Geelong are terrified of losing to the Pies!

Re: Karma's A Bitch Geelong

I love geelong. I think they are confident and have every right to be. They have also been a beacon in the years we have had Saints and Hawks supporters harping on.

I also think the behaviour of some of our supporters on the main board has been embarrassing of late.

wow im amazed at the cockiness of all the geelong supporters!!
they dont realise if they lose they are back in the rack on the ladder, and the fact that they can lose to collingwood doesnt really matter!!

hope it all goes wrong somewhere cause once the bubble is burst cats fans, its all downhill from here!! not much young talent there for the future........

I couldn't disagree more about Geelong's future prospects. They have some outstanding youngsters particularly from this years draft. I don't see them needing to rebuild at all over the next 6-7 to be honest.

As for this weekend it will take a big effort to get over Geelong. They are still an outstanding team and it would be foolish to think our chances are any greater than theirs of winning this friday night.

I also think the behaviour of some of our supporters on the main board has been embarrassing of late.
I have a policy, nothing we do or say is going to affect the Pies performance, so let's have fun aggrevating the other supporters. Dude, it rocks, let's smash these fools

Supporters from both sides have shown signs of cockiness. I reckon I have seen more Pie supporters though with a realistic view on the game whilst showing respect for the opposition. A lot of Cats fans seem to think if they play well they will murder us. I can't see it happening with our improvement this year....we'll just have to see.

Should be a great game either way I believe these 2 teams will be in the grand final this year. Cats have impressed me very much this year its amazing how Ling and Chapman just keep ticking along.

Would be disappointed if Pods kicked a bag being an reject player from the pies.

Key match up Taylor vs Cloke

I'd be more worried abot their actual TEAM than their board.

Thompson looked fidgety and nervous discussin this weeks game.

The excuses about sore feet are already starting.

Who knows, Geelong are good and smart enough to do something like throw this weeks game knowing all the hype will be with us, then fly under the radar the rest of the year while we soak up the hype, then come the business end, they go BANG and win another flag.

Just have a feeling that could be what Geelong is planning.

No. If the Cats can smash us they will. Give us nothing out of the game and puts a seed there for next time. That's what good sides do.

Whats with all the cats supporters discussing the mentality of their inner sanctum like it is gospel? Firstly, they have not tread lightly in the last 3 years and that is the reason they have 2 flags and a near miss to their name. Secondly, they simply would have no idea what so ever about this.

As far as I am concerned it's a bit of posturing and the implementation of a Bigfooty contingency plan should they lose.

Muppets.

Why do Geelong fans have this notion they slipped into last years GF unnoticed and suddenly showed everyone how good they were?

You lost to the Saints by a kick in the H&A game and won the GF by a kick. It was hardly some master plan by the cats coaching staff.

Are you two forgetting how quickly everyone jumped off us heading into the finals last year?

You probably would because you guys were the ones having the smoke blown up your arses last August.

We ran out of juice in 08 because we expended way too much energy destroying mediocre teams in June. Hence we barely got away with the PF, and were beaten comprehensively in the end in the GF.

Last year we paced ourselves all season, just doing enough to make sure we finished top 4, and readied ourselves for September. There is absolutely no doubts about it.

The Saints last year were in the same possie as we were in 08, and ended up making the same mistakes, and getting the same result. They even lost the GF in exactly the same fashion we did, albeit by a couple of goals less than us.

Essendon in 2000 is the only team i've seen that pumped teams week in week out all year and then coasted through the finals as well.

All i'm really saying in essence is that I think Collingwood will want this win just a little bit more than we will, and on that basis should win it.

However, if 'the inner sanctum' has decided that we need to taste the blood of a genuine contender to set up the rest of our season, then look out.

The size of the crowd alone though, is going to make this a cracker.

I just hope all the AFL and MCC members show up like it's a GF so we can give the all time record a nudge :D

Geelong are a GREAT team, probably one of the best ever. I can understand why their supporters are uber confident about every game they go into. Why wouldn't you be?

I find that most Geelong supporters are pretty good really, and mostly don't rub peoples noses in their success. Going to the football against Geelong is usually a pleasant experience as their supporters arn't as aggressive and stupid as most.

I love watching them play and they do it how it should be done.

I just hope they we are up to it this year and i hope on Friday night that we can at least be rigt in the game and not blown away like that prelim last year. I'm confident we can be competetive but we'll have to wait and see. I'm really excited about this game and I hope it lives up to the hype!

Both teams and supporters would have to be nervous AND confident.

There's nothing better than following a team in form, who has the chance to knock off a reigning premier. Or a nemesis.

The pies players will be pumped for it, as the supporters should.

The cats have been caught out over the past few years (other than the saints game) with not keeping their guard up.

Yes the cats rest players etc with the big picture in mind. But they won't be playing with an attitude that the game doesn't matter, that is fanciful.

They go into this week with some excellent form, and they would be well aware of the way the pies are playing.

