• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

General TSL Talk

Club Ins and Out for 2023

Lauderdale

New Coach: Allen Christensen

Ins:

Phillip Bellchambers (North Shore)
Jason Gridley (Hobart)
Outs:
Lennon Marlin (Mainland)
Oscar Shaw (Overseas)
Will Poland (Sorell)
Bodhi Kingston (Sorell)
Sam Tilley (Woodville- West Torrens)
Harry Richmond

Kingborough

Ins:

Nic Baker (Sorell)
James Zeitzen (Cygnet)
Ryan Clark (Cygnet)
Reece Scotland (Cygnet)

Outs:

Brady Rees (QAFL)
Jordan Lane (Port Melbourne)
Zach Adams (Port Melbourne)
Luke Graham ( University)
Jackson Keogh ( Huonville)
Sam Duigan (Overseas)
Riley Ashlin (Overseas)

North Hobart

New Coach: Adam Bester

Ins:
Spencer White (Vic)
Outs:

Will Splann (Central Districts)
Callum Kilpatrick (West Preston)
George McLeod (Sturt)
Lachie Dale ( Victoria)
Logan Elphingstone (Burnie)
Sam Caswell (QLD)
Callum Kilpatrick (Victoria)

Clarence

Ins:

Noah Holmes (DOSA)
Mitch Anderton (Sorell)

Outs:

Colin Garland (Retired)

Keren Howlett (Claremont)
Dylan Howlett (Claremont)
Jonte Doran ( University)
Jaques Barwick (Perth)
Lachie Borsboom ( Overseas)

Glenorchy

Ins:

Outs:
Tom Cleary (University)
Ben Kamaric (Brighton)
Adam Roberts (DOSA)
John Geard ( St Virgils)
Riley Oakley (St Virgils)

Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Jay Blackberry (South Launceston)

Brendan Taylor (South Launceston)

Jake Smith (Rocherlea)

Michael Musicka ( Bracknell)

Cooper Warren ( Bracknell)

Josh Woolley ( Bracknell)

Miller Hodge ( Bracknell)

Jameson House ( Wynyard)

Jonty Mcivor ( Wynyard)

Fletcher Seymour ( Old Scotch)

Josiah Burling ( Perth)

Jett Maloney ( Longford)

Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

One of the reasons I left Tassie was small minded grizzling. Go back and read every page of this thread...a psychiatrist would kick out anyone who carried on like this during a session for bringing the mood down...

As long as the Storm make it their mission to smack North Launceston on a regular basis, they're my new team in the TFL. If South can do it in the NTFA (all those ex-North players might ironically make this a reality), then 2014 might be a kickarse season, just like this one...

Small minded grizzling?

Look if anyone needs to see a psychiatrist it would be someone who has longstanding, confused & unresolved anger issues. Like someone who left the state but just cant let go. I'm told that listening to Whale song & Gregorian chant can also help. It would be cheaper than the couch method too.

Prospect, now western storm, are made up after gutting the long battling South Launceston. They are the the quintessential plastic franchise club. They have been created as a junior club by an AFLTas group. The same group who have nearly destroyed SL, moved the show troop across town & put a new layer of now charcoal make up on them.

They really are just the AFLTas team, bought & paid for. How do real clubs compete against AFLTas's new own team. Last years SL flag was really a sick joke played on the real SL people.

Who is really going to support this team? How do other clubs hope to trade on home games when no one turns up? Canteen trade? bar? raffles? Compete in recruiting? Geez they wont even play on their home ground. How will they make money? Or does that just appear again, like with SL?

A lot of footy people are asking these same questions.

Win or lose, Western Storm will have the AFLTas stench about them.

All i can say to the new Prospect team is all the best. I feel sorry for South Launceston, there is always more behind the scense than we are told.

I saw on the facebook page yesterday annoucing all the positions, one name that stood out was Darryn Perry as List manager. Is this the same Pez who is ex-president of North Hobart, initially backed the merger, than didn't, then was part of a group that tried to get footy back to regional footy?

One of the reasons I left Tassie was small minded grizzling. Go back and read every page of this thread...a psychiatrist would kick out anyone who carried on like this during a session for bringing the mood down...

