• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

General TSL Talk

Club Ins and Out for 2023

Lauderdale

New Coach: Allen Christensen

Ins:

Phillip Bellchambers (North Shore)
Jason Gridley (Hobart)
Outs:
Lennon Marlin (Mainland)
Oscar Shaw (Overseas)
Will Poland (Sorell)
Bodhi Kingston (Sorell)
Sam Tilley (Woodville- West Torrens)
Harry Richmond

Kingborough

Ins:

Nic Baker (Sorell)
James Zeitzen (Cygnet)
Ryan Clark (Cygnet)
Reece Scotland (Cygnet)

Outs:

Brady Rees (QAFL)
Jordan Lane (Port Melbourne)
Zach Adams (Port Melbourne)
Luke Graham ( University)
Jackson Keogh ( Huonville)
Sam Duigan (Overseas)
Riley Ashlin (Overseas)

North Hobart

New Coach: Adam Bester

Ins:
Spencer White (Vic)
Outs:

Will Splann (Central Districts)
Callum Kilpatrick (West Preston)
George McLeod (Sturt)
Lachie Dale ( Victoria)
Logan Elphingstone (Burnie)
Sam Caswell (QLD)
Callum Kilpatrick (Victoria)

Clarence

Ins:

Noah Holmes (DOSA)
Mitch Anderton (Sorell)

Outs:

Colin Garland (Retired)

Keren Howlett (Claremont)
Dylan Howlett (Claremont)
Jonte Doran ( University)
Jaques Barwick (Perth)
Lachie Borsboom ( Overseas)

Glenorchy

Ins:

Outs:
Tom Cleary (University)
Ben Kamaric (Brighton)
Adam Roberts (DOSA)
John Geard ( St Virgils)
Riley Oakley (St Virgils)

Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Jay Blackberry (South Launceston)

Brendan Taylor (South Launceston)

Jake Smith (Rocherlea)

Michael Musicka ( Bracknell)

Cooper Warren ( Bracknell)

Josh Woolley ( Bracknell)

Miller Hodge ( Bracknell)

Jameson House ( Wynyard)

Jonty Mcivor ( Wynyard)

Fletcher Seymour ( Old Scotch)

Josiah Burling ( Perth)

Jett Maloney ( Longford)

Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

AFL Tasmania will front the joint parliamentary inquiry committee into the public funding which is set to continue tomorrow in Hobart a 4.30pm Dominic Baker set to appear, Details from the Examiner story by Phil Edwards. Let’s hope it is Open to the Public.

I would think that most footy heads down here would just see this as another 'mates' deal. Thats what we are all sick & tired of.

Who cares about Prospect. A 2nd div NTFA club given the rub of the golden dyk.They have done nothing except get looked after to the nth degree. Its just typical of the complete up fork the TSL has been, & is now, & looks to continue on being.

Its all about power, control, looking after themselves & their 'mates', all the'right' people. Giving handouts to them & sticking the middle finger up to the public & real footy people. Like the real people at SL.

So you just go ahead & support your new mates. Their will be plenty of room to sit next to Wade & his crew at home games. No one else will be their.

Sometime in the future their will be a cost to pay. The cost will be trying to regain the confidence & support of the Tasmanian public again.
Real people at South? Do you know any? Or did you see them over the fence the last time South went to the TCA? Did you even go? Bet none of YOUR mates did...too preoccupied with abandoning support for the Tigers just so they could stick it up Scott Wade with empty grandstands...

At no stage did you address the above post. South couldn't reach the operational standards as set out five years before for TSL licences, so they voted themselves out when new criteria were set. No guns to anyone's heads. Get your facts straight. The two factions within the club wanting control also put their differences on hiatus when the finals were about to start, with the clear intention of ensuring there were no distractions going into the only statewide premiership campaign the team is ever likely to have. Those exact players earned their stripes on the day, and want to play top level footy in Tasmania, so they went to the Storm. I follow South in the NTFA. I follow the South players who won our flag as they continue in the TSL as best they can, in a new entity I'm sure I'll end up supporting down the track. Not sure how much spin you want to put on this, but yes, go my "new mates", and f### everyone else...are you going to barrack for West Adelaide in the Foxtel Cup out of spite?

Real people at South? Do you know any? Or did you see them over the fence the last time South went to the TCA? Did you even go? Bet none of YOUR mates did...too preoccupied with abandoning support for the Tigers just so they could stick it up Scott Wade with empty grandstands...

At no stage did you address the above post. South couldn't reach the operational standards as set out five years before for TSL licences, so they voted themselves out when new criteria were set. No guns to anyone's heads. Get your facts straight. The two factions within the club wanting control also put their differences on hiatus when the finals were about to start, with the clear intention of ensuring there were no distractions going into the only statewide premiership campaign the team is ever likely to have. Those exact players earned their stripes on the day, and want to play top level footy in Tasmania, so they went to the Storm. I follow South in the NTFA. I follow the South players who won our flag as they continue in the TSL as best they can, in a new entity I'm sure I'll end up supporting down the track. Not sure how much spin you want to put on this, but yes, go my "new mates", and f### everyone else...are you going to barrack for West Adelaide in the Foxtel Cup out of spite?

