GFL Geelong Football League - 2010

A couple of thoughts on the season;

Biggest improver: Lara (The best story in a long time in the GFL very refreshing to see it CAN be done)
Biggest Disappointment: Grovedale (After the preseason hype from the coach)
Best Coach: Harris
Biggest Surprise: How well Davenport has got St Albans playing good signs for next year possibly the the next team to break into the finals?????
Premier: Bell Park
Runner up: Lara
Pretenders: St Joseph's
Overachieved: Leopold
Best Individual effort: Jones 13 Goals v West
One Last Thing: Don't write off South Barwon

Adam, now you are making some sense, if you put stuff like that up, and not the abuse, which you wrote the other night, you would have a lot more credibility.
My point all the way through has been, abusing and bagging your club is not constructive, when you think and write something like you just did, you come across as someone who does want his club to do well.
as far as being an un named keyboard warrior, you arent happy because everyone knows who you are. If you could be you would be un named too.:D

Fair enough, I dont really care if im known on here or not but there's no need for you to try making shit up about junior footy for a cheap laugh.

I think I give the club credit when its due, but if they dont deserve one then ill give them a bake.

A couple of thoughts on the season;

Biggest improver: Lara (The best story in a long time in the GFL very refreshing to see it CAN be done)
Biggest Disappointment: Grovedale (After the preseason hype from the coach)
Biggest Surprise: How well Davenport has got St Albans playing good signs for next year possibly the the next team to break into the finals?????
Runner up: Lara

Pretty spot on with most of that, tho id have Newtown as the biggest disappointment considering all the hoopla bout there recruiting. And I reckn Bell Park will play South in the granny.

hello all, sorry to enter the site a little late in the season but have read the blogs with great interest lately when the conversation has turned a little against tim finnigan. tim as an ex-junior player you surely would have seen that the old grovey players that you are calling on to return, had never done any better then the current group of bfl players that you so often bake on here. you make statements like"the club needs to stop recruting from torquay and anglesea" and "get rid of all of them but 2". But without these guys you don't have a team to go and watch and whinge about.

Now i do know some people at grovedale and before i signed up i have asked around about what it is that you do there, sadly i'm still to find someone who knows who you are. Why do u think you have the right to jump on here and give a bake to the 22 guys who play every week.

hello all, sorry to enter the site a little late in the season but have read the blogs with great interest lately when the conversation has turned a little against tim finnigan. tim as an ex-junior player you surely would have seen that the old grovey players that you are calling on to return, had never done any better then the current group of bfl players that you so often bake on here. you make statements like"the club needs to stop recruting from torquay and anglesea" and "get rid of all of them but 2". But without these guys you don't have a team to go and watch and whinge about.

Now i do know some people at grovedale and before i signed up i have asked around about what it is that you do there, sadly i'm still to find someone who knows who you are. Why do u think you have the right to jump on here and give a bake to the 22 guys who play every week.

"wayne's brother" In all honesty Grovedale's 2nd half was pretty woeful, especially the last quarter. Colac's midfield ran riot, Buchanan and no 20 for Colac ripped shreads through the midfield and i am unsure who was suppose to be on them but no need for silly words like that in a public forum im afraid Tim/Adam. Turning point for me was when Adam Donohue got moved forward in the 3rd term and dropped a soda of a chest mark to only result in a goal straight away up the other end and then 15 minutes later Colac have put on 7 goals, he should of stayed at half back. The side needs some big bodies, Carmody was just all over them with his physique and skill and Grovedale just dont have any one to put on these sort of types, they continually get a big player kicking bags of goals against them.

Whilst the coach is obviously copping his fair share, some of these players need to just stand up and be counted, I personally think there "cattle" isn't as bad as what people say they just aren't gelling as a side which is dissapointing but lets hope they turn it around!

Biggest improver: Leopold because I dont rate Lara
Biggest Disappointment: Grovedale
Best Coach: John Fitzgerald
Worst Coach: Harvey Lang
Biggest Surprise: Lara
Premier: South Barwon
Runner up: St Marys
Wooden Spoon: North Shore
Pretenders: Bell Park (come finals)
Overachieved: Lara
Best Individual effort: Jones 13 goals
One Last Thing: South will win the flag easy.
Matheson Medal Prediction: Jackson Sheringham (bell Park) and Kane Smith (Lara) tie
Matheson Medal Smokey: Jack Shannahan (Lara)

Hey shake and bake just wondering why you do not rate Lara? They are inside the five and have beaten South St Marys and Bell park recently. find this comment very interesting

Fair enough, I dont really care if im known on here or not but there's no need for you to try making shit up about junior footy for a cheap laugh.