So if the pies win, it won't be because the cats weren't ready, it will be because they were better on the night.

And it is an important time for both clubs to assert themselves on the competition.

That's grounds for everyone to be on edge to some degree.

Why do Geelong fans have this notion they slipped into last years GF unnoticed and suddenly showed everyone how good they were?

You lost to the Saints by a kick in the H&A game and won the GF by a kick. It was hardly some master plan by the cats coaching staff.

I take it you didn't watch the Geelong vs Bulldogs and Geelong vs Collingwood finals games on TV.

Would not have even known Geelong were playing until the ball was bounced. I have never seen such one sided montage crap in my entire life.

It was very much the same all year as well with many "experts" writing us off (including the big Cometti).

I couldn't disagree more about Geelong's future prospects. They have some outstanding youngsters particularly from this years draft. I don't see them needing to rebuild at all over the next 6-7 to be honest.
Look, I agree that Geelong are a great team, but not having to rebuild for 6-7 years? No-one can see that far into the future. People were bagging Geelong and talking about sacking Bomber Thompson in 2006, only a year before their first (100+ point) Grand Final win of the current era.

Trying to see 6-7 years into the future only ends up making people look silly.

Both teams and supporters would have to be nervous AND confident.

There's nothing better than following a team in form, who has the chance to knock off a reigning premier. Or a nemesis.

The pies players will be pumped for it, as the supporters should.

The cats have been caught out over the past few years (other than the saints game) with not keeping their guard up.

Yes the cats rest players etc with the big picture in mind. But they won't be playing with an attitude that the game doesn't matter, that is fanciful.

They go into this week with some excellent form, and they would be well aware of the way the pies are playing.

So if the pies win, it won't be because the cats weren't ready, it will be because they were better on the night.

And it is an important time for both clubs to assert themselves on the competition.

That's grounds for everyone to be on edge to some degree.

I'm certainly looking forward to a cracker. Best of luck to Geelong and no injuries.:thumbsu:

I only read the first page of this thread, so excuse me if I mention anything that has already been covered.

• Geelong will want to win this game as much as we do. I don't buy the flying under the radar shit.

• We probably need to win this more than they do. We need to go into September knowing we can beat them, plain and simple. That is not to say we can't beat them in a final if we lose this week

• What has happened in our last few games has no relevance to this game. Last years Prelim we were without Pendles, Ball and Wellingham (can't remember on Weller's tbh :eek:). The significance of this cannot be underestimated.

• I have no doubt Geelong know that we are a different side and we won't take it lying down. Although we lost to the Saints, we matched them physically and they will be expecting the same.
In summary, if we get spanked, it will deflate all the momentum that we have built up. If it is a close one and we lose, we'll know we are on the right track. However if we win, it will place us a game clear and give our boys the confidence to beat the best when it counts.

We use it as a springboard to progress and forget about until we meet them again. The management of our players will be more crucial if we win, rather than lose.

Geelong are a scarily brilliant side, but we can beat them.

wow im amazed at the cockiness of all the geelong supporters!!
they dont realise if they lose they are back in the rack on the ladder, and the fact that they can lose to collingwood doesnt really matter!!

hope it all goes wrong somewhere cause once the bubble is burst cats fans, its all downhill from here!! not much young talent there for the future........

First of all mate, how can you expect anything other than cockiness? We are coming off absolute slaughtering of two top 8 sides and have never looked more dangerous. Our forward line is looking twice as potent as it ever has, Gary Ablett is playing the best football since his old man graced the field and we are premiers.

We have seen what our team can do and we know that there is no team in the competition that has the experience come September. All our best players are in their prime age bracket for this year and next, and our oldest players in Scarlett, Mooney and Milburn are having surprisingly good seasons.

Our team is solid and settled, but we still have Brad "the pie crusher" Ottens, Joel "dual AA, b&f" Corey and Max "the animal" Rooke to return to our best 18.

Not having " young talent" is our greatest advantage, a man will always beat a boy, and you wil only start playing games when you can match it with the best.

This is why Geelong are cocky, if you don't understand that you haven't been watching footy for the last three years.

The fact that we back ourselves in for the victory is only logical.

Wish mate there are about 20 posts before yours saying the exact same thing, if you wanted to leap to the defense of your beloved team you've missed the train. Kind of irking of all the posts here giving credit to Geelong you still come in and cherry pick the dumb one that's already been absolutely slaughtered by our own supporters.

Sorry mate, the red mist came down on my keyboard I just couldn't stop typing.

Will be a ripper tommorrow night, even more so that there will 60000 of you ferals making it such an event.

The crowd coolingwood drags into big games really adds a new dimension.

If I was Geelong I'd want to win, but not by too much. IF winning by 8 goals half way through the 3rd, I'd ease off and just cruise home by 3 goals and let the oppo have the illusion of some dominant passages.

