• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

GDFL Season 2018

So, can anyone confirm, or deny, that Corio's Colts coach refused to complete there practice match Vs Newcomb Power because of the behaviour of the Newcomb team. Ie. I assume that all Newcomb wanted to do was fight??? If so it's a problem AFL Barwon needs to look into and deal with now.
Yes it was he Corio coach who refused to play but the reasoning was that he didn't trust his players to go back out there without fighting.

You are better off going to Corio Bakesy if you want to win some games!
Why not play for West? and then when they start winning some games all the people writing them off can eat humble pie? much better feeling than playing for anyone else

That's right mate I think West and Corio have had a lot of negative press over off season be good to see them do well good luck to both

I have looked into football in the area. having lots of clubs to chose from makes it hard to pick when you don't have any ties to a club already.

I've always been drawn to clubs with strong culture and happy vibes which i get the feeling West has , as best as i can tell anyway.
I also feel more enjoyment comes from playing with succsess starved clubs, because when the playing group sticks together for 2/3 years and sucsess finally comes, there is no better feeling. And plus with all the negative press West seem to be getting, there would be nothing i would love more than going to the club, pulling on a jumper and sticking it up the haters.

Who's picking who next week?

winch vs anakie- winch in a close one
Inverleigh vs Werribee- Inver 50points
BPH vs Thomson- Hill by 40points
Corio vs Nth Geelong- North 100+
East vs Belmont - East 10points
Bannockburn vs GWFC- Banno 60points
Been round 1 no result would surprise

Amakie by 2 goals
Inverleigh by 12 goals
BPH by 11 goals
North by 20 goals
Bannock by 12 goals
Belmont by 3 goals

I have looked into football in the area. having lots of clubs to chose from makes it hard to pick when you don't have any ties to a club already.

I've always been drawn to clubs with strong culture and happy vibes which i get the feeling West has , as best as i can tell anyway.
I also feel more enjoyment comes from playing with succsess starved clubs, because when the playing group sticks together for 2/3 years and sucsess finally comes, there is no better feeling. And plus with all the negative press West seem to be getting, there would be nothing i would love more than going to the club, pulling on a jumper and sticking it up the haters.

You are clearly a West supporter from way back Bakesy or should we call you Bakers Reserve?

A West supporter From way back? Ive never lived in Geelong nor do i have any ties to the club, and I'm 24 years of age. You can harldy say I'm a supporter from way back. But if you wish to continue your assumptions of me to then be made look like a fool, be my guest

Amakie by 2 goals
Inverleigh by 12 goals
BPH by 11 goals
North by 20 goals
Bannock by 12 goals
Belmont by 3 goals
Don't know much about the league, but Werribee must be very average if you reckon Inverleigh will beat them by 72 points, Inverleigh looked average themselves vs Portarlington 2 weeks ago.

North Geelong to pump The Corio "we are too good for you because we have Holland and Tarrant signed up for one off games" Devils

Anakie by 5 goals
Inverleigh by 7 goals
BPH by 10 goals
North by 19 goals
East by 8 goals
Banno by 20 goals

Banno to be the big improver this year.

Well ladies and gentlemen, the 2015 GDFL seasons is almost upon us, there are soo many questions we want answered, soo many stories yet to be told.
My predictions for Round 1.
Winchelsea v Anakie - Anakie in a close one (15-35) cannot see Winchelsea having a good one with an entirely new coaching staff and playing group.
Inverleigh v Werribee - Inverleigh to shake off yet another controversial off season with a thumping 55+ point win, Werribee always seem to fly under the radar early on in seasons though.
Corio v North - No doggy, no worries, North by 120+ to get em started in season 2015.
Bell Post Hill v Thomson - heard quite a bit about Thomsons recruits on and off the field, but whether they can gel and play well is another story, I reckon Bell Post by 25 in a well contested match.
East v Belmont - a lot of hype surrounding Belmonts season, I believe the best way to go about it is to go under the radar like East, I reckon Belmont to come crashing down to earth, East by 43 at the eagles nest.
Finally Bannockburn v Geelong West - can only see this match going one way, Bannockburn have recruited well, Geelong West have not, losing 12+ senior quality players to Forest and inturn recruiting 15 blokes from Corio won't help the cause, can see Bannockburn winning comfortably by 20-25 goals at the tiger den.

