• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

GDFL Season 2018

Witnesses there state it was Geelong West (GDFL) players who rocked up after everything had finished (and most Corio people had left). There was a single guy on the oval on his phone and they jumped him. Tim Barton from BPH saw it and tried to help the outnumbered guy and ended up being arrested as it was bad timing when the cops rocked up. There was also two fights involving Geelong West females.

west had there own reverse raffle on mate I dnt think they were at corios. try again gulls keep pickin clubs so corio doesnt sink alone. I spoke to the same witnesses u did n they said portarlington players started it.....
Why bring Port into this, that's just campaigner stuff?

Tips for this week? Mine are
Werribee by 60 points over Corio
Inverleigh by 90 over Belmont
North Geelong by 30 over West
Bell Post by 120 over East Geelong
Thomson by 35 over Winch
Banno by 90 over Anakie

Agree with pretty much all of that.
Not sure why the match of the round is Corio and Werribee? Would have thought the Winch Thomson game would have been the closest of the lot?

I've been thinking about this for a bit, how many more years do you think BPH can stay at the top for?
No juniors in the immediate future and a side that is starting to get a little older?

Open for discussion!

I've been thinking about this for a bit, how many more years do you think BPH can stay at the top for?
No juniors in the immediate future and a side that is starting to get a little older?

Open for discussion!
They will just keep plucking the best players from the bottom GDFL teams like they have the last few years! Costello, Etheridge, Gavin and Rabbas to name a couple can throw in Cam Addie a few years back

Donald Trump, Beyoncé and Bugs Bunny were also there.
stewart dew, ur a 1st class flog......

They will just keep plucking the best players from the bottom GDFL teams like they have the last few years! Costello, Etheridge, Gavin and Rabbas to name a couple can throw in Cam Addie a few years back

Interesting. Surely they couldn't with the points system now?
I am only sort of new to the GDFL so very interested in this sort of thing.

One other thing i am very interested in hearing people's opinions (we all know rosscreas198's opinion) on is the promotion relegation system.

Pros, cons, other options? Would love to hear.

Theory says not forever, but I think there's only 2 or 3 that have played in all the flags. That means they have turned over 20 or so in the meantime with spending practically half their main rivals and stayed at the top.

Domination might dwindle but can't seem em falling out of the top 5 in the next 3 years. Not like any teams pushing up, huge gap from top 3. Even bigger after maybe 4-6.

Donald Trump, Beyoncé and Bugs Bunny were also there.
stewart dew, ur a 1st class flog......
I dnt wana start anything mate but il give ya credit where credit is due u got in early makin friends in the gdfl thread. whether its gonna b calld gdfl or div3 duznt matter we'll cya soon champ

One other thing i am very interested in hearing people's opinions (we all know rosscreas198's opinion) on is the promotion relegation system.

Pros, cons, other options? Would love to hear.

if ya culd fast fwd 10 yrs with a bit of hindsight jst like ne contentious decision of its time ull see its a big success. ull wonder how n y we ever persisted with any seperate league for so long.
teams with poor culture n no juniors will battle it out passing time til they fold. thats the only downside.. culd lose a few pretty quick atm gdfl admins keepin sum pulses going. div1 will be unbelievable standard n div 2 will be a top 6-8 country vic league. where it belongs. depends how the restructure works div 4 wuld b worse than colac league or 14 side div 3 wuld b 200 pt difference from contender to fledgling. even worse than how it is now.
massive pro is teams like ammos n bph culd hav gone up n werent able to rly test there lists. north shore n newcombe supporters wuldnt hav had to wait 1400 days between wins. its hard enuf to get good vultuneers n players to hang around

I dnt wana start anything mate but il give ya credit where credit is due u got in early makin friends in the gdfl thread. whether its gonna b calld gdfl or div3 duznt matter we'll cya soon champ

if ya culd fast fwd 10 yrs with a bit of hindsight jst like ne contentious decision of its time ull see its a big success. ull wonder how n y we ever persisted with any seperate league for so long.
teams with poor culture n no juniors will battle it out passing time til they fold. thats the only downside.. culd lose a few pretty quick atm gdfl admins keepin sum pulses going. div1 will be unbelievable standard n div 2 will be a top 6-8 country vic league. where it belongs. depends how the restructure works div 4 wuld b worse than colac league or 14 side div 3 wuld b 200 pt difference from contender to fledgling. even worse than how it is now.
massive pro is teams like ammos n bph culd hav gone up n werent able to rly test there lists. north shore n newcombe supporters wuldnt hav had to wait 1400 days between wins. its hard enuf to get good vultuneers n players to hang around

Love it.
I agree with all of the above. But if a lower end div 3 club got the right people in, recruited smartly, built themselves up there would be no reason why they couldn't push into div 2 and who knows maybe even div 1 down the track. It'll make some very good footy amongst our region.

