scotty comes back. Been a pretty tough season so far but stick with the boys!!! Go Dons

Agree for the most part however what has Jetta shown to indicate heaps of promise ?

5 disposals yesterday was very poor and he has not made his mark on any game played in his career.

Gameday: Round 8 - Essendon vs Sydney