GDFL 2009 Season

tips for this weekend anyone?

Don't all laugh but I reckon the game of the round will be Sunday at Winters Reserve when Belmont take on Geelong West.
Its always close and should be a good crowd with both sides busting to finish the year on a good note.

I tip Belmont in a thriller! Sorry Cravo!

Don't all laugh but I reckon the game of the round will be Sunday at Winters Reserve when Belmont take on Geelong West.
Its always close and should be a good crowd with both sides busting to finish the year on a good note.

I tip Belmont in a thriller! Sorry Cravo!

HAHAHAHAHA sorry mate but you've got to be havin a laugh yeah?? Just coz the 2 of the worst sides in the comp are playing each other surely doesnt make it match of the round does it??? Belmont will destroy them.

Not sure if there'll be much of a crowd there either considering the mighty Grovey tigers are having there reverse raffle just up the road:thumbsu:

HAHAHAHAHA sorry mate but you've got to be havin a laugh yeah?? Just coz the 2 of the worst sides in the comp are playing each other surely doesnt make it match of the round does it??? Belmont will destroy them.

Not sure if there'll be much of a crowd there either considering the mighty Grovey tigers are having there reverse raffle just up the road:thumbsu:

Considering the love people have for Grovey, timmy, there will be a bigger crowd at Winter Resort on Sunday:D

My tips for this week:

Centrals over Anakie

BPH to beat Corio

Nth to beat Winch but only because its at Nth

East to beat Inva

Banno to beat Thomson. Can't believe Dale and the boys arent covering this game between 2 finals bound sides, preferring to go to East again. Might have to erect a permanent commentary box at Richmond Cres:p

The Lions to get 2 in a row against West

Considering the love people have for Grovey, timmy, there will be a bigger crowd at Winter Resort on Sunday:D

My tips for this week:

Centrals over Anakie

BPH to beat Corio

Nth to beat Winch but only because its at Nth

East to beat Inva

Banno to beat Thomson. Can't believe Dale and the boys arent covering this game between 2 finals bound sides, preferring to go to East again. Might have to erect a permanent commentary box at Richmond Cres:p

The Lions to get 2 in a row against West
I will take Thomson over Banno but happy with the rest.

The lads dont like to travel and maybe thats why they have set-up camp at the Crescent? They may also like the new rooms and ever improving facilities.

I will take Thomson over Banno but happy with the rest.

The lads dont like to travel and maybe thats why they have set-up camp at the Crescent? They may also like the new rooms and ever improving facilities.

Rooms do look good, Drago. Was a pity they weren't open when we played East a couple of weeks ago. Wasn't alot of room to get out of the beautiful weather that day!

haha in a perfect world we would have gone to Banno tomorrow but logistics stopped us! other commitments meant that East was the best option available to us all things considered

we'll be out at Banno in the last week of the season though for their game against Werribee

(the halftime spread in the new East rooms is something to behold though:D:thumbsu:)

You can always come up the road after the match of the round:D spider as everyone will be more than welcome:thumbsu:

Who knows, we may even be able to entice the wiseoldman away from winter resort for the afternoon:eek: Thats provided he's in good shape after his young fella's 21st on the saturday nite;)

yeah, Corio will definitely be dissapointed with their year.

North Geelong were pretty dissappointing considering they were 5 zip. to have fallen off the way they have since then was a real shame.

I geniunely thought Belmont were going to be alot more competitive than they have been..

I guess both Belmont and the Devils have had their reasons though with injuries/player availabilty etc..

really highlights how hard/important it is to have your best side available on the field each week in country footy.

yeah, Corio will definitely be dissapointed with their year.

North Geelong were pretty dissappointing considering they were 5 zip. to have fallen off the way they have since then was a real shame.

I geniunely thought Belmont were going to be alot more competitive than they have been..

I guess both Belmont and the Devils have had their reasons though with injuries/player availabilty etc..

really highlights how hard/important it is to have your best side available on the field each week in country footy.
i think ur biggest disappointment for the year would be that u have to sit next to jason doherty most weeks again wouldnt it??

What side would have to be the biggest dissapointment this year,i think prob corio, got all these big names for what return?

Is it time 4 corio 2 have a clean out and get a new coach and new recruits and play there juniors.
How is anakie going in the hunt 4 a new coach? and will there be other clubs looking 4 new coachs 4 season 2010?

Is Choco gettin a kick for East there boyz, he still holds the title for best bump at Windy Hill back home, on a still day u can still hear poor old Rick Sheahans bones crunch. He was carted to the bench, only to wobble his way back out onto the ground at half time to confront him. The young fella raised his fist and the player in question ducked to the ground and the trainers had an extra dirty pair of shorts to clean that week!!:eek::thumbsu:

Has anyone heard the latest rumour going around that bannoc will lose all there points for playing a player that wasnt cleared to them this year. If true could change alot of things on the ladder.

have heard this one too.. don't know how much substance is to it though? would be massive news, anyone from Banno out there that could give us any insight?

apparently the player is from Forest? It's not Matthew Foot is it?

have heard this one too.. don't know how much substance is to it though? would be massive news, anyone from Banno out there that could give us any insight?

apparently the player is from Forest? It's not Matthew Foot is it?

Bourkey... obviously don't have your uncle's research skills:D

Colac & District FNL Bannockburn Football and Netball Club Foot, Matthew Approved 25/03/09 01/04/09

Bourkey... obviously don't have your uncle's research skills:D

Colac & District FNL Bannockburn Football and Netball Club Foot, Matthew Approved 25/03/09 01/04/09

I did see that, but that's just the name i heard going around.. that's all... i admit to knowing little in the scenario.. was just creating discussion!

which uncle are you referring to? :cool:

Big news.Inver should do everything they can to get it investigated.It would be great for them to play finals.Who cares how you get there.

so does that mean that whoever is 6th on the ladder in the reserves will go into the 5?

Tilley played 7 senior games in which Bannockburn have won 5, He had played for another club in 2007 but the club failed to even submit a clearance and were able to register him on the system because the system does not go back two years. The law states if a team plays an un-registered player they lose their points for those games.

So long story short Bannockburn would lose enough points to have no chance of making finals, Corio would gain 8 points as they played Bannockburn twice while Tilley was playing. This would leave the ladder in an interesting situation with Inverleigh sitting only percentage above Corio on the ladder, both sides have tough games this week, Corio v East, Inva v Thomson. Although not short like i previously stated, it should end up being a great game in round 18 where Corio play Inverleigh for a spot in the finals.

After saying all this there is every chance the league will not take the points, but the next couple of days will be largely anticipated by 3 clubs in the league.

Any thoughts?, i hope i have answered a lot of questions.