I think I give the club credit when its due, but if they dont deserve one then ill give them a bake.

there was nothing made up about your junior footy, if you are going to put that sort of rubbish on then people should know what your credentials are.
anyway i'm getting bored with this, its too easy to get you fired up:D

Hey shake and bake just wondering why you do not rate Lara? They are inside the five and have beaten South St Marys and Bell park recently. find this comment very interesting

becauce shake and bake plays at grovedale and has only seen them once and grovedale beat lara and he dosn't rate them:p Also harris copped alot of stick for recruiting the hollmer boys because they came from the cdfl but they have been handy players for lara

Absolutly not a player I wouldn't get a game in the 2's so i probably don't know what im talking about because all i do is drink piss in the car park when i get to watch grovey when im not working. But i have seen Lara in round 1 and when Grovey beat them and in round 1 Grovey were 3 points down with 15 minutes to go in the last quarter with a howling breeze behind them and only smarts got Lara over the line then, or should i say the lack of smarts by grovedale. My comments might of been over the top a bit, I don't not rate them but in my opinion, Lara are not in the top 5 sides in the comp and Leopold are better then them by a good stretch, now maybe im saying that because I saw a very good Leopold side beat Grovey about 6 weeks ago im not sure

Shake and Bake, I do believe you maybe talking rubbish mate, I do not support Lara but they are top 5 and have beaten higher ranked sides, Leopold have only themselves to blame for missing out as they have dropped games that they should have won and Lara have probably dropped the Grovedale game but have won the ones that counted.

On another note, why is it that a lot of clubs choose not to go in for a drink at the opposition rooms.

I have noticed this a lot over the last few years and find it quite poor.

It appears a lot of teams are now going to the pool or beach after a game and choose not to "do the right thing".

Initially it was a football tradition that seems to be lost as we now treat GFL like a professional league.

Even most VFL clubs make it mandatory to go into opposition rooms.

The whole idea of having a league is to support each others club when playing away and having the decency to go in win, lose or draw.

lara might have earned there finals spot this year. but lets be honest when they come up against bell park, south barwon and st marys, all at full stength in finals, lara will go missing, there is no way they can match the experience of these three sides.
from what i have seen watching lara v grovedale on both occasions this yr, lara have not impressed.... round 1 saw them beat a deflated grovedale side were a few of its better players had " off" days and only won by a small margin with the help of grovedale throwing away multiple opportunites to score. second time around lara were out classed and out played even though lara had there VFL players back, and grovedale were not at full strength. i understand that every team can have its day, and obviously lara has had there far share of them this year.. lara will be found out come september.

i tend to agree with " frank grimes jnr" in saying that if not for grovedale recruiting from coastal areas then grovedale would have been in a way worser spot than they are now. plus a few of the plyers recruited would be walk up starts in any quality GFL side, so you cannot blame the club for looking at a " lesser" league, and everyone knows that there are gun players in every league, and grovedale has done well to recruit the ones they have given there track record.

surely " you " agree :confused:

lara might have earned there finals spot this year. but lets be honest when they come up against bell park, south barwon and st marys, all at full stength in finals, lara will go missing, there is no way they can match the experience of these three sides.
from what i have seen watching lara v grovedale on both occasions this yr, lara have not impressed.... round 1 saw them beat a deflated grovedale side were a few of its better players had " off" days and only won by a small margin with the help of grovedale throwing away multiple opportunites to score. second time around lara were out classed and out played even though lara had there VFL players back, and grovedale were not at full strength. i understand that every team can have its day, and obviously lara has had there far share of them this year.. lara will be found out come september.

i tend to agree with " frank grimes jnr" in saying that if not for grovedale recruiting from coastal areas then grovedale would have been in a way worser spot than they are now. plus a few of the plyers recruited would be walk up starts in any quality GFL side, so you cannot blame the club for looking at a " lesser" league, and everyone knows that there are gun players in every league, and grovedale has done well to recruit the ones they have given there track record.

Lara early in the year were not jelling as a side as they had a lot of new recruits.
but over the past few weeks they have really begun to work together as a team really well. They have been lucky with a couple of wins in the past few weeks (Bell park inaccurate) but they play well as a team and they will threaten in the finals. Iam not sure why people write them off so easily.

