GDFL Geelong & District Football League - 2010

*I think you may be under estimating werribee here with a top 5 finish...

Werribees INS are far better than there OUTS and with a good hard pre season they are looking fit...

You may find them top 3....

We hear the same stuff every year from Weribee.
Weribee have recruited (players name) from the Hoppers League, he will be a gun in the GDFL and we'll make top 3.
Every year without fail it happens.

Maybe it's just me but a Murphy, Forbes, Lewis forward line seems pretty dangerous to me.

Sure, they might only all be on the field together for 5 games this season but if it's in the finals then look out. Everyone is pretty quick to get stuck into Forbes on this board but I reckon he'll have a pretty decent season running around as the 3rd tall option.. say what you want about his mental toughness and lack of aggression at the football but the bloke can take a grab. Inverleigh missed the finals by a whisker last year and their list IMO has got stronger. They geniunely lacked talls last season and get 2 above average one's in Murphy & Forbes for this league. Have also been informed Dean Muir has come back from Williamstown which if true means they've all of a sudden got themselves another A Grade midfielder.

Still think East is definitely the team to beat but something tells me Inverleigh might click this year.

I do agree they will improve, but Forbes will only play 60-70% of matches as history shows us. I have heard Muir won't be coming back but if he does he would be a an upgrade on Peel.

From what I am being told Lewis will struggle to play at all, correct me if I am wrong on that but got that from a pretty reliable source from out that way.

Also, I think you are overrating Murphy here Bourkey, he actually isn't that good - and his winning percentage as a player would agree. This would nearly be his 4th club in 5 or so years - obviously enjoys chasing the coin. Queenscliff, St Albans, Belmont and now Inverleigh.

East will be very hard to beat again but if Grgic can get the Nathan Lewis-less BPH to play discipline footy then they might give it a shake.

Bannockburn will slip from the five for mine. No Riccardi, No Bliss, No Drake therefore not enough midfield toughness to win the tight ball which means losing the tight games.

I do agree they will improve, but Forbes will only play 60-70% of matches as history shows us. I have heard Muir won't be coming back but if he does he would be a an upgrade on Peel.

From what I am being told Lewis will struggle to play at all, correct me if I am wrong on that but got that from a pretty reliable source from out that way.

Also, I think you are overrating Murphy here Bourkey, he actually isn't that good - and his winning percentage as a player would agree. This would nearly be his 4th club in 5 or so years - obviously enjoys chasing the coin. Queenscliff, St Albans, Belmont and now Inverleigh.

East will be very hard to beat again but if Grgic can get the Nathan Lewis-less BPH to play discipline footy then they might give it a shake.

Bannockburn will slip from the five for mine. No Riccardi, No Bliss, No Drake therefore not enough midfield toughness to win the tight ball which means losing the tight games.

Your Source is no good, he will be playin round 1 and he wont be needed as much this year so even if he wasnt playin they hav other that can kick goals

His terrible mobility will be even more reduced this season. He has bad hips and knees.

He has been to hardly any sessions, less than 40%. And that is FACT.

And I'm not doubting he won't be needed as much, but if you want to win the flag then he will need a 80 plus goal season.

Although you blokes from the sticks have recruited some players, most other strong clubs also have. East / BPH are only getting stronger so it will be hard to surpass them I'm afraid.

Inverleigh have by far the best draw and will definately make finals even without any new recruits, they will finish top 3 for that reason alone, it will all depend how they go on the big stage come finals.

Maybe it's just me but a Murphy, Forbes, Lewis forward line seems pretty dangerous to me.

Sure, they might only all be on the field together for 5 games this season but if it's in the finals then look out. Everyone is pretty quick to get stuck into Forbes on this board but I reckon he'll have a pretty decent season running around as the 3rd tall option.. say what you want about his mental toughness and lack of aggression at the football but the bloke can take a grab. Inverleigh missed the finals by a whisker last year and their list IMO has got stronger. They geniunely lacked talls last season and get 2 above average one's in Murphy & Forbes for this league. Have also been informed Dean Muir has come back from Williamstown which if true means they've all of a sudden got themselves another A Grade midfielder.

Still think East is definitely the team to beat but something tells me Inverleigh might click this year.

East definately the team to beat. Werribee's IN's are far better than INVER's IN's IMO. Lovell should be one of the better rucks in the league, boof should kick 80 plus goals sitting next to kitchen and hally (if rumours are true he's signed) will tear it apart if he doesn't lose it.

Winch playing sunbury, wyndhamvale and sebastapol in praccy's if anyone interested.

East definately the team to beat. Werribee's IN's are far better than INVER's IN's IMO. Lovell should be one of the better rucks in the league, boof should kick 80 plus goals sitting next to kitchen and hally (if rumours are true he's signed) will tear it apart if he doesn't lose it.

Winch playing sunbury, wyndhamvale and sebastapol in praccy's if anyone interested.

* hope thats not sunbury lions - winch will get smashed by at least 20gls

INS for werribee, boof, johns, kirta,bunn, bray, lovell, hall, all A grade players and thats just a few....

OUTs molivas, reshk, johns all no good....

Practice match required Saturday March 20.

Due to our opposition having ground availability issues our practice match has been cancelled so the Laverton Magpies are looking for a practice match on Saturday March 20th for seniors and reserves. We don't have access to our oval on this date (cricket finals) so it'll have to be at your's if your lucky enough to have one or at a neutral venue.

Please call Justin Moran on 0411 798 934 if interested.

INS for werribee, boof, johns, kirta,bunn, bray, lovell, hall, all A grade players and thats just a few....

So the Johns you lost is no good but his incoming brother is A-Grade??

Mate, if the Johns that left is classified as no good then forget about the incoming players being A-Grade. They should be playing AFL. And clearly they aren't.