The reason is that if Geelong thrashes cwood, they will know they need to improve a hell of a lot, and have a tape to work on for the rest of the year so they will know how to improve for the finals, and will be desperate to improve. Of course I doubt they are that devious and would prefer a huge win, also in modern afl it's very risky to flirt with the oppo even if you're 10 goals up, since they could suddenly get a run-on and run away with the game. then again might be worth 4 points tactically.

If you think this never happens in sport, look back at when Jimmy Connors won the america's cup back. He waited till the final before putting a secret new type of slick coat on his hull, and scooted away to win easily. (Of course he'll mostly be remembered for losing the cup for America for the first time in history.)

Hopefully that won't even come up anyway, since the pies are as good as them now (we hope). Surely the game of the year easily so far.

Was Chris Evert crewing for him then

Who knows, Geelong are good and smart enough to do something like throw this weeks game knowing all the hype will be with us, then fly under the radar the rest of the year while we soak up the hype, then come the business end, they go BANG and win another flag. Just have a feeling that could be what Geelong is planning.
That's just being silly because there is no way that a team that has won two of the last three premierships can "fly under the radar." Geelong will be absolutely determined to win because they are only one match and percentage ahead of the team in 8th place. Last year though, both Geelong and St.Kilda were undefeated coming in to the Round 14 match and they were four matches and percentage ahead of the third placed team, so it was not as crucial. Also, Collingwood play Geelong again in Round 19 this season.
Hence I had no hesitation on loading up on the Saints to win that one, knowing that they would be going flat knackers to win, while we would try to keep something up our sleeves for later. It wasn't that we weren't trying to win, or that we didn't want to win, just that they needed the win a lot more than we did, and we weren't going to expend any more energy than we had planned to to get the W.
That's a good story except for one thing. St.Kilda should have beaten Geelong in the Grand Final as well. It's not like the six points loss Geelong had to St.Kilda in Round 14 really made any difference to whether Geelong would win the premiership or not or that they "left something up their sleeves." Mark Thompson said a number of times after the Grand Final that they were very lucky because not only did St.Kilda have more scoring shots but they easily had more inside-50s.
And you saw what happened on the last Saturday in September :D
Yes, and St.Kilda should have won the Grand Final, but I'm glad they didn't. They were probably the better team on the field, but they were out coached. How Ross Lyon decided to leave Sean Dempster in the forward line and only give Luke Ball 46% game time, amongst a few other decisions, is beyond me and it cost them.

Checkout the main board...love it! :D

I don't understand why any Geelong supporters would be worried, I'm certainly not. Geelong lost to StKilda in the top of the table clash last year, then won the flag... Despite that, it's a home and away game anyway. The result won't have much influence. Both teams look set for a top 4 finish.

I would think Collingwood are in better form at present, therefore if I tip(which I don't), I would probably be tipping them. They are an upcoming team with a lot to prove and I don't know if it really means any more to Geelong than any other game. A Collingwood win to knock off the 'benchmark team' will gain them big respect from the football community, a Geelong win will be just another notch on the belt... That's the difference and the reason I think Collingwood will win.

Was Chris Evert crewing for him then

Hearty LOL. Jimmy Connors may well sue, I know I would.:D

Dennis Connor is the least ethical sportsman/woman in living memory and would have strapped his mother and grandmother to the hull if it got him a win.

I'd rather lose than be sen in the same category as that arse clown and I reckon MM, Thomson, all of the players and most of the footy fans would too.

I actually feel ill when his name is mentioned...vomit of a human being.:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

• What has happened in our last few games has no relevance to this game. Last years Prelim we were without Pendles, Ball and Wellingham (can't remember on Weller's tbh :eek:). The significance of this cannot be underestimated.
Yeah, the Sheriff played, although he's obviously taken a huge step forward since then.

With respect to the Prelim:

IN - Jolly, Ball, Pendlebury, N Brown, Reid, Dawes
OUT - Anthony, Goldsack, Dick, Lockyer, L Brown, Prestigiacomo

Medhurst didn't play and won't this week, ditto Fraser.

Geelong are terrified of losing to the Pies! Checkout the main board...love it! :D
This is pretty funny from the Geelong Advertiser...

Pie Fight! Throw a Pie at Your Most Hated Collingwood Player.
May 20th, 2010

Ok Cats fans, here is your chance to do something you've always wanted to do. Today, we're giving you the chance to throw a big cream pie right into the face of the Collingwood player you hate the most.

Does Lean Davis get on your nerves? Throw a pie at him. Reckon Alan Didak is a diver? Throw a pie at him and watch him hit the turf. Do you reckon Dale Thomas is a pretender? Cream pie him now. Do Nick Maxwell, Scott Pendlebury, John Anthony and Harry O'Brien give you the irrits? Smash 'em. Even the once-almost-likeable Luke Ball has now been adopted as a Pies hero so you've go to pie him too.

We're not just limiting it to the players. It wouldn't be fun if you couldn't smash one into the mugs of coach Mick Malthouse and president Eddie Maguire too.

Simply click here to join in the fun.

Geelong are terrified of losing to the Pies!