Gardening Thread

Rained heaps last night.
At least the garden got a decent drink..
After a long hot Friday they would of been thirsty...
We got another 30mm so 70mm in the last two weeks, veggie patch is going off

I looked out the window to see where Betty was ..

Ohh the cat enclosure out of control like Mario Bros huge weeds and fly traps .Poor Betty.

My cactus pots etc need weeding ...I think unseen some random things growing or jumped pots.
Plus mow backyard

I'm not working much this week.
If weather ok I have abit to do.

The best part of being on the road in the country with my job is collecting seeds of plants I want to grow. Found some fragrant saltbush setting seed today so I grabbed some and will plant it straight away. Makes a great native hedge and I think my chooks will eat the berries otherwise the native birds will.

It's all the about the little things..

Trouble is all the peas that come up
Peas are good though if you grow them as green compost as they will provide nitrogen to the soil during winter preparing it for your summer veggies

Less good if they're competing with your herbs. But yes.

My parsley grows everywhere the chooks don’t even eat it now, they are over it

Got a solar water pump ...not super powerful ..going ok.
Might need more ☀️🌞.

Went to Bunnings to get mum some bulbs for Christmas...all marked down ...winning .
I'll got back and get some for me.
Seen water Lilly burbs 10$...never grew them from bubs before .

Lady on the checkout the worst ever.
Started scanning ...get all most to the end forgets where she up to and starts again WTF.
When I got to checkout I was the only one there.
Then look back 25 people waiting...

Got a solar water pump ...not super powerful ..going ok.
Might need more ☀️🌞.

Went to Bunnings to get mum some bulbs for Christmas...all marked down ...winning .
I'll got back and get some for me.
Seen water Lilly burbs 10$...never grew them from bubs before .

Lady on the checkout the worst ever.
Started scanning ...get all most to the end forgets where she up to and starts again WTF.
When I got to checkout I was the only one there.
Then look back 25 people waiting...
Bunnings registers should have a list of what's already scanned up.

I sneak out between showers to start weeding my garden beds and all the pots I have .
.did one full garden bed bunch of pots ....
Next min ☀️🌞☀️ comes out now hot AF ...ok tools down going to the beach ...is this tradie life ??

heart of television dog GIF by Hallmark Channel

Got our patio installed last week and finally was able to do the lawn today after far too long. I've not watered in so long, but with all the rain the grass is so lush and healthy.

It just looks so damn good.

406683940_896294052073780_2220622411729271360_n.jpg

386868492_356807220387188_4736311590461786511_n.jpg
Looks great. Where’s the barbecue going?

Probably me being nit picky and it'd be a pain of a job...but a lick of hardwood timber oil on that fence would make it pop superbly. I did something similar with wooden fence screening and wooden lattice and it makes a huge difference.

New neighbour over the back wanted to replace the not very old colorbond fence between us with a wooden fence like above, at their expense, so we agreed. Looks good, even though we got the horizontal rails side, but we have fairly dense garden in front of it. It’s much browner but Cruyff’s is probably older and may have weathered.

Looks just like weathered pine decking. Our lattice went from pure shitty privacy stuff to feature with some oil and a few big pot plants in front of it.

My wife wants to stain it but it's not the smallest of jobs. And it costs a few hundred bucks to boot.

I made a shelf today .
And brought another one with 4 levels to store more pots .

Prob have over 200.now :eekv1:

I don't think I'll buy or get more plants . famous last words.
Just maintain what I have .

Unless I fence of an area out back so the dogs can't wreak .

Got a few things to pot up .

Gardening Thread