As long as the Storm make it their mission to smack North Launceston on a regular basis, they're my new team in the TFL. If South can do it in the NTFA (all those ex-North players might ironically make this a reality), then 2014 might be a kickarse season, just like this one...

Thanks for your insightful analysis on our mental State. As you mentioned you’re not in this State so you probably do not know what the General feeling of the normal football follower is now down here. Plus add to the fact that you’re still basking in the South Launceston Premiership and congratulations to you for that, as I know you have followed them since their inception thru the very dark days I am sad to see them no longer a part of the SWL.

However there was a lot of questions that still need to be asked by the way the Club was run over the last few years with their Cosy arrangement former president Ian Goninon had with AFL Tasmania when the Current President Rod Patterson has said the following.

"We have an office there and none of the player contracts were in our office and we had discussions with AFL Tasmania [regarding] those contracts."
"I was astounded that no player contracts were on site at our headquarters"
"We have only had player contracts given to us over the past three or four weeks for contracted 2013 South Launceston players,"
"We've heard unofficially that some of the players have been paid cash, but we do not know who those players are or the amounts"
"Our previous president (Ian Goninon) gave an assurance to our general meeting on October 2 that he would take responsibility of the player payments and we are not sure where all of that is at."

No wonder the members voted to get out of SWL who was running the Club South Launceston via a proxy from Argyle Street?

I love the game and Local grassroots football but have watched it go backwards for years with a poorly run Board controlling Football in this State that are unaccountable to everyone, apart from Andrew Demetriou . Football Tasmania (soccer) must think Scott Wade is a God send to them every day of the week.

When a Club like North Hobart is eradicated after some 120 plus years, yes I am as mad as Hell. After 15 years of mismanagement at last some questions are being asked the State Parliament's Public Accounts Committee into state funding of AFL Tasmania.
I will try to post positive stories in the future.

All i can say to the new Prospect team is all the best. I feel sorry for South Launceston, there is always more behind the scense than we are told.

I saw on the facebook page yesterday annoucing all the positions, one name that stood out was Darryn Perry as List manager. Is this the same Pez who is ex-president of North Hobart, initially backed the merger, than didn't, then was part of a group that tried to get footy back to regional footy?

Different bloke same name, I think he came from the prospect junior club where he was a coach. Can't see much influence from AFL Tas in the board's make-up other than perhaps the president. Would be nice to hear what sponsor's they have, other than AFL TAS. :p

When a Club like North Hobart is eradicated after some 120 plus years, yes I am as mad as Hell. After 15 years of mismanagement at last some questions are being asked the State Parliament's Public Accounts Committee into state funding of AFL Tasmania.
I will try to post positive stories in the future.

I guess we'll have to wait for something positive to happen before anyone can post a positive thread.

Welcome to the Circus "Western Sh*t Storm"
http://www.examiner.com.au/story/1951524/new-state-league-team-unveiled/?cs=96

Maybe "The Tigers" could of been called the Southern Tigers..... oh wait too may bad memories of those other Southern Pussy Cats

Aaron Cornelius named Glenorchy coach all the best you will need all the luck to get them up and running.

Unfortunate naming when you consider the first thing that pops up when you google western storm.

Western Storm Football and Cricket Club Directory Listing ...

www.maribyrnong.vic.gov.au/Directory/Agency.aspx?Mkey=435...

A football, cricket and boxing program run by the Western Region Health Centre for men and women from disadvantaged backgrounds. Teams: Senior teams.

Different bloke same name, I think he came from the prospect junior club where he was a coach. Can't see much influence from AFL Tas in the board's make-up other than perhaps the president. Would be nice to hear what sponsor's they have, other than AFL TAS. :p

If you cant see much AFLTas influence you obviously dont know of Daniel Smedley, employed by AFLTas to do a job on South Launceston.

I do know of him. But his name is not on the list of board members released yesterday. From what others have told me, he's still involved with the junior and ntfa sides but nothing to do with the new TSL team

I guess we'll have to wait for something positive to happen before anyone can post a positive thread.

Please feel free. If you have a good footy story we'd be pleased to hear it. We, or at least I, dont look for negativity in all things. In footy its been a mess brought on by AFLTas management.
I guess seeing Thorpe stay & Cornelius come back to Tassie is something positive for the game.

