No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news

Seriously?
No way. That was not a free kick.
What’s next. Ball must be rubbed on a players jumper before returned to the umpire. Little bit of polish?
In my day we used to jam the ball into their chest after a ball up.
Harrumph.
There was def an element of disrespect there, but more importantly it was a blatant time wasting strategy.

Giants are rubbish.
We'll smack em in Tas.
Disagree.

No Ward, Kelly, and Coniglio out early and they still manage to knock off the Cats at home in Hawkins’ record breaking game.

Handing Chris Scott his 4th loss in a row.

Respect.

Richmond will do much better than people expect, so an upset on the big stage would be sweet
Trouble is a record is being set every time the Swans win and Tiges lose.

This is the largest number of rounds in which a side's only win is the other's only loss. Richmond swans double. The previous best was 2004 Haw/Melb 1-6/6-1

Hi Cats,

What you see ahead of you is called a cliff.

Enjoy the ride down!
WLp8l_.gif

Dusty is fried.
We must be watching different games. Sure he's slowed but he's still dangerous.

Ill tell you who is fried. Jobe Watson - never heard so much bullshit in all my life. The Thyomicin-beta 4 has absoluted messed him up to the point he's incoherent.

I agree with this, although would limit it to field umpires[1].

I remember a few years ago there was a match (not involving us), where the ump paid a free kick to a St Kilda player, and when the oppo player got up, Nick Riewoldt called for it (he hadn't been awarded the free), and the oppo player had a 50 paid against. IIRC, it was the oppo player's first game, and thought it was poor form on the part of Riewoldt.

[1] Given the importance of set ups at boundary throw-ins, the current practice of players placing the ball on the ground seems to work well: allows the ump to know where to throw it in and also the players to get set up. If it ain't broke, don't fix it [yes I know this is the AFL]

I was really disappointed when St Kilda got the free kick there - has resulted in players checking with the umpire who to give the ball to.

The umpire could have paid a free kick for time wasting against Riewoldt if he wanted to.

IMO if a free kick is paid and one of the opposition players has there hand up calling for it then you giving it to them shouldn't result in a free kick.

Amazing that Port are now sitting 2nd and we 100% should have knocked them off at home last week. Hopefully we can do away with Brissie to prove that we're not as up and down as early season form seemed to indicate.

3 forward 50 frees to the bombers and a 50m penalty, not a single one of them should have been called and the sting has gone out of the game. Umpiring is laughable

Just let the game play and it would be better to watch

Mum's favourite band was Steely DAN

"I just love Steely DAN...if I ever have a son, I'm going to call him...Steely!"
Sounds like a real bogan family. 😂
What if her favourite band was Abba or Crosby Stills and Nash. The possibilities are endless. Plus a Steely Dan is a mechanical erm, implement.

I actually don't understand the carry-on over this.
This has always been a rule and I reckon I've seen it paid a couple times a year.

Commentary around umpiring this week has been rough I think- I feel like we're asking too much currently as there are a loud group asking for the game to be umpired romantically (whistle going away in close games, recognising heat of the moment actions and not punishing them etc), whilst an equally loud group are asking it to be adjudicated to the letter of the law (which is what happened here).

I'm all for calling out the umpires and going after them for missed decisions, but jeez we're asking a lot from them to be both purely objective/by the book AND expecting them to recognise when to not be objective and to let the game play.

It's a stupid sport to umpire, I really do feel for them.

Becoming professional wrestling in its standards

No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news