Official Team Thread Geelong Gumbies Season 14 Thread

And now we return you to your regular planning; Flogging flogs with whips and chains followed by "Burgo's Catchprase Stealer" where you get television time and a studio audience who care on promoting to tell your woes when you feel a word, phrase or collection of sounds that form some manner of speech pattern was overdone.

But wait.

There's more!

Given that you'll be engaging in the gift of the gab and that no doubt there'll be someone in production called Gabby which is short for Gabriel and no doubt some manner of "she was a little angel before she became a teenager and rebelled against everything that wasn't fastened down with electricity an a rabid chia pet" but gabby would find nothing wrong because she shits gold, having read Jack and the Beanstalk far too many times and being referred to as a bird we come to the crux of this fluffing at others expense and deliver the Season 14 Golden Boot trophy, excreted by a secret goose chained in a backroom watching re-runs of Viva Laughlin, forged in the back shed of Bazzas with a dinky little hammer and some glue, transported in the back of a Fed-Ex truck after the fat bastard driver shoved it on with a bent metal pole, delivered in pristine condition after being dropped off at the wrong address and them being OCD.

With 32 goals for the season, generally playing at FF, it's everyones favourite half of the Ninty2Winty combo if they like colder weather, Winty!

2012goldenbootwinty.png

No lead up in this one lads, it wasn't even close.

We've got some strawberries and knives left over from dessert, if you guess the text font I've been using they're yours so you can sharpen the strawberries and throw them at Winty for monopolising the award, like, forever!

Next, tasting and judgment! Also rounds 10-14 in the B&F.

For those that are interested, the top 7* goal scorers were:

1 ( 6 ) winty 32 goals
2 ( 18 ) WaLkEr_ThE_StAr 19 goals
3 ( 36 ) Claypigeon 15 goals
4 ( 38 ) Buckets007 14 goals
5 ( 42 ) safman 13 goals
6 ( 48 ) TheDoctor11 12 goals
7 ( 56 ) whoopsman 11 goals

* Too lazy to get the other 3 scorers not in the league list to round out a top 10 ;)

And me at 6 goals 8 behinds... .... yup. XD

And now, one award to rule them all! And spawn some manner of sequel / prequel at a much later date so that people can remember what happened and grade it appropriately.

Round #10 vs East Side Hawks
Hawks 10.8.68 def Geelong 6.15.51

In what was the beginning of the end, our opening great goal kicking went entirely to shit, Gid was invoked and Gid supported the Hawks

1 vote … Striker475 - 25 possessions & 8 marks
2 votes… Lion Cub 16 – 25 possessions, 8 marks, 2 tackles
3 votes… peterss – 26 possessions, 15 marks, 2 tackles

Tally
11 Claypigeon, Striker475
9 Flawed Genius
7 peterss
4 Lion Cub 16
3 The Doctor 11, Ninty, StFly
2 Scared Scotland, whoopsman
1 ACTHAWK, axis_miles03, safman, Eagle0z83

Round #11 vs Roys FC
Roys 9.6.60 lost to Geelong 14.10.94

Then it got tight at the top again as a recruit and an inactive performed better than everyone.

1 vote … peterss – 24 possessions, 2 marks, 3 tackles
2 votes… Bartel – 16 possessions & 4 goals
3 votes… A Bit High – 15 possessions, 8 marks, 3 tackles, 2 goals 1 behind

Tally
9 Flawed Genius
8 peterss
4 Lion Cub 16
3 The Doctor 11, Ninty, StFly, A Bit High
2 Scared Scotland, whoopsman, Bartel
1 ACTHAWK, axis_miles03, safman, Eagle0z83

Round #12 vs Southern Dragons
Dragons 14.8.92 lost to Geelong 15.3.93

1 vote … Eagle0z83 – 19 possessions, 1 mark, 2 goals
2 votes… StFly – 11 hit outs, 15 possessions, 3 tackles, 4 frees for, 1 goal
3 votes… winty – 14 possessions, 9 mark, 4 goals

Before the old guard returned with a vengeance to once again knock off the Dragons, with a certain someone filthy he didn't get the 3 votes for having the longest lit of stats posted. Grr! Its rigged!

Tally
9 Flawed Genius
8 peterss
5 StFly
4 Lion Cub 16
3 The Doctor 11, Ninty, A Bit High, winty
2 Scared Scotland, whoopsman, Bartel, Eagle0z83
1 ACTHAWK, axis_miles03, safman

Round #13 vs Baghdad Bombers
Geelong 9.4.58 def Bombers 7.12.54

1 vote … StFly - 9 hit outs, 17 possessions, 2 tackles
2 votes… Flawed Genius – 21 possessions & 6 marks
3 votes… Claypigeon – 16 possessions, 5 tackles, 3 goals

Before those at the top felt scared and pulled their fingers out to extend the gap in last ditch efforts at winning things.