Their, I new I could find something!:p

The most positive thing would be a management change at the top. They have turned most every thing upside down & inside out without any obvious plan, that the public can see. After about 15 years about the only thing they havent changed is their own senior management. Surely if they have a plan or a positive direction, it would be obvious by now? 15 years of this shyte is surely enough??

The Following Article In today’s Mercury also shows a Picture of The Western Storm Logo, as it is article by Brett Stubbs I cannot take responsibility for any negative vibes.

http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...s-bold-ambitions/story-fnj4f7h7-1226775491578

446037-.jpg

Let’s not be negative about the name people ! I am sure the good folk of Prospect appreciate the Fantastic Work done by everyone at AFL Tasmania. Absolutely no one will be confused with the Name Western Storm and to think otherwise is nothing but a sign of "small minded grizzling" as Gibbke would say ;)

I suggest we all read the above while the following is played in the background.

boom shankar

Reading the readers’ comments in the Examiner article yesterday “Storm warning” most of the comments seemed to be regarding the club not playing there games in the area they represent all Home games at Aurora Stadium.
Would not the club for a long successful future need to eventually play home games in the Western Suburbs of Launceston?, Going forward in growing the club in a positive way with Meander Valley Council are there any grounds that could host SWL games with out to many $$$ being spent ?

Reading the readers’ comments in the Examiner article yesterday “Storm warning” most of the comments seemed to be regarding the club not playing there games in the area they represent all Home games at Aurora Stadium.
Would not the club for a long successful future need to eventually play home games in the Western Suburbs of Launceston?, Going forward in growing the club in a positive way with Meander Valley Council are there any grounds that could host SWL games with out to many $$$ being spent ?

There are no grounds in the Meander Valley Council area that could be developed for a reasonable cost. The ground at Longford is probably the best available to develop in the TSL zone that they will have. Can't see that happening though.

topgossip so Prospect Park where the Prospect Hawks play is well below Senior Standards? Must admit I have never been there.The Longford ground would have just as good facilities’ as Lauderdale Home Ground on my memory of being there 5 years ago.

I think you need to connect with the community you are representing. I would not want to be like the Southern Cats and play your home games away from your supporter base as was there case at North Hobart or also like the Brisbane Bears playing on the Gold Coast.

topgossip so Prospect Park where the Prospect Hawks play is well below Senior Standards? Must admit I have never been there.The Longford ground would have just as good facilities’ as Lauderdale Home Ground on my memory of being there 5 years ago.

I think you need to connect with the community you are representing. I would not want to be like the Southern Cats and play your home games away from your supporter base as was there case at North Hobart or also like the Brisbane Bears playing on the Gold Coast.

Prospect Park oval is not suited for TSL level. Thorpe and a few others would be having set shots from the center circle, I'm sure they could extend the ground but cant see it ever being up to TSL standard. Longford is would be OK for a game or 2, likewise with Deloraine but both would need a touch up to both Visitors Changerooms but Both Playing surface's would be fine to host games. Maybe down the track something could be build at the St Pats College?

No fencing at prospect park and the driveway between the club rooms and the ground makes it an expensive ground to develop for TSL standard. Playing surface is ok but i think for at least the last four roster games of the ntfa season it was closed due to water. Meander Valley council are spending some money on it i think. Invermay park next to aurora is also being upgraded(Which it badly needs). I don't disagree with your point about connecting with the community. although the drive for most people in the region to aurora is shorter than the drive from Kingborough to North hobart that the southern cats supporters(did they have any?) had to endure. Lonford is fenced and the ground is a good size. Deloraine is to far away from the majority of the population of the area and would need more spent on it than Longford to my mind. Largely irrelevant anyway. Western storm would need to do a lot of community work to get agreement from the resident clubs to use the grounds anyway.

Last time I was at Lauderdale was probably 20 years ago, hope its improved since then.

Prospect Park oval is not suited for TSL level. Thorpe and a few others would be having set shots from the center circle, I'm sure they could extend the ground but cant see it ever being up to TSL standard. Longford is would be OK for a game or 2, likewise with Deloraine but both would need a touch up to both Visitors Changerooms but Both Playing surface's would be fine to host games. Maybe down the track something could be build at the St Pats College?

Can't see St Pat's College putting outside interests before their own.