I am actually rather surprised to hear this talk about Lara to be honest! I will agree that they have certainly shocked a few of us with there rise into the top 5 but to say they dont deserve there spot and that they have no chance against the more experienced sides of Bell Park, Sth Barwon and St Mary's come finals time is a fair bit off if you ask me. In regards to the win against grovedale in round 1, the margin was still 25 points and to put their wins against Bell Park, Sth Barwon and St Mary's down to them 'having their day" is a joke, if that is the case then Lara have been extremely lucky to have "one of those days" three weeks out of four, that doesnt happen very often does it? It's fine to have your opinion and I will have mine. In those wins over the "superior" teams of the competition they have come from behind in all games so let's just wait til finals time, should they make it, and see how they perform on a much bigger ground. Personally im extremely impressed by and excited to see their youth and supreme fitness on display at KP

I assume your talking to me? Surely your taking the piss suggesting any of there recruits would be a walk up start in strong GFL sides?? If your serious could you please name them? Donohue, Baars, Waldron, Riordan and Gleeson would be the top 5 players at the club and none of them have come from the coast.

Track record?? How do the recuits from the BFL compare to these ones from the past few years- Mitch Barrow, Micheal Poon, Peter O'Brian, Pete Davenport, David Mensch, Ty Baxter. They've recruited alot better before the past few years. In regards to your comments yesterday saying Groveys recruits from the coast have done a better job than when we had more grovey boys playing. Silliest comment ive heard for awhile. Groveys 2008 side that finished 8th or 9th would beat last years and this years sides by 15 goals.

As for recruiting from lesser leagues- Grovey recruit from the BFL. South, Marys, Bell Park, Joeys and Lara dont. Who's currently occupying the top 5 spots on the ladder this year?

Im tipping you and that other moron Frank Grimes junior are 2's players recruited from the coast who are pissed of that i didnt include you in the list of recruits that id bother keeping next year.

I assume your talking to me? Surely your taking the piss suggesting any of there recruits would be a walk up start in strong GFL sides?? If your serious could you please name them? Donohue, Baars, Waldron, Riordan and Gleeson would be the top 5 players at the club and none of them have come from the coast.

Track record?? How do the recuits from the BFL compare to these ones from the past few years- Mitch Barrow, Micheal Poon, Peter O'Brian, Pete Davenport, David Mensch, Ty Baxter. They've recruited alot better before the past few years. In regards to your comments yesterday saying Groveys recruits from the coast have done a better job than when we had more grovey boys playing. Silliest comment ive heard for awhile. Groveys 2008 side that finished 8th or 9th would beat last years and this years sides by 15 goals.

As for recruiting from lesser leagues- Grovey recruit from the BFL. South, Marys, Bell Park, Joeys and Lara dont. Who's currently occupying the top 5 spots on the ladder this year?

Im tipping you and that other moron Frank Grimes junior are 2's players recruited from the coast who are pissed of that i didnt include you in the list of recruits that id bother keeping next year.

Well said, agree with everything there

Well id imagine the topic would be getting quite old for those not involved. So ill leave it with this. If any of these blokes are from Grovey come over and talk to me at the Bell Park game this wknd.

Lara weren't impressive against us this year but its obvioulsy no fluke that they've knocked off the top 3 sides in the past 3 weeks. I reckn on the wide expanses of Kardinia Park they could be a real threat come September.

i think its a far statement in saying that " if not for grovey recruiting from the coast they would be in a much worse off spot than they are now"... considering that all of grovedals recruits other than " coastal recruits" from the past 4 seasons have come and gone! hence why i said that if not for the recruits from the past two seasons, it would be only twos players forming a senior side........ fair comment?:confused:
i didnt say that all recruits from torquay or anglesea would be walk up starts in any GFL side, i said a " few ".
i agree with u in saying that gleeson,baars,riordan,donahue, and waldron are some of grovedales top players, idd also add montgomery, hunt and taylor, and also raidme if he was to come back to that list of players..... fair comment?? :confused:

im not on here to create an uproar just voicing an opinion for chit chat, nothing but a local supporter from time to time.

Might be slightly off the mark there Tim.

South Barwon recruited Mitch Herbison and Chad Vince from the BFL and have been regulars in their side this year. Wiseman and Westwood were also ex BFL

Lara have Sam Clark and Tristan Mountjoy both from Ammos in the BFL.

St Marys have Tim Mclean, Daniel Jull and Ben Lavars all ex BFL.

Bell Park have Rohan McSparron, Kristian Bucovaz and Nick Sutcliffe all ex Ammos and from BFL.

I'm sure there a a few more there i may be missing that have come from the BFL in theses sides.

I dont think there is anything wrong with recruiting players from the BFL. Its just that you have to recruit the right ones. I reckon only the top BFL players make it in the GFL. There are of course exceptions. Chad Vince couldnt get a game in the Ammos ones last year and now he is playing seniors at South Barwon so go figure. I guess it doesnt matter what league you come from as long as you are good enough.

