GDFL 2009 Season

Things are looking very interesting on the GDFL front this season, the top 5 is well and truly up for grabs.

BPH are looking the best team in the competition in my opinion, potent forward line and class on ballers.

East are frontrunners and are once again the toughest team in the league to gauge their form.

Belmont are quietly getting under the radar of a few clubs and expect them to shape the 5 heading into the finals, I don't think they have players to make it into the 5 however.

I still think Corio are still in the mix, Nicholls and Potter in and they function differently.

Bannockburn are looking very good when they are on song, but look very poor when thrown off the boil.

A red hot Weribee have a massive match this week against Thomson who seem to have found some form thrashing Corio last round. This could decide a top 3 position.

North Geelong have been found out against the top 5 teams and will slip away.

Anakie, West & Winch are making up the numbers.

Werribee lost to Thomson and slipped a game outside of the top 3. The Macleods were everywhere, kicking 10 between them. Kitchen added another 5 to his tally and Hyland again 2nd best on for the visitors.

Bell Post Hill got done by 4 goals by Bannockburn, Brent Grgic held to 1 goal, was most probably the difference. Good to see Nick Farr return and have imediate impact.

Inverleigh, down at 3/4 time, overcome a very competitive Anakie. Who has taken the coaching reigns out there now Habib resigned? I thought Owen Lewis would've had a field day against Anakie's defence but only kicked 4.

East beat an innacurate Winch by 5 goals, Closter adds 6 and Kruger for Winch continues his impressive early season form. 2 goals 5 to 4 goals 1 in the first quarter seemed to come back and bite Winch on the bum.

Corio swept past a gallant Blue West by 9 goals, the scoreboard however doesn't do justice to match. West up by 5 points at the last stanza, Corio banged home 9 goals to none in the last quarter. Are the devils really struggling or are West not as bad as people think?

Belmont got over the line against North in a shootout at Winter Reserve. 43 goals were kicked combined by both sides. Williams kicking 7 for the vicotrious Lions, and despite the best efforts of a big footy poster he should definitely be in the 1's. Not bad work for an overweight footballer :D Elsey added another 5 to his total to keep his season average above 5 a game and lead the goalkicking race.

So an interesting week in the GDFL, Werribee's loss has hampered there top 3 aspirations while % seperates 3 teams from top spot.

Belmont, North & Inverleigh are only a game out of the 5, Corio only technically 2 games out of the 5 are a long way back when you take their paltry 89% in to consideration.

Some crucial games this weekend, most notably: Werribee vs Belmont, a win away from home for the Lions will leave them only percentage outside the top 5. Inverleigh could also join them if they account for Winch at Winch which this season is a lot harder than previously thought.

Did you see it?

If so, how many weeks do you think he will get?

Well given that Wayne Tyquin only got 10 weeks for the most disgraceful thing ive seen in football (some years back) in regards to kicking a player then i would say it would be around that mark. Maybe less than that considering he (Wayne) at the time was not playing and ran onto the field. I think kickers should have the book thrown at them.

Are you talkin bout the game a few years ago between belmont and inverleigh? Im pretty sure tyquin was playing and the incident happened over near the scoreboard and coaches box. I could be wrong tho.

Have heard a rumour that he may end up the same as Brodi Holland.
Deregestered as he will have accumulated more than 16 weeks over a 2 year period.

i'd say it'd be only a rumour.. Elzinga has barely played over the last two years.. there is no way he's racked up 16 weeks in that time.

pretty sure its over a career not 2 years cause i remember reading in the paper bout holland had been suspened 4 a few games bak in 2005 and that was included, though if nathan lewis can get bak playing again holland should easily be allowed

His 6 games for striking Brett Montgomery in 2006 must have been included, I find that very weird.

But as you have said if Nathan Lewis can get re-registered then anyone can.

Did Elzinga get a set suspension or is he to face the tribunal?

On a scale from 1-10 (10 being bad) how hard was the contact made and how many weeks do you suspect he will get?

Are you talkin bout the game a few years ago between belmont and inverleigh? Im pretty sure tyquin was playing and the incident happened over near the scoreboard and coaches box. I could be wrong tho.
Yeah same incident and no he wasn't playing he had his hand operated on the week before and was coaching from the sidelines. It was 10m in front of me yes over hear the score board. Sad that an obvious champion of the game had to resort to that and be tarnished with that. But anyway anyone who kicks should be outted from the game i reckon its a disgraceful act.

