No Oppo Supporters General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome** Part 6

Buddy looking trim

I reckon the stress leading to first born has dad looking in great shape around then...then the dad bod arrives with a vengeance. Those could be your last really good photos

LMFAO i loved this part

“It’s not just the cost of housing in Sydney, it’s the quality,” said Pridham, who said his private business had to pay staff higher wages in Sydney. “Houses are smaller, blocks are smaller.

“Even the top players [at the Swans] don’t live in mansions.”

They do not need any sort of COLA for living, they just aren't willing to sacrifice at all.

Give up the academies to the AFL and you can have a housing assistance i suppose if it is that difficult for you.
Last point on this.

Isn't it funny that the AFL has two main equalisation measures, a draft and a salary cap.

They have received concessions on BOTH of those over the past 10 years yet the media never talk about that when heaping praise on them.

They get praised for what an amazing job they have done rebuilding yet if you take out Blakey, Gulden, Campbell, Heeney, Mills is the future at the Swans anywhere near as promising?

Imagine landing McDonald and getting Campbell for some change

Imagine finishing top 4 and getting to add a top 3 pick without giving up significant assets. Remove them already AFL.

Also the cost of living in Melbourne and swine town went down

You say some fairly wild things LMG, but this is the course leader by a long way. Have a look at the insane auction prices on any given weekend in Melbourne and Sydney of late - the cost of living has not gone down and particularly for housing. Other than petrol during the height of global lock downs I can’t think of one thing the cost has actually gone down over the past 12 months here - and even then I was trying to run off fumes a few weeks back to avoid filling up for close to $1.70/litre.

I’d love the whole crowd to refuse this ridiculous q code thing. So everyone who goes in each of the 6 entrances scan one of the codes? So that’s potentially 10,000 people to track if there’s a case?

It should be on each bay after people are inside. Then I hear the argument ‘oh they have a ticket with seat number’

That’s right they have a ticket with a seat number. The q code is signalling of the worst kind and stupid and irrelevant

View attachment 1085236

For anyone wondering why I think Dangerfield is a campaigner. Maybe he can give Lindy Chamberlain a call to share experiences.

The whole quote was more balanced. But as AFLPA press he should have known the quote would get out, and it’s a bad look in his position

I’d love the whole crowd to refuse this ridiculous q code thing. So everyone who goes in each of the 6 entrances scan one of the codes? So that’s potentially 10,000 people to track if there’s a case?

It should be on each bay after people are inside. Then I hear the argument ‘oh they have a ticket with seat number’

That’s right they have a ticket with a seat number. The q code is signalling of the worst kind and stupid and irrelevant

It’s really not stupid and irrelevant. Ticketek would have the details of ticket holders but due to privacy laws just could not hand that over on a wholesale basis to a government department. Plus people can give tickets to friends or on-sell them and the details of the ticket holder would then be useless from a contact tracing perspective.

Being that our contact tracing team in Victoria has struggled at times and having witnessed last year how quickly an outbreak gets out of hand (and that was before the new variants) I’m not going to be a dick and make their work harder if there is an outbreak.

It’s really not stupid and irrelevant. Ticketek would have the details of ticket holders but due to privacy laws just could not hand that over on a wholesale basis to a government department. Plus people can give tickets to friends or on-sell them and the details of the ticket holder would then be useless from a contact tracing perspective.

Being that our contact tracing team in Victoria has struggled at times and having witnessed last year how quickly an outbreak gets out of hand (and that was before the new variants) I’m not going to be a dick and make their work harder if there is an outbreak.

I said the QR code’s should be on each seating bay. The way it is being done is stupid. And privacy, Ticketek is immune but Service Victoria is not?

Ah, fair call.

And I meant privacy as in one organisation can’t just hand over your details to another without you knowing etc (possibly the Ticketek terms and conditions now include something like this). When you’re willingly handing your details to SV for the purposes of contact tracing then that is fine. If they share those details with organisations they’re not supposed to then they’ve definitely breached the Privacy Act.

You say some fairly wild things LMG, but this is the course leader by a long way. Have a look at the insane auction prices on any given weekend in Melbourne and Sydney of late - the cost of living has not gone down and particularly for housing. Other than petrol during the height of global lock downs I can’t think of one thing the cost has actually gone down over the past 12 months here - and even then I was trying to run off fumes a few weeks back to avoid filling up for close to $1.70/litre.
Mate they did during the pandemic, comparable to other places that skyrocketed, of course stimulus has changed all that with low rates, now, but investors got in while prices dropped at the height of the pandemic, now it's the poor working class paying the price. If you're going to tell me that the swine players are poor working class, who didn't already have houses, units, etc, I'd agree.

Nothing wild about it mate, it's just the way it is. Redistribution of the wealth. Anyone who owns hard assets was always going to come out laughing with the stimlus sending prices through the roof and value of the dollar into the toilet. IE Pollies and big business.

Whats wild is the RBA trying to tell people inflation is low. These wankwits obviously breed beef inside their mansions.

But's this is a discussion for a whole other thread.

My point remains, these players, nor anyone involved in the afl, are not in the low income class struggling.

Mate they did during the pandemic, comparable to other places that skyrocketed, of course stimulus has changed all that with low rates, now, but investors got in while prices dropped at the height of the pandemic

Clearly you don't live in Melbourne - so please don't talk about the cost of living as though you do. Housing prices may have dipped at the initial stages - but not by much and they are growing once more. The price of nothing else went down. I saw an auction result from Newtown over the weekend where a property that had sold for ~$800,000 less than four years ago sold for over $1.2M - so it seems as though housing prices aren't exactly on the way down in Sydney either. The cost of goods in Melbourne has absolutely not gone down - the only way I saved money during that period is because I literally couldn't go out for entertainment purposes, however takeaway meals and coffees didn't diminish in price. Now that entertainment is back - I can assure you the hospitality sector have sharpened their prices to account for money they lost during lockdowns. The cost of going out now is higher and will continue to climb as it always has.

During the hysterical response to covid yes they did, while other parts of Australia absolutely went through the roof. Of course putting every single comment into context would require a essay at times, which would bore the pants of even a RBA banker.

So to put it in context every club now should get this "allowance" since stimulus devalued the dollar everywhere, not just the swines now all of a sudden like they are crying about, which is what the initial chatter was all about.