Not a bad commentary team actually.On a completely unrelated note I was surprised by how much I enjoyed Jack Riewoldt’s commentary. Hope he does more of our games.
Dawson is a perfect example of a great captains choice. Leads from the front.VB was our worst. Classic Neil Craig making a plodder the skipper.
I'd love to see him on the Sunday Footy Show handball competitionSerious question - Is ROB the least skilled player on any AFL list?
Best I can recall for a Crows game. They must all really hate CollingwoodNot a bad commentary team actually.
"Current whipping boy" are inevitably those players who are underperforming more often than not week after week, yet keep their place in the side eg ROB and Smith, McHenry too.ROB seems to be the current whipping boy of the board.
See above. They're awful.His ruckwork is not that bad. His marking and disposal around the ground can range from adequate to woeful.
Agreed. It's not his fault that Strachan is locked into the SANFL, but I don't see how he could be any worse than ROB right now.Due to our ordinary draft picking we have no alternative to him, which is hardly his fault.
Excellent postThe NBA analysts uses a term to describe certain players, they either class them as being high floor/low ceiling or low floor/high ceiling.
Basically the low ceiling/high floor are players who have the potential to be great, but early are inconsistent and may have games were they only rate as a 2/10.
Or the flip side the high floor/low ceiling are the guys who will consistently be a 5-6 out of 10 every week, but that's the most you ever get out of them.
I know I'm rambling, but the point I'm getting to is that this club has always over valued the high floor/low ceiling players. Instead of showing patience and building confidence in the high ceiling players we always seem to drop them as soon as we can in order to bring back a low ceiling player.
These 2 didn't give up when we were down and said come on we are not laying down and we're going to drag you across the line no matter what.Rankine and Dawson by far our best leaders. Damning that both not developed at our club
Composure sits alongside execution and Effort is a hygiene factor.
Thought Nank did well. Did some great things under tremendous pressure. Will get better too.
Even when under pressure he seems to have time. Doesn't always work but you can see he has something.
Really? It confused the hell outta me.Excellent post
Leadership is what Dawson and Rankine did in that last quarter,.
This is irrefutable.
Dawson we got right as the captain, the other leaders sets a terrible standard of what is acceptable.
When the game is on the line we want leaders who embrace the pressure and most importantly execute.
This sets the standard for the next generation of what it takes to lead and win.
Hygiene factors are not leadership qualities, perhaps in Primary school, but not in a professional sport.
Not that complicated.relapse said:
"Basically the low ceiling/high floor are players who have the potential to be great, but early are inconsistent and may have games were they only rate as a 2/10.
Or the flip side the high floor/low ceiling are the guys who will consistently be a 5-6 out of 10 every week, but that's the most you ever get out of them."
+
Really? It confused the hell outta me.
What's the difference between " low ceiling/high floor" and "high floor/low ceiling", above??
I reckon at least 50% of random footy fans pulled off the street would be comfortably better kicks than him. It’s mind boggling.I'd love to see him on the Sunday Footy Show handball competition
And remember that kicking one they had on the old Crows Show?
Mate, it was a joke.Composure sits alongside execution and Effort is a hygiene factor.
I'd have as my 3:
Skills and Execution/Composure
Footy Smarts/IQ
Speed and Power
These 3 are god given and generally can't be changed.
I agree that you need at least 2 of the 3.
This is why we lose so many close games. It’s not luck, gameplan, or even the umpiring that is the worst offender - It’s that we have so many horribly uncomposed, low skill players in our 22.The amount of Low Football IQ players we have is astonishing.... Murphy, Jones, McHenry, Laird, ROB, Keays, Himmelburg, Smith... All seem totally incapable of making any sort of quick decision and executing under even a small amount of pressure.
As soon as we can get serious and fair dinkum and get rid of this bilge, we wont be a serious finalist contender.
Sorry should have quoted froggys post wasn't responding to yours.Mate, it was a joke.
He said "3 main factors" but named four.
You've named five, so:
View attachment 1993391
"Amongst the main factors are such diverse elements as ..." etc.
Also: "Effort is a hygiene factor"??
How are effort and hygiene related?
Not that complicated.
Who were our outs?And, Collingwood were without Mihocek, Elliot and Adam Levine.
Murphy, McHenry, Rob, Smith, Jones were all in. So whoever wasn’t playing instead of them were significant outs.Who were our outs?