Mega Thread General MFC Discussion Part III

Im not sure you understand how the veil works, you said you took pot shots at Slick to inspire him, this is the complete opposite of what Roos was getting at.
It was the supporters emails to Roosy telling him we're shit and gonna lose every game that really drove us to becoming a good club.

Love that guy: I was driving to the game and I said to myself, Carlton are gonna flog us, and I was right, in your face Mr Roos, just thought you should know.

To effect the culture the supporters actually have to feel they can, in the first place. then that will stimulate thought about the situation and remedies, rather than simply thinking the negative all the time.

Essendon and Carlton supporters are intolerant of failure and they let the club know in certain terms. they get quite in your face with the club when failing becomes too normal.
And things happen from that.

Melbourne supporters on the other hand have tended to remain far too passive in past decades of failures, and too willing to buy the next sales pitch.
Thinking the board has the best answers... and often its the board where the problems lie.

Currently things are really good, Via the help of AFL house.
Supporters can advocate for change, but they have next to no ability to influence the outcome of a change.

Look at your example - Essendon and Carlton supporters might be better at calling for change, but what has that achieved? Neither has won a premiership since 2000 nor have they been a perennial threat of winning a premiership. Hell, Essendon hasn't won a final since before ImissFrosty was born!

You say that their supporters are critical to developing a high-performance culture and that Melbourne's culture has been poor because supporters have been too passive. Why haven't they been successful if this is the case? Sure they might have pushed the club to change, but if the people making the decisions are incompetent or lack leadership, commitment, and drive, then it's just change for change's sake.

I'd argue Jack Viney has done more to improve the culture at Melbourne than every member and supporter combined. Players like him who set standards, reinforce them every day, and demand the same from others are the reason. Leaders like Jackson and Roos that set a clear vision, lead by example, lead with empathy and drive accountability are the reason. Professionals like Burgess who can apply their expertise and have the full confidence of the coaches and playing group are the reason.

It wasn't supporters changing that drove a better culture. It was a better culture that allowed supporters to change

Most clubs don't even like it when supporters vote on the board lol. Melting on talkback is just about the only avenue left for supporters to advocate for change. But then you might as well give the media credit for fixing a club up.

I would pay that trumpeter to lay low

I loved the end-game trumpeter. It's trolling. A victory cigar.

It would be perfect for where we're at as a club now.

10 minutes left in the fourth. Dees well up. Have been in a clear winning position most of the match. The play starts to get stale. Crowds gets bored. Relatively silent.

Then the trumpeter starts.

😎

😎

😎

😎 u mad?

Well done on the weekend guys, clearly head and shoulders above any side in the competition this year. Reminds me of us in 2009 but hopefully for your sake it doesn't end the same way. Think there is daylight between you and the rest honestly and perfect opportunity to capitalise on it with another flag which I think you'll do comfortably.

Not sure where this content goes but I thought you'd all enjoy...if it needs to be moved then by all means go for it.

Cheers

Well done on the weekend guys, clearly head and shoulders above any side in the competition this year. Reminds me of us in 2009 but hopefully for your sake it doesn't end the same way. Think there is daylight between you and the rest honestly and perfect opportunity to capitalise on it with another flag which I think you'll do comfortably.

Not sure where this content goes but I thought you'd all enjoy...if it needs to be moved then by all means go for it.

Cheers

Only difference is that in 09 saints had an equal rival in Geelong, perhaps a slightly more hungry after blowing it in 08. I don't think there's any comparisons at the moment. I actually don't think we are so far a head of the competition either but we'll see.

I don't think you guys have even left 2nd gear. Just cruising. Not sure what the fixture is like in the lead up to finals but the only possible slip up could be that you play ordinary opposition and don't get a real test before finals...similar to Richmond '18. But I doubt it has any effect.

Our fixture is like the opposite of Richmonds in 2018. Stacked with MCG games at the start but very few in the tail end. Last month we play Brisbane/Freo away and Carlton/Collingwood at the G.

For your sake you'd hope Carlton and Collingwood are fighting for the 8 so you get a test...and Brisbane/Freo away is also pretty decent. If you don't have COVID sweep through the joint I don't see why any of you guys shouldn't have the lid off already...miles ahead of anyone else IMO. Brisbane the only real threat but for me defense is what will win you flags.

Oh I'd love it if Collingwood needed to beat us to make the 8 and we smashed them.

I think Freo and Brisbane are the only other sides capable. Main thing we need to focus on is a top 2 finish so we get two home finals.

Oh I'd love it if Collingwood needed to beat us to make the 8 and we smashed them.

I think Freo and Brisbane are the only other sides capable. Main thing we need to focus on is a top 2 finish so we get two home finals.
I don't trust Freo just yet. Probably going to take me until the final month of the season to believe they are for real. But they do look good now. The one massive positive too is that the GF is at the G and finishing 1st will guarantee you home finals all the way through.

If Collingwood finish 11-11 and miss on percentage I won't be complaining either...haha

Cheers

Thanks for not banning me for laugh reacting the nuffies on the Saints board :hearteyes:

Im not sure you understand how the veil works, you said you took pot shots at Slick to inspire him, this is the complete opposite of what Roos was getting at.
I don't think you get it.

My efforts were from a single person, mentioning possible big failings of a one player, as he gets to the big stage. and weeks ahead of the finals. Giving him time to hear of it, and time to contemplate it with games to adjust his mindset and efforts, before the finals started.

No doubt his teammates would have reinforced him, during the weeks preceding, and he would have thought of it from time to time.

Come the finals and he was ready had all bases mentally covered, and he had extra motivation to prove some keyboard hero wrong. And I say, good on him.

He didn't fluff his lines, and instead, he was one of our best players thru the series.

And a big relief to me. Because our whole team worked beautifully. And we won some chocolates.

No need for a repeat this year., as our team now is matured in Finals footy.

Not blowing my trumpet but just trying to defend my honor. After the event.

I don't think you get it.

My efforts were from a single person, mentioning possible big failings of a one player, as he gets to the big stage. and weeks ahead of the finals. Giving him time to hear of it, and time to contemplate it with games to adjust his mindset and efforts, before the finals started.

No doubt his teammates would have reinforced him, during the weeks preceding, and he would have thought of it from time to time.

Come the finals and he was ready had all bases mentally covered, and he had extra motivation to prove some keyboard hero wrong. And I say, good on him.

He didn't fluff his lines, and instead, he was one of our best players thru the series.

And a big relief to me. Because our whole team worked beautifully. And we won some chocolates.

No need for a repeat this year., as our team now is matured in Finals footy.

Not blowing my trumpet but just trying to defend my honor. After the event.
Should have done this years ago, mate.

Supporters can advocate for change, but they have next to no ability to influence the outcome of a change.

Look at your example - Essendon and Carlton supporters might be better at calling for change, but what has that achieved? Neither has won a premiership since 2000 nor have they been a perennial threat of winning a premiership. Hell, Essendon hasn't won a final since before @ImissFrosty was born!
Supporters and members can force change, at board level.

This is selective in timeline.

I'm obviously older than you, so my mind takes in all footy that I have witnessed over the decades. And particularly thru Sheed's time. Also the Blues thru Parkins time.

And these two clubs supporters were aggressive, and loud, and would not suffer any period of loss. They're fans would be on the march, if the team started to play below themselves.

The AFL fans have forced club changes, and board change, and can make board members move uneasily in their seats, from time to time.

By contrast, most past Melbourne supporters don't raise hell much at all, IMO, because we are a very conservative (at least in the past) lot and tend to be more unassuming and fall into line, far too easily. Accepting what is dished up to them.

I hope this conservative way of the Melbourne people, becomes far more assertive, individually and collectively, for our future.

Should have done this years ago, mate.
I have done, now and then, occasionally thru the decades.

In 2001, when a certain player who copped it in the 2000 GF... was about to front his nemisis again in coming match. I had a quiet word striaght after training, I asked him come outside, and I suggested he was seen by Essendon as soft, and timid; and that if he changed, he could one day, maybe lead the club.

That week he played his best game for the club. And from memory, I think we won the game.
But the biggest pleasure was to see his courage, spread right across the game. BOG imo.

Also in earlier times, just Pre our march to vfl stardom, I had words with a player and the team, at the long break.
...... It was about the culture, of that time, and how frustrating and how disappointing things were. The team was silenced.
Within weeks, the side started to play to a higher level.

I questioned they're attitude and desire.
The very next season, our club started to go on a march of our own. and I had something to do there also, in the first half of season to mid season.

I won't go into detail as I would give myself up. Lets say, Journalistic privilege.

I have done now and then, occasionally thru the decades.

In 2001, when a certain player who copped it in the 2000 GF... was about to front his nemisis again in coming match. I had a quiet word striaght after training, I asked him come outside, and I suggested he was seen by Essendon as soft, and timid; and that if he changed, he could one day, maybe lead the club.

That week he played his best game for the club. And from memory, I think we won the game.
But the biggest pleasure was to see his courage, spread right across the game. BOG imo.

Also in earlier times, just Pre our march to vfl stardom, I had words with a player and the team, at the long break.
...... It was about the culture, of that time, and how frustrating and how disappointing things were. The team was silenced.
Within weeks, the side started to play to a higher level.

I questioned they're attitude and desire.
The very next season, our club started to go on a march of our own. and I had something to do there also, in the first half of season to mid season.

I won't go into detail as I would give myself up. Lets say, Journalistic privilege.

I cant explain how painfully embarrassing this is, if you did indeed pull players aside and have a word to them you should be ashamed of yourself honestly.

Not just that, but the collective negativism at games.
The fear espoused by our supporters, was more of an deflation to the players spirits, rather than the opposite of uplifting roars of delight, when we play nowadays.

In the old days when Melbourne was trying to come out of habitual losses, the negativism of the supporters would actually make the players prone to fumbling the ball, drop marks, and miss shots at gal. And make poor decisions during games.

The opposite is also true, that positive loud exclamations of hunger and dominance, spurs the supporters team, on to bigger things.
The crowds influence on game day can be Huge.