Johns was easily in Werribee's top 5 players, maybe even top 3. It's a solid loss.

PS - Bray = A-grade? Please

Inverleigh have by far the best draw and will definately make finals even without any new recruits, they will finish top 3 for that reason alone, it will all depend how they go on the big stage come finals.

well corio and east pretty much hav the same draw so that statement means nothing really, all three teams had a hard draw last year, the good thing bout the GDFL draw is its completly far, nobody can possible complain about it casue u always play each team in the same order, it never changes. and 4 the record Lewis did bugger all of the pre season last year so it really doesnt matter he doesnt need 2 be that fit he needs 2 stick those big mits up thats all, but 1 thing is 4 sure all roads wont lead 2 lewis there is gonna be plenty of other roads 2 go down this year

apollo bay football club is looking for an extra practice match at home on the 27th of march for details ring perma 0439545506

Bannockburn will miss Justin Bliss, Riccardi and blake.. they dont have any new hard men to replace them, from what i hear they have alot of new kids. what do the banno boys think of their new coach (Ross Dillon)?

So the_voice or should i just call you Pinokio. Seem to be going from this site to the North Central football league running your mouth with no facts at all backing what you are saying. I happen to know the boys running the club down at winters reserve and i can tell you this they have more sponsors then ever before they are working the backsides off to get the club somewhere unlike your self who sits behind the screen of a computer runs his mouth about stuff he wouldn't even know or might think he knows you sound either like a former player who used to play or a ******* that can not play footy so you resort to this sort of behaviour on the internet cause no one can see you. and you can be the man in your chair in your room. so go down there and ask the boys yourself to get the facts i am sure they will tell you straight. Instead of being a weak gutless rat that sits there and bags a club and its people trying to have a crack. It is easy to kick someone when they are down but you better hope they dont get up cause i think these boys and girls will get up it might take a little bit but they will rise. And people like you will crumble you pathetic little person

Listen to you go you big boy you ! You really just told me hey !!!!!
Ha man are you sitting behing a screen typing your little emotional tear jerker post or you standing at the top of a cliff screaming it our whilst pounding your chest ? Let it go littlefisher let it go.

So the Johns you lost is no good but his incoming brother is A-Grade??

Mate, if the Johns that left is classified as no good then forget about the incoming players being A-Grade. They should be playing AFL. And clearly they aren't.

Johns was easily in Werribee's top 5 players, maybe even top 3. It's a solid loss.

PS - Bray = A-grade? Please

*Obviously you dont rate the GDFL very high if you hink johns was in the top 3 best at centrals IMO ,Johns didnt even finish in the top 10 in the b&f at the club....
The johns coming from glenorden won the b&f last year.....
And i think Bray played a handful of games and finished 5th in the b&f so go figure nuff nuff...

kingfisher..................... it doesnt matter how many new sponsers they have or what ever other bull**** you say. the sponser aren't going to with them games or recruit new player. the have a terrible coach who know one wants to play under!!!!!!!!!

And best of luck in being able to secure the services of quality/reasonable players without sponsors! ;)

No not sunbury lions. Clearly they'd smash us, as they would every other team in the GDFL. Hope you pulled up ok satdy morning BMTB. bit hungover big guy?

First off boy wonder learn how to spell then maybe post a message on this forum. You know they do have courses for special people like yourself to learn how to spell and write. I am surprised that you can use a computer, but that being said you probably have a integration aide helping you so I understand. Also I don't know the coach from a bar of soap, but what I do know is that he is having a go so you can not knock someone for having a crack. I would like for you and the voice to come have a catch up with me and I will take you down to Belmont to meet my mates who are running the show. Then you can see for yourselves what is going on and maybe then you can mouth off but until then don't talk cause you are wasting valuable cyberspace and people on this forum are starting to think that you guys a pathetic and your posts are just a big lie.

ps:You can let me know in private message if you are interested in meeting them i will take you down there:D

*Obviously you dont rate the GDFL very high if you hink johns was in the top 3 best at centrals IMO ,Johns didnt even finish in the top 10 in the b&f at the club....
The johns coming from glenorden won the b&f last year.....
And i think Bray played a handful of games and finished 5th in the b&f so go figure nuff nuff...

Well if this is the case then it says very little for the even spread of players at the club. It also says something very fishy is going on with the B&F cards.

Did Johns not finish in the top 10? Thats a disgrace, probably no surprise to see him leaving.
I do rate the GDFL mate and I've seen both of these players in action quite a few times. My opinion hasnt changed.

Reshke did struggle after years of being left to learn his craft on his own as a roar young kid with ability but looked like noone was teaching him football.In the end maybe not a huge loss but was still ok.The club over many years may have failed him.thats my view from an outsiders perspective.Molivas was a young fella oozing class and had an up and down year apparently(i saw a couple of games and was patchy) after winning a best and fairest.still young and needs time and good guidance.I think he was victim to the fact that he was fighting for a spot with the coaches ex hoppers boys.Maybe just maybe this was the case but either way the club should have tried to keep him because at his age the sky is the limit.Im not sure from watching him some days that he even takes it seriously at this stage,so if it clicks he might be one that got away from the centurians.As for Johns,He has played there for a fair few years from memory.maybe ten years?.I, correct me if im wrong but I believe the blokes taking pot shots at him are guys that came to the club last year because everyone you spaek to seems to think the bloke is a good bloke.weather or not he gets a kick,i dont believe a centrals person would be saying such rubbish.Either way the club needs to look at why centrals people Fastuca Carlton Johns etc, have left.East geelong back to back for me.Belmont for the spoon and look forward to watching Muir in a few games this year on a lazy Saturday arvo.Super talent