No fencing at prospect park and the driveway between the club rooms and the ground makes it an expensive ground to develop for TSL standard. Playing surface is ok but i think for at least the last four roster games of the ntfa season it was closed due to water. Meander Valley council are spending some money on it i think. Invermay park next to aurora is also being upgraded(Which it badly needs). I don't disagree with your point about connecting with the community. although the drive for most people in the region to aurora is shorter than the drive from Kingborough to North hobart that the southern cats supporters(did they have any?) had to endure. Lonford is fenced and the ground is a good size. Deloraine is to far away from the majority of the population of the area and would need more spent on it than Longford to my mind. Largely irrelevant anyway. Western storm would need to do a lot of community work to get agreement from the resident clubs to use the grounds anyway.

Last time I was at Lauderdale was probably 20 years ago, hope its improved since then.

More the point is how is the new team & the other clubs going to make any money. I know wade says that clubs shouldnt relly on spectators & selling beer. I just wish he would the clubs that apart from handouts to 'special friends', how do clubs pay the bills?

I remember going to Longford oval about 15 years ago. I was impressed with the set up. It was similar to New Norfolk's ground, Boyer Oval, big, long & a sizeable grandstand on the wing.

So how do clubs make money. I dont think any have poker machines. Who has Keno & Tote facilities?

I know North Launy make money out of bingo at the country club & they have functions & the canteen at Aurora. What do Prospect have? I think all TSL clubs have reasonable home ground facilities at least.

North Hobart dont have a big social club but get good sponsorship & have made good coin out of Rugby Union & League matches they run. The Brisbane v Storm game had 14k spectators, a good earner that was.

Lauderdale has a small but neat set up, Kingston are an established club & have a good set up, Clarence use Boot Park, the new set up their will be excellent. Glenorchy look to be building a Taj Mahal! Even their old club is big & does functions & bingo.

Burnie Devonport & Launy all have pretty decent set ups I recall. They would do functions & social events plus good canteen facilities. So how will Prospect pay the bills & bring supporters to other clubs?

17 South players who played in the GF will be joining the Storm. Burnie have had a couple drafted, as well as losing Russell Robertson. Both lineups will have as much cred if they run out to play West Adelaide.

Pros: The Storm players won the GF. Burnie's didn't.
Cons: The Storm didn't win the GF - another club did.
Considerations: There is no hard and fast rule that says the premier must represent their league. SA put in non-finalists for the first year (maybe the second, can't remember), and the VFL and NEAFL reps have not been the premiers on a few occasions because AFL reserves teams aren't allowed to represent.
Thoughts: What if Clarence didn't play in the 2011 Foxtel Cup for some reason, and Devonport got the nod as runners-up...2012 Devonport v Claremont...how do you think that would have gone...?

Conclusion: Those arguing against the Storm's inclusion in the Foxtel Cup are doing it with an argument without solid precedent. The only question which matters is: are they good enough? It's basically the South premiership side...there might be other options, but none will do any better, and none earned the right according to your own logic above...

17 South players who played in the GF will be joining the Storm. Burnie have had a couple drafted, as well as losing Russell Robertson. Both lineups will have as much cred if they run out to play West Adelaide.

Pros: The Storm players won the GF. Burnie's didn't.
Cons: The Storm didn't win the GF - another club did :

Conclusion: Those arguing against the Storm's inclusion in the Foxtel Cup are doing it with an argument without solid precedent. The only question which matters is: are they good enough? It's basically the South premiership side...there might be other options, but none will do any better, and none earned the right according to your own logic above...

I would think that most footy heads down here would just see this as another 'mates' deal. Thats what we are all sick & tired of.

Who cares about Prospect. A 2nd div NTFA club given the rub of the golden dyk.They have done nothing except get looked after to the nth degree. Its just typical of the complete up fork the TSL has been, & is now, & looks to continue on being.

Its all about power, control, looking after themselves & their 'mates', all the'right' people. Giving handouts to them & sticking the middle finger up to the public & real footy people. Like the real people at SL.

So you just go ahead & support your new mates. Their will be plenty of room to sit next to Wade & his crew at home games. No one else will be their.

Sometime in the future their will be a cost to pay. The cost will be trying to regain the confidence & support of the Tasmanian public again.

General TSL Talk