Biggest improver: Lara. No contest.
Biggest Disappointment: Grovedale and Newtown, though they are winning a couple at the end to make it look respectable. Could even be Joeys.
Biggest Surprise: How well Davenport has got St Albans playing good & the rumours that keep coming out of Joeys & Newtown.
Runner up: St Marys
Matheson Medal Prediction: Kane Smith (Lara)
Matheson Medal Smokey: David Isbister (Lara)

Might be slightly off the mark there Tim.

South Barwon recruited Mitch Herbison and Chad Vince from the BFL and have been regulars in their side this year. Wiseman and Westwood were also ex BFL

Lara have Sam Clark and Tristan Mountjoy both from Ammos in the BFL.

St Marys have Tim Mclean, Daniel Jull and Ben Lavars all ex BFL.

Bell Park have Rohan McSparron, Kristian Bucovaz and Nick Sutcliffe all ex Ammos and from BFL.

I'm sure there a a few more there i may be missing that have come from the BFL in theses sides.

I dont think there is anything wrong with recruiting players from the BFL. Its just that you have to recruit the right ones. I reckon only the top BFL players make it in the GFL. There are of course exceptions. Chad Vince couldnt get a game in the Ammos ones last year and now he is playing seniors at South Barwon so go figure. I guess it doesnt matter what league you come from as long as you are good enough.

You've missed my point slighty mate. Obviously there's ex BFL players playing in most GFL sides and the guys you've mentioned above are all quality players. But those top sides dont have predominately BFL players do they? My point was your not going to become a GFL powerhouse when you do the baulk of your recruiting from lower leagues. A side like St Mary's have recruited guys that were very good BFL players but they also recruit from much higher leagues aswell as AFL or state league, where as we havnt (besides buck)

I know what you mean. But you did say this.

So you did say those clubs dont when they actually do.

There is nothing wrong with Grovedale recruiting players from the BFL they just need to get better ones than they have in the past. But i guess the way Grovedale have been going they are hardly as attractive as the clubs you mentioned. But there are gems out there. Chad Vince is a classic example. Could not get a game in the Ammos grand final side yet the next season goes and plays seniors for the reigning premiers in the GFL so as i said you just have to recruit smartly not just grab anyone you can.

tim you MORON, why haven't grovey been able to pick up the top players of the bfl, maybe it has something to do with the stigma that surrounded the club possible to do with young blokes like your self, im not to sure but why compare sides from 2007-2008 with the current group when they have ended up in the same spot on the ladder with a bunch of lesser lights running around.

at the moment they don't have a Poon or Barrow they have Eddy and Shafer, and others. They don't have O'brian or a Mench they have a few under 18 kids. i would rather see they played young kids with a good attitude then a bunch of blokes who go from club to club looking for the best deal. and for the other bloke guys like chad vince get carried through the season in a side like south because he plays on no one, go to a lower or mid range side where you have to play on the oppositions best players and then see how u fair.

tim you MORON, why haven't grovey been able to pick up the top players of the bfl, maybe it has something to do with the stigma that surrounded the club possible to do with young blokes like your self, im not to sure but why compare sides from 2007-2008 with the current group when they have ended up in the same spot on the ladder with a bunch of lesser lights running around.

at the moment they don't have a Poon or Barrow they have Eddy and Shafer, and others. They don't have O'brian or a Mench they have a few under 18 kids. i would rather see they played young kids with a good attitude then a bunch of blokes who go from club to club looking for the best deal. and for the other bloke guys like chad vince get carried through the season in a side like south because he plays on no one, go to a lower or mid range side where you have to play on the oppositions best players and then see how u fair.

Maybe Vince just worked harder over the preseason and improved his game.

Id say the stigma may come from playing finals 3 times in 30 years. Not sure how thats my fault.

In my opinion 2007 really hurt the club. We were in the 5 all year untill the last game. That season was proably the closest in recent memory and who knows what may have happened if we'd made finals. Bell Park took our spot and ended up playing off in the granny. If we played finals that year we may not have gone as backwards as we have in the last 2 years.

Eddy and CHAFER are 2 good local boys, whilst not guns im happy for them to be playing instead of recruiting 2 other blokes from Torquay who aren't any better yet probably on more money.

Not sure if you've been to any games lately, but if thats your opinion of a good attitude then your in the wrong caper.

Mate if you are a Grovedale person and you think things are going along swimmingly then your the MORON. And if you have a problem with people talking about things on a public site like this, F**K OFF AND DONT READ IT ********..