Ok ill take your word for it mate, I actually left at half time as i think the game was on a sunday so was a little seedy and plus belmont was bout 10 goals down at half time. Spewin i left tho as i heard all about the police escort and everything that he had to get outta the ground.

I was about 15 meters away from the incident on saturday and didnt see wat happened, neither did anyone else that was standing in front of the clubhouse i dont think. But it looked like the only bloke who saw it was the boundary umpire.

Kicking is a dogs act and if he's found guilty you'd think 10 weeks would have to be the minimum penalty.

Ok ill take your word for it mate, I actually left at half time as i think the game was on a sunday so was a little seedy and plus belmont was bout 10 goals down at half time. Spewin i left tho as i heard all about the police escort and everything that he had to get outta the ground.

I was about 15 meters away from the incident on saturday and didnt see wat happened, neither did anyone else that was standing in front of the clubhouse i dont think. But it looked like the only bloke who saw it was the boundary umpire.

Kicking is a dogs act and if he's found guilty you'd think 10 weeks would have to be the minimum penalty.
Funny that, i was about 40 metres away, didnt see it either, think i heard it though. He didnt argue the point much did he, just trudged off. Looked pretty down actually. Looked like he knew he had done something bad.

I think the fact that it was pretty much right in front of the boundary umpire meant he couldnt really complain about it. Does anyone know when the case will be heard coz there was nothin bout the report in the addy yesterday?

I think the GDFL try to keep these things quiet dont they.

You could be right but them " journalists ":thumbsu: from the ablettiser read this forum so dont be suprised if something comes up in the paper about it!

But it seems as if the gdfl doesnt really have the reputation that it had a few years ago and these sort of incidents seem to be pretty much non exsistent in the gdfl anymore.

Just received my weekly copy of the Geelong News. Interesting rumour in there regarding Haami Williams and the fact that there is a rumour doing the rounds that Haami is heading back to Ammos.

What a load of crap. Where do these so called jouros get this stuff (i know on here mostly) but even this one hasnt been on here.

I am sure Spider will be able to confirm this as utter fiction but it is just another example of poor journalism this time by Pat Nolan. Hey Pat did you actually think to bother calling Belmont FC to check if this is true, i am sure you havent.

3 weeks for Elzinga pleading guilty to kicking is not setting a good example by the tribunal when Scott Pickett gets 4 for striking.:thumbsdown:

Just received my weekly copy of the Geelong News. Interesting rumour in there regarding Haami Williams and the fact that there is a rumour doing the rounds that Haami is heading back to Ammos.

What a load of crap. Where do these so called jouros get this stuff (i know on here mostly) but even this one hasnt been on here.

I am sure Spider will be able to confirm this as utter fiction but it is just another example of poor journalism this time by Pat Nolan. Hey Pat did you actually think to bother calling Belmont FC to check if this is true, i am sure you havent.

I am actually stick up for the brilliant journalist's that cover geelong football here:eek:

Ive got a good mate who play's for the lion's and it seem's there is a few boy's that aren't happy with the coaches inparticular one of the coache's. Im not going to name name's or name which coach but it seem's like all's not well at winter reserve.

Although i havn't heard anything about haami leaving so it may be pure speculation from Pat Nolan here but maybe but maybe spider, punchy or the wiseoldman could fill us all in?

The issue has been done to death in this thread.

Haami is going nowhere.

Haami may not be going anywhere bourkey but for Pat Nolan to come out and write that article plus with what i mentioned in the above post maybe all is not well out there?

I wouldn't think he'd go anywhere coz i reckn this will be his last year as player but who know's, he could wind up at ammo's next year as an assistant i guess know one will know besides haami himself.

The rumour has been doing the rounds for over a year now and he still hasn't left.

besides, Haami certainly wouldn't leave mid-season.

The rumour has been doing the rounds for over a year now and he still hasn't left.

besides, Haami certainly wouldn't leave mid-season.

True you wouldn't think he'd leave this season as i believe the clearanc's have stopped but who know's what will happen next season.

Funny that Pat Nolan say's that he's heard these rumours floating around but no one else has.

Surely a journalist wouldn't stoop so low that he's bought up a rumour that was circulating on here along time ago? But with the ablettiser and geelong news you neve know:D