Love it.
I agree with all of the above. But if a lower end div 3 club got the right people in, recruited smartly, built themselves up there would be no reason why they couldn't push into div 2 and who knows maybe even div 1 down the track. It'll make some very good footy amongst our region.
west geelong will b the first club promoted.
winless in 2016 promoted in 2019 fair old advantage the have but ud b makin the most of it

My thoughts are Inverleigh have a real chance to win it this year, they are a seriously good and fit side, and that Kennedy Hunt is a bloody machine, should be up in the GFL. Have you guys watched them and him this year?

I've watched both. Inverleigh are the real deal. If GFL sides haven't looked quite hard at Kennedy Hunt I'd be very suprised. He is an extremely good footballer, one of the best I've seen. Only issue that might stop higher quality clubs being keen on him is his background.

It's not that easy.
Jamie Pitman kicked 126 GDFL goals in 2015, couldn't get near it in 2016 in the GFL.

Open for discussion!
Big round of GDFL football coming up with the majority of games having some major consequences for the winner v loser
Corio v Belmont loser will have the losing clubs match committee and executive doing some serious soul searching . Heaven forbid the fallout if Belmont loses badly.
East v Thomson. Is realistically a fight for 5th, East have assembled a reasonable squad for their $$$$ compared to prev seasons on short notice, seems younger and more team focused as the season evolves , whilst Thomson hangs around using the Drysdale/CDFL expats mixed with usual suspects. I think East have much More room for improvement this year and may use this game as a platform for a big second half of the year
Inverleigh v BPH. I am predicting a 10 goal plus drubbing in the Hawks favour. The Bannockburn boys are hoping otherwise to get a buffer but the Panthers already realise that top spot is off the menu and are playing/planning for qualifying final weekend even this far out. Motivation is all with the Hawks in front of their home crew and they have a far superior/hungrier best 18 at the moment(things will be different in finals)
West v Werribee , I pumped up the Giants about a month ago v Thomson as the game that they had to win to show the competition that they were ready to accelerate their standing. A few cultural issues/ belief. Etc have bubbled to the surface and they haven't won since with consistency issues. The coach doesn't have the depth to make changes to truly shake things up. That saying , plenty of positives for major improvements in the short term. Werribee are just too inconsistent and will concentrate on their Netball teams again over the final series for a few more seasons to come yet.
Still liking what is coming out of Winchelsea but it is their turn to get the Bannockburn kicking all mid/lower teams will receive
Whilst the northern neighbours can test each other out, the test of every Anakie coach is too keep them training over the June/July coldness twice a week
The competition awaits the introduction of 2 new teams relegated from Football Geelong to make a 14 team competition sooner rather than later. Lara better start improving on field or they may be the surprise over other mentioned tea

Big round of GDFL football coming up with the majority of games having some major consequences for the winner v loser
Corio v Belmont loser will have the losing clubs match committee and executive doing some serious soul searching . Heaven forbid the fallout if Belmont loses badly.
East v Thomson. Is realistically a fight for 5th, East have assembled a reasonable squad for their $$$$ compared to prev seasons on short notice, seems younger and more team focused as the season evolves , whilst Thomson hangs around using the Drysdale/CDFL expats mixed with usual suspects. I think East have much More room for improvement this year and may use this game as a platform for a big second half of the year
Inverleigh v BPH. I am predicting a 10 goal plus drubbing in the Hawks favour. The Bannockburn boys are hoping otherwise to get a buffer but the Panthers already realise that top spot is off the menu and are playing/planning for qualifying final weekend even this far out. Motivation is all with the Hawks in front of their home crew and they have a far superior/hungrier best 18 at the moment(things will be different in finals)
West v Werribee , I pumped up the Giants about a month ago v Thomson as the game that they had to win to show the competition that they were ready to accelerate their standing. A few cultural issues/ belief. Etc have bubbled to the surface and they haven't won since with consistency issues. The coach doesn't have the depth to make changes to truly shake things up. That saying , plenty of positives for major improvements in the short term. Werribee are just too inconsistent and will concentrate on their Netball teams again over the final series for a few more seasons to come yet.
Still liking what is coming out of Winchelsea but it is their turn to get the Bannockburn kicking all mid/lower teams will receive
Whilst the northern neighbours can test each other out, the test of every Anakie coach is too keep them training over the June/July coldness twice a week
The competition awaits the introduction of 2 new teams relegated from Football Geelong to make a 14 team competition sooner rather than later. Lara better start improving on field or they may be the surprise over other mentioned tea

That right there is the best thing ive read on this site. Well written!

Do we/does anyone know what all the criteria is regarding clubs moving up/down divisions?
I know it's not just performance, but also netball and juniors. But what else? And what's the specifics of it?

Can someone post it, and maybe as a group we could all weigh in on how each club sits in regards to each criteria..

Do we/does anyone know what all the criteria is regarding clubs moving up/down divisions?
I know it's not just performance, but also netball and juniors. But what else? And what's the specifics of it?

Can someone post it, and maybe as a group we could all weigh in on how each club sits in regards to each criteria..
I'll give you an example of why the 3 division idea is crap.

And of course everyone knows my team.

Just say that your footy team (mine) is on the bottom of the ladder in its league, but the same teams netballers are in the top 4.
Do they send the footy team to division 3 and keep the netball team in division 2?

That will just serve to sever clubs internally.