Well ladies and gentlemen, the 2015 GDFL seasons is almost upon us, there are soo many questions we want answered, soo many stories yet to be told.
Winchelsea v Anakie - Anakie in a close one (15-35) cannot see Winchelsea having a good one with an entirely new coaching staff and playing group.
Inverleigh v Werribee - Inverleigh to shake off yet another controversial off season with a thumping 55+ point win, Werribee always seem to fly under the radar early on in seasons though.
Corio v North - No doggy, no worries, North by 120+ to get em started in season 2015.
Bell Post Hill v Thomson - heard quite a bit about Thomsons recruits on and off the field, but whether they can gel and play well is another story, I reckon Bell Post by 25 in a well contested match.
East v Belmont - a lot of hype surrounding Belmonts season, I believe the best way to go about it is to go under the radar like East, I reckon Belmont to come crashing down to earth, East by 43 at the eagles nest.
Finally Bannockburn v Geelong West - can only see this match going one way, Bannockburn have recruited well, Geelong West have not, losing 12+ senior quality players to Forest and inturn recruiting 15 blokes from Corio won't help the cause, can see Bannockburn winning comfortably by 20-25 goals at the tiger den.

Dick this is why you host a footy show on channel 31 and no other network as you have absolutely not clue about football or the GDFL..

BIG PHIL DICKPOTT

Thomson to be the surprise packet this year!! Will sneak into finals - wont be as good as Bell Post or North Geelong but will be there abouts after that.
My reasons
Holwell and Taylor are elite players and have been for sometime - only have to look at how Drysdale went on weekend without them.
Bobby McLeod back - if he can stay on park is a good solid GDFL player
Jake Simons - Man mountain who can kick goals
Luke Maher - might be past it but you will still have to send him a defender with height which may free up Jackson Mcleod, Simons
Jayden Durran - If he plays properly people have told me he is a gun. but can be lazy - lets hope he is not!!
But the biggest and brightest thing will be Jacko Mcleod has players around him that can play!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thomson to be the surprise packet this year!! Will sneak into finals - wont be as good as Bell Post or North Geelong but will be there abouts after that.
My reasons
Holwell and Taylor are elite players and have been for sometime - only have to look at how Drysdale went on weekend without them.
Bobby McLeod back - if he can stay on park is a good solid GDFL player
Jake Simons - Man mountain who can kick goals
Luke Maher - might be past it but you will still have to send him a defender with height which may free up Jackson Mcleod, Simons
Jayden Durran - If he plays properly people have told me he is a gun. but can be lazy - lets hope he is not!!
But the biggest and brightest thing will be Jacko Mcleod has players around him that can play!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thomson will improve but would t rely on Maher who was cooked 5yrs ago and is over 40, also lost quality players from a side that won 2games in Jarryd hood and both Huhns. So they are coming from a way back lack quality talls to threaten top couple

Actually, it says a bit about GDFL footy if Luke Maher even plays 1 game at senior level.

West did well considering a few clueless people on here said they'd go down by 20+ goals.

Dick,you were only out by 20 goals on this result,are you really the same man from Channel 31 footy show ??
#FEARTHELION2015

Actually, it says a bit about GDFL footy if Luke Maher even plays 1 game at senior level.

Totally agree i dont think people actually realize how far back this league is. Yes there are good players but as a whole iv never seen footy so dirty / scrappy / mindless. Yet to see the good teams bellpost and north tho.

I think thomspon are heading in the right direction with holwell , squizzy talor and maher there good quality people which will create a good culture. I think they will sneek into the 5.