GDFL Geelong & District Football League - 2010

most definatly not... its the interleague squad from this yr mate.. and i had the blokes i thort wernt good enough for team of the yr at the bottom!!

interleague and T.O.T.Y. are hardly the same, especially when Skrob is the coach.

and thats not a slight against the big fella, as coach he should pick whomever he chooses.

T.O.T.Y should be picked on form for this year only - reputations should count for zero.

i will lay $1000 dollars on the League B&F quinella after the first 8 games as
1st Johns (WC),2nd Symes (BPH). while Symes was understandably tired, the impact he had over the first half of the year shouldnt stop him being picked.
Geelong VFL feel the same way. not sure of any other GDFL player invited to train down there...

Johns has probably missed too many games i'd reckon.

Hogarth will get the three votes in just about every Winchelsea victory and still might even poll when they lose.

Is Fitzsimmons a proven vote getter?

Shaun Lewis might even be in with a sniff?

Don't forget Leatchy polled unexpectedly well last year.

Johns has probably missed too many games i'd reckon.

Hogarth will get the three votes in just about every Winchelsea victory and still might even poll when they lose.

Is Fitzsimmons a proven vote getter?

Shaun Lewis might even be in with a sniff?

Don't forget Leatchy polled unexpectedly well last year.

Shaun Lewis is definitely up there this year, consistent week in week out.

Who will win this week?

Bell Post Hill V Bannockburn.

North Geelong V East Geelong.

My say is BPH by 30 points and East just. What's everyone else say?

My team of the year..

Backs: Taylor Reynolds (North Geelong) - Shaun Simmonds (Werribee Centrals) - David Leatch (Werribee Centrals)

Half Backs: Jamie Van Ingen (Bannockburn) - Brent Grgic (Bell Post Hill) - Sean O'Neill (Thomson)

Centre: Chris Moreland (Bell Post Hill) - Travis Johns (Werribee Centrals) - David Hall (Werribee Centrals)

Half Forwards: Ged Hogarth (Winchelsea) - Ryan Closter (East Geelong) - Aaron Eddy (Bannockburn)

Forwards: Anthony Kitchen (Werribee Centrals) - Paul Breguet (North Geelong) - Andrew Leak (Winchelsea)

Followers: Nathan Lovell (Werribee Centrals) - Derek Fitzsimmons (North Geelong) - Shaun Lewis (Bell Post Hill)

Interchange: Brad Furtulla (Bannockburn) - Jayden Symes (Bell Post Hill) - Clayton Trotter (Inverleigh) - Jamie Duggan (Belmont)

Coach: Frank Fopiani (North Geelong)

Captain: David Leatch (Werribee Centrals)

* Subject to change - did it off the top of my head, bound to have forgotten someone.

Mathieson, J Macleod = out
Simmonds, Closter = in

Bell Post Hill and in the elimination final it's East Geelong's game to lose.

If they play the way they have been for most of the year then North should win, but if East play to their capabilities and for whatever reason they lift for finals (I get the feeling they might) then they are every chance of making another Grand Final.

My team of the year..

Backs: Taylor Reynolds (North Geelong) - Darren Mathieson (North Geelong) - David Leatch (Werribee Centrals)

Half Backs: Jamie Van Ingen (Bannockburn) - Brent Grgic (Bell Post Hill) - Sean O'Neill (Thomson)

Centre: Chris Moreland (Bell Post Hill) - Travis Johns (Werribee Centrals) - David Hall (Werribee Centrals)

Half Forwards: Ged Hogarth (Winchelsea) - Aaron Eddy (Bannockburn) - Brad Furtulla (Bannockburn)

Forwards: Anthony Kitchen (Werribee Centrals) - Paul Breguet (North Geelong) - Andrew Leak (Winchelsea)

Followers: Nathan Lovell (Werribee Centrals) - Derek Fitzsimmons (North Geelong) - Shaun Lewis (Bell Post Hill)

Interchange: Jackson Macleod (Thomson) - Jayden Symes (Bell Post Hill) - Clayton Trotter (Inverleigh) - Jamie Duggan (Belmont)

* Subject to change - did it off the top of my head, bound to have forgotten someone.

good t.o.t.y but chris moreland only played half a year I would change him 4 hall. I still belive jackson did not have a good year

I think people are too quick to judge Jackson after only looking at the goal-tally.

A lot more responsibility on his shoulders now and has spent a lot more time further up the ground than previous years, his role seems to have changed.

I personally think he has still played a large part in Thomson exceeding my own expectations of them this season after losing so many experienced players.

Moreland has done more than enough in half a season to make the side IMO, can understand people having an issue with that selection though.

Also, i've taken Matho out for Simmonds. Matho has been tremendous as usual but I really think Shaun Simmonds has been the leagues premier full back this season.

Rumour has it Belmont has already been speaking to a number of players and from what iv heard around the traps most of the boys that left will come back to Winter Reserve for the 2011 season ! Good too see Belmont finish the season off with a remarkable victory... Good luck next year Lions

My team of the year..