Tally
14 Claypigeon
11 Striker475, Flawed Genius
8 peterss
6 StFly
4 Lion Cub 16

Round #14 vs West Coast Wonders
Wonders 16.18.114 def Geelong 15.12.102

1 vote …StFly – 19 hit outs, 23 possessions, 2 tackles, 1 goal 2 behinds
2 votes…peterss – 27 possessions, 3 marks, 3 goals
3 votes… Claypigeon – 28 possessions, 6 tackles, 1 goal

And doing it again despite still having the longest stat line, god what is with those umpires and their man love for people who can run. I'm 170cm and rucking FFS.

Tally
17 Claypigeon
10 peterss
7 StFly
4 Lion Cub 16

So with 3 rounds left to play we have Clay with a 6 point gap on his nearest competitors, however with 9 points still up for grabs will this lead be enough? Can I possibly get 12 and rig the count in my favour? How else can I create tension through text without delving into some sort of twilight bullshit?

Next week, after I do my footy tips (so like in 3 hours) we get the next part of the program posted. Oh la la its getting exciting.

[YOUTUBE]3GwjfUFyY6M[/YOUTUBE]

I just want to say, my Galah is going absolutely batshit insane outside atm, he really needs to STFU before I buy a tiny dog suit and take a trip down to the Gameday studio "free firewood" just for you Hammer. Then he'll freak out more and attempt to peck his face off revealing a sentient turkey. So without further ado 4pm has come and gone by almost half an hour and we have two, that's right, double won for winners (ho ho, word punnery) in Best 1st Year player and Tool of the Season, so we shall give out the first first and the second after the first, possibly third but definitely second.

In a season where we gained several Trolls including their Captain, former Gumby and now former Troll and replacement Captain in nicgrant, roostergal and Striker we also picked up some handy additions who stuck around in the manly men whoopsman & safman, a doctor, 11th in his line and halfway through the season the helium balloon that did in A Bit High, yet unfortunately there can be only one winner of this award and me forgetting I haven't done these images yet so

err...

Fast forward posting time lag! YEAH!

With a vote of 2:1, Season 14's Best 1st year player is...

2012bestfirstyearplayer.png

TheDoctor11, which proves that you can buy your way into a vote if you go to school and get a phd kiddies. Congratulations newbiest of newbs for this season, may you be less nubtastic in your second season so someone else can win.

Moving right along we come to the fun part of the night before everyone's hopes and dreams get shattered in declaring the Tool of the Season.

There were thrills, spills and some downright idiocy, so lets attempt a recap shall we?

Early into his tenure safman went walkabout after declaring he'd stick around, whoops a diddle, nature is dangerous and why we all appear on an internet forum!

Similarly apologising for his persistent disappearances Bartel made his much vaunted come back only to once again vanish without a trace. This coincided with Poppy Montgomery starring in Unfortgettable. A coincidence? I think not!

In a round which spawned Boncers Appeals Board of point deductions, peterss and StFly almost screwed the pooch entirely with a late team submission, but thankfully got out of it through pinpoint pleading.

But none of these match our eventual winner, for this individual first joined another team, then whored out to us, claimed premiership success was a given, danced a bit and then vanished away from the SFA after finding it all a little bit tough especially after a little dressing down by our resident bug.

That's right ladies and gents, the tool for season 14 is none other than...

tooloftheyearstriker.png

Striker475 for joining a team, joining another, captaining the Trolls and removing himself from the SFA by about the halfway point of the season.

You get Dave Hughes' frontal lobe; for when you really need that extra head to realise who stupid you were.

And in roughly 2 hours time we crown the Season 14 Best & Fairest, with medal presentation to be by 3rd season veteran me. Got a problem then blame everyone with seniority for not putting their hand up dagnammit!

Just popping in a slight delay because of effing woman expletive scheduling and etc since the meeting with the sister to do a 5 min tipping job equated to an hour and a bit wait & running around like a headless chook where I somehow got roped into doing some sort of PR work for them somewhere between "hurry the F up" and "F off, you're dreaming".

So FMD I'm cooking dinner and chillaxing before writing the climax because it should be damned enjoyable instead of faked!

*1hr including dinner, dessert, almost running over some kids deciding to play chicken with the car and powerball later...

