No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news

I'm not.

Imagine if someone said you could have an end of first round pick + 2x F2 picks for Brockman.

And then said "actually, you don't need to give us Brockman"

It would be absolutely ridiculous and you would take it and laugh at how stupid it is.

3 picks for absolutely nothing, in a comp where you already have a weighted draft advantage from finishing bottom 3 for several years in a row
Future firsts not seconds but I agree with what you are saying wholeheartedly.

Even one first rounder for nothing is a big help to a club let alone 3.

I don't agree with any assistance packages for professional sporting teams.

But if they have to do it, I would rather they allow for more money to be spent on the football department for a period of time to help develop the players they bring in.

The way they are doing it, they are just opening the doors wider for more young players to suffer from North's incompetence, which starts with its Board and makes its way down.

Pretty funny to read the very same folk who are having a cry about the above being unfair (P2s and 3s and others getting better seats than them) also having a large sook about all the corporates getting tickets ahead of the "real fans" .

The ******* entitlement of it all

Yup - I just felt lucky each time I got to go and never had sour grapes about my seats (and 3/4 I didn't get 'premium' seats despite being a Kennedy Club member at the time). I can only imagine how many Hawks supporters would have loved to have taken any seat or standing room spot they could if given the chance. Some people honestly just want to have a whinge I think.

lolNorf board blowing up deluxe about the picks they were given.
Shameless

Tempting to pick up a card by letting them know just how pathetic they are. Then I remember, they are Norf supporters - they already know they are pathetic.

Oh, the sweet, sweet taste of being right again. I remember getting a little grief when I pointed out that AFL’s new GM of Football Operations had absolutely no qualifications for the role according to AFL puff pieces other than she really wanted to kick a ball when she was 14 and that she had managed the decline of North over the previous ten years.

Well, Lo and Behold! There is something she has to offer. The teflon of being a woman in the boy’s club when making the most obviously biased and boy’s club type decision possible in granting incompetent North these draft picks. What. A. Joke.

This decision is almost unfathomable. By my count North will have 18 top twenty picks on their list after this draft, including Stephens from Sydney who i think they have basically traded in but excluding Cunners and Zeibel. They will either add another three next year or else trade their future two for another top pick this year if they can get it ( I think they are bound to trade those picks because if they are indeed 'reviewable' next year then better to make use of them this year while they can, in case sanity prevails next year and the picks are rescinded). They will have 7 top five picks. We, on the other hand, will have just 8 top twenty picks on our list and that includes Cooper Stephens (but not Wingard, given he is 31 and seriously injured). We will get our first and only top five pick this draft, but even he will be someone North passed over twice for players they think are better. And yet North are identified as being the team needing assistance, not just this year but next year as well! And before the North folks all chime in with 'you guys got help before' (does the statute of limitations never run out on that - it was 18 years ago?!) as they always do, I hope they remember that in those days that was the system, and all the bottom teams received help - not like this year where one side whinged and begged until they were given get a huge advantage over all the other rebuilding teams.

The only positives in this seem to me to be -

1. Surely even North have to stop whinging now! Is that too much to hope? Or is even this package not enough?!!
2. If we have another poor year next year it would be hard to deny us if we were to ask for help too now (I kind of hope we dont even if we do struggle), and
3. Even if they end up with an AFL-provided super side comprised soley of first round picks, at least the rest of the footy world won't admire them if they do manage to win the flag because everyone else will see if for what is is - a charity cup.

I hope our young boys are not disheartened by this headstart being given to a rival club. It has not been the most encouraging off seasn thus far!

And yet I’m reading that some have been given standing room tickets. Is there also a section where you pick which section you want your ticket allocated. I just don’t get a P3 being level 2 and a P1 being level 5

Seems like the whole allocation process needs an overhaul

And maybe some competition introduced for Ticketek

Some people prefer to stand and others need to sit because of age or ill health.

I don't agree with any assistance packages for professional sporting teams.

But if they have to do it, I would rather they allow for more money to be spent on the football department for a period of time to help develop the players they bring in.

The way they are doing it, they are just opening the doors wider for more young players to suffer from North's incompetence, which starts with its Board and makes its way down.
Totally agree.
It’s rewarding incompetence, simple as that.
Eagles have been just as bad so they would be entitled to put their hand up too, wouldn't they?
Not that I agree with any of it. What happens if north are just as shit next year and the year after, just keep going with the handouts?

Totally agree.
It’s rewarding incompetence, simple as that.
Eagles have been just as bad so they would be entitled to put their hand up too, wouldn't they?
Not that I agree with any of it. What happens if north are just as s**t next year and the year after, just keep going with the handouts?

Relegation system.
12 teams in the top level, play each other twice.

10-12 teams in the second level.
North (and/or Weagles) just get dropped.

Ross Lyon "If you put yourself in the hole, you have to dig yourself out"

Can't believe i am agreeing with old mate.

Chris Scott scathing also.

Ross Lyon "If you put yourself in the hole, you have to dig yourself out"

Can't believe i am agreeing with old mate.

Chris Scott scathing also.

I feel sick. I just did this when Chris Scott was going off about the handouts to North (even though he managed to get in a passing dig at the Hawks)

Leonardo Dicaprio Reaction GIF by Once Upon A Time In Hollywood

No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news