Backs: Taylor Reynolds (North Geelong) - Shaun Simmonds (Werribee Centrals) - David Leatch (Werribee Centrals)

Half Forwards: Ged Hogarth (Winchelsea) - Aaron Eddy (Bannockburn) - Brad Furtulla (Bannockburn)

Interchange: Jackson Macleod (Thomson) - Jayden Symes (Bell Post Hill) - Clayton Trotter (Inverleigh) - Jamie Duggan (Belmont)

spot on bourky. i wouldnt mind having a few bucks on this being the actual team, looks pretty right to me.

All depends on how the coaches go about it (as far as i'm aware they are doing it the same way as last year?)

could get a few ala Forbesy last year.

A lot of players get in there on reputation.

Skrob/Prymke/Jovanovic etc. will all probably get in (none have been bad this year, I just think there have been better)

wait and see I guess.

contemplating making the four hour drive to attend on monday night, start work back in Albury again at 9am Tuesday though. :p

My team of the year..

No room for Steve Overall from BPH?

Duggan has had a good year in a shit team he would't get a game at werribee

I knew some people would have an issue with this selection but the way he has backed it up week after week in a side that went nowhere is a tremendous effort IMO.

oh. and he'd easily get a game at any team in the competition.

probably as a forward pocket or something.

doubt he'll make the actual team of the year.

Closter on his day is the best player in the comp.
Surely will get a spot.

Certainly up there with the competitions stars. I was umming and ahhing about his consistency over the year though.

At a second look it seems like he has had a pretty decent year and should poll pretty well in the Eagles B&F.

Should make the team of the year, oversight on my behalf. I was going to put Eddy on the flank and Closter at CHF but went with Furtulla instead.

Actually, you've talked me into it haha.

Macleod out, Furtulla to the bench and Closter in.

Certainly had a good year, wouldn't have any problems if he made the team.

one of Dale Smyth's favourites:thumbsu:

U must be kidding his a twos player and isn't named this weekend in the ones. If u r gunna put a side up be fair dinkim about it and don't just throw names around to keep people on this site happy.

I never said he was a gun player of the competition, but he has certainly played his part for the Panthers this year. I would have seen Bell Post Hill five or so times this season and I reckon he played in four of those games and was excellent in 3 of them and okay once.

Obviously his form has tapered off in recent weeks (I haven't seen a GD game for almost a month now) and with Bell Post Hill's form as a collective improving significantly he has become a selection victim. But he still played fifteen games in the ones this season and was named in the best seven times (only Shaun Lewis has featured more than Overall in the best for the Panthers this year.)

you might not rate him but thems the facts:thumbsu:

Just because somebody isn't an automatic selection doesn't mean they haven't had a good year.

He isn't in my team and I never planned on putting him in there, but as I said, I wouldn't have a problem if he made the real one as I think he has played a servicable season with BPH.

i have been reading through this forum over this year and havent felt the need to say anything until today where i read something as silly as this, to say steve overall is a twos player is ludicrious! played the first two games in the twos and ever since has been one of the slight few players that are an automatic selection week in week out, highly regarded throughout the club and im sure if you asked any of the power forwards he plays on they'l tell you who the toughest full back they have to play on is

My team of the year..

Half Forwards: Ged Hogarth (Winchelsea) - Ryan Closter (East Geelong) - Aaron Eddy (Bannockburn)

Interchange: Brad Furtulla (Bannockburn) - Jayden Symes (Bell Post Hill) - Clayton Trotter (Inverleigh) - Jamie Duggan (Belmont)

Mathieson, J Macleod = out
Simmonds, Closter = in

I think if you ask most forwards in the league they would say Daniel 'Snowy' Matthews from Thomson was a bloke they didn't like playing on. Pushed into the midfield for a few games this year and will poll well in the League medal. I'd rather have him in my team than Grgic at CHB.

Well done to Blue West ressies for making the finals!

First time in a while one of their teams has made the finals.
Not only did they qualify but they won today, and against a perennial finalist in BPH, who have made the GF for the past 2 years. Good fighting win, which would have shocked the boys from the Hill.

Well done!

Sorry to jump in on the footy discussion but I am going to be moving to the Geelong area next year and am looking for a footy club to play with and it looks as though the GDFL might be around my level and suits where i might be living. I can best describe myself as a good 2's player so i am looking for a club that will have a good 2's side that may challenge for a flag. I am in my early 30's any advice would be appreciated.

Looks like Ryan Coy is going to win the Neville Whitley medal.

Currently on 20 votes with only five or so rounds remaining.

Jackson Macleod in 2nd place on 12

Travis Johns has 11

David Hall has 10, as does Ryan Closter.

Official Team of the Year

Van Ingen, Ling, Richerts
Mathieson, Prymke, Hogarth
Hall, Johns, Lewis
Furtulla, Grgic, Closter
Jovanovic, Breguet, Kitchen

Lovell, Fitzsimmons, Leak

Ryan Coy, Jackson Macleod, Zach Hickleton and Ross Dillon