Seeing as no one had made any suggestions on what might happen I'll don my bowler cap, put on a faux British accent and pretend that I didn't do the vote to postulate what might have happened.

Indubitably I doth tip my hat to the fine specimen of Jeff Goldblum mine eyes have viewed. Thank you for this chance most brief as Law & Order is on the background. Mine ball, waxed lyrical that there shall be a rally most divine though it shant avail the multiple award winner. Cheerio, strumpet is crying and needs consolement. TALLY HO!

And so without further thinking of what the crap I just wrote, here are the end of the votes.

Round #15 vs Southern Dragons
Geelong 12.9.81 def Dragons 11.13.79

1 vote*… StFly – 13 hit outs, 23 possessions, 2 tackles, 1 goal
1 vote*… A Bit High – 26 possessions & 7 marks
2 votes… peterss – 30 possessions, 5 marks, 1 goal 2 behind
3 votes… Lion Cub 16 – 26 possessions, 6 tackles, 2 frees for, 2 goals

In this game we encounter the tied vote in which the umpires could not divide two players and as such decided to grade them exactly the same, thus giving us 4 people instead of 3. Oh and as per usual we beat the Dragons and set them on course for that coffin to be quadrupled nailed closed on premiership aspirations.

Tally
17 Claypigeon
12 peterss
8 StFly
7 Lion Cub 16
4 A Bit High
3 The Doctor 11, Ninty, winty

Round #16 vs Mount Buller Demons
Geelong 15.4.94 lost to Demons 15.15.105

1 vote … Claypigeon – 24 possessions, 4 tackles, 3 frees for
2 votes… winty – 15 possessions, 5 marks, 4 goals
3 votes… StFly – 15 hit outs, 28 possessions, 3 tackles

Unfortunately for us all, with that vote the rest of this is hogwash as I stole the 3 votes and any possible chance that anyone could catch Clay at the top. Sorry chaps, if it helps I felt much chuffed when doing the votes that I might have a chance before self pwning when I looked at the tally. Oh and we could have sewn up a finals berth but started stumbling against stiff competition before the wheels plum fell off...

Tally
18 Claypigeon
12 peterss
11 Striker475, Flawed Genius, StFly
7 Lion Cub 16
5 winty
4 A Bit High
3 The Doctor 11, Ninty

Round #17 vs Fighting Furies
Furies 24.17.161 def Geelong 14.12.96

1 vote … Eagle0z83 – 23 possessions 4 marks, 1 goal
2 votes… StFly – 15 hit outs, 21 possessions, 2 tackles
3 votes… whoopsman – 24 possessions, 6 tackles, 1 goal

...in this round, where we sucked as no one had sucked before missing out by percentage as the Wonders sucked less, and despite my storming home I needed 2 more games to usurp Clay and retain my title, but alas...

Tally
18 Claypigeon
13 StFly
12 peterss
7 Lion Cub 16
5 winty, whoopsman
4 A Bit High
3 The Doctor 11, Ninty, Eagle0z83
2 Scared Scotland, Bartel

The winner, champion, all round nicest target you ever did try and take pot shots at, immediately feel bad and check that he was ok...

3rd place to peterss; who started strongly but faded towards the end.
2nd place to StFly; who started slowly, got suspended and then came home with a wet sail, but all eyes go to, as I welcome him onto the stage to grab his medallion...

the Season 14 dual Mobbenfuhrer Medalist...
the Season 14 Gumbies Best & Fairest...

2012bestfairestclay.png

CLAYPIGEON, LADIES AND GENTLEFOLK!

*clapping goes here

[youtube]yFgh1RDhv-Q[/youtube]

Thanks Streets. .. it's an honour to receive this award and great to see some youth in the mix for votes and look forward to having some of them steal some more votes next season. ..

Have to thank the sponsors without DAS and Playdoh our jumper would be a bit bare. .. and with ISC we wouldn't have quality sweatshop guernseys. .. and special mention to Cub for the great designs, looking forward to future works of art. ..

Thanks also to Peterss for recruiting me, not more than two seasons ago and I've felt welcome since. .. Cheers to Streets for being a star and a great co-captain this season. .. To the rest of you Gumbots, lets roll out and kick ass next season, in the mean time enjoy the SOO. ..

Congratulations Claypigeon and all the other award winners.

Massive pat on the back to all who put the awards night together, I must admit being new to the club I did not no what to expect but you have done a fantastic job.

Looking forward to my first full season next season.

Go Gumbies!

Official Team Thread Geelong Gumbies Season 14 Thread