Yes I have two good friends who were associated with SL. They came to Hobart with their work. They still have close links with people currently at the club. I see a lot of them. They are footy people like me, & take an interest with whats happening at their old club, & with footy in general. They were pleased to finally win a flag but feel a bit hollow given whats happened since, & hearing a few tidbits on last years finances.

I've never seen SL play at the TCA, why would I?

Facts? The factions were one trying to save the club from outright bankruptcy, the other doing as Wade said & headed for extinction. Their may yet be some ramifications play out over the finances from last season.

Why would I barrack for West Adelaide? Its more like 'I couldnt give a rats arse' about the Foxtel cup actually.

You are a conflicted fellow...you match AFL Tasmania's lack of support for your team Hobart with an apparent apathy of your own in attending games, while still ripping into admin regardless, and your hostility towards AFL teams who in your eyes don't measure up financially is completely reversed for a team in the local league who did get hefty payouts and apparently still has some under the counter insinuations to wade through, pardon the pun...you also want Tasmania given a national prominence onfield, but damned if you'll support a Tasmanian club taking on outsiders, in what is probably as pure a national competition as you'll get...each state puts its reps in, and that's it, off they go...

A DVD was sent to me up here of the TSL GF this year...another BF poster sat through the entire match (SF too) with a camera, and got the lot, including presentations, post match celebrations and sneaking into the dressing rooms to get the song...a return favour from a Launcestonian (who doesn't barrack for either team) after I copied some old games for him a while back...only finally watched it yesterday on a relative's big home cinema screen, and we sat there, old East/South fans watching our boys take one home for once...genuine celebrations from a genuine side...there's your reason for my interest in the Storm right there...at which point did you lose the passion to pit your side above all else, and encourage them as they went into war against whoever you hate, week after week, without some weird political obsession with the boss of the league tainting it all for you...? THIS is what I mean by grizzling! When did the footy stop for you? Why do you bother?

Interesting Article's from Tasmanian Newspapers
Spotlight on South deal” in The Examiner by Rosemary Bolger where AFL Tasmania struck a deal with the South Launceston Football Club board to pay its out-of-pocket players $9000 and label it a "donation''.
In The Mercury from the hearing yesterday,“State Government secretly slashes AFL Tasmania money” by James Brenehan story focuses on Department of Sport and Recreation had withheld $100,000 because it felt AFL Tasmania had not proved it was meeting its key performance indicators. Parliament Accounts Committee chairman Ivan Dean said AFL Tasmania may be called to front the investigation again but not before the second half of January.

Should be an interesting AGM at KGV this evening. The current board have thwarted the attempt from some angry parents who were looking to challenge by claiming that The membership received in a player sponsorship does not give you voting rights if its in your business name. Giving them only 24 hours notice. Pitifull in my humble opinion. Something AFL Tas would Do. Serious questions will be asked how a club like Glenorchy can have been so badly managed??? 5 coaches in 6 years says that the management need to be accountable for the bad decisions

Looks like a desperate attempt to hang on to power, as you have said Ratsaill22 5 coaches in 6 years is a big turn over of coaching staff. Also have never looked a threat to take the Premiership apart from 2009 the first Season of SWL

So the ADULT MEMBERSHIP - $50 will not give you voting rights? where the GDFC TSL ADULT MEMBERSHIP – $80 *All adult membership benefits
(Really what is All adult membership benefits because it has not got that listed...Could mean a free trip to the men's Gallery)

So, who won? The angry parents? Is the club now run by the under 15's parents or the kiosk ladies?

Not sure was working last night but I'm sure the u15 parents couldn't do any worse

I doubt any club would be happy with their finances at the moment. The sides that made the finals all had extra AFLTas money behind them anyway. That alone made it hard for NL, NH, H, & Glen.

I cant see why parents would be too shirty given the new building plans we saw in the paper. Their kids & them are the ones who will benefit from it one would think. The committee must have some idea what to do, you dont get that sort of money put into a sports club of any description these days without doing something right in a big way. Aaron Cornelius will be a real marquee player in the comp this year.

At least Glenorchy's future looks brighter than poor old South Launy's.:oops:

Really we need all TSL clubs to be in a better position for next year. If (Kingston) Tigers, Hobart City & Glen dont step up the whole league will be a mess. AFLTas need to stop wrecking & start helping to build ALL clubs, not just their mates.

If they do have a plan, then show us.

More of the same at Glenorchy taken from GDFC webpage, one new director Jesse Crouch

AGM Recap
The AGM for 2013 was held last night at the club rooms.
The board was accepted unopposed.
President – John McCann
Treasurer – Dale Berry
Secretary – Duncan Warburton
Returning Directors
Kelly Hunt, Dennis Bird and Des Peters
Newly Appointed Director - Jesse Crouch
Returning Patron – Gary Linton

So what happened to the rival ticket that included Luke Martin that was reported in The Mercury on September the 5th? Did not even challenge in the End.
http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...-glenorchy-board/story-fnj4f7h7-1226710959701

992510-hobart-city-football-club.jpg

What is the BF thoughts of the New "Hobart City" Jumper?
Taken from The Mercury Article
"Hobart City Football club sticks to grand old roots with playing strip reflecting heritage of North Hobart" by Alex Lutrell.

Also the club has named Hugh Williams as captain as well Allan Matthews and Jeremy Parker as the two non-playing assistant coaches to Michael McGregor.

Meanwhile at South Launceston, New president Rod Patterson, who took over in October has called on the AFL to conduct a full investigation into the code's Tasmanian administrator's involvement in an alleged salary cap breach after evidence of cash payments to players emerged this week. He also said "the AFL should step in and conduct a full audit of the club's books to allow the club to rebuild" The article online at the Examiner

"Inquiry urged into Wade role" by Rosemary Bolger

"Hobart City Football club sticks to grand old roots with playing strip reflecting heritage of North Hobart" by Alex Lutrell.

Also the club has named Hugh Williams as captain as well Allan Matthews and Jeremy Parker as the two non-playing assistant coaches to Michael McGregor.

So its North Hobart without there name and heritage, replaced by Hobart City with a similar North Hobart jumper and new name??

Why the Change in the 1st place..... AFLTAS the ruling body of Tasmanian football, more like AFLTAS RUINED Tasmanian football

So if we all continue to call them north hobart, which I reckon most will do then its just business as usual with a new jumper. give them a few years and it wouldn't surprise me if they go back tosomething even closer to the Demons jumper

Meanwhile at South Launceston, New president Rod Patterson, who took over in October has called on the AFL to conduct a full investigation into the code's Tasmanian administrator's involvement in an alleged salary cap breach after evidence of cash payments to players emerged this week. He also said "the AFL should step in and conduct a full audit of the club's books to allow the club to rebuild" The article online at the Examiner

"Inquiry urged into Wade role" by Rosemary Bolger

So the by AFL Tas to parachute Smedley in as "consultant CEO' was an abject failure and Scott Wade has again proven that he cannot be trusted. The football public need something drastic to happen so we can once again have faith in the administrators of our game.

The Game is DEAD buddy, Worst competition in Australia by a long way, Worst Administration in Australia by a long way, Worst run football clubs in Australia ,i think that covers it like i said before and i said it all last year What football Club wins the GF when their financially ruined unless there is some back door stuff happening. The newspaper only prints what they want not the facts but no doubt it was a fairy tale SLFC winning but what JOKE really but we all must dumb to think that it just happened and to the guy who said all players have been paid i can give you 3 who havent so maybe get your facts straight and did you know that any player who goes over and plays in the VFL ,AFL Tasmania gets 12500 per player not the club NOw thats another JOKE just like the standard of footy

So if we all continue to call them north hobart, which I reckon most will do then its just business as usual with a new jumper. give them a few years and it wouldn't surprise me if they go back tosomething even closer to the Demons jumper

This just shows what a crock of crap this whole 'city' licence thing was. What has it achieved?. First AFLTas said they only want 1 club in the Hobart city area. 2 in Clarence city is ok though.
Then they said they would pick the best applicant, so we all went through an application development process. Then they ignored that & tried to force HFC & NHFC together. Wade said it was a done deal, when it clearly wasnt.
So now we have the 132 year old NHFC forced to change its name to HCFC. They have now adopted the Melbourne FC away jumper. All that crap, anguish, threats, bulldust from AFLTas, what has it achieved?

SFA.

To successfully drive change you need a solid business plan which everyone buys into and an organisation which has the expertise to execute the plan.

No wonder the competition is in a mess!

"Not everybody is going to like what you do, not everybody is going to like the new strip, but you've got to go with the consensus of opinion from your players, your supporters and your board." - Mcgregor.

Quite well said I thought. Pretty much sums up the whole "expansion" look.

Hearing rumblings that things are not running smoothly with the old NH board and the new Hobart City team, $$$$$ being the main issue with NH still to put in their share of the license fee.
Also heard that AFL TAS offered North the full 100% of the license and they knocked it back.

Hobart City moving to the Plaister Stand end of North Hobart Oval.

Hearing rumblings that things are not running smoothly with the old NH board and the new Hobart City team, $$$$$ being the main issue with NH still to put in their share of the license fee.
Also heard that AFL TAS offered North the full 100% of the license and they knocked it back.

Hobart City moving to the Plaister Stand end of North Hobart Oval.

How can they do what they did to the club & everyone in it, & then walk away from the mess they created. What was the point of it all????

NHFC should take full charge, tell the 'new' board to take a hike. The South Launy situation shows AFLTas have no real care for the clubs. NH needs to take back control of the club & take back the clubs history & heritage.
NHFC 132 years old, & by the looks of things will be around for a lot longer than AFLTas.:cool:

Gee there would be a few unhappy campers in here wouldnt there? AFL TAS receiving the remainder of there funding after the parliamentary hearing/witch hunt failed to come up with